Focus Features | Release Date: March 19, 2004
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 863 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
808
Mixed:
29
Negative:
26
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
taymac18Oct 2, 2013
This movie was amazing! I loved the characters and I thought it was a refreshing change of romantic comedy. It really toughed base with the meaning behind a thoughtful relationship between one really odd couple. This movie really doesThis movie was amazing! I loved the characters and I thought it was a refreshing change of romantic comedy. It really toughed base with the meaning behind a thoughtful relationship between one really odd couple. This movie really does express the meaning behind two opposites attract. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
MohsenZ.Feb 2, 2008
It was the most powerful film in my entire life that really made me to have its dreams in nights and was a brilliant idea for more directors. HUMAN MIND... watching 1 time is really unfair.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JasonJ.Mar 3, 2008
I had a chance to see this movie again in 2008 for only the second time. I saw it in the theater when it premiered 4 years earlier. What a piece of art! This movie goes deep into the heart of romantic love. It's not a love story, I had a chance to see this movie again in 2008 for only the second time. I saw it in the theater when it premiered 4 years earlier. What a piece of art! This movie goes deep into the heart of romantic love. It's not a love story, it's an internal examination of what love does to your mind. It's painful to watch at times because it dissects what most of us try to repress most of the time. But, if for just one moment, you allow yourself to "get into" this movie, you will have a deeper experience than you've ever had while viewing movie. Darwinian thought (as well as just about any religious thought) tells us that procreation is perhaps the most important of our human functions. Romantic love leads us in that venture and this movie delves into the most sensitive areas of that process. This film could have easily felt pseudointellectual had it not been for the way the film was shot. It looks like it was filmed inside someone's head - clausterphobic, impressionistic, etc. - all in the right balance. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
moviemongerFeb 1, 2011
A perfect concept wrapped around great performances. Kate Winslet, as usual, is spectacular. Anybody who has been in a relationship full of hills and valleys will appreciate this movie and shed a tear or two by the end. A movie to be filedA perfect concept wrapped around great performances. Kate Winslet, as usual, is spectacular. Anybody who has been in a relationship full of hills and valleys will appreciate this movie and shed a tear or two by the end. A movie to be filed under "original and thought provoking". Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
CvrptnApr 6, 2011
There are those movies that provide you with two hours of mind-numbing entertainment, and then there are those movies that can change your view on life and human emotions while still providing you with two hours of entertainment. This movieThere are those movies that provide you with two hours of mind-numbing entertainment, and then there are those movies that can change your view on life and human emotions while still providing you with two hours of entertainment. This movie belongs to the latter category. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
buddyackerMay 19, 2011
This is one of my favorite movies without a doubt. I never tire of watching it. Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet are absolutely terrific together and I cry every time I see it. There is very little wrong with the film.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
BonesMay 25, 2011
Easily, 2004's best film. Charlie Kaufman delivers us his best script yet, Kate Winslet's amazing acting is probably the biggest highlight of the movie and surprisingly Jim Carrey's acting is not that horrible.
although the film is pure
Easily, 2004's best film. Charlie Kaufman delivers us his best script yet, Kate Winslet's amazing acting is probably the biggest highlight of the movie and surprisingly Jim Carrey's acting is not that horrible.
although the film is pure beauty it seems rather cheap for a 20,000,000$ movie.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
IAO123Jun 8, 2011
This film is wondrously creative, entertaining, clever and thought-provoking. It's based on an interesting premise, it's artistically shot and edited, and the story is told in an ingeniously innovative way. But this isn't half the reason it'sThis film is wondrously creative, entertaining, clever and thought-provoking. It's based on an interesting premise, it's artistically shot and edited, and the story is told in an ingeniously innovative way. But this isn't half the reason it's so good. At it's heart, it's a brilliantly acted bittersweet love story that avoids all cliches, feels uncannily real and ultimately engages the viewer emotionally on so many levels (which is rare for a Kaufman film, despite the guy's obvious artistic talent). I know a lot of people don't like Jim Carrey that much because he's been in a lot of rubbish stuff, but the guy can certainly act when given the opportunity, and Kate Winslet is simply brilliant. Together they make a wondrously believable couple that I've never stopped to question for an instant. Overall, one of my favorite all time films and an amazing cinematic achievement. Don't miss out on this! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
RebeccaTYAug 17, 2011
Perfect. Favourite movie of all time. Showing a deeper and brilliant side to Jim Carrey that is lost with most of his hollywood comedies. Kate Winslet played the eccentric and irrational role of Clementine amazingly. Clever and thoughtful.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
joehezziJan 4, 2012
Please do not be scared of this film by those ignorant reviews saying that this film is "too artsy" or "to complicated". That is absolute bulls**t. This is one of the best films I've ever seen so I strongly advise everyone to watch it.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFMar 14, 2013
This was just a delight. It was clever, it was original and it was downright emotional on so many levels that that have made this a timeless classic.
Eternal Sunshine tells the story of socially awkward Joel (Jim Carrey), who is detached
This was just a delight. It was clever, it was original and it was downright emotional on so many levels that that have made this a timeless classic.
