Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 6, 2014
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1561 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,447
Mixed:
80
Negative:
34
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
omniscientJun 6, 2014
The 're-living sequences' were very entertaining, sometimes comical. There's also good chemistry between Cruise and Blunt, and the premise was interesting enough to keep me captivated for the entirety of the movie.
18 of 19 users found this helpful181
All this user's reviews
10
raviopatraJun 6, 2014
I was reluctant to see the movie at first (mostly because it's got Tom Cruise and Oblivion last year was pretty disappointing), but eventually came through only to check Emily Blunt. However, I have to admit that I would've missed a lot had II was reluctant to see the movie at first (mostly because it's got Tom Cruise and Oblivion last year was pretty disappointing), but eventually came through only to check Emily Blunt. However, I have to admit that I would've missed a lot had I not seen it. The plot might seem dull at first, especially when you think of Groundhog Day or Source Code, but this is, might I say, definitely one of the best science-fiction works ever. Period.

Turns out Cruise still has the magic in him, but Blunt is pretty much the major reason why this movie resonates so well with the audience. Without any gigantic marketing gimmicks (in comparison to other summer releases), I really didn't expect the movie to be as good as it is.

The visual effect is very smooth, the writing is definitely dashing, and for a movie about repetitions, I am surprised that I didn't even want to miss any scene because the humor, action, sci-fi lectures, and suspense work really well altogether. I expected X-Men: DoFP to be my favorite summer hit this year, but I have to say that this movie definitely steals the spotlight. I hope more people turn out to see it because it's something that you don't want to miss at all (despite the rather cliche ending).
Expand
50 of 58 users found this helpful508
All this user's reviews
9
GinaKJun 8, 2014
Forget Groundhog Day. For Science Fiction fans like me, this movie combines the best of Minority Report (finally another great performance by Tom Cruise) and Aliens. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Emily Blunt commanded attention (with guts andForget Groundhog Day. For Science Fiction fans like me, this movie combines the best of Minority Report (finally another great performance by Tom Cruise) and Aliens. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Emily Blunt commanded attention (with guts and dignity like Ripley), and the other characters were also idiosyncratic and fun. Two other big pluses – the movie had a great sense of humor and I had no problem following the complicated plot. This one may be a classic. Expand
9 of 9 users found this helpful90
All this user's reviews
9
ViperspiderJun 6, 2014
One of the best movies I've seen all year, both myself (Sci-fi, action, war movie fan) and my girlfriend (not a Sci-fi or war movie fan) loved it. The only fault I could find is that the ending was a bit confusing, it left me wondering aboutOne of the best movies I've seen all year, both myself (Sci-fi, action, war movie fan) and my girlfriend (not a Sci-fi or war movie fan) loved it. The only fault I could find is that the ending was a bit confusing, it left me wondering about the logic of it as I left, but I'm sure a quick google search would help me make sense of it. Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
VinsicsJun 7, 2014
Never wrote a movie review in my life, but this one motivate me enough to so. Best movie I have seen since the first Matrix. Check it out in IMAX if you can; it will put will right in the D-Day battle.
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
HeadcrusherJun 10, 2014
I'm giving this move a 10 because it has all the elements of an entertaining film - action, suspense, humor and good production value which add up to an entertaining time. Basically it's Groundhog Day meets War of the Worlds.

Now I'm a
I'm giving this move a 10 because it has all the elements of an entertaining film - action, suspense, humor and good production value which add up to an entertaining time. Basically it's Groundhog Day meets War of the Worlds.

Now I'm a pretty big science fiction fan but I often don't like alien invasion films because the idea that humans are going to win a war against another alien invaders whose technology is hundreds of thousands of years more advanced than us usually falls to some ridiculous idea that although they traveled millions of light years to get here they forgot to check the air or the water before they started their invasion. Edge of tomorrow had a much more creative plot line, which really is the basis of the whole story.

I liked the film so much that i went back to see it again with a friend. This films was well adapted and contains enough of the human element to it, so that even if you're not a Sci-Fi fan you will undoubtedly enjoy it.
Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
8
victorhjklJun 8, 2014
Edge of tomorrow was good at all, the movie has good action scenes, there are great actors like Tom Cruise and Emily Blunt, and the movie script surprised me I really liked how the movie time travel works...
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
JohnKristoferDec 22, 2014
A Absolute Fantastic Movie!.The Premise Was interesting,The Visual effects were stunning and an outstanding performance of Tom Cruise.This Movie is a masterpiece that surely needs attention and Highly recommend!
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
jeremypJun 7, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't usually go to these kind of movie, and the trailers didn't interest me, but one reviewer said it had a great sense of humor. It does! I also like Emily Blunt....a lot.... It's very well directed, the editing is incredibly good, and the pace never lags, which is good for suspend disbelief Sci-Fi movies, one doesn't have time to think about plot holes. Cruise is good, and starts off well playing against stereotype as a sniveling coward. Blunt gets to be tough in a very sexual masculine/feminine role, and buff! It is the humor that makes this really enjoyable. Who thought that killing someone over and over could be so hilarious? Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Aug 19, 2015
"Edge of Tomorrow" manages to shrug off the usual hollywood summer movie formula to surprisingly emerge as a refreshing and eye-catching (in some scenes, humorous) action film with a captivating storyline and great acting from Tom Cruise and"Edge of Tomorrow" manages to shrug off the usual hollywood summer movie formula to surprisingly emerge as a refreshing and eye-catching (in some scenes, humorous) action film with a captivating storyline and great acting from Tom Cruise and Emily Blunt. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
Paulo_JorgeJun 6, 2014
Woundrous Sci-Fi movie from the lead-off to the end, knacky screenplay and creative context, the movie uses and plays with sort of a revival idea where you never perishes, the day never ends, stunning idea gracefully used, mixed with a greatWoundrous Sci-Fi movie from the lead-off to the end, knacky screenplay and creative context, the movie uses and plays with sort of a revival idea where you never perishes, the day never ends, stunning idea gracefully used, mixed with a great cast and acting, however the use of saturated subject of alien invasion prevented my 10 out 10, however it's a great movie as it stands. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
LamontRaymondJun 6, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I enjoyed it MUCH more than I thought that I would have. It really is the sci-fi-action version of Groundhog Day and Bill & Ted's Bogus Journey. But it has a heart, and the aliens are not TOO annoying. (Why does every movie this summer - see X-Men - have to have creatures that look like the Sentinels from The Matrix?) Certainly recommended fare. I had a smile on my face for most of the film, which is a good sign in my book! Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
PimpinpakmanJun 6, 2014
I def was not expecting much from this movie but with all the audience scores being high i figured i would give it a try. I am also glad i did. This is actually a really interesting sic fi movie that actually incorporates some humor here andI def was not expecting much from this movie but with all the audience scores being high i figured i would give it a try. I am also glad i did. This is actually a really interesting sic fi movie that actually incorporates some humor here and there as well. Tom did an excellent job of connecting with the viewer and action was abundant but not over done. I liked Emily Blunt in it as well and she did a good job. All in all it was a refreshing movie to watch and different from the latest action movies which mostly comprise of superheroes or sequels so i def recommend a watch but 3D doesn't add anything so you can easily skip the premium pricing. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
calhouniteApr 5, 2015
Despite the first-rate acting, the movie is too mind-bendingly unrealistic to join in. After their European blitzkrieg , the aliens are smart enough to not to open the eastern front - evidently making a secret deal with the Soviets to divideDespite the first-rate acting, the movie is too mind-bendingly unrealistic to join in. After their European blitzkrieg , the aliens are smart enough to not to open the eastern front - evidently making a secret deal with the Soviets to divide the spoils - but STILL can't handle the Normandy beach counterattack? Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
mos11charlieJun 7, 2014
If exoskeletons and time manipulation are your thing, this movie is for you! And if they're not... well you'll probably still like it, anyway. I wasn't particularly satisfied with the ending, but the movie never felt boring and as a whole, IIf exoskeletons and time manipulation are your thing, this movie is for you! And if they're not... well you'll probably still like it, anyway. I wasn't particularly satisfied with the ending, but the movie never felt boring and as a whole, I enjoyed it very much. A welcome bi-product of the premise was the feeling that anything could happen to the main character at any time. Other movies often fail to deliver any real feeling of fear or surprise, given that you assume the main character will come out the other side with only a few scratches and bruises. But because the anchor of this story is repeatedly living a single day until he dies, the next fatal blow could be right around the corner. This film also provides some welcome realism in that our hero doesn't miraculously dodge every bullet or perform each maneuver perfectly the first time. I found that the filmmakers highlighted this very well and it provided some believability to an otherwise unbelievable story. At any rate, definitely worth my Saturday afternoon and money. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
BertoflyingfoxJun 8, 2014
After the last two Tom Cruise movies I was a bit skeptical about how much I'll enjoy this one. There was no need to be, because this movie is great. The concept is entertaining and the plotting is spot-on. I may have to go in for a secondAfter the last two Tom Cruise movies I was a bit skeptical about how much I'll enjoy this one. There was no need to be, because this movie is great. The concept is entertaining and the plotting is spot-on. I may have to go in for a second showing.

