Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 905 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Lt. Col. Bill Cage (Tom Cruise) is an officer who has never seen a day of combat when he is unceremoniously dropped into what amounts to little more than a suicide mission. Killed within minutes, Cage now finds himself inexplicably thrown into a time loop—forcing him to live out the same brutal combat over and over, fighting and dying again…and again. But with each battle, Cage becomes able to engage the adversaries with increasing skill, alongside Special Forces warrior Rita Vrataski (Emily Blunt). And, as Cage and Rita take the fight to the aliens, each repeated encounter gets them one step closer to defeating the enemy. [Warner Bros. Pictures] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jun 5, 2014
    100
    Edge of Tomorrow is the ultimate metaphor about Tom Cruise’s career. You can’t kill this guy. He’ll just keep coming. And he remains arguably the biggest movie star in the world for a reason. He brings it.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 5, 2014
    88
    The movie has an organic intelligence and a sense that it, too, exists outside of linear time. It seems to be creating itself as you watch it.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jun 6, 2014
    80
    A furiously time-looping joy ride and the smartest action film of the early summer season.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 5, 2014
    75
    I'm not sure Edge of Tomorrow holds much repeat viewing potential among teenage movie consumers, since the movie's a self-repeating entity to begin with. But once is fun.
  5. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jun 5, 2014
    70
    In Edge of Tomorrow, Mr. Liman brings Mr. Cruise’s smile out of semiretirement and also gives him the kind of physical challenges at which he so brilliantly excels.
  6. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jun 5, 2014
    67
    Edge of Tomorrow is slick, but once its fancy plot dressing takes form, it has little more to offer aside from a few impressive action sequences and the infallible grin of its nimble lead.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    May 29, 2014
    40
    It is basically deadly serious, and after some moderate knockaboutfun, settles into something pretty dull. Where's the edge?

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 238
  1. Sep 17, 2014
    10
    Its a TEN a solid solid ten. It's on the level of Minority Report and Die Hard, and Tom Cruise is gritty and superb. A masterpiece of sci-fi and thriller, with romance to boot. It really BURIES all the Marvel stuff that's come out this year. The science is awesome. Just read a review where some idiot said the "suspension of disbelief" is strained...Anyone familiar with Einstein's theories about time bending with gravity or Michio Kaku knows this is the direction of the future. A must watch. Deserves Best Picture of the Year. Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    I was reluctant to see the movie at first (mostly because it's got Tom Cruise and Oblivion last year was pretty disappointing), but eventually came through only to check Emily Blunt. However, I have to admit that I would've missed a lot had I not seen it. The plot might seem dull at first, especially when you think of Groundhog Day or Source Code, but this is, might I say, definitely one of the best science-fiction works ever. Period.

    Turns out Cruise still has the magic in him, but Blunt is pretty much the major reason why this movie resonates so well with the audience. Without any gigantic marketing gimmicks (in comparison to other summer releases), I really didn't expect the movie to be as good as it is.

    The visual effect is very smooth, the writing is definitely dashing, and for a movie about repetitions, I am surprised that I didn't even want to miss any scene because the humor, action, sci-fi lectures, and suspense work really well altogether. I expected X-Men: DoFP to be my favorite summer hit this year, but I have to say that this movie definitely steals the spotlight. I hope more people turn out to see it because it's something that you don't want to miss at all (despite the rather cliche ending).
    Expand
  3. Jun 12, 2014
    9
    So, so good. So much better than anything in this genre that I've seen in a long time. They raised the bar with this movie. It reminded me of the way I felt when I saw classic big-budget sci-fi action movies like Aliens or T2 for the first time. Just that feeling of hollywood at its best. There were a lot of smart choices in this, including the male and female leads' relationship, which was atypical for a popcorn flick but still satisfying.

    Despite the nature of the story I thought that most of it was coherent except for the very end. But time travel is generally an incoherent concept anyway, so it didn't bother me too much. It's weird because I just saw X-men yesterday and had a similar confused feeling about the end and the way that time travel played into it.
    Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2014
    9
    One of the best movies I've seen all year, both myself (Sci-fi, action, war movie fan) and my girlfriend (not a Sci-fi or war movie fan) loved it. The only fault I could find is that the ending was a bit confusing, it left me wondering about the logic of it as I left, but I'm sure a quick google search would help me make sense of it. Expand
  5. Jun 13, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved the scene where Emily kisses Tom before sacrificing herself as the decoy... though she only met him for less than two days, she knows that Tom is in love with her just by the way he stares at her (Tom Cruise delivered a masterful performance in an action film, as usual)...

    because she herself has done her fair share of looping, by getting to the Omega lair, she's cognizant of the fact he has already spent a lifetime with her, fighting and dying beside her, over and over again... she empathizes how difficult it was watching a loved one die, like she had done more than 300 times... it takes a lot of will power to start the day over from scratch to anticipate another failure, and she gets it... she's the only other human who does...

    her final kiss reveals how she's touched by it all, despite trying to avoid getting him emotionally vested by appearing cold all the time... they both know it might be their last time together... after all, she dug him at first sight by her expression every time Cruise walks in on her training routine when they first meet... maybe seeing her back alive after a restart is what drives Tom Cruise to get back up on his feet to face another death... no longer was he motivated by survival, but by love...

    It's these emotional nuances in films or tv shows audience can connect with that makes them worth watching.
    Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2014
    8
    Overall a very fun movie. If you're a sci fi fan or a gamer you'll probably like this. Very well done effects and cgi. The exoskeletons look and sounded real. Expand
  7. Jul 24, 2014
    3
    Groundhog Day, Source Code, Pacific Rim put together brings Edge of Tomorrow like already one of comment said, I really can't see how is possible that somebody which see it self like regular movie critics writer (i think on many news papers and magazine) can give to this movie any higher score than 3+ and 1 point more for good production, after his fourth "reset" movie becoming on first place boring, whit various ATTEMPTS in several different directions for developing story, but neither of them was developed in some kind of main note , so all is one big mix, as is said before of several movies, whit End which is so chip and stupid , that was simply surprising..for example Movie LIVING IN OBLIVION maybe is not master piece but he have one main impulse trough which viewers is guided from beginning to the end. As i said... edge of Tomorrow is maybe poorest executed movie for last , let's say 15 years in which Tom Cruise took the main rolle Collapse

See all 238 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in June

    Movie Preview: 10 Films to See in June Image
    Published: June 3, 2014
    We pick out the 10 most notable movies heading to theaters in June, including 22 Jump Street, Snowpiercer, Edge of Tomorrow, and more.