Eternal Sunshine tells the story of socially awkward Joel (Jim Carrey), who is detached from his surroundings and everything going on around him, until he meets Clementine (Kate Winslet), a confrontational and free spirited woman who he immediately hits if off with, simply because their worlds couldn't be further apart.
The film is told in a very much non-linear fashion, and this is set up through the apparent break-up of the happy couple, Joel soon learns that Clementine has forgotten who Joel is, she did this through getting her memory of him erased by Lacuna, a company which deals in this.
Joel eventually decides to do the same thing and is told the process is done while he sleeps.
What follows is the true shining moment of the film, as Joel visits happier times with Clementine, to which we soon realise all is not as it seems.
The supporting cast includes Mark Ruffalo and Elijah Wood as technicians who carry out the erase part, Kirsten Dunst as the Lacuna receptionist and Tom Wilkinson as the Lacuna doctor, Howard Mierzwiak.
These characters, however, hold their own unique secrets and revelations that truly create a wonderful piece of cinema.
Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet are simply fantastic as Joel and Clementine and it was wonderful to see these two step out of their comfort zone, Carrey the awkward and unfunny man, and Winslet the free and crude woman. The messages which are put across heighten the beauty and dramatic context of the film that never lets go of the wheel.
The pace of the story may leave some confused, but this is where the film truly becomes unique, there are so many elements of surprise and so many heart wrenching moments that succeed in creating a truly unique masterpiece, full of colourful scenes and artistic filmmaking that push the film further than many other love stories.
Its not surprising for many to say that this is one of their favourite films, there is enough drama to last a lifetime and enough talent to surpass your expectations in this flawless gem.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ginam5Jun 15, 2013
There are so few perfect movies. This is one of them. One of my all time favorite movies. So funny yet intelligent and romantic. It gets better every time you watch it.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
TyeN.Oct 8, 2005
This is by far the best movie of 2004, and one of the greatest films of all-time. Jim Carrey and Kate Wislet share a magnetic bond that evolves way past the usual chemistry in movies. They are absolutely amazing, and they were both robbed of This is by far the best movie of 2004, and one of the greatest films of all-time. Jim Carrey and Kate Wislet share a magnetic bond that evolves way past the usual chemistry in movies. They are absolutely amazing, and they were both robbed of should-be Oscars. (especially Carrey, who wasn't even nominated) This film will forever be remembered as one of the films considered a true classic from the new era of 2000 and on. Brilliant. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndrewG.Dec 17, 2006
Probably the most accurate, brutally honest dissection of what it is to be in love ever put to film. The concept behind the film may sound gimmicky, but it really is implemented brilliantly. A masterwork for all involved.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DK.Dec 3, 2006
This movie is a heartbreaker. Probably the most beautiful movie I've ever seen. Fantastic acting. Interesting story. Great soundtrack. If it doesn't move you, then you've never been in love.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
shlugalugOct 11, 2010
Just spellbinding. It's a while to build up and the wait is worth every second. Michel Gondry's direction is on top-form and brilliantly accompanied with a beautiful score and a precise screenplay. The story seems to go off astray but forJust spellbinding. It's a while to build up and the wait is worth every second. Michel Gondry's direction is on top-form and brilliantly accompanied with a beautiful score and a precise screenplay. The story seems to go off astray but for some reason, that's one of its best qualities. Jim Carrey is at his best since The Truman Show and thoroughly gives a performance that will be remembered for years. But the carpet from under his feet is Kate Winslet who delivers yet another monumental performance. This is my favourite role she's played because she played someone modern and she was funny at times. PLEASE, more Kate Winslet comedies. I rather liked Kirsten Dunst as the quirky receptionist who quotes Alexander Pope but underneath lies a secret unbeknownst to her. This is probably the best film of 2004 and one of my favourite films of all time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JonnyFendiJan 10, 2011
Did you ever fall in love so deeply and then you just broke up with her/him? That is the feeling you got from watching thiz film. The feeling about how you fall in love with her, and later you realize that time would never come back again.Did you ever fall in love so deeply and then you just broke up with her/him? That is the feeling you got from watching thiz film. The feeling about how you fall in love with her, and later you realize that time would never come back again. Starred by Jim Carrey, Kate Winslet, Mark Rufallo, and Kirsten Dunst. Directed by French Director, Michel Gondry. Gondry is one of the directors who always brings some absurd stories as his features (such as: THE SCIENCE OF SLEEP (2006), that also I like very much). The story is about how you dreams your past and you can actually feel it as just happens at the present time. Sometimes it happens based on what you remember. Thiz is interesting part, in one of the scene, the two characters (Carrey and Winslet) had interaction with each other but they surrounded by people who had plain/blank face, coz the Carey character don not remember how the people look like, so the scene describes it people with plain/blank face. Director was so lucky to got Carey and Winslet in appropriate time, Carey just desperately wants some serious drama beside his role always known as comedian, and Winslet wants to prove her truly acting skill after TITANIC (1997). Thiz Movie maybe not contains an extraordinary storyline, but can effectively reflects very well the description about how the event occurred.