Everyone here plays their role really well and the special effects werent overused or needless. I rarely go to the movie theater now but I'm glad I went in for this movie.
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
GreenGoblin215Jun 8, 2014
I will start out by saying that I saw this movie yesterday in IMAX 3D and I absolutely loved it. I will begin by saying that I love Tom Cruise as an action actor and that he is def in my Top 5 actors of all time. Now to the review.

Acting:
I will start out by saying that I saw this movie yesterday in IMAX 3D and I absolutely loved it. I will begin by saying that I love Tom Cruise as an action actor and that he is def in my Top 5 actors of all time. Now to the review.

Acting:
I will begin by saying that the acting was top notch of course we have Tom Cruise who is Awesome and also Emily Blunt who was Fantastic. I thought the standout was Bill Paxton who was hilarious in the movie and also Brendan Gleeson who was also great with the few parts he had so acting was Superb.

Story:
The story I thought was very well put together about the alien Invasion and by the end of the movie while there was still one question it was pieced together nicely.

Action Scenes:
The action in this movie was Insane it was honestly non-stop from start to finish which I love for a movie like this take all the examples you have seen which combine Starship Troopers and the first scene in Saving Private Ryan and combine them and that is what you get an all out brawl of badass action scenes to rival these movies in particular which are Battle:LA and Battleship which I didn't watch because I heard it sucked but regardless if you love action movies this is def for you.

Verdict:
I would recommend this movie to anyone who loves comedy and action movies galore. I would say watch it in IMAX but if you can't just watch it in 2D this is the summer blockbuster to start the summer and possibly beat out all the rest and in my opinion is Tom Cruise's best film since my personnel favorite "Collateral"!!!!! A Must See.
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
ImhonestJun 6, 2014
Funny and action badass ! If you like Sci-Fi this is a great remix of starship troopers + groundhog day !

I really love this movie ! There is some stupid things on the plot but nothig to worry about if you are looking for a great blockbuster.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
JimmybrazJun 6, 2014
loved this movie tom cruise back in the game properly and delivering the only down part of this movie is the chemistry between Emily and tom but with the script theirs only so much they could do. I recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys aloved this movie tom cruise back in the game properly and delivering the only down part of this movie is the chemistry between Emily and tom but with the script theirs only so much they could do. I recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys a good sci fi flick and is different from all the others on screen in last years. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
soda119Jun 9, 2014
This is one of the finest Sci-Fi movie I've ever seen. The first 20 mins is pretty standard stuff until Tom starts to repeat. Not a minute is wasted in the boring dialogue or have-to story telling. My mind was grabbed till the end of theThis is one of the finest Sci-Fi movie I've ever seen. The first 20 mins is pretty standard stuff until Tom starts to repeat. Not a minute is wasted in the boring dialogue or have-to story telling. My mind was grabbed till the end of the movie. I'm going to see this in IMax, and buy the Blu-ray for collection. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
SchroederRockJun 9, 2014
Edge of Tomorrow is one of the coolest Sci-Fi action flicks in recent memory. It's Groundhog Day with a little Inception and Independence Day all thrown in together and makes for a great experience. Tom Cruise and Emily Blunt both turn inEdge of Tomorrow is one of the coolest Sci-Fi action flicks in recent memory. It's Groundhog Day with a little Inception and Independence Day all thrown in together and makes for a great experience. Tom Cruise and Emily Blunt both turn in solid performances as well as the supporting cast. It would be easy for a movie that focuses so much on repetition to tire quickly, but with EoT it only stays interesting and paces well and keeps your interest. Many props to the team tasked with the special effects as they're some of the best I've seen in recent years. There are few things I felt like could have been done better with this movie and if you're only able to see one or two movies this spring/early summer, Edge of Tomorrow should be on your short list to see. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
greggaJun 10, 2014
Not just another shoot em up alien movie. It has an ingenious plot where Cruise runs into countless dead ends in his quest to break through. Very good special effects, heavy on the action and although there is an obvious relationship threadNot just another shoot em up alien movie. It has an ingenious plot where Cruise runs into countless dead ends in his quest to break through. Very good special effects, heavy on the action and although there is an obvious relationship thread I did not think it was too over the top. Think GroundHog Day on steroids, but a lot more clever and entertaining. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
kamgeforceSep 11, 2014
Surprisingly awesome, I even enjoyed Tom Cruise in it although he is not my favourite. No stupid cliches and speeches that you would expect from american blockbuster. Even had a good laugh few times.The ending could have been better imo butSurprisingly awesome, I even enjoyed Tom Cruise in it although he is not my favourite. No stupid cliches and speeches that you would expect from american blockbuster. Even had a good laugh few times.The ending could have been better imo but overall great movie!! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
nidvarJun 6, 2014
Saw it on the day it came out in AUS. Great fun. The script and dialogue is not cheesy or cringe worthy. Decent solid film. Not like 47 Ronin.

Similar quality of Dredd.

Edge of Tomorrow and Godzilla 2014 are both great to watch.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
DownByTheRiverJun 7, 2014
Surprise hit of the summer for sure! Tom Cruise can still kick ass!

Pros: Tom Cruise is awesome as well as Emily Blunt, Supporting cast is good, great sci-fi feel throughout, great action almost non stop, humorous at the right times,
Surprise hit of the summer for sure! Tom Cruise can still kick ass!

Pros: Tom Cruise is awesome as well as Emily Blunt, Supporting cast is good, great sci-fi feel throughout, great action almost non stop, humorous at the right times, excellent premise

Con: Ending was not very satisfying unfortunately

Overall Edge of Tomorrow is a great watch and I would highly recommend.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
KenmeiJun 11, 2014
I really don't know how to describe how I feel about this movie. I wanted to like it alot, and I think part of me did like it alot. But I know there's someone out there that could have done a few things differently with some of the storyI really don't know how to describe how I feel about this movie. I wanted to like it alot, and I think part of me did like it alot. But I know there's someone out there that could have done a few things differently with some of the story parts. There's alot to like here and the acting is so-so, which is better than I expected from a Cruise movie. But I feel like there's something missing here that could have made the movie over-the-top for me. I don't know what that is right now though. This didn't miss the mark completely for me but it could have been alot better. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobSep 17, 2014
Went into it knowing nothing about the plot and it ended up being a very good sci-fi aciton film. Well acted, The plot was fantastic, and it kept you interested through out. A definite must see.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
IIISPQRIIIJun 9, 2014
One of the most surprisingly good films I've seen in a few years. The trailers really don't dive into the story, which better serves the execution of the plot (how most movies should treat their advertisements). The CG and cinematography isOne of the most surprisingly good films I've seen in a few years. The trailers really don't dive into the story, which better serves the execution of the plot (how most movies should treat their advertisements). The CG and cinematography is great and the acting is on par with most Cruise movies. The plot was what shocked me the most, or more specifically, the efficient use of time. There is no real filler and each scene is important in it's own way. The humor is also executed and timed extremely well and helps balance the tone and keeps the plot from taking itself too seriously.

