Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Drive is the story of a Hollywood stunt driver by day, a loner by nature, who moonlights as a top-notch getaway driver-for-hire in the criminal underworld. He finds himself a target for some of LA's most dangerous men after agreeing to aid the husband of his beautiful neighbor, Irene. WhenDrive is the story of a Hollywood stunt driver by day, a loner by nature, who moonlights as a top-notch getaway driver-for-hire in the criminal underworld. He finds himself a target for some of LA's most dangerous men after agreeing to aid the husband of his beautiful neighbor, Irene. When the job goes dangerously awry, the only way he can keep Irene and her son alive is to do what he does best—Drive! [FilmDistrict]
    Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: James Rocchi
    Jul 19, 2013
    100
    Drive works as a great demonstration of how, when there's true talent behind the camera, entertainment and art are not enemies but allies.
  2. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Sep 13, 2011
    100
    Drive feels like some kind of masterpiece - it's as pure a version of the essentials as you're likely to see.
  3. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Sep 15, 2011
    88
    The movie has you from its nearly wordless opening sequence.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Sep 15, 2011
    80
    So it's a fun, if not exhilarating, ride, one sped along with the help of a wonderfully assembled cast.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Sep 16, 2011
    75
    With its emphasis on relationships and character, Drive can best be described as a thinking man's action film -- or at least, it could if it didn't ultimately feel so oddly slight. As it is, for all of its positives, it functions mostly as a guilty pleasure rather than as a movie that resonates the way, say, "Blue Valentine" does.
  6. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Sep 15, 2011
    75
    Nobody puts the "angst" in "gangster" like a European director. When the director's a Dane, you can count on gloomy, chilly visuals and deliberate pacing. And when the director is Nicolas Winding Refn, who made the "Pusher" series in his native country and "Bronson" in England, you can expect intense, often brutal spurts of violence.
  7. 40
    Every bit as dumb as August's "Conan the Barbarian" but awash in neon-lit nightscapes and existential dread, with killings so graphic that you can't entirely believe what you're gagging at.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 360
  1. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    First off, this is a 9.75 out of 10. Had to round. 2nd this is an amazing brutal thriller. Acting great, story unforgettable, and just overallFirst off, this is a 9.75 out of 10. Had to round. 2nd this is an amazing brutal thriller. Acting great, story unforgettable, and just overall great. Almost perfect. Highly recommended. Expand
  2. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    Like several other reviewers, I created a profile specifically to rate this film. In general, I think any movie that provokes a strongLike several other reviewers, I created a profile specifically to rate this film. In general, I think any movie that provokes a strong emotional response has probably fulfilled its purpose. This can certainly be said for Drive. I'm not a professional reviewer but I do have a large library of movies at home and I get out to the theater whenever possible, so I'd call myself a talented amateur. This film stayed with me long after pressing stop on my player. It's hard to quantify what makes one movie better than another - you can point to the acting, music/soundtrack, cinematography, etc. An hour after seeing it for the first time, I found myself compulsively searching for the music from the film online. Several days later, I'm still reliving key scenes in my mind. Bottom line, this movie does not wear its heart on its sleeve, and it falls decidedly outside the normal Hollywood formula; this stymies some viewers. For me, I rate it as one of the best films I saw this year, and certainly worthy of a look by anyone curious to see what "nuanced" movie-making looks like. Expand
  3. j30
    Sep 20, 2011
    10
    You're either going to love or hate this movie, as you can see from the user reviews already. Fantastic film, great on so many levels. ThankYou're either going to love or hate this movie, as you can see from the user reviews already. Fantastic film, great on so many levels. Thank God it wasn't a Hugh Jackman Fast and the Furious film, as it was planned before Ryan Gosling got the lead. In addition he personally chose director Nicolas Winding Refn.. However, more users would have liked it if Michael Bay directed and Hugh Jackman staring. Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    Definitely one of the best films of the year. Great performances, safe directed and a memorable soundtrack, "Drive" is the new classic of the decade!
  5. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    In one of the most unique thrillers to release since the turn of the century, Drive gives Ryan Gosling his much-needed arrival into the grimIn one of the most unique thrillers to release since the turn of the century, Drive gives Ryan Gosling his much-needed arrival into the grim side of filmmaking. Gosling's performance was spotless, carrying the weight of the ones he cares about and his own life against the racing group he once drove for. The first fifty minutes shows a grand amount of character development, and shows us the kind of person that Driver really is. Then, through a freak set of circumstances, he finds himself suddenly fighting against the people he was just working for. This is where the movie lights itself up. The violence is incredibly fun to just watch, but not in a sense you just point and "ooh!" at the screen. Drive's violence is few and far between, yet makes for one of the most gruesome violence in a movie to date. Artistic, unique, and overall a great movie, this is only short of a masterpiece. Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2014
    6
    It's not the action film the trailer promised but that's not really bad as Drive has smoothly timed violence, great performances and anIt's not the action film the trailer promised but that's not really bad as Drive has smoothly timed violence, great performances and an amazing soundtrack. People might be put off by the pacing though. Expand
  7. Apr 30, 2012
    0
    WORST MOVIE EVER! Gosselings character was portrayed as mentally retarded. The love story, as well as the ridiculousness of virtually everyWORST MOVIE EVER! Gosselings character was portrayed as mentally retarded. The love story, as well as the ridiculousness of virtually every scene was laughable. If you liked this movie even a little, your a complete idiot who knows nothing about cinema. Expand

See all 360 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2011

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2011 Image
    Published: January 5, 2012
    Get our final rankings for the past year's best- and worst-reviewed films and see how 2011 compared to previous years.
  3. 2011 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 8, 2011
    Throughout the next two months, we
  4. 2011 Film Awards and Nominations

    2011 Film Awards and Nominations Image
    Published: December 5, 2011
    Over the next three months, we
  5. Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: September 6, 2011
    We preview the 30 top movies arriving this fall, from Steven Soderbergh's "Contagion" to George Clooney's "Ides of March." While you're at it, find release dates and descriptions for the other 60+ fall films, too.
  6. Cannes Recap: A Look at This Year's Key Films

    Cannes Recap: A Look at This Year's Key Films Image
    Published: May 23, 2011
    Our complete recap of the just-concluded 64th Cannes Film Festival includes a look at this year's winners and a summary of critical reaction to the 25 biggest films in and out of competition.