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
pinkscreenFeb 20, 2012
Marvellous! Jim carrey proves us than he can be more than a clown. The plot is creative. I can't believe that we were waiting for something as awful as 'the green lantern'' from Gondry afterward, such a waste of talent.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
KivaAug 7, 2013
Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind is a story about a couple who obviously don't get well with each other and so the women goes to a doctor who can erase her memories of the men. When the men learns about that he wants to do it too. It isEternal sunshine of the spotless mind is a story about a couple who obviously don't get well with each other and so the women goes to a doctor who can erase her memories of the men. When the men learns about that he wants to do it too. It is an interesting idea but in the beginning the film is too complicated, strange rare and hard to understand which will confuse many people. Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet were amazing and that surprised me as I am used to see Jim Carrey only in comedies. The cinematography is amazing as well as the direction of that film but it is a little bit confusing which is something I really didn't like. Yes it it touching and passes the message that we have to give a second chance to some people. But it is still over complicated for the kind of these films yet it is a new idea. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RecycledAirSep 19, 2013
An imaginative and unique work of art. This films cast delivers their comedic dialogue perfectly, along with stunning imagery and visuals, phenomenal acting, touching and heartbreaking moments, a breathtaking soundtrack, and a masterfulAn imaginative and unique work of art. This films cast delivers their comedic dialogue perfectly, along with stunning imagery and visuals, phenomenal acting, touching and heartbreaking moments, a breathtaking soundtrack, and a masterful script. With its unclear ending and its "easter eggs" that you find throughout the film, "Eternal Sunshine" has you asking questions and coming to conclusions the likes of which may go forever unanswered. The abundance of melancholy in the air just makes the movie so much better. The characters are some of the most personable and lovable characters I have seen since "The Perks Of Being A Wallflower." Their personalities consist of many traits that are noticeable, but one of those traits is over exaggerated to the point of making seem like caricatures, which makes their problems seem so much more important, making them so much more relatable, making them seem like long lost family members, which makes their emotions just so important to you. Emotional preparation is mandatory before watching this film. There are some scenes that just break your heart, it's just called good filmmaking. This beautiful film has put it's mark on cinema forever and will be always known as an instant classic. Its a masterpiece. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RyanRJNOct 10, 2013
Possibly the greatest romance movie ever. Incredibly touching, with a well thought out plot. This movie makes you think, It makes you relate, even if you don't want to. Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet put on a performance that is outstanding, youPossibly the greatest romance movie ever. Incredibly touching, with a well thought out plot. This movie makes you think, It makes you relate, even if you don't want to. Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet put on a performance that is outstanding, you don't even question their mismatched relationship because its so authentic. A must see movie for everyone. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeAug 26, 2016
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind shows all of us that even Jim Carrey could need a little more starring to it. Regardless because this is one of those drama/romanace stuff and somehow Jim Carrey turned some of the scenes to a magicalEternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind shows all of us that even Jim Carrey could need a little more starring to it. Regardless because this is one of those drama/romanace stuff and somehow Jim Carrey turned some of the scenes to a magical work of comedy. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AllisonL.Feb 9, 2008
Perfect and TOUCHING. One of my most favorite movies ever. The message is incredible! Never gets old for me and something new is uncovered to me every time I watch it. The soundtrack is absolutely beautiful too! I've watched this Perfect and TOUCHING. One of my most favorite movies ever. The message is incredible! Never gets old for me and something new is uncovered to me every time I watch it. The soundtrack is absolutely beautiful too! I've watched this probably 10 times, and I'll watch it the next time it comes on too. Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful
10
TroelsJJan 21, 2009
This is the perfect love movie. In every way it is perfect and clever. And I generally hate love movies, but twisting the genre into this is just a majestetic achievement. It's crazy, sad, beautiful, funny and full of love; what every This is the perfect love movie. In every way it is perfect and clever. And I generally hate love movies, but twisting the genre into this is just a majestetic achievement. It's crazy, sad, beautiful, funny and full of love; what every love movie wants to be, but only "Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind" is. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful
10
heyitsmegrif4Jun 23, 2012
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is a heartfelt, funny, emotionally powerful, original, heartbreaking, piece of art. It features great performances from Winslet and Carrey, and offers a nice, sweet, fresh, twist on a regular romanticEternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is a heartfelt, funny, emotionally powerful, original, heartbreaking, piece of art. It features great performances from Winslet and Carrey, and offers a nice, sweet, fresh, twist on a regular romantic comedy. I give this movie 96%. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
TylerC.Feb 6, 2008
This may be my favorite film ever. Perfect casting, perfect direction, perfect writing. Clementine: My crotch is still here, just as you remembered it. Joel: Yuck!