TL;DR: Awesome sci-fi film with great CG, acting, and plot execution. Go see this in theaters; it deserves every penny it grosses and then some.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
theofficeAug 23, 2014
Fantastic movie!! The story was top notch and the action and acting just awesome. The story is very new compared to everything out there now that just seems to rehash old and tired plot lines. Really have no complaints. Go see it!
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
PeabarterJun 7, 2014
I liked this a lot. The story was well done and had me the edge of my seat when it wanted to and laughing when it wanted to. I thought Tom Cruise did a great job. I would have given it a 10 only if there was a little more battle variationI liked this a lot. The story was well done and had me the edge of my seat when it wanted to and laughing when it wanted to. I thought Tom Cruise did a great job. I would have given it a 10 only if there was a little more battle variation scenes. Cruise manages to get selected for these types of movies on a consistent basis. I could care less about his politics. He does a good job entertaining me in his movies. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
mooshuJun 9, 2014
I loved this movie. It was unexpectedly funny and the action moved the movie along at a fast pace which kept the audience from being bored. Emily blunt was a little out of character as a bad ass, but it still worked effectively. I reallyI loved this movie. It was unexpectedly funny and the action moved the movie along at a fast pace which kept the audience from being bored. Emily blunt was a little out of character as a bad ass, but it still worked effectively. I really liked the evolution of cruises character in the movie, going from reluctant fighter to hero. This was much more entertaining than Oblivion, and I liked the plot much more as well. Overall I think Edge Of Tomorrow is a great popcorn movie. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
StaticSpineJun 7, 2014
A nice Sci-Fi movie with good action scenes. The story is not too complicated and the concept with repeating the events of one single day is not very original, but here it works well. The actors are decent, Emily Blunt especially. Overall, ifA nice Sci-Fi movie with good action scenes. The story is not too complicated and the concept with repeating the events of one single day is not very original, but here it works well. The actors are decent, Emily Blunt especially. Overall, if you like sci-fi do not miss this, it's worth one watch (the second won't be very interesting), but you'll enjoy it. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
Jack97May 5, 2016
Edge of Tomorrow exceeds low expectations with a very entertaining science-fiction action movie with great characters, great visual effects and a big sense of fun that didn't necessarily seem present in the trailers. There is a surprisingEdge of Tomorrow exceeds low expectations with a very entertaining science-fiction action movie with great characters, great visual effects and a big sense of fun that didn't necessarily seem present in the trailers. There is a surprising amount of humor here also which never detracts from the tone but instead contributes to the enjoyment of the whole thing. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Jun 8, 2014
A familiar film premise gets a magnificent sci-fi spin in "Edge Of Tomorrow," Doug Liman's brilliantly shot and immaculately performed film featuring an expertly crafted narrative and some skillfully placed hilarity.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
BlitzWing00Jun 12, 2014
Great action, great visuals, and good concept. It was competently written, acted, and executed, however I felt it needed a little more depth which could have pushed the film into a real block buster. The lack of such made some elements suchGreat action, great visuals, and good concept. It was competently written, acted, and executed, however I felt it needed a little more depth which could have pushed the film into a real block buster. The lack of such made some elements such as the story and emotional connection to the characters feel a little bland. Although overall the movie was in no way bad, I liked it and wanted it to succeed....which it did, but it could have been even more. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
MeritCobaSep 7, 2015
I am no fan of Tom Cruise, especially when cast as a hero. He strikes me as a second hand car salesman; too slick to be true. I had therefore no problem to picture him as the protagonist in this movie: an officer charged with speaking to theI am no fan of Tom Cruise, especially when cast as a hero. He strikes me as a second hand car salesman; too slick to be true. I had therefore no problem to picture him as the protagonist in this movie: an officer charged with speaking to the media: lacking any combat-experience and intent on staying as far away from any combat zone as possible. When ordered to join the troops in what his superior deems to be a walk-in-the-park landing, Tom blackmails his commander to let him off the hook, which severely backfires on him, for he finds himself soon stripped of rank among the first to land with the reputation of being a deserter who pretended to be an officer to escape his duty.

The enemy are called mimics for reasons that are never explained in the movie. They resemble metal octopuses, who move at incredible speed, mostly underground. They are aliens and that is about all we learn about them and that is all we need to learn about them. It suffices that they are a deadly force hell-bent on wiping out humanity(some decades in the future, somebody will write a book about how these inhuman threats are a sign of the times, just like 70s and 80s had their disaster movies).
D-day quickly turns into a massacre as the aliens wipe out the human forces before they can gain a foothold. Tom dies too, but before he does, he manages to kill one of the rarest of mimics, and finds himself returned to life one day before the landing takes place. Baffled Tom goes through the same day and tries to intervene the course of action in a haphazard way. It doesn't matter that he does because everyone dies.. and he does to.
And then finds himself alive and back in time again.

And so it goes. With each cycle Tom gets better because he knows what will happen, but also has a lot of time to gain experience, but dies nevertheless again and again.
How does he get out of this predicament? He learns with each cycle and eventually he is aided by Emily Blunt, who has suffered from the same effects.
Up till this sounds like a corny predictable movie, but the script isn't as easy as you might think. The focus in this movie isn't on the humans vs aliens conflict, but on the interaction between Cruise and Blunt and their frantic efforts to turn the only advantage they have, foreknowledge, against the aliens. The key to their success is actually their ability to convince others that Tom possess that foreknowledge so that they help in the effort. And this is the hardest part.

The script avoids giving us insight into the alien thinking. The mimics are kept as far away from the camera as possible and we never get a good clear view of them. This is smart for any alien eventually gets boring when shown too often. An example is the landing, in which a lot of carnage happens before the aliens themselves actually show up.
The movie even throws us of the track by introducing a twist in the story that makes the aliens even more sinister. Perhaps everything has been planned beforehand?

Yet there are flaws in the movie, such as the way Tom ends up in the combat zone. And also the ending is a bit contrived and clearly written to give us a good feel. There is nothing against a movie with a good ending, but one that forced makes for a lesser ending.
Also one wonders why, having the possession of a flying craft at the start of the invasion, Tom and Blunt feel the need to have to get a car and a helicopter further land inward thus getting themselves killed time and again?

Personally I think that the movie is at its best when Cruise and Blunt are together and it might have been more stronger if more time was to the group of people who aid him so that their characters would have mattered if and when they died.
My learning points about this movie would be that some more time could have spent characterizing the people who eventually will aid Tom. Spend less time on the battles in the landing zone and the repeating scenes(which in themselves are shot in a way as to avoid boring repetition, which ought to be mentioned) and give more time to the final attack.

My ranking gives this a 7 out of 10. This needs an explanation: in it's genre this movie is a 9.. but since ranks are given not to genre or category they are given an overall score. In it's genre of action sci-fi it desevers something of a 9. Which means it is pretty good.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
sanyrubJan 25, 2015
One of the surprises of 2014 and one of the top three blockbusters of that year. Edge of Tomorrow is sci-fi, it´s action, it´s clever, it´s original and has a phenomenal pace and very well built structure. Tom Cruise is a real movie star forOne of the surprises of 2014 and one of the top three blockbusters of that year. Edge of Tomorrow is sci-fi, it´s action, it´s clever, it´s original and has a phenomenal pace and very well built structure. Tom Cruise is a real movie star for a reason, not the best of actors, but he gives his all and has all the charisma in the world. It was refreshing to see him play someone vulnerable and useless (at the beginning). Also Emily Blunt is so good in her role, proving she can be a great action movie star. One of the best times at the theatre lately. A must see for lovers of blockbusters. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
Rob7309Jun 9, 2014
This was just an awesome science fiction film. Everything felt so original and fresh with two great lead performances. I was hooked from the get go and left the theater completely satisfied.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
lloydharrisonNov 18, 2014
Edge of Tomorrow is one of the most underrated Sci-Fi's in recent years and sadly it seems to have gone unnoticed by the majority. It remarkably manages to rip off so many films and video games whilst feeling refreshingly original also. AtEdge of Tomorrow is one of the most underrated Sci-Fi's in recent years and sadly it seems to have gone unnoticed by the majority. It remarkably manages to rip off so many films and video games whilst feeling refreshingly original also. At times it can feel like a game of spot the original source. In particular the time lapse elements which are very similar to Groundhog Day. If you over think the pattern and repetition of events, you can argue that there are flaws, as with any film of this kind. But it's smartly edited and it moves at such a rampant pace that you don't have time to dissect or question the flaws. Tom Cruise & Emily Blunt carry the film well and it's arguably Tom Cruise's best Sci-Fi to date. Visually this is a spectacular experience and the set pieces are some of the craziest and most exciting I've ever seen, in particular the battles on the beaches which are absolutely incredible. At first glance this just looks like another run of the mill action film with robots. Unlike the Transformers films for example, Edge of Tomorrow gets the human elements spot on and it doesn't rely solely on set pieces. But the set pieces happen to be spectacular too. So it's win-win and definitely worthy of much more recognition. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
joyalSep 12, 2014
Awesome Tom Cruise Film!!! one of the best film in his career ,outstanding film since his mission impossible 4, excellent superb screen play keep us thrilled every seconds of the film,truly amazing visual effects, energetic performance by tomAwesome Tom Cruise Film!!! one of the best film in his career ,outstanding film since his mission impossible 4, excellent superb screen play keep us thrilled every seconds of the film,truly amazing visual effects, energetic performance by tom and Emily ,both are awesome, superb chemistry between them, powerful direction make edge of tomorrow is a MIND BLOWING VISUAL THRILLING EXPERIENCE .! DON'T MISS IT..!!! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
DulothOct 12, 2015
My favorite Tom Cruise movie of the past 20 years, and not just because you watch him die so many times(though that does play a substantial part). Excellent action and thematic elements mired by some very strange plot devices and an endingMy favorite Tom Cruise movie of the past 20 years, and not just because you watch him die so many times(though that does play a substantial part). Excellent action and thematic elements mired by some very strange plot devices and an ending that leaves you wondering what the hell happened. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
Nobilis1984Aug 19, 2015
At first the whole film sounded pretty stupid and I was lying in the left.
But now you have to say that he is really good.
Visually superior and two big stars make it a good movie. The story is ok, and the film may be a bit too long but
At first the whole film sounded pretty stupid and I was lying in the left.
But now you have to say that he is really good.
Visually superior and two big stars make it a good movie.
The story is ok, and the film may be a bit too long but that's to get over.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
DanieldiabolicoJun 11, 2014
I had a lot of hopes for this movie. And it totally delivered!!! Tom Cruise gives a fantastic performance. Emily Blunt gave a fantastic performance... you know what. Everyone gave a fantastic performance.
This movie had a really fun story
I had a lot of hopes for this movie. And it totally delivered!!! Tom Cruise gives a fantastic performance. Emily Blunt gave a fantastic performance... you know what. Everyone gave a fantastic performance.
This movie had a really fun story line. You never feel like the movie is dragging on at parts. I didn't want it to end. The C.G.I is also incredible. I literally could not find any big problems in this movie even if their was a gun to my head. I actually saw this in 3d and this movie you can tell was not just converted to 3d last minute. Their are a lot of cool effects that are in here that make the 3d worth it. Don't wait for dvd. Go see this movie on the big screen or you will regret it. I am already trying to figure out when I could see it again.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
bil128Aug 14, 2015
One of the best if not -THE best sci fi movie of the later years, and the best adaption of a manga I 've seen the last decade.
The plot is so consuming that someone who likes action will not feel bored not for even a moment.
This is the
One of the best if not -THE best sci fi movie of the later years, and the best adaption of a manga I 've seen the last decade.
The plot is so consuming that someone who likes action will not feel bored not for even a moment.
This is the drama- action version of the famous comedy'' The groundhog day'' .
Tom Cruise has delivered one more time top notch entertainment .!
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
RhythmicReviewJun 7, 2014
As ironic as it sounds, dying in movies has never been this much fun! .
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
raiseralex21Jun 7, 2014
No es la mejor pelicula de acción y ciencia fincción que veo, pero tiene su propio estilo y creo que le falto algo que generara la sensación de emoción dentro del trama, pero me gusto creo que es muy buena opción para disfrutarla conNo es la mejor pelicula de acción y ciencia fincción que veo, pero tiene su propio estilo y creo que le falto algo que generara la sensación de emoción dentro del trama, pero me gusto creo que es muy buena opción para disfrutarla con palomitas y tener un buen rato en el cine. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
brohugJun 10, 2014
Easily the best big ticket film of the summer so far. The idea of combining "Groundhog Day", "Aliens", and the Halo video game is both thrilling and funny. Once the D-day looping gets going, the audience becomes attuned to it and revels inEasily the best big ticket film of the summer so far. The idea of combining "Groundhog Day", "Aliens", and the Halo video game is both thrilling and funny. Once the D-day looping gets going, the audience becomes attuned to it and revels in Major Cage's Sisyphus-like efforts to advance the clock and defeat the Mimic hordes. The filmmakers keep that editing relatively tight, so we are never bored by a "oh, this part again" syndrome. In almost a tip of the cap to "Aliens", Bill Paxton appears as a Sergeant Master more than happy to send the alleged deserter Cage to his glorious doom, only later to have his Kentucky-bred drill squad speeches defused by the front-running Cage, who by then has literally heard it all before.

There are few deficiencies. Emily Blunt is less believable as a ruthless Amazon leading the assault on the French beaches, but is solid as a romantic heroine. And the J Squad members are fairly expendable, which is fine by me so that our emotional investment doesn't get too fragmented from the two leads.

Despite much of the craziness in Cruise's personal life, he's still arguably the foremost movie star of his time. His films typically deliver a high-quality product with a recent predilection to science fiction action tales. Last summer's "Oblivion" came up short in that particular department but he followed that up with the under-rated "Jack Reacher" last fall. There's a surprising amount of vulnerability on display here as well as a hilariously cowardly squirm to the beginning of his Mad Men-turned-soldier arc.

I think "Edge of Tomorrow" will live on with the original "Mission Impossible" and "Jerry Maguire" in the Cruise canon for some time to come.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
LeatherwoodMay 17, 2015
Edge Of Tomorrow is phenomenal in every way. The acting was top notch, the graphics was completely believable, and it was well written. A good director could of made this movie horrible, but Doug Liman and the writers really thought out thisEdge Of Tomorrow is phenomenal in every way. The acting was top notch, the graphics was completely believable, and it was well written. A good director could of made this movie horrible, but Doug Liman and the writers really thought out this movie. If I was to describe this movie it would be like Elysium meets Ground hogs day LOL. Edge of Tomorrow made me a believer in Tom Cruse, he is a wonderful actor, funny, and very likeable in this movie. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
Whetsit_TuyaJun 17, 2014
Ignore Critic Reviews, they're all fueled by greed, fear and prejudice.
One of the top 3 best movies I've ever seen. When I saw the poster the movie looked strange to me, and I know a lot of people hate Tom Cruise for some reason, but he's a
Ignore Critic Reviews, they're all fueled by greed, fear and prejudice.
One of the top 3 best movies I've ever seen. When I saw the poster the movie looked strange to me, and I know a lot of people hate Tom Cruise for some reason, but he's a great actor, I'm not big on his older movies but this one was completely organic. I don't know if it's just me but when I watched it again I fully understood what was happening, I noticed a lot of things I missed the first time, the movie is so meticulously written and it's one of those movies everyone has to see, it's up there with The Matrix and Dark Knight. The movie revolves around time travel, it's not vague like you often see in sci-fi where you don't really understand what's happening, it's simple like Groundhog Day, speaking of Groundhog Day this movie is very inspired by Groundhog Day. EoT will make you feel nostalgia, fear, joy, etc. I won't spoilerize anything, all I can say is that it's one of the best movies ever made, it's gritty, it's dark and they did a great job avoiding plot holes, something Days of Future Past was chalk-full of. Avoid the Angry Joe review, he spoils the **** out of every single thing he reviews, he always tells you what happens at the end which ruins the movie/game.

