User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 101
  2. Negative: 10 out of 101

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 21, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. edge of darkness is worth watching, even though the plot of the story has been used many times before this movie it stills delivers with some good acting (execpt the accents) and some timely plot twists. The only thing that bothered me was the flashbacks of his daughter and hearing her voice through out the movie some of it didnt make sense to me and the ending could have been better. Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2010
    6
    Well it was an average movie. Mel Gibson shined like always, but i sort of knew the ending so i didn't expected anything great to happen. Its a war he cannot win but he only can satisfy himself by revenging his daughter. A nice movie to watch
  3. Dec 2, 2010
    6
    I think it was great for Mel Gibson to be back in an action movie where AGAIN he is playing the role of a cop. He does a great job but i honestly have to say that the spark dies after the beginning and takes a while to come back. The first time i watched it i actually fell asleep which of course made me watch it again. Then i started to appreciate more about it and enjoy it a bit more.
  4. Feb 22, 2013
    7
    Edge of Darkness is a dark and gritty crime thriller, based on a 1986 British Mini-series of the same name. The story was actually pretty good, filled with twists, turns, crosses, and double crosses, but the problem was that it was all too familiar. Murdered daughter, angry father looking for justice, Mel Gibson on a crazy rampage....and why are these things always in Boston? DoesEdge of Darkness is a dark and gritty crime thriller, based on a 1986 British Mini-series of the same name. The story was actually pretty good, filled with twists, turns, crosses, and double crosses, but the problem was that it was all too familiar. Murdered daughter, angry father looking for justice, Mel Gibson on a crazy rampage....and why are these things always in Boston? Does Hollywood have some secret underground bet about who will have the worst accent? That being said, Gibson, (minus the accent), was terrific. Say what you will about him as a person, but when it comes to a dark, action thriller, there is still no one better than Mel Gibson. His character was very reminiscent of Porter in Payback, intense, strong, and smart as a whip. As I said before, this is a good story, made even better by Gibson, but it's a familiar story that's been done to death! Edge of Darkness is very entertaining and has some nice twists, but ultimately it's not much different from a dozen other films with a similar tagline. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    Although the plot is pretty laughable, the movie does feature a pretty mesmerizing Mel Gibson performance in the center role.
  6. Dec 16, 2012
    8
    You realize how much as an audience we have missed the volatile intensity of Gibson and his ability to elevate over-plotted genre material into something genuinely engaging. Assisted by a privately amused Ray Winstone who works as a detached counterpart to Gibson's grief stricken Boston cop.
  7. Aug 11, 2010
    8
    Mel Gibson is a fantastic director, actor and producer he is uncompromising when it comes to his films such as" Gallipoli"(1981), " Lethal Weapon"(1987), "Ransom" (1996),or his Academy award winning film " Braveheart"(1991). Gibson has proved repeatedly why he is one of Hollywood's best and most powerhouse actors, after having a career that spans almost thirty years Mel Gibson hadMel Gibson is a fantastic director, actor and producer he is uncompromising when it comes to his films such as" Gallipoli"(1981), " Lethal Weapon"(1987), "Ransom" (1996),or his Academy award winning film " Braveheart"(1991). Gibson has proved repeatedly why he is one of Hollywood's best and most powerhouse actors, after having a career that spans almost thirty years Mel Gibson had seemed to slip into obscurity after making his two last films. One of them being the massive box-office success "Signs" the other the Vietnam ward drama "We Were Soldiers" both coming out in 2002. It seemed like Gibson had had his finally hour as a Hollywood leading man. Until it was announcer back in mid 2009 that Mel Gibson would be heading a new film called "Edge of Darknessâ Expand
  8. Aug 31, 2010
    5
    This film had glimpses of the Mel we know and love, but it somehow failed to take me completely there. I felt like the conspiracy story could have been better developed. Having said this, I was generally entertained by a thriller that had me routing for the good cop gone mad !
  9. Sep 12, 2010
    8
    I just recently saw this movie, and although it is has alot of character dicussion in it, it helps to build up the excitement when something finally happens. The scenes wer life like unlike alot of cop movies these days. Not wuite as good as the Departed, but a great movie
  10. Oct 6, 2010
    7
    Mel Gibson was fantastic in this drama thriller. When his daughter is shot dead on his front porch by a masked gunman, A personal search begins to unveil the killer as well as the reason behind the murder of his daughter. An intricate conspiracy begins to unravel as Mel finds clue after clue leading to the truth. Gibson's acting and his Boston accent were both very authentic. He reallyMel Gibson was fantastic in this drama thriller. When his daughter is shot dead on his front porch by a masked gunman, A personal search begins to unveil the killer as well as the reason behind the murder of his daughter. An intricate conspiracy begins to unravel as Mel finds clue after clue leading to the truth. Gibson's acting and his Boston accent were both very authentic. He really held the movie together well. The movie overall was similar to 'Taken' in many ways. I think i slightly prefered Taken a bit more, just because of the level of action compared to 'Edge'. "Edge" was a bit more realistic, but i liked how badass they made Liam Neeson in Taken. Mel was pretty hard, but he also shows signs of fatigue and wear as an older detective. The story plays out nicely and never shows to be too predictable. Overall an interesting and tense movie. It's good to see Mel Gibson still doing roles like this. Ray Winstone (Beowulf, Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull) plays a sleek "Organizer" fellow who assists Gibson along the way. The movie was nicely directed by Martin Campbell (Casino Royale, Goldeneye) who properly films the realistic crime thriller in Boston, Massachussetts. Expand
  11. Feb 10, 2011
    5
    Edge of Darkness had a lot going for it. It was Mel Gibsonâ
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. An intense Mel Gibson performance anchors this brutally effective crime thriller.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    60
    Campbell's topnotch production team yields predictably polished results, but the director's decision to revisit the late Troy Kennedy Martin's teleplay, finally, feels lacking.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    70
    Onscreen much of the time, thicker and more creased than you remember, Gibson can make this rather unshapely movie seem taut.