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
HawrehJan 19, 2008
This film is one of the best movie I have ever seen in my life. and in any way is not Analogous with "being john Malkovich" and any other memory and Mind and Remembrance movies. Thanks for your rating.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
6
KarthXLRApr 12, 2011
The concept for Eternal Sunshine is simply incredible. Unfortunately, the narrative isn't. The love story should feel genuine, but it never gets fully fleshed out due to subplots that constantly get in the way of Joel's (Jim Carrey) storyThe concept for Eternal Sunshine is simply incredible. Unfortunately, the narrative isn't. The love story should feel genuine, but it never gets fully fleshed out due to subplots that constantly get in the way of Joel's (Jim Carrey) story arc. However, with strong performances from all cast members, interesting visuals and a great soundtrack, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is worth a watch, at the very least. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
StanSJan 9, 2008
yes it was a very different and artsy and yes i does have a fairly important message at the end which is rather hackneyed but still even if i concede all that it still isn't a good movie, because a good movie entertains and this never yes it was a very different and artsy and yes i does have a fairly important message at the end which is rather hackneyed but still even if i concede all that it still isn't a good movie, because a good movie entertains and this never really entertained me. I never wondered what happened in the beginning, and when i found out it was anti-climactic even though i didn't care. Expand
2 of 24 users found this helpful
10
JoeHJan 8, 2010
Kaufman is a genius, nuff said.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
jacomienSep 1, 2005
Only saw it last week... had been on my to watch list for too long. Very impressed though.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JeremyR.Jun 28, 2006
My current favorite film. An intriguing story about relationship, the good and the bad. All those reviews in here that "didn't get it" or hated it, you're entitled to your opininions, but I'm sorry for you that you missed out My current favorite film. An intriguing story about relationship, the good and the bad. All those reviews in here that "didn't get it" or hated it, you're entitled to your opininions, but I'm sorry for you that you missed out on a great movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FelixQ.Jul 25, 2006
Another classic of our time. There has never been another like it, nor will there ever be again. The elements conspire on this one to create something that leaves you not entirely sure what kind of movie you just watched- and loving it. Yes, Another classic of our time. There has never been another like it, nor will there ever be again. The elements conspire on this one to create something that leaves you not entirely sure what kind of movie you just watched- and loving it. Yes, it's funny, but never slapstick. Yes, it's dramatic, but it never goes Deep End of the Ocean. Yes, there are fantasy elements aplenty, but somehow it feels natural, as if the events just fit within the world of the film. There's even a mystery element, leaving you slightly confused until ut all comes together at the end. It has a slightly Donnie Darko-like quality in this way- somehow it feels like somewhere you missed something, and you have the urge to rewind and see what it was. Once all the threads are tied up, you're left with an "aaahh" sense of completetion. Complex characters, never dismissing development to focus on the more quirky elements of the film, never letting you get lazy as a viewer. No one character is a runaway favorite as each is flawed in the way they are supposed to be. One of the few movies that pulls off the darker, more morbid aspect without laying it on too thick. Outshines it's "cousin", Being John Malkovich, by a mile. My only critisism is possibly cramming just a leetle too much in there. Not enough to forfeit a point, though. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MathewDOct 12, 2007
Quite possibly one of the finest films ever made. Heart-wrenching and sweet all in one. I watch this DVD at least once a week and it never gets old. Considering my hatred of Jim Carrey, this is a remarkable and surprising use of his talent.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MattC.Aug 23, 2007
Typically confusing, but sadly enjoyable. It really is a confusing movie but the vibe that it gives off...its very unique. Its not bad, but after rewatching another time, its not THAT comfortable. The way i recommend anybody watching it is: Typically confusing, but sadly enjoyable. It really is a confusing movie but the vibe that it gives off...its very unique. Its not bad, but after rewatching another time, its not THAT comfortable. The way i recommend anybody watching it is: watch it late at night, peacefully, relaxing and let the take you in Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamuelC.Sep 18, 2007
Beautiful and touching. Very creative.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ArtiomP.Jan 16, 2010
To bad there are only fiew of such films.. The abstractism should predominate into more movies, because there are less people who understand them, but they could understand more, why not?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
RobC.Sep 20, 2008
Boring is the main word. So much "why should I care" moments and "Oh my God when is the ending coming" times as well. Another of the thousand times when Hollywood tries to impress us with "art" instead of entertainment. Movies that are worse Boring is the main word. So much "why should I care" moments and "Oh my God when is the ending coming" times as well. Another of the thousand times when Hollywood tries to impress us with "art" instead of entertainment. Movies that are worse than this are anything made by Wes Anderson. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful
0
AnthonyC.Mar 21, 2004
Wow did this movie suck. I walked in thinking it would be the cinematic experience of my life from all the great reviews I read. Guess what? IT SUCKS!!!! I felt absolutely nothing for the characters. I wanted them all to forget each other so Wow did this movie suck. I walked in thinking it would be the cinematic experience of my life from all the great reviews I read. Guess what? IT SUCKS!!!! I felt absolutely nothing for the characters. I wanted them all to forget each other so they movie would END! Carrey, Carrey, Carrey, when are you going to learn that you cannot act at all. Go back to comedy and make us all happy. All the other performances felt forced and fake. Whoever tells you this movie is complex is a totaly dumba$$. I figured it out just by seeing the trailer and the commercials. DON'T SEE THIS AT ANY COST. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful
0
BlisterfishCafeSep 14, 2005
Simply...the second worse film I have ever seen. How is it possible so many people love this film?!?!
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
MovieMan12Jun 28, 2013
One of my least favorite movies ever. The message is stupid. Watching it once was painful enough. All the actors should kiss their careers goodbye. I hated everything about it.