+ Gritty/Dark/Scary
+ Great acting
+ Great production
+ Great plot
- Not gory enough
- Action scenes are kind of hard to make out sometimes
- Music isn't great and memorable like Inception/Dark Knight/Matrix/etc. I always said that music makes a gargantuan difference in quality but this movie did just fine without it
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscDec 27, 2014
When i saw this movie, it is really hard to explain this story, that's what i love about this movie. Based of the novel by Hiroshi Sakurazaka tells such a mysterious,science fiction thriller he goes deep into the science, that it is reallyWhen i saw this movie, it is really hard to explain this story, that's what i love about this movie. Based of the novel by Hiroshi Sakurazaka tells such a mysterious,science fiction thriller he goes deep into the science, that it is really hard to explain nature and science itself.Tom Cruise still has magic in him he does his stunts in this movie i got to say i think its the hardest movie that he has ever done since (Mission Impossible) and when people saw Cruise in this movie you thought it would be terrible cause of he did his previous sci-fi movie Oblivion which people did not like. Emily Blunt! was one of my favorite characters in this movie. Grade A- Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
CherryxldApr 11, 2015
Edge of Tomorrow es una película que consigue dar una ciencia ficción muy intrigante y bien cuidada en su clímax.

Esta película podría resultar confusa o complicada para algunas personas, pero se esfuerza en que se entienda de la forma
Edge of Tomorrow es una película que consigue dar una ciencia ficción muy intrigante y bien cuidada en su clímax.

Esta película podría resultar confusa o complicada para algunas personas, pero se esfuerza en que se entienda de la forma menos complicada sin dejar de decaer el ritmo, y eso lo consigue con éxito, logrando brindar al público una trama sólida que resulta entretenida y satisfactoriamente llena de mucha acción, que usa su slogan tanto en la parte cómica como en la irónica, el cuál es: “Vive,muere, repite”.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
silasbodnickJun 11, 2014
I'm a little dumbfounded that this movie didn't do better at the box office because I found it highly entertaining. The trailer makes it seem like it's going to be very heavy science-fiction but it's not. There are certainly light momentsI'm a little dumbfounded that this movie didn't do better at the box office because I found it highly entertaining. The trailer makes it seem like it's going to be very heavy science-fiction but it's not. There are certainly light moments like there were in the movie Groundhog Day. For all those Tom Cruise haters out there, the real star of this movie is Emily Blunt. She is outstanding and she is underrated as usual. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
SimpleReviewzJun 6, 2014
Edge of Tomorrow was originally not too big on my summer movie radar as much as films like Godzilla or Guardians of the Galaxy. However, after seeing some pretty cool trailers lately I decided this movie was worth a watch indeed. Plus, TomEdge of Tomorrow was originally not too big on my summer movie radar as much as films like Godzilla or Guardians of the Galaxy. However, after seeing some pretty cool trailers lately I decided this movie was worth a watch indeed. Plus, Tom Cruise still holds himself as masterful to this day. There's no denying that EoT is a fun watch, yet that doesn't keep the movie from having noticeable flaws. The premise is simple overall. Aliens have landed on Earth and begin to attack. Tom Cruise's place in this is that he is just someone who thinks of great weaponry for soldiers and plans attacks. He is not a soldier and he does not fight, and he especially notes this with a meeting with the general that basically tells him he must fight this one battle (not a spoiler). The way he dies in this battle makes him live the same day over and over every time he dies, hence the motto "Live. Die. Repeat". Some parts of the plot are extremely interesting, and some are dull. I liked how the romance between Emily Blunt and Tom Cruise was very light. Speaking of them, they both play their roles greatly, and like I said, Tom Cruise is excellent. The other characters aren't nearly as good, but are still OK. The action in this flick moves fast, and I loved it. Those mech suits specifically made for humans to fit into perfectly are sick. Plus, I loved the design of the aliens in the movie named Mimics, even though they looked a little like some types of Transformers. I found the writing in the movie to be clever, spicing it up with a bit of humor here and there. The locations where they filmed were also perfect for the movie. Let's move on to the evil little bugs in nearly every movie known as the flaws. There are big plot holes in this movie. There are times when Tom Cruise knows everything that is going to happen since he's lived this part before. I would have liked to see those scenes the first time through. And like I said, the other characters and some parts of the plot are uneven compared to the other great stuff. Side note: I saw this is in 3D because of my schedule, and I was surprised by how good it was. It is not mandatory by any means, but if you like 3D, I highly recommend it with this flick. My opinions with EoT were mixed, but I walked out thinking it was fun and good. A 7 out of 10, and that is good on my scale. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Meth-dudeJan 3, 2015
This is for sure one of the best movies of 2014.Emily Blunt and Tom Cruise are just fantastic and the story is really original.There is a lot of action and it's interesting to see what they are going to do the day after.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
qevNov 21, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. well, i think Tom is extremely good in this, as indeed is Ms Emily, both of them superlative actors who, naturally, work very well together, being as i they're both superlative actors, and as another consequence of them both being, what was it again? "superlative actors!" that's it, their relationship, which, though fraught with all the requisite anxiety and stress one would naturally associate with your average impending Alien Apocalypse, their relationship is mutually accommodating from the get-go on the beach, their chemistry only improves as they spend more and more time together, which is just as well as it seems they might well have repeated the same day, the only day they ever spend together, many hundreds of times, a strain on people who know each other backwards let alone a man who has not only to repeat himself countless times, BUT who's charged with the unenviable, not to mention tedious, task of each day having to deal with everyone for their first time, Tom being the ONLY person on Earth blessed (or is it cursed?) with prescience, and it's a testament of the strong commitment of these two (superlative) actors to their characters, who not only maintain a wholly believable through line but one that in the face of impossibly cruel odds can find a warmth, even a tenderness, for each other. not to mention a vital and perfectly pitched sense of humour. and everyone is on top form. just a pity the black girl has to suffer the indignation of Hollywood once again playing the ill-suited, sanctimonious and plain WRONG role of Saviour of the Worlds Sensibilities, making the poor wretch have to say (and possibly never ever live down) the heinously censored "why don't you two get yourselves a nice hot cup of Shut The Hell Up", and not just twice either! and no, it's nothing like Groundhog Day or Source Code, and Private Major Cage is NOT a coward as has been mooted on these and other less worthy pages, rather he's a very complicated character having to deal with the kind of mind-snapping challenges you or i wouldn't face in a thousand lifetimes, if we were lucky. oh, and there's nothing 'tedious' about the repetitive repetition either, something concerning one or two of you out there. it's a well paced, quality crafted and consummately executed movie. my only irk, and it was rather singular, didn't live for long, was that one single Irishman seemed to be running Earth's defences all by himself. i suppose come the sequel Tom could always send HIM to face his inevitable death, no? course, it would need a snappy, having-it, insider-type title though... something like... Full Metal Beach? Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
ScribeHardJun 8, 2014
Edge of Tomorrow is a fun sci-fi/action movie that plays like a great video game hybrid of old and new. From the old comes the expertise gained by working through the early stages over and over, and from the new comes sensational sound andEdge of Tomorrow is a fun sci-fi/action movie that plays like a great video game hybrid of old and new. From the old comes the expertise gained by working through the early stages over and over, and from the new comes sensational sound and visuals. And bridging these is Cruise, the ageless star who has dazzled us in both eras. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
diogomendesDec 8, 2014
"Edge of Tomorrow" is a fast-paced blockbuster action thriller that delivers comedy, suspense, and of course, some action. Definitely one of the biggest surprises of 2014.

