Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 135 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Epic tells the story of an ongoing battle between the forces of good, who keep the natural world alive, and the forces of evil, who wish to destroy it. When a teenage girl finds herself magically transported into this secret universe, she teams up with an elite band of warriors and a crew of comical, larger-than-life figures, to save their world...and ours. Expand
  • Director: Chris Wedge
  • Genre(s): Adventure, Fantasy, Comedy, Animation, Family
  • Rating: PG
  • Runtime: 102 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Stephan Lee
    May 23, 2013
    83
    Epic isn't quite destined for the “Again, again!” re-watchability of some of the Pixar classics, but for a satisfying explosion of color on a lazy summer day, it does the trick.
  2. 70
    While it might not amount to epic animated filmmaking in terms of scope and invention, Epic, a 3D, CG adventure-fantasy from Blue Sky Studios, nevertheless makes for pleasantly engaging viewing.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    May 23, 2013
    63
    The film's clever use of emerald-colored hummingbirds as transportation is a highlight.
  4. Reviewed by: Josh Winning
    May 21, 2013
    60
    By no means an epic fail, but lacking the spry wit of more adult-friendly animations, this is big on action and small on originality. Gorgeous visuals aside, Epic is resolutely kiddie fare.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jun 6, 2013
    50
    The ratio of humor and action and parent-child bonding is so formulaic, and the character design and molded-figurine-like animation so typical of the genre in the age of Pixar (and Pixar imitators), that Epic evaporates from the mind within minutes of leaving the theater.
  6. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    May 23, 2013
    50
    When the movie should touch the heart, it just misses. When moments should produce gales of laughter, it struggles for a smile. When panic and fear should set the heart racing, it doesn't.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 23, 2013
    20
    Even young would-be botanists will find this charmless animated adventure as exciting as watching grass grow.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 48
  2. Negative: 4 out of 48
  1. May 25, 2013
    10
    It's cool, it's funny and its sleek. Epic is epic. So. Epic is a children's movie that takes place in a abnormal kingdom- Hidden Kingdom where everyone is afraid of The King except the forces who fight against him. A little girl shrinks accidentally by a potion that her dad made- Honey I Shrunk The Kids there!- who studies forest life. The girl digs deeper and helps the kingdom's peoples. To speaking the truth, this is the best cgi animation so far in 2013. The story is colorful, dark and tense with very very fun. Voice Actors include a huge cast of A list actors and B list ones too. In the end, Epic is funny, smart and innovative. You should not miss this creative movie. It's just not a kids movie. It's a kids movie alright but it does it job well. Expand
  2. Jun 2, 2013
    8
    Where hollywood goes this film has more meaning and story in it that the vast majority of films produced by big studios.

    The story indeed
    has some stumps on it, but overall its beautifull though it leaves you wanting more.

    Epic will remind many out there of Brian Froud who designed creatures for amazing films such as The Dark Christal" and labyrinth" and although he had no part in this film, the creature designs, the colorful majestic scenery will keep even adults enthralled throughout the film.

    As I watched I kept wondering how this film would have been in ol' 2d and what my imagination conjured was magic itself.
    Expand
  3. Jul 3, 2013
    7
    It wasn't the best animated movie I have seen lately but definitely enjoyable for the whole family with an interesting story line. Kept us entertained. Expand
  4. May 28, 2013
    6
    I have to give this movie a pass (barely) because the animation is spectacular. The 3D is excellent as well. As far as the plot goes, we have yet another bumbling father figure obsessed more with his work than his daughter, and the daughter is whiney and naggy. The story is a composite of Star Wars, Avatar, The Littles, and several Hayao Miyasaki movies. Nothing original. The film desperately needs more humor. The snail and the slug are the best part of the film but don't have enough screen time. With a little more time spent on the script this movie could have been great, as the art direction department definitely did their job. Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2014
    5
    I don't know what else to say except it's unoriginal and somewhat boring. It's just everything but epic. I wouldn't really recommend watching this movie. Expand
  6. May 28, 2013
    5
    The cast of voice actors and actresses for this movie are pretty impressive, but to no avail. This movie falls flat on it's face with every line and action being nothing but cliche. Yes, it's hard to really create something new with so many ideas already thought, but I believe this movie hardly tries to be anything but a friendly movie for adults and children to watch together. Something to put on while so your kids take a nap. Collapse
  7. May 27, 2013
    3
    I was truly torn by this movie. On one hand it was stunningly beautiful and the animation flowed at the high standard I have put for Blue Sky Studios. On the other hand I loathed the main characters. I honestly feel as if the movie would have been so much better if the Lead male role was either replaced by the secondary male role or just didn't appear. The movie asked me to like a character that was shallow, vain and disassociated from the main conflict, and still wanted me to like him at the end where his "emotional change and growth" really wasn't big enough to warrant any change in how I perceived him. All in All this is a very good looking film but that doesn't make up for the massive deficiency in character development. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews

Trailers