0 of 9 users found this helpful09
All this user's reviews
7
AdamP.Jun 9, 2007
The movie itself was fine, although I do have trouble with a director reusing the same scenes multiple times in a movie, it comes off as laziness. There is not much to get, it seems as though the people who say, "Did you get it?" were also The movie itself was fine, although I do have trouble with a director reusing the same scenes multiple times in a movie, it comes off as laziness. There is not much to get, it seems as though the people who say, "Did you get it?" were also overly enthralled by the Butterfly Effect and find fascination in the Gilmore Girls and One Tree Hill. The movie pulls off its premise, but does not providing a "WOW" factor by any means; the only saving grace is Jim Carrey doing what he does best in a quickly moving montage of acting as different characters from his past. Save yourself the time, go see Man in the Moon instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisG.Feb 6, 2006
In a word: breathtaking. I realize that the unconventional means of storytelling employed in this film won't be everybody's cup of tea; many viewers don't want to have to think too much or feel too much when watching a movie. In a word: breathtaking. I realize that the unconventional means of storytelling employed in this film won't be everybody's cup of tea; many viewers don't want to have to think too much or feel too much when watching a movie. But this is an extraordinary film, and it deserves the fulll investment of attention and emotional engagement that it demands. Despite the arty cinematic methods used by Gondry (which will either astound you or irritate you, depending on your tastes), there is nothing highbrow or inaccessible about the story's message: love is worth experiencing, even when it's difficult or painful or imperfect. And love - and our lovers - can never be removed from our psyches, no mater how much we may sometimes wish it all could be. Beautifully acted (Jim Carrey is better than I would have ever expected him to be, and Kate Winslet equals him in every way), imaginatively directed, exquisitely written, and boldly designed and shot. This film is a challenge, but those who rise to it will be richly rewarded. Truly awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TakN.Jun 14, 2007
My favorite movie of all time. not much else to say except it is amazingly insightful and touching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ZeinaYOct 22, 2009
An absolutely riveting love story, that Gondry and Kauffman don't make a sappy mess out of.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielLJul 30, 2009
People criticise it for being confusing, okay think you kind of missed the point, it does not make them think and they are not entertained... okay you can not help who you fall in love with and it is better to remember to have loved and lost People criticise it for being confusing, okay think you kind of missed the point, it does not make them think and they are not entertained... okay you can not help who you fall in love with and it is better to remember to have loved and lost than not at all. the film is entertaining and romantic and something different and beautiful. this film lies in my top ten of all films, Jim Carrey should have got an Oscar nomination. The film should have bagged director and technology nominations. the best of the past 10 years, difficult to say with some good ones but definately in the top 5. See it and enjoy and get taken to a side of cinema which we love and are surprised how vivid some directors and writers can be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottC.Mar 22, 2004
Best movie I've seen in a while, I laughed, I cried, pretty good acting for the most part. The plot isn't too difficult to figure out, but the camera work, the script, and the emotions and thoughts that the film get at are all very Best movie I've seen in a while, I laughed, I cried, pretty good acting for the most part. The plot isn't too difficult to figure out, but the camera work, the script, and the emotions and thoughts that the film get at are all very refreshing and touching. Some off the subplots are a little bit tedious, but overall an excellent movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SujataA.Nov 20, 2005
Watched it on TV - so was not planned. The movie was confusingly interesting. It takes the viewer to another plane and makes u look at things very differently - so differntly that even Friends serial seemed to be intriguing and Watched it on TV - so was not planned. The movie was confusingly interesting. It takes the viewer to another plane and makes u look at things very differently - so differntly that even Friends serial seemed to be intriguing and 'confusing'! Couldnt get out of the movie frame for quite some time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayF.Oct 28, 2005
An excellent movie, but left me unfulfilled. Something seemed empty in my heart as I walked away from it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.Oct 11, 2006
Guess what? I get it. And it's WAY OVERRATED.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jan 15, 2006
One of the best movies I have ever seen. Jim Carey is superb in this film and Kate Winslet does a great job as well. Anyone who has not seen this movie already should see it ASAP. It will change your life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RogerS.Jan 15, 2006
If it's not the best movie of the 2004 it's one of the top 10 movies of that year, the best romantic comedy i'm sure...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RayR.Feb 19, 2006
THis is one of the most imaginative films ever created and its a shame that Kate Winslet didn't win an Academy Award for her role in the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyE.Apr 18, 2006
won't be good for everyone but it sure is a great movie to me. Incredibly original storyline, superb editing job, and by far the best acting of 2004. The ending is really odd, but next to the Passion of the Christ, best movie of the year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DerekE.Jun 5, 2006
This is a really really good film. Unfortunately, I'm not surprised that so many people don't get it. The only complaint I have is that it didn't make me feel incredibly emotionally attached to the main characters, but This is a really really good film. Unfortunately, I'm not surprised that so many people don't get it. The only complaint I have is that it didn't make me feel incredibly emotionally attached to the main characters, but brilliant writing, directing, editting, score, and overall execution. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZachP.Aug 30, 2006