And Tom Cruise is always welcome.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
jasharkowalskiJun 8, 2014
Tom Cruise is funny and very flexible with his acting finesses, sometimes it gets close to MI series....the plot is smart (funny!) and very likable once u get the point yet the only thing where producers could have been more original is theTom Cruise is funny and very flexible with his acting finesses, sometimes it gets close to MI series....the plot is smart (funny!) and very likable once u get the point yet the only thing where producers could have been more original is the look of bad guys....they were seen in Matrix but still they work well in the film....all in all, this is one of the better sci-fi and those 120 min just fly in IMAX screen Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
ProdionJun 16, 2014
Surprisingly clever and with less focus on the typical romance. A real tought provoker. Imagine an Inception-like movie combined with The Mission Impossible series. Definitely worth a watch!
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
jbravoJun 8, 2014
I do not know why other people scored negative reviews on this movie...seriously...I don't know why some people said they don't understand the movie. What's so hard to understand about it? The whole direction and plot of the movie was veryI do not know why other people scored negative reviews on this movie...seriously...I don't know why some people said they don't understand the movie. What's so hard to understand about it? The whole direction and plot of the movie was very well conveyed throughout the movie!!! Edge of tomorrow is, in my opinion, Tom Cruise's best film since "Minority Report." By the way, if you were annoyed with the lack of action in the X-Men: Days of future past, then watch this action-filled-from-beginning-to-end film!!! Seriously....just watch it....don't Tom Cruise won't disappoint you in this one. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
dagirlsJun 14, 2014
This is a very good SF movie. Too bad it basically steals its plot line from the SF film Source Code made a few years ago. Nothing else to add. maybe they should try and come up with something that isn't a 50% or 100& copy of something else.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
Filmwatcher123Jun 7, 2014
I went to see this film despite minimal advertising here in the UK, one thing i can say is how i liked that that the adverts i did see did not ruin the story line like many modern films do. I am personally not a fan of Tom Cruise in movies,I went to see this film despite minimal advertising here in the UK, one thing i can say is how i liked that that the adverts i did see did not ruin the story line like many modern films do. I am personally not a fan of Tom Cruise in movies, his presence is usually a put off for me, but seeing him in this film as a different character from his usual cocky and arrogant persona (for most of the movie) was quite refreshing. Overall i think this was a really fun sci-fi flick that really brought to home the devastation of war and was a world that was east to immerse into. The only criticisms i have really are the abrupt ending and the tragic under use of the entertaining J squad. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
HealingToolbox1Jun 7, 2014
Bill Paxton is a revelation here! Doug Liman has done it again, taken a tired genre and re-invigorated it by using jui-jitsu on the premise and srcript. An excellent recent LaTimes interview with Doug describes his script and studio issuesBill Paxton is a revelation here! Doug Liman has done it again, taken a tired genre and re-invigorated it by using jui-jitsu on the premise and srcript. An excellent recent LaTimes interview with Doug describes his script and studio issues insightfully. Apparently he had to write a new third act and I think he's done brilliantly. Doug knows just the right balls to keep in the air and which to drop because we have been there, done that so many times before.

I liked Oblivion also, despite its useless title and this is more of the same in many respects, sci-fi film reimagined to do things impossible to do in sci-fi video games.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
JomanponerJun 9, 2014
Great movie! Never usually like Tom Cruise but, he was great in this movie, and so was emily blunt good pair. But, I did not like the cheesy ending on how they got back together (it was implied), I think they just should have died make theGreat movie! Never usually like Tom Cruise but, he was great in this movie, and so was emily blunt good pair. But, I did not like the cheesy ending on how they got back together (it was implied), I think they just should have died make the movie seem more intense I guess. But overall good, one thing Im confused about is in the beach scene their are all those twirling explosions which are much more effective then the alines close combat fighting and yet, they never use it and you never see one of them with one and it definitely not on a ship since they were in a meteorite. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
43in2014Jun 17, 2014
Prior to viewing: I have not seen Cruise's last three films.
Pros: Good Story. Good action scenes.
Cons: Aliens were too powerful to be believable. Some plots were not properly explained. There were some major plot holes. The ending was
Prior to viewing: I have not seen Cruise's last three films.
Pros: Good Story. Good action scenes.
Cons: Aliens were too powerful to be believable. Some plots were not properly explained. There were some major plot holes. The ending was too perfect.
4/5
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Timcodex55Jun 11, 2014
If anything, this movie is hollywood's lifesaver. There has never been something more refreshing to the movie industry than this movie ever since the start of the 21st century. If had great cgi, good dialogue and a good plot. It had all theIf anything, this movie is hollywood's lifesaver. There has never been something more refreshing to the movie industry than this movie ever since the start of the 21st century. If had great cgi, good dialogue and a good plot. It had all the things which makes a movie great and more. I really hope whoever reads this could contemplate on going to see this movie because it was done so well. Maleficent has no right to be currently making more money in the box office than "Edge of tomorrow". The only reason I created an meta critic and imdb account on the same day was because I couldn't let a great movie as this not get the attention and money it deserves. This is the first movie which made me do what I did. I hope that gives you a sense of just how good this movie is. If could only watch one movie for the whole of this year, you have got to pick "Edge of tomorrow". There is too much praise to be able to fit in this review and I have not enough time to type all of it out. My personnel tip to you, is to watch this movie. You will never regret it. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
OpinionatedGuyJan 13, 2015
It’s sad that a lot of people didn’t see this movie. Edge of Tomorrow has to be the most unique, original sci-fi movie in recent memory in a movie industry that mostly releases sequels to previously released sci-fi movies.

The concept and
It’s sad that a lot of people didn’t see this movie. Edge of Tomorrow has to be the most unique, original sci-fi movie in recent memory in a movie industry that mostly releases sequels to previously released sci-fi movies.

The concept and the premise made this movie very unique. It used its “what if?” time loop concept very well and it remains fresh throughout the entire movie without the concept being overtired.

What also made this movie entertaining was its natural light-hearted humor. It makes the characters more likable.

The character development in this movie is really good and transitioned well for the character of Tom Cruise.

The cast performance from Tom Cruise and Emily Blunt are amazing to watch. They had chemistry together as an action couple duo.The CGI in this movie makes this movie very realistic to watch as it’s like they are real weapons and real aliens. The direction and the cinematography is excellent for a movie like Edge of Tomorrow.If you need to see what the hype of this movie is about, you better watch this movie to find out. You will enjoy its brilliant use of the time loop concept, light-hearted humor that will make you care for the characters, great on-screen presence of Tom Cruise and Emily Blunt and great CGI.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
PfenderStrat621Mar 30, 2015
A good blockbuster with good actions scenes, funny moments, and surprisingly some interesting characters. Maybe there are a lot of inconsistencies, plot conveniences and dull moments, but i cannot deny that it wasn't a very entertaining andA good blockbuster with good actions scenes, funny moments, and surprisingly some interesting characters. Maybe there are a lot of inconsistencies, plot conveniences and dull moments, but i cannot deny that it wasn't a very entertaining and funny experience with some original stuff. I recommend it If you want to have fun! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
BarbyNov 30, 2014
Caught throughout the whole film! The time loops are exciting and sometime funny, there is chemistry between the protagonists at their unique and personal way, you can truly feel what they are thinking in each scene. Should be viewed more than once.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Beatz0121Sep 21, 2014
completely entertained the entire time! Clever movie. something new from the norm! Please don't make a sequel! But great movie! Probably my favorite movie of the year!
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
WJSFeb 28, 2015
This is a very entertaining film. It's well written and well acted and has some fine high octane, well directed action sequences. Well, really, the entire film is one fast paced action sequence. I'm not a big fan of Tom Cruise, but this isThis is a very entertaining film. It's well written and well acted and has some fine high octane, well directed action sequences. Well, really, the entire film is one fast paced action sequence. I'm not a big fan of Tom Cruise, but this is one of his better films. Emily Blunt is quite good here and really proves herself to be an action star. Lots of fun to be had with its good sense of humour and I can actually say that I can recommend this movie. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
captain_pylonAug 1, 2015
I enjoyed watching this film, multiple times. Cruise was charming, enough. Blunt was a Final Fantasy character come alive, and a hot, hot yogi. The movie was well directed and looked great..the ending was kind of blasé, but no matter, itI enjoyed watching this film, multiple times. Cruise was charming, enough. Blunt was a Final Fantasy character come alive, and a hot, hot yogi. The movie was well directed and looked great..the ending was kind of blasé, but no matter, it couldn't detract from its awesomeness, besides I can usually pass out before the ending.. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
GenuineOpinionJun 22, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was pleasantly surprised by this movie. A few things felt a little bit contrived, (like going back in time to a very specific point in time every time you die, gee, that sure was convenient). But overall, it was a solid action flick with some comedy mixed in. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
namelessNov 28, 2015
Excellent movie. Every time it comes on TV I have to stop and watch parts of it. It just gets better and better.
Yes there are some cliches and the VFX are pretty bad at times (more technical then artistic) but you overlook them because you
Excellent movie. Every time it comes on TV I have to stop and watch parts of it. It just gets better and better.
Yes there are some cliches and the VFX are pretty bad at times (more technical then artistic) but you overlook them because you are engaged.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
judahjsnJun 12, 2014
So, so good. So much better than anything in this genre that I've seen in a long time. They raised the bar with this movie. It reminded me of the way I felt when I saw classic big-budget sci-fi action movies like Aliens or T2 for the firstSo, so good. So much better than anything in this genre that I've seen in a long time. They raised the bar with this movie. It reminded me of the way I felt when I saw classic big-budget sci-fi action movies like Aliens or T2 for the first time. Just that feeling of hollywood at its best. There were a lot of smart choices in this, including the male and female leads' relationship, which was atypical for a popcorn flick but still satisfying.

