Universal Pictures | Release Date: October 12, 2007
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 78 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
45
Mixed:
18
Negative:
15
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
vivOct 10, 2007
Wow...I'm surprised by the early negative reviews. My guy and I were fortunate to attend the LA premiere and were rather impressed by the epic grandeur of this film and Cate Blanchett's mesmerizing performance. Perhaps we were Wow...I'm surprised by the early negative reviews. My guy and I were fortunate to attend the LA premiere and were rather impressed by the epic grandeur of this film and Cate Blanchett's mesmerizing performance. Perhaps we were influenced by the surrounding glitz and hoopla...but nevertheless, Blanchett's portrayal of the steely-but-vulnerable queen all but makes up for some admittedly bombastic moments & discrepancies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatG.Oct 20, 2007
Well, given the reviews I was surprised at how much I did like in this film. Cate Blanchett, as others have said, can do no wrong. It is worth every penny just to see her performance. But I also considered it a fine cinematic experience. Well, given the reviews I was surprised at how much I did like in this film. Cate Blanchett, as others have said, can do no wrong. It is worth every penny just to see her performance. But I also considered it a fine cinematic experience. Yes, there are flaws, but the costumes, settings, and cinematography are stunning. It is a visual delight. Those things are enough to make it worth your while to see this film. I enjoyed it in many ways. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnBJan 25, 2008
Not strong on historical facts but nevertheless great fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AngelicaH.Feb 24, 2008
It was worth watching for the costumes alone. But the movie does not explore the queen herself and her own complexity as a human being. Too bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamT.Oct 11, 2007
This film is beautifully crafted and Cate Blanchett gives an Oscar worthy performance, supported by a strong cast. Although her leading man may be corny to say the least he still adds to the film and helps make this one of the years best films!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ClintMOct 15, 2007
I may not be a paid critic but that doesn't make my opinion any less valid. I URGE you to ignore the reviews, ignore the critics and see this movie for yourself! If not, you're missing out on a thoroughly entertaining movie!! Cate I may not be a paid critic but that doesn't make my opinion any less valid. I URGE you to ignore the reviews, ignore the critics and see this movie for yourself! If not, you're missing out on a thoroughly entertaining movie!! Cate Blanchett held my attention w/every word she spoke and every emotion she didn't need to speak. The set, costume and FX were beautiful. HELP OUT THIS FILM AND SEE IT FOR YOURSELF!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AdamA.Oct 15, 2007
Elizabeth: The Golden Age is an apt sequel to the acclaimed 1998 film. Its a film that is better accepted when viewed as it is a film that is what it is, an attempt to be commerically viable and a historical epic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidT.Oct 22, 2007
Much better than the critics are saying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JaredC.Oct 27, 2007
Unique as it is dazzling. Great outstanding performances from the two far most spectacular stars, Cate Blanchett and Clive Owen. This intense epic sequel is great for young adult viewers like myself. Although, it's not a masterpiece if Unique as it is dazzling. Great outstanding performances from the two far most spectacular stars, Cate Blanchett and Clive Owen. This intense epic sequel is great for young adult viewers like myself. Although, it's not a masterpiece if that's what you're expecting. The trailer was so well done but barely had any of that style in the film. The trailer was most likely like The Queen and looked totally appealing. It's good, but not great. Out of my standard of rating films, Elizabeth: The Golden Age doesn't reach Pan's Labyrinth's or The Queen's standards by far. But still an alright sequel for real movie goers to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimurR.Apr 27, 2008
This highly underrated film is actually quite brilliantly directed with one of the best performances of all time. I am sure the studios cut it as it could have used another hour. However, this talk of being historically accurate is simply This highly underrated film is actually quite brilliantly directed with one of the best performances of all time. I am sure the studios cut it as it could have used another hour. However, this talk of being historically accurate is simply unfair. I don't know of any movies that are historically accurate. They are not lectures, they are art! If you want history, listen to some lectures or read a book. This is to give you the experience of the time. And as for bombastic, overripe and all the other nonsense comments, well I guess if a film shows some emotion, it is too much for our cynical age. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveK.Oct 16, 2007
I think I have a unique perspective. I try to watch a movie for all the points of quality. And I do not know what these reviewers saw. I saw Kate give a fabulous both powerful and nuanced performance. An academy award winner if I have ever I think I have a unique perspective. I try to watch a movie for all the points of quality. And I do not know what these reviewers saw. I saw Kate give a fabulous both powerful and nuanced performance. An academy award winner if I have ever seen it. While the story might have taken on too much breadth and lost the perfect tightness and focus of the first movie, I thought they did a spectacular job of holding this together. It was gripping and intensely interesting without beating you to numbness, with times of intense emotion brought right into your soul, mixed with sweeping grandur and joy. This may not be historically accurate, it is a dramatization, and gloriously over decorated. Yeah, I'm over the top for this - this is an over top movie - especially considering the endless disappointment of so much hollywood fare. I would consider this a must see. If you want pure history, read a history book!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DianeM.Oct 19, 2007
Very enjoyable period drama. Cate Blanchett and Geoffrey R. are wonderful. Deserves a higher rating.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FrankM.Feb 13, 2008
I had a great time watching this melodrama. The people who enjoyed the first one seem to dislike this one for being over the top and corny but forget that "Elizabeth" was pretty much the same.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ElaineS.Nov 19, 2007
Brilliant wigs, makeup and costuming. A bit casual on historical interpretation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ArielGDec 15, 2007
It wasn't quite as engrossing as its prequel. It stays light on political intrigues and some historical facts, but still I quite enjoyed it. Think of this film as the more accessible to the masses, easily digestible and faster paced It wasn't quite as engrossing as its prequel. It stays light on political intrigues and some historical facts, but still I quite enjoyed it. Think of this film as the more accessible to the masses, easily digestible and faster paced Elizabeth, compared to its more historical 1998 predecessor. Cate Blanchett was brilliant on her role, as usual. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TokyochuchuJan 3, 2015
Elizabeth: The Golden Age is a great sequel to the excellent original film. It doesn't quite scale the heights of the first film, mostly because the theme isn't as stirring as the first's 'loss-of-innocence' motif. But the costumes areElizabeth: The Golden Age is a great sequel to the excellent original film. It doesn't quite scale the heights of the first film, mostly because the theme isn't as stirring as the first's 'loss-of-innocence' motif. But the costumes are sumptuous, the performances are amazing, the pacing flows well and it never dips into tedium. One small annoyance; as a person with a passion for history, the historical inaccuracies were much more notable than the first film. Oh well. Still great, though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaAug 25, 2014
I don't know how historically accurate this movie is, but I rather enjoyed it. A good sequel to "Elizabeth".

Queen Elizabeth is facing trouble with his enemies - and potential lovers. War lies ahead, England is weak, but the Queen must
I don't know how historically accurate this movie is, but I rather enjoyed it. A good sequel to "Elizabeth".

Queen Elizabeth is facing trouble with his enemies - and potential lovers. War lies ahead, England is weak, but the Queen must remain strong - correct? Between personal yearnings and the expectations she has set for herself, Elizabeth is both erratic and tragic to follow.

Cate Blanchett and Geoffry Rush were amazing. The film was visually stunning, matching the era, and the music was beautifiully fitting.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Sep 3, 2012
Cate was a very convincing queen. It was kind of boring at times, but I don't think the critics got it right. She put on an amazing performance and that is worth watching it for.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FilmQueenNov 19, 2015
This is just as great as the first one. Cate Blanchett is superb, the costumes are stunning. (The story is just fine,I guess.) I don't understand why this film got much worse reviews compared to the first one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews