• Studio: Gkids
  • Release Date: Feb 28, 2014
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Jamie S. Rich
    Apr 3, 2014
    100
    Ernest & Celestine delivers a sweet message that should prove delightful to young and old alike. Though the premise makes it sound like it could be preachy, this cute children's story is anything but.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Mar 27, 2014
    100
    Its charms, and they are both subtle and many, emanate like perfume.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Mar 14, 2014
    100
    The enchanting French-Belgian animated feature Ernest & Celestine is so liltingly sweet and graceful that, a day or two after I saw it, it seemed almost as if I had dreamed it.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 13, 2014
    100
    This tale of forbidden friendship between a bear and a mouse is so winning that audiences will cherish it as the classic it's sure to become.
  5. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Mar 11, 2014
    100
    Ernest & Celestine -- a contender for this year's best animated film Oscar -- is pure delight.
  6. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Mar 13, 2014
    90
    Mostly, Ernest & Celestine is an ode to the happiness that comes from being with those different from us.
  7. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Mar 13, 2014
    90
    Ernest & Celestine isn’t just cute or thrilling, though: It’s openly funny, in a wry, unpredictable way.
  8. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Mar 27, 2014
    88
    An enthralling tale of friendship that transcends biases, Ernest & Celestine offers a lovely lesson on acceptance and inclusion.
  9. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    Mar 14, 2014
    88
    Ernest and Celestine is the coziest movie you'll likely see all year. Every frame is suffused with a fireplace kind of warmth that, for me at least, cast an immediate spell that didn't let up.
  10. Reviewed by: Mike D'Angelo
    Feb 26, 2014
    83
    Once upon a time, a movie like this would have seemed a minor pleasure, enjoyable, but unremarkable. Today, it looks more like a treasure.
  11. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Apr 3, 2014
    80
    Ernest & Celestine draws on plenty of classics, animated and otherwise, for inspiration, but the film manages to be delightful on its own offbeat terms.
  12. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Mar 17, 2014
    80
    Ernest and Celestine is a modest, beautiful little children’s fable with a wise, grown-up heart.
  13. Reviewed by: Joel Arnold
    Feb 28, 2014
    80
    Ernest & Celestine is a tale of found family, sweetly realized and supported by clever writing and talented voice work, but it's the animation that really makes this Academy Award-nominated movie
  14. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Feb 27, 2014
    80
    A magically understated mash-up, Ernest & Celestine has a comforting storybook effect and proves a refreshing departure in an age of high-tech, hyperkinetic animation set to soaring pop ballads, as entertaining as they can be.
  15. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    Dec 3, 2013
    80
    A charming animated feature.
  16. Reviewed by: Josh Kupecki
    Apr 2, 2014
    78
    The film's messages of accepting others and following your dreams are well-worn tropes to be sure, but the pace and the style of E&C, not to mention it's wonderful attention to detail, lift the film from being merely sweet to being something special.
  17. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Apr 10, 2014
    75
    This hand-drawn French import is fresh evidence that you don’t need computers and singing princesses to make a charming animated movie.
  18. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Mar 27, 2014
    75
    Ernest & Celestine builds a delicate and charming animated world, but you wouldn't want to live there.
  19. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Mar 13, 2014
    75
    A mouse and a bear defy social convention to forge a friendship in this lovely, charming and Oscar-nominated French animated feature (now available dubbed into English with the voices of Forest Whitaker and other notables).
  20. Reviewed by: Wes Greene
    Dec 2, 2013
    75
    It's in the way the film refuses to characterize its central friendship solely on the grounds of common isolation that becomes its most endearing quality.
  21. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    Dec 3, 2013
    70
    A delightfully old-fashioned kid’s flick with a meaningful message.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Apr 19, 2014
    8
    Ernest & Célestine is a movie that symbolically compare and contrast two enemy-by-blood groups.

    The movie starts with fun and entertaining
    scene about the about early indoctrination of young mice kids.

    This movie shows education system, law enforcement system, and justice system can become indifferent, or even hostile, to core values of humanity.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 8, 2014
    2
    While enjoying Metacritic for years, I've only enjoyed other peoples reviews instead of participating. After taking others up on advice to see Ernest & Célestine, I had to create an account to add my two cents.

    What a complete disappointment. I've re-read others comments now that I've seen it - and can't imagine that we saw the same film. Here are a few of my comments after watching.

    Animation
    Animation style is purely subjective, but I didn't care at all for the animation style. Others described it as a wonderful watercolor bliss; I saw it as, while indeed lovingly drawn, quite basic. I realize that it's difficult to compare computer-assisted Pixar films and the like (although many other reviews certainly put them in the same class), I don't feel they belong even in the same class as famous Japanese animated films Spirited Away, My Neighbor Totoro, and Akira. To me, although not the slick presentation of a Pixar film, they still captured magic and nuance in a different way that transcended the medium. E&C however didn't even come close. But that's my opinion. Watch the trailer and determine for yourself if you like that style or not.

    Message
    The message - the way I interpreted it - actually makes me mad. And I don't get offended easily. One reviewer said "Ernest & Celestine delivers a sweet message that should prove delightful to young and old alike." Sweet message? Here's my take on what the message of the film is: You can steal when you are hungry, you can break in to multiple family shops and destroy the lives of others around you - but if you are a cute little mouse that goes against the "norm" and wants to live with a bear - love is all that matters and all should be forgiven. I'm not sure how you can take away any other message than that. While love is indeed wonderful - and often good to challenge social norms, responsibility is critically important - and completely lost on the story. It's a horrible message - one that I would not want my children to see.

    Could you extract any good message from it? Sure you could. But you could do that with ANY film. I try to "sleep on it" after seeing a film - just to see if I have a different reaction after it has "soaked in" a bit. This one just made me more and more upset. Which is a shame, because I'm certain this was not the film makers intentions. Not being familiar with the original story, I can't say how much it matches the original, either. Others certainly loved it - although I get the impression most were familiar with the story.

    For me, it was a waste of money - one that I would not even see again if a free copy was given to me. And certainly not the 100 rating that so many others gave it. 100 means there is nothing better. Tell me that you have not seen other films that are better than this one, and I'll tell you you need to get out more.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 2, 2014
    9
    Surrounded by feeling and art, Ernest & Celestine can easily establish itself as the best animation of 2013, you know, we center as the friendship between two animals, but both prove to us much more than that, lessons are played all the time, his features and unconventional traits leave more alive and incredibly magical. It is the true story of love, and those that leave you defenseless to its outcome. Is the kind of film that the world needs. Full Review »