Despite the nature of the story I thought that most of it was coherent except for the very end. But time travel is generally an incoherent concept anyway, so it didn't bother me too much. It's weird because I just saw X-men yesterday and had a similar confused feeling about the end and the way that time travel played into it.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
terrible_lizardNov 22, 2014
Best action movie in years. Tom Cruise may be nuts in real life, but on screen he is still the man. Emily Blunt matches Cruise blow for blow, and the two of them really carry the movie together. Just a no-BS action film with greatBest action movie in years. Tom Cruise may be nuts in real life, but on screen he is still the man. Emily Blunt matches Cruise blow for blow, and the two of them really carry the movie together. Just a no-BS action film with great performances, great action, and a preposterous plot that nonetheless draws you in as you watch. I could have used a touch more humor, but otherwise I can't complain. 8/10. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
skyminsterJan 6, 2016
Edge of Tomorrow is as exciting as it is unique; with fantastic action, a clever story, a script that forces you to love the main characters and a gimmick that really does work with the whole living, dying and repeating thing. However, theEdge of Tomorrow is as exciting as it is unique; with fantastic action, a clever story, a script that forces you to love the main characters and a gimmick that really does work with the whole living, dying and repeating thing. However, the best thing about the film may be Tom Cruise, as he is so good in the film that I'm not sure it would be as good as it is without him. This is definitely a film I would recommend, but I don't think it would have anywhere near the effect it has on you the first time if you watch it again.

But yeah, it is a great film.

80/100.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
frozen82Jan 26, 2015
Better than I fought.
Groundhog Day meets Starship Troopers.
Saying this, its not great by any means but its ok summer blockbuster stupid fun SF flick. The plot itself is ridiculous, so no need for nitpicking plot holes, it was never
Better than I fought.
Groundhog Day meets Starship Troopers.
Saying this, its not great by any means but its ok summer blockbuster stupid fun SF flick.
The plot itself is ridiculous, so no need for nitpicking plot holes, it was never intended to be a serious deep SF
The passing is ok, it is really good directed film for what it is.
Where it goes real flat is the ending-either go for Hollywood full scale showdown or gritty dark sad end not both.
Tom Cruise is Tom Cruise not a bad actor but not great either. This kind of roles are suited for him he's not good enough for high drama. And I don't agree that he's too old, he looks good for his age and can still be the one to get the girl at the end (even if she is young enough to be he's daughter)
Best part of film is Emily Blunt, she really nailed it. Looking forward seeing her in more action roles. Great actress.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJun 21, 2014
Edge of Tomorrow is certainly a surprise for me. Having seen the trailers, it just never interested me. Luckily, the good buzz surrounding it convinced me to see it and boy am I ever glad that it did. The film is funny, intriguing,Edge of Tomorrow is certainly a surprise for me. Having seen the trailers, it just never interested me. Luckily, the good buzz surrounding it convinced me to see it and boy am I ever glad that it did. The film is funny, intriguing, well-acted, well-directed, and, ultimately, feels "fresh". The premise has been done before, the classic aliens invading Earth story and now they just added the the time looping element from Groundhog Day. No way this can be any good, right? Wrong. It may not be overally original on premise, but the way it handles these elements feels anything but tired and instead feels completely new, providing for a fun experience. Tom Cruise killed it in his role and Emily Blunt was just as great, if not better. In addition, the special effects are great and the action is done very well, never really growing tiresome. Heading into this one, I was worried that the time loop would become tiresome, but much like the material they have, it never felt tired. Every time he starts from the beginning, it feels fresh and like a totally new experience, even if it is not. The only two negatives I can really come up for this one are the beginning, which was a bit sketchy for me and had me questioning my decision to watch this one. Luckily, once the fllm kicks in, it is clearly much, much better. The ending is also a little iffy. It is not a total issue, but it bugs me enough to bring it up. If you have seen the film or when you see it, you will likely know what portion bugged me. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
ViolettAug 14, 2015
My first thought was - oh my, this is Groundhog Day 2! But that was only first thought. This is dynamic action sci-fi movie with never-getting-old Tom Cruise. Reccomended to watch!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
tehaceNov 20, 2015
Im sorry I just wanted to chim in on the comment I have found in the review for this movie

"This is one of the dumbest movies I have ever seen in my entire life. If I am playing a video game and I am stuck and have to play the same part
Im sorry I just wanted to chim in on the comment I have found in the review for this movie

"This is one of the dumbest movies I have ever seen in my entire life. If I am playing a video game and I am stuck and have to play the same part over and over it gets ANNOYING. To the point that either I beat it pretty quick or I quit playing the game because it ceases to be entertaining, or fun at that point. So if a movie was going to emulate that concept why the heck would I want to watch it."

I haven't seen such missed analogy in a long time, guess that's what come out of checkpoint generation. Now imagine for a second that the game is really hard and you have only ONE life, otherwise the game resets and you start everything all over again. You have to master the mechanics as your 'final' run needs to be flawless, guess that could count as an achievement but not by today's standards... it feels like whole hotline miami on one life.

As for the movie itself I liked the concept and although it seem basic it felt refreshing and intriguing at points. Really felt like the execution was really on point.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
chepod8Jun 11, 2015
La mejor adaptación no oficial de Gears of War hasta la fecha, giros inesperados y más de mil formas de morir, parece en todo momento un videojuego de acción real.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
manofthemoonJan 13, 2015
"Live. Die. Repeat" would have been a better title, but the studio ran an algorithm (probably) and went for a bland title instead, then failed to market the film at all. Critics liked it, so did audiences. "Groundhog Day" in a sci-fi action"Live. Die. Repeat" would have been a better title, but the studio ran an algorithm (probably) and went for a bland title instead, then failed to market the film at all. Critics liked it, so did audiences. "Groundhog Day" in a sci-fi action film and it works. Cruise is first rate at playing initially unlikeable characters and it's the same here. It's also, at times, very funny. Genuinely good. A big surprise, Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Datzman290Jun 20, 2014
A science fiction action filled version of Groundhog Day! Just substitute Tom Cruise for Bill Murray, an alien horde for the groundhog, and add some futuristic weaponry. It was a fun ride
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
ManToastJun 16, 2014
Why did they not advertise that in this film there is the magnificent Bill Paxton! C'mon, everyone loves the Pax Man and you can tell that here he is thoroughly enjoying his more-than-humorous roll. Advertising, why you do dis!?

So Tom
Why did they not advertise that in this film there is the magnificent Bill Paxton! C'mon, everyone loves the Pax Man and you can tell that here he is thoroughly enjoying his more-than-humorous roll. Advertising, why you do dis!?

So Tom Cruise. 51 years old. Same ageless face. Same gigantic teeth. Kinda can't help but feel he was the reason this film isn't doing so well at the moment. Some people really dislike him and I feel he was a turnoff for the kind of audience that would love this film. Now personally, I don't mind the dude. Yeah he's full on 'MURICAN sometimes and the Scientology thing is... weird, at best, but surprisingly I liked him in this movie. Instead of the hands-on full-force gun-toting OTT super-soldier he usually plays, in Edge of Tomorrow we see a cowardly military officer who's a newcomer to any kind of warfare or combat. And it's fresh to say the least; the film is all about a nobody who, through the power of repeating the same events in a Groundhog Day style, becomes one awesome super hero almost by the end of the movie.