There has never been, and probably never will, be anything like this movie. I loved seeing this movie, and loved seeing this movie again. Kate Winslet is spot-on in this movie, and near perfect. Jim Carrey does his best work, and the There has never been, and probably never will, be anything like this movie. I loved seeing this movie, and loved seeing this movie again. Kate Winslet is spot-on in this movie, and near perfect. Jim Carrey does his best work, and the ensemble is amazing. I don't like to give 10/10's but I give this one a 10/10 in a heartbeat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KenGNov 1, 2007
One Of The Best Movies Ever Made. Nothing More To Say Here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElDukeMay 19, 2007
Its probably the best film of 2004, it reminds me what it's like to be in love and iI'm only 15, especially in the scenes where Winslet & Jim interact when they're not arguing. I love the pace and plot movement, and the music Its probably the best film of 2004, it reminds me what it's like to be in love and iI'm only 15, especially in the scenes where Winslet & Jim interact when they're not arguing. I love the pace and plot movement, and the music is great too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrianP.Sep 11, 2007
What is this film? A bleak parable of the emptiness of modern life? A ballad for the broken-hearted? A bold thought-experiment on the nature of consciousness? An uplifting demonstration of the power of love, of forgiving and of the power of What is this film? A bleak parable of the emptiness of modern life? A ballad for the broken-hearted? A bold thought-experiment on the nature of consciousness? An uplifting demonstration of the power of love, of forgiving and of the power of belief to change events? At this point I do not know the answer but this feels like a movie that I will be going back to in order try to understand more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenS.Mar 27, 2008
Flawless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesL.Jul 24, 2008
An amazing and entirely warped epic that pushes the boundaries of memory, love, and life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousAug 27, 2008
This is possibly the most thought-provoking and worthwhile movie I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FilipeM.Nov 1, 2009
Just watched the movie, I'm speechless. Just know this, one of the best movie I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LindaNJan 10, 2009
Genius. I would give it a 9.5 if I had the option.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jobydJan 31, 2009
"Blessed are the forgetful, for they get the better even of their blunders." "How happy is the blameless vestal's lot? "The world forgetting, by the world forgot. "Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind. Each prayer accepted and each "Blessed are the forgetful, for they get the better even of their blunders." "How happy is the blameless vestal's lot? "The world forgetting, by the world forgot. "Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind. Each prayer accepted and each wish resigned. " Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnasRFeb 21, 2009
In word of one syllable, it's incredible. How it implemented the idea of delete the things from patient's memories.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ExirKJul 24, 2009
There were times here and there where the story becomes a bit too disorienting, and I thought Gondry could've been slightly more subtle about the imagery. However, as a whole, the movie shines. I was crying by the end of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EnditNov 25, 2005
Extremely satisfying, makes viewer think, very unique. The movie incorporates several genres (sci-fi, psychological thriller, romance) seamlessly while delivering one of the most original and creative plots. The acting is magnificent too, Extremely satisfying, makes viewer think, very unique. The movie incorporates several genres (sci-fi, psychological thriller, romance) seamlessly while delivering one of the most original and creative plots. The acting is magnificent too, since none of them over act. The events feel like they could happen in real life too, so it is loosely relatable. There are no problems on the surface level. Below is different, since I can think of some problems others may face. The movie demands more from the audience than to sit and watch. It can be extremely complex at times, since it will not tell or show exactly what is going on. It leads the audience places but doesn't offer explanations. You don't feel like "Oh, there's the plot! Now I know where the movie will be going!". The audience is forced to think and draw conclusions throughout the movie (not everybody likes this). The movie also jumps around, with events going 3-1-2 instead of 1-2-3, so initially it can be quite confusing if you don't catch on. It also has a very challenging attitude to some people and can turn them off by being so secretive. I had no problems personally with Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind, but it could have bombed given how much it tries to do. Fortunately that doesn't happen though. While some may be put off, those who watch will experience a thought provking session like no other. This is the work of just plain good script, actors, and production all coming together. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
sethwOct 29, 2005
Amazing movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
matta.Sep 22, 2005
Blitterfish Cafe, Bernice M., please just stick to movies like The Waterboy and The Fast and the Furious and leave the intelligent, thougtful, well-written and well-acted movies to the people who actually have an IQ above 10. This is Jim Blitterfish Cafe, Bernice M., please just stick to movies like The Waterboy and The Fast and the Furious and leave the intelligent, thougtful, well-written and well-acted movies to the people who actually have an IQ above 10. This is Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet's finest work, the best movie of 2004, and one of the best romance films in the history of cinema. It offends intelligent people when you give a film of this calibre such a low score. Just stick to giving Charlie's Angels a ten and leave the good films to us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlakeJ.Mar 21, 2007
An original masterpiece. Kate Winslet is beyond fabulous. She IS Celmentine...eye candy in every sense of the idea. Different in every way. Just plain perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbelMay 15, 2007
Amazing by every stretch of the imagination. Probably both Carrey and Winslet's best work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JonD.Jun 25, 2007
This had a very good story but it was too long, seeing all the different memories just got tedious, and predictable. I didn't like the ending, although I understood it, i think if the middle was shortened and the ending was lengthened This had a very good story but it was too long, seeing all the different memories just got tedious, and predictable. I didn't like the ending, although I understood it, i think if the middle was shortened and the ending was lengthened it would've been better. Worth seeing but definitely not amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MehhhhhhDec 16, 2008
:S Empire magazine gave it 5 stars? So whats with the 80% and the "it's not particularly funny" comment huuuh? xD
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
charless.Mar 17, 2008
I haven't cried from a movie since i was like 6. During this i bawled lke a baby.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoseS.Aug 24, 2008
Charles Kaufman is so creative, and won an Oscar for the script, (he also wrote Being John Malkovich), this SF/comedy is unique in the annals of romance films. Who would think of selective amnesia mixed with love and relationships? Loved Charles Kaufman is so creative, and won an Oscar for the script, (he also wrote Being John Malkovich), this SF/comedy is unique in the annals of romance films. Who would think of selective amnesia mixed with love and relationships? Loved Kate Winslet too, a different part for Jim Carrey as well, not to be missed Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyEFeb 22, 2009
Great plot, great acting, but disappointing ending
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DankyM.Nov 27, 2005
Damn its good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
michelleDec 26, 2005
This one hits the spot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
rodericrinehartAug 14, 2010
It seems like the movies I enjoy might not have the absolute best acting or plot, but are unique in a number of ways or make me think. This movie is no different. Not perfect, but a really good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PaxsterOct 17, 2010
Jim Carey is no Ace Ventura, he is a real and serious actor with enduring qualities. In Eternal Sunshine of The Spotless Mind he shows this in an abundance. The story is just as good as well. It has enough real emotion to keep you hooked andJim Carey is no Ace Ventura, he is a real and serious actor with enduring qualities. In Eternal Sunshine of The Spotless Mind he shows this in an abundance. The story is just as good as well. It has enough real emotion to keep you hooked and enough dreamy sequence to keep your mind ticking over long after you have finished. That nightmarish image of The Melting Face reminds us we must keep memory...for it's all we have. Cinema that would make God happy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
avt_12Aug 26, 2010
a truly unique way of saying that we love who we love, and there isn't much we can do about it. filmed very cleverly, giving the viewer a new experience of the human psyche. a beautiful piece of film, and jim carey is so much better when he'sa truly unique way of saying that we love who we love, and there isn't much we can do about it. filmed very cleverly, giving the viewer a new experience of the human psyche. a beautiful piece of film, and jim carey is so much better when he's not trying to be funny Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JacobJan 22, 2015
Everything gets tied up a little too nicely at the end; but that doesn’t stop it from being a great film. This is not a typical story taking twists and turns that were unexpected and prevent the film from being generic. The romance betweenEverything gets tied up a little too nicely at the end; but that doesn’t stop it from being a great film. This is not a typical story taking twists and turns that were unexpected and prevent the film from being generic. The romance between Joel and Clementine felt genuine and was something that I genuinely wanted for Joel. The same goes for the relationships of the other characters. The film is also well shot and directed helping to nicely illustrate Joel’s dilemma. This is a great film that I would highly recommend just bring some tissues. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bhavertyFeb 2, 2011
This movie works on so many levels: love story, comedy, sci-fi, fantasy. It's one that I've watched several times and go something more out of it each time. It's surprising, and yet it all *makes sense*.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TokyochuchuSep 7, 2012
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is the best 'romantic' movie ever made. It's got genius writing, superb acting and deft directing. Despite it's sci-fi overtones, the movie feels incredibly authentic. It's heartbreaking and full ofEternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is the best 'romantic' movie ever made. It's got genius writing, superb acting and deft directing. Despite it's sci-fi overtones, the movie feels incredibly authentic. It's heartbreaking and full of redemptive catharsis. I don't really have the words to put across how moving and brilliant this film is. One of my favorites of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
rhunter21892Apr 3, 2011
A beautiful, emotional, and completely enjoyable film on all levels. Jim Carrey will make you laugh like he always has. As a matter of fact, every member of the cast accomplishes this on some level, which is wonderful. But the film also has aA beautiful, emotional, and completely enjoyable film on all levels. Jim Carrey will make you laugh like he always has. As a matter of fact, every member of the cast accomplishes this on some level, which is wonderful. But the film also has a strong emotional heart. I won't say that I didn't see the ending coming from fairly early on, but that's ok, because I enjoyed getting to that ending anyway. Perhaps my favorite part is that they don't answer the question the characters propose at the ending. Because, in all honesty, nobody knows the answer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
drlowdonSep 7, 2017
Having split with his girlfriend Joel discovers that she has had the memory of their relationship removed. In desperation he gets in contact with the inventor of the technology in order to have his own memories removed and help him move on. AHaving split with his girlfriend Joel discovers that she has had the memory of their relationship removed. In desperation he gets in contact with the inventor of the technology in order to have his own memories removed and help him move on. A love story told in reverse Eternal Sunshine is a clever and touching movie that’ll really make audiences think about the nature of relationships and it’s all anchored by excellent performances from Jim Carrey and, the always reliable, Kate Winslet. Recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaMay 9, 2012
An emotional film with important themes and a writer who has once again created a masterpiece. The film is a rejuvination of an exhausted genre. A funny thought provoking deeply sad RomCom. Jim Carrey's performance is also very memorableAn emotional film with important themes and a writer who has once again created a masterpiece. The film is a rejuvination of an exhausted genre. A funny thought provoking deeply sad RomCom. Jim Carrey's performance is also very memorable because of it's dramatic and comedic effect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AodecimAug 1, 2011
Enchanting and emotionally-tapping comedy/drama that really made my top movies list. Its story is also one that is...ironically realistic which is all the more touching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Aug 28, 2015
"Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind", blessed with director Michel Gondry's innovative creativity and vision, is a sad, sentimental, but a beautiful film as with excellent performances from Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet does the movie dive"Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind", blessed with director Michel Gondry's innovative creativity and vision, is a sad, sentimental, but a beautiful film as with excellent performances from Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet does the movie dive into memory, heartbreaking break-ups, and the ever-prevailing ultimacy of love for those who are troubled with and wanting to get the good memories with each other erased and move on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TTW107Apr 9, 2012
I cannot describe in words how amazing and beautiful this movie truly is. You have to see for yourself. A movie that I will come back to time and time again throughout my life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Kaz23Jan 5, 2012
My favourtie movie of all time. Everything about it is brilliant. It never gets old no matter how many times you watch it. The order in which the stoy is done is remarkable and makes for a very captivating movie. The soundtrack is justMy favourtie movie of all time. Everything about it is brilliant. It never gets old no matter how many times you watch it. The order in which the stoy is done is remarkable and makes for a very captivating movie. The soundtrack is just magnificent. It is a truly unique story about love and loss. I've never seen anything quite like it or half as good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
imthenoobDec 21, 2016
Not just wonderfully acted, Carey easily gives the best performance of his career, but the story is so deep and powerful. The basis of said story is quite interesting as well. Would highly recommend this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PodreySanchezAug 20, 2012
Just watched the movie like 20 minutes ago and its took me this long to figure out how good this movie really is. I dont know what to describe it as. So I will leave saying that you cant be narrow minded to watch this movie open your mind.Just watched the movie like 20 minutes ago and its took me this long to figure out how good this movie really is. I dont know what to describe it as. So I will leave saying that you cant be narrow minded to watch this movie open your mind. And then you will appreciate the quality of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Feb 1, 2013
There is no way anyone could deny just how unique, clever, and original this movie is. The story and the characters are just so fresh, and while I don't think the movie is as ingenious as everyone proclaims, it is certainly a fine piece of cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SatiricalewokNov 9, 2014
Before this movie I hated Jim Carey, now I think he is fantastic. He is wonderful in this film. Honestly I can't fault this movie in any way, except that it created less tears than American Beauty did. The narrative is beautifully written,Before this movie I hated Jim Carey, now I think he is fantastic. He is wonderful in this film. Honestly I can't fault this movie in any way, except that it created less tears than American Beauty did. The narrative is beautifully written, and every performance is lovely. I love this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleApr 12, 2015
An incredible blend of romance, comedy, science fiction, and drama, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is an incredible film. Director and writer Charlie Kaufman continues to prove why he is one of the most talented people in HollywoodAn incredible blend of romance, comedy, science fiction, and drama, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is an incredible film. Director and writer Charlie Kaufman continues to prove why he is one of the most talented people in Hollywood with this one as the direction and writing are both perfect. The entire cast is great, but especially Jim Carrey, Kate Winslet, and Kirsten Dunst. The cinematography and limited special effects here are also pitch perfect. A meditation on love and memory, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is a film that sees a man learn he can erase the memory of a girl from his past and forget they ever had anything and after learning she has done the same to him, he opts to go for it, but quickly discovers that he does not want to go through it.

*spoilers*
Overall, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind argues that it is better to have loved and lost than to have never loved at all. Though love hurts and the end of it can leave you broken, the good memories and even the bad ones are part of who you are and, as such, are invaluable. If they just did not happen, you would lose a major piece of yourself. The nonlinear narrative of the story also poses an interesting question on the repeating nature of love and history as a whole. If we are unaware of it, we are doomed to repeat it. Finally, the film argues that though love may hurt and leave us with sad memories and "scars", it is ultimately worth it it, because of the good they can cause.
*end spoilers*

As a whole, those reasons and more are what make Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind such a fantastic film and one that is sure to touch you in some way.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
StaticSpineSep 2, 2013
I'm usually not really digging melodramatic-oriented movies, but this one is pretty touching and it was really interesting for me. I believe that a little bit of fiction makes this one so amazing. the cast is great, Carrey and Winslet madeI'm usually not really digging melodramatic-oriented movies, but this one is pretty touching and it was really interesting for me. I believe that a little bit of fiction makes this one so amazing. the cast is great, Carrey and Winslet made some memorable characters, others are awesome too. The storyline has some twists closer to the end, so yeah, I can recommend this movie to anyone because it's really worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Rokr2112Sep 13, 2012
A really nice movie. You have to watch it at least 3 times to understand it fully. It's incredible the effort that the director put into this film...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
Eternal Sunshine offers a traditional love story, while constantly throwing new ideas and brilliant invention at us. It's one of the most original movies ever made, yet it's also classic in the touching way it connects the two lovers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews