Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 736 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Joel (Carrey) is stunned to discover that his girlfriend Clementine (Winslet) has had her memories of their tumultuous relationship erased. Out of desperation, he contacts the inventor of the process, Dr. Howard Mierzwiak (Wilkinson), to have Clementine removed from his own memory. But as Joel's memories progressively disappear, he begins to rediscover his love for Clementine. (Focus Features) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 100
    Feels like something entirely brand-new; such are the gifts of Kaufman and Gondry, inventors and magicians.
  2. It's a trippy but tender examination of human emotions, relationships, all-consuming love.
  3. Not only (Kaufman's) most accessible and romantic screenplay, it's his most complete. The third act works like a charm and pulls all his themes, characters and conflicts together beautifully.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    If films about coping with memory loss and/or reverse-order storytelling now constitute a mini-genre, then Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is arguably the best of the lot.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    88
    It is by turns comic, dark and surprisingly tender. If one must reduce it to simple description, call it a love story with a twist. Or a twisted love story.
  6. 80
    There aren't many performers who can deliver the fullness of heart that such a plot demands, but Winslet is one of them. [22 March 2004, p. 102]
  7. 50
    Wants to be a bittersweet comedy about erotic loss and memory loss. But it doesn't have the heart or brain.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 292
  1. ScottC.
    Mar 22, 2004
    10
    Best movie I've seen in a while, I laughed, I cried, pretty good acting for the most part. The plot isn't too difficult to figure out, but the camera work, the script, and the emotions and thoughts that the film get at are all very refreshing and touching. Some off the subplots are a little bit tedious, but overall an excellent movie. Expand
  2. AllisonL.
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    Perfect and TOUCHING. One of my most favorite movies ever. The message is incredible! Never gets old for me and something new is uncovered to me every time I watch it. The soundtrack is absolutely beautiful too! I've watched this probably 10 times, and I'll watch it the next time it comes on too. Collapse
  3. J.
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    Guess what? I get it. And it's WAY OVERRATED.
  4. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    The serious Jim Carrey definetly payed off. This film was amazing. The science, the script, the cinametography, and the acting was incredible. Especially with a mostly comedian cast. Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet were the best screen couple of the year and we extremely psycho yet wonderful characters. An Easy A+. Expand
  5. Feb 1, 2011
    10
    A perfect concept wrapped around great performances. Kate Winslet, as usual, is spectacular. Anybody who has been in a relationship full of hills and valleys will appreciate this movie and shed a tear or two by the end. A movie to be filed under "original and thought provoking". Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2010
    9
    Just spellbinding. It's a while to build up and the wait is worth every second. Michel Gondry's direction is on top-form and brilliantly accompanied with a beautiful score and a precise screenplay. The story seems to go off astray but for some reason, that's one of its best qualities. Jim Carrey is at his best since The Truman Show and thoroughly gives a performance that will be remembered for years. But the carpet from under his feet is Kate Winslet who delivers yet another monumental performance. This is my favourite role she's played because she played someone modern and she was funny at times. PLEASE, more Kate Winslet comedies. I rather liked Kirsten Dunst as the quirky receptionist who quotes Alexander Pope but underneath lies a secret unbeknownst to her. This is probably the best film of 2004 and one of my favourite films of all time. Expand
  7. AnthonyC.
    Mar 21, 2004
    0
    Wow did this movie suck. I walked in thinking it would be the cinematic experience of my life from all the great reviews I read. Guess what? IT SUCKS!!!! I felt absolutely nothing for the characters. I wanted them all to forget each other so they movie would END! Carrey, Carrey, Carrey, when are you going to learn that you cannot act at all. Go back to comedy and make us all happy. All the other performances felt forced and fake. Whoever tells you this movie is complex is a totaly dumba$$. I figured it out just by seeing the trailer and the commercials. DON'T SEE THIS AT ANY COST. Expand

See all 292 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors

    Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors Image
    Published: August 31, 2010
    Before Anton Corbijn was directing feature films like this week's "The American," he was the driving force behind iconic music videos for Depeche Mode, U2, and Nirvana. Inside, we look at the careers of Corbijn and over 20 other directors who have made the jump from MTV to the big screen.
  2. The Nightmare After Christmas: Are January Movies Really That Bad?

    The Nightmare After Christmas: Are January Movies Really That Bad? Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Conventional wisdom has it that January is a dumping ground for bad movies, and our numbers back that up. We compare January to other months, look for past releases that actually succeeded, and preview movies coming out in the next few weeks.
  3. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  4. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.