You also got the aforementioned Bill Paxton, who is beautiful in every way, Emily Blunt as the 'Full Metal **** who's like an English Ellen Ripley, and a bunch of British misfits who are sometimes pretty cheesey, but overall a joy. The film is obviously quite Alien inspired (you get this idea from the moment you first see the Pax Man) as the Mech-suits and the weapons all feed that memorable tone. As I said before, Cruise repeats the same events while accumulating knowledge in a Groudhog Day style and the film is all about how he can stop this alien threat (they're called 'Mimics') by becoming more and more accustomed to the war that takes place. It's a fresh and inspired idea, the delivery is spot on, the humour throughout keeps the overall story from going stale and it's just all handled so well... Apart from the ending, which, while not really making that much of an impact negatively, is just 10 minutes that literally could not and should not exist. You'll see what I mean.

This film is just so fun and awesome. It's not great, but as good as the next best thing. I would recommend this to fans of Alien, people who enjoy a little dark humour and those who wanna repeatedly see Tom Cruise get the **** beaten out of him.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
MarZ_txJun 8, 2014
I found this movie to be surprisingly entertaining. The trailers do not do it justice and sadly could never fulfill that role. The movie is about repetition but is not repetitive. It has great moments of using that repetition for comedyI found this movie to be surprisingly entertaining. The trailers do not do it justice and sadly could never fulfill that role. The movie is about repetition but is not repetitive. It has great moments of using that repetition for comedy and also for suspense. What a great line this film walked to achieve this effect!

I found myself trying to figure out what I would do or say in those same situations and also worrying about what the characters were going to do once they were presented with the same information the audience had. This to me proves that this film never gets boring or predictable which might also mean that this is a very entertaining film and one to recommend to friends.

Have fun "Maggot"! :)
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
kenny709394Jun 14, 2014
Love the story, love the acting, love the uniqueness!!! A must see! It is just not the same! Oblivion is disappointing but not this one! We had a great time!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
AlexmlJun 17, 2014
My friend advised me to watch this film. As for me - film is very interesting! And I recommend to see this film to everyone who like fantasy. But I think that in this film many recurrent episodes.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
MaglarendJun 16, 2014
Not the biggest Tom Cruise fan, but this was a really good movie. The mechanized exo-skeleton suits and the other future-tech was pretty sweet. Story was pretty good too. Oh, and the alien foes were refreshingly unique and fun to watch.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
barnz3000Jun 17, 2014
This is a great Sci Fi. The action is stunning, and it has a sense of humour as well. Aliens look ALIEN which was nice. Enjoyed it from begining to end, and so did my wife - who was really a bit dubious about the action flick thing, but iThis is a great Sci Fi. The action is stunning, and it has a sense of humour as well. Aliens look ALIEN which was nice. Enjoyed it from begining to end, and so did my wife - who was really a bit dubious about the action flick thing, but i dragged her along. Best movie I have seen in a long time. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
jacob4Feb 20, 2016
An epic, thrilling sci-fi adventure filled with awesome action, interesting characters, fun humor, and outstanding special effects. A movie that has an interesting but not so difficult to understand time plot that can make for someAn epic, thrilling sci-fi adventure filled with awesome action, interesting characters, fun humor, and outstanding special effects. A movie that has an interesting but not so difficult to understand time plot that can make for some interesting and entertaining moments. And this movie could also be the closest thing we ever could get to a Halo or Call of Duty movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
PeteStaivJul 17, 2014
Yep, Edge of Tomorrow is surprisingly the best summer action movie of 2014! Super interesting and engaging main plot with solid characters! It also has original elements! Great action movie
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
metareviewer3Aug 1, 2014
Yes, this movie is a mash-up of groundhog's day and starship troopers, but the movie works. Emily Blunt steals the movie from Tom Cruise, and she plays the character so strong, you'd follow her into battle. I was thoroughly entertained, andYes, this movie is a mash-up of groundhog's day and starship troopers, but the movie works. Emily Blunt steals the movie from Tom Cruise, and she plays the character so strong, you'd follow her into battle. I was thoroughly entertained, and would recommend seeing the movie in 3-D. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
MeiLongDongOct 15, 2014
Overall a very fun movie. If you're a sci fi fan or a gamer you'll probably like this. Very well done effects and cgi. The exoskeletons look and sounded real.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JohnMasterLAug 8, 2015
Posiblemente la película mas divertida del genero Science Fiction que eh visto. Edge of Tomorrow o "Live, Die, Repeat: Edge of Tomorrow" es un espectáculo visual repleto de situaciones frescas e innovadoras. No esperaba que la idea dePosiblemente la película mas divertida del genero Science Fiction que eh visto. Edge of Tomorrow o "Live, Die, Repeat: Edge of Tomorrow" es un espectáculo visual repleto de situaciones frescas e innovadoras. No esperaba que la idea de "Morir-Repetir" funcionara tan bien en una película. Doug Liman supo dirigir muy bien, pues las secuencias y las repeticiones nunca son tediosas, cada repetición es diferente y aporta mas a la historia, acompañada de situaciones y muertes divertidas. Tom Cruise y todo su equipo lo vuelven a hacer, es de las mejores películas de Science Fiction que eh visto. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Edge of Tomorrow" 10 Scale Rating: 8.5 (Amazing) ...

The Good: Fantastic idea that was well written and thought out. I typically dislike Tom Cruise these days, but he did a great job here. His transformation from clueless desk jockey to
"Edge of Tomorrow" 10 Scale Rating: 8.5 (Amazing) ...

The Good: Fantastic idea that was well written and thought out. I typically dislike Tom Cruise these days, but he did a great job here. His transformation from clueless desk jockey to hardened war veteran was seamless and Cruise showed more depth than he usually does. Blunt was even better as a grizzled and cold war hero. The film is extremely creative and is a perfect blend of sci-fi, war, and drama movies. The alien threat was well designed and different from the generic villains that we've grown accustomed to in this sort of film.

The Bad: I know it is key to the plot, but I did get sick of seeing the exact same battle over and over again. While they eventually show you a truncated version, you still see the entire thing far too many times. Despite suffering several quick and random deaths, the lead character was able to survive some pretty fantastic things late in the film. The film has what amounts to two endings: the way they want you to think it ends, and the way it really ends ... while it didn't take away TOO much, I preferred the former.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
deathmachineptMay 29, 2016
Simple story kinda of cliché but with interesting twists as the way is told it uses the main feature from groundhog day which makes the story so but deeper and interesting, the progression, the jokes and the tom cruise charm brings to theSimple story kinda of cliché but with interesting twists as the way is told it uses the main feature from groundhog day which makes the story so but deeper and interesting, the progression, the jokes and the tom cruise charm brings to the character is really good, the visuals and great and there is a nice blend between CGI and SFX!

9/10 I want more of this.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
WheelzFourReelzDec 29, 2014
The fact that this movie bombed at the box office saddens me. Edge of Tomorrow is a fantastic sci-fi comedy with some really exciting action and some hilarious moments. It takes a been-done premise and makes it seem new. Please watch thisThe fact that this movie bombed at the box office saddens me. Edge of Tomorrow is a fantastic sci-fi comedy with some really exciting action and some hilarious moments. It takes a been-done premise and makes it seem new. Please watch this movie. It's so good. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentOct 6, 2015
Highly action-packed with enough humor, drama and complexity in its plot to make for a pretty good summer blockbuster. Edge of Tomorrow fires away with a great duo in Cruise & Blunt as well as the sleek direction of Liman. The film's deliveryHighly action-packed with enough humor, drama and complexity in its plot to make for a pretty good summer blockbuster. Edge of Tomorrow fires away with a great duo in Cruise & Blunt as well as the sleek direction of Liman. The film's delivery is as impacting as expected and more Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
FwimVJun 9, 2015
An amazing movie that had me from the beginning. Tom Cruises performance was amazing and a great reminder that great movie and actor combinations still exist. This undeniably hit the nail right on the head.
LOVED IT!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews