User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 73
  2. Negative: 13 out of 73
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. viv
    Oct 10, 2007
    8
    Wow...I'm surprised by the early negative reviews. My guy and I were fortunate to attend the LA premiere and were rather impressed by the epic grandeur of this film and Cate Blanchett's mesmerizing performance. Perhaps we were influenced by the surrounding glitz and hoopla...but nevertheless, Blanchett's portrayal of the steely-but-vulnerable queen all but makes up for some Wow...I'm surprised by the early negative reviews. My guy and I were fortunate to attend the LA premiere and were rather impressed by the epic grandeur of this film and Cate Blanchett's mesmerizing performance. Perhaps we were influenced by the surrounding glitz and hoopla...but nevertheless, Blanchett's portrayal of the steely-but-vulnerable queen all but makes up for some admittedly bombastic moments & discrepancies. Expand
  2. PatG.
    Oct 20, 2007
    7
    Well, given the reviews I was surprised at how much I did like in this film. Cate Blanchett, as others have said, can do no wrong. It is worth every penny just to see her performance. But I also considered it a fine cinematic experience. Yes, there are flaws, but the costumes, settings, and cinematography are stunning. It is a visual delight. Those things are enough to make it worth your Well, given the reviews I was surprised at how much I did like in this film. Cate Blanchett, as others have said, can do no wrong. It is worth every penny just to see her performance. But I also considered it a fine cinematic experience. Yes, there are flaws, but the costumes, settings, and cinematography are stunning. It is a visual delight. Those things are enough to make it worth your while to see this film. I enjoyed it in many ways. Expand
  3. JohnB
    Jan 25, 2008
    9
    Not strong on historical facts but nevertheless great fun.
  4. AngelicaH.
    Feb 24, 2008
    7
    It was worth watching for the costumes alone. But the movie does not explore the queen herself and her own complexity as a human being. Too bad.
  5. AdamT.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    This film is beautifully crafted and Cate Blanchett gives an Oscar worthy performance, supported by a strong cast. Although her leading man may be corny to say the least he still adds to the film and helps make this one of the years best films!
  6. ClintM
    Oct 15, 2007
    8
    I may not be a paid critic but that doesn't make my opinion any less valid. I URGE you to ignore the reviews, ignore the critics and see this movie for yourself! If not, you're missing out on a thoroughly entertaining movie!! Cate Blanchett held my attention w/every word she spoke and every emotion she didn't need to speak. The set, costume and FX were beautiful. HELP OUT I may not be a paid critic but that doesn't make my opinion any less valid. I URGE you to ignore the reviews, ignore the critics and see this movie for yourself! If not, you're missing out on a thoroughly entertaining movie!! Cate Blanchett held my attention w/every word she spoke and every emotion she didn't need to speak. The set, costume and FX were beautiful. HELP OUT THIS FILM AND SEE IT FOR YOURSELF!!! Expand
  7. AdamA.
    Oct 15, 2007
    8
    Elizabeth: The Golden Age is an apt sequel to the acclaimed 1998 film. Its a film that is better accepted when viewed as it is a film that is what it is, an attempt to be commerically viable and a historical epic.
  8. DavidT.
    Oct 22, 2007
    8
    Much better than the critics are saying.
  9. JaredC.
    Oct 27, 2007
    7
    Unique as it is dazzling. Great outstanding performances from the two far most spectacular stars, Cate Blanchett and Clive Owen. This intense epic sequel is great for young adult viewers like myself. Although, it's not a masterpiece if that's what you're expecting. The trailer was so well done but barely had any of that style in the film. The trailer was most likely like Unique as it is dazzling. Great outstanding performances from the two far most spectacular stars, Cate Blanchett and Clive Owen. This intense epic sequel is great for young adult viewers like myself. Although, it's not a masterpiece if that's what you're expecting. The trailer was so well done but barely had any of that style in the film. The trailer was most likely like The Queen and looked totally appealing. It's good, but not great. Out of my standard of rating films, Elizabeth: The Golden Age doesn't reach Pan's Labyrinth's or The Queen's standards by far. But still an alright sequel for real movie goers to see. Expand
  10. TimurR.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    This highly underrated film is actually quite brilliantly directed with one of the best performances of all time. I am sure the studios cut it as it could have used another hour. However, this talk of being historically accurate is simply unfair. I don't know of any movies that are historically accurate. They are not lectures, they are art! If you want history, listen to some This highly underrated film is actually quite brilliantly directed with one of the best performances of all time. I am sure the studios cut it as it could have used another hour. However, this talk of being historically accurate is simply unfair. I don't know of any movies that are historically accurate. They are not lectures, they are art! If you want history, listen to some lectures or read a book. This is to give you the experience of the time. And as for bombastic, overripe and all the other nonsense comments, well I guess if a film shows some emotion, it is too much for our cynical age. Expand
  11. SteveK.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    I think I have a unique perspective. I try to watch a movie for all the points of quality. And I do not know what these reviewers saw. I saw Kate give a fabulous both powerful and nuanced performance. An academy award winner if I have ever seen it. While the story might have taken on too much breadth and lost the perfect tightness and focus of the first movie, I thought they did a I think I have a unique perspective. I try to watch a movie for all the points of quality. And I do not know what these reviewers saw. I saw Kate give a fabulous both powerful and nuanced performance. An academy award winner if I have ever seen it. While the story might have taken on too much breadth and lost the perfect tightness and focus of the first movie, I thought they did a spectacular job of holding this together. It was gripping and intensely interesting without beating you to numbness, with times of intense emotion brought right into your soul, mixed with sweeping grandur and joy. This may not be historically accurate, it is a dramatization, and gloriously over decorated. Yeah, I'm over the top for this - this is an over top movie - especially considering the endless disappointment of so much hollywood fare. I would consider this a must see. If you want pure history, read a history book!! Expand
  12. DianeM.
    Oct 19, 2007
    8
    Very enjoyable period drama. Cate Blanchett and Geoffrey R. are wonderful. Deserves a higher rating.
  13. FrankM.
    Feb 13, 2008
    8
    I had a great time watching this melodrama. The people who enjoyed the first one seem to dislike this one for being over the top and corny but forget that "Elizabeth" was pretty much the same.
  14. ElaineS.
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    Brilliant wigs, makeup and costuming. A bit casual on historical interpretation.
  15. ArielG
    Dec 15, 2007
    8
    It wasn't quite as engrossing as its prequel. It stays light on political intrigues and some historical facts, but still I quite enjoyed it. Think of this film as the more accessible to the masses, easily digestible and faster paced Elizabeth, compared to its more historical 1998 predecessor. Cate Blanchett was brilliant on her role, as usual.
  16. Jan 3, 2015
    8
    Elizabeth: The Golden Age is a great sequel to the excellent original film. It doesn't quite scale the heights of the first film, mostly because the theme isn't as stirring as the first's 'loss-of-innocence' motif. But the costumes are sumptuous, the performances are amazing, the pacing flows well and it never dips into tedium. One small annoyance; as a person with a passion for history,Elizabeth: The Golden Age is a great sequel to the excellent original film. It doesn't quite scale the heights of the first film, mostly because the theme isn't as stirring as the first's 'loss-of-innocence' motif. But the costumes are sumptuous, the performances are amazing, the pacing flows well and it never dips into tedium. One small annoyance; as a person with a passion for history, the historical inaccuracies were much more notable than the first film. Oh well. Still great, though. Expand
  17. Aug 25, 2014
    7
    I don't know how historically accurate this movie is, but I rather enjoyed it. A good sequel to "Elizabeth".

    Queen Elizabeth is facing trouble with his enemies - and potential lovers. War lies ahead, England is weak, but the Queen must remain strong - correct? Between personal yearnings and the expectations she has set for herself, Elizabeth is both erratic and tragic to follow. Cate
    I don't know how historically accurate this movie is, but I rather enjoyed it. A good sequel to "Elizabeth".

    Queen Elizabeth is facing trouble with his enemies - and potential lovers. War lies ahead, England is weak, but the Queen must remain strong - correct? Between personal yearnings and the expectations she has set for herself, Elizabeth is both erratic and tragic to follow.

    Cate Blanchett and Geoffry Rush were amazing. The film was visually stunning, matching the era, and the music was beautifiully fitting.
    Expand
  18. Sep 3, 2012
    7
    Cate was a very convincing queen. It was kind of boring at times, but I don't think the critics got it right. She put on an amazing performance and that is worth watching it for.
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. An unholy mixture of the banal and the bombastic.
  2. 50
    Cate Blanchett can do anything, even play Bob Dylan, but she can't save this creaky sequel to her star-making 1998 biopic of Elizabeth I.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    40
    Without the pleasure of watching Cate Blanchett continue the role that launched her to stardom, there would be little to recommend this latest of many cinematic and television accounts of the celebrated monarch's life.