Magnet Releasing | Release Date: August 2, 2013
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 127 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
85
Mixed:
30
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
jesterx7769Oct 22, 2013
This is a much watch sci fi movie. Many sci fi movies use C level CGI and throw lots of aliens/zombies at you in the same old predictable story line. Europa Report uses none of the above mentioned things and keeps you on the edge of your seatThis is a much watch sci fi movie. Many sci fi movies use C level CGI and throw lots of aliens/zombies at you in the same old predictable story line. Europa Report uses none of the above mentioned things and keeps you on the edge of your seat as you do not know what is going to happen. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
supernova19Aug 2, 2013
Awesome movie. I loved the way story incorporated actual science behind it. The effectThis movie proves you can make a compelling sci fi movie on a limited budget. I highly recommend this movie.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGoer14Aug 3, 2013
Europa Report is no short of amazing, dark and mysterious with dazzling effects; you can actually believe that you are with the characters on the spaceship, and the discovery, it is a beautiful wonder to sight. The whole movie has the coldEuropa Report is no short of amazing, dark and mysterious with dazzling effects; you can actually believe that you are with the characters on the spaceship, and the discovery, it is a beautiful wonder to sight. The whole movie has the cold claustrophobic feel to it, which is a unique style and feeling. This movie actually proves that we can bring science fiction thrillers without the use of much budget and gross out scenes ex: Alien & Aliens! Europa Report is a beautiful journey through the wonders of the universe around us. Just beautiful and a definite must see! Best of 2013! Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
StevieB212Aug 25, 2013
Visually interesting: use of multiple cam shots from different parts of the shuttle, scratchy disconnections etc. Interesting plot: loss of connection to missile control, and the team continues on with the mission. I wouldn't normallyVisually interesting: use of multiple cam shots from different parts of the shuttle, scratchy disconnections etc. Interesting plot: loss of connection to missile control, and the team continues on with the mission. I wouldn't normally watch science fiction, but I found this really engaging: especially the passion how important this was to them and it was believable, not over the top. Interesting actors. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
KstJames_5Oct 21, 2014
This is the best picture I've ever seen. Its great on so many levels I dont know where to begin, like its use of real life-like NASA footage to the real scientific argument of the possibility of life on Eurpa(even a clip of Neil DegrasseThis is the best picture I've ever seen. Its great on so many levels I dont know where to begin, like its use of real life-like NASA footage to the real scientific argument of the possibility of life on Eurpa(even a clip of Neil Degrasse Tyson). There were no "red herrings" or romance interest between the crew, which is rare in movies now a days, and most of all the story of the crew and how each one sacrifice themselves for one another as well as their research. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
threepmAug 5, 2013
I went into watching this with Syfy channel expectations... What I left with was a smart. Visually impressive. Realistic "lost footage" film about a journey in space. Fantastic film and highly recommended.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Cosmonaut15Oct 10, 2014
The film is one of the real sci-fi film without explosion and combat but focus on the main goal of the mission; find a sign of life on another planet (actually a natural satellite of Jupiter).

Storyline is great and interesting. My hearth
The film is one of the real sci-fi film without explosion and combat but focus on the main goal of the mission; find a sign of life on another planet (actually a natural satellite of Jupiter).

Storyline is great and interesting. My hearth pounded as if I were they on that spaceship and fear of what is waiting outside.
Acting is great. They made me truly believe they are scientist who devote their life for scientific discoveries.
Visual effect are undoubtedly beautiful and realistic. I can said that is what REAL Europa should looks like when we land on her in the next few decades. They did a great job for scientific accuracy.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JankovicSep 21, 2014
Its always good to see that the movie industry is not completely brain-dead when it comes to creative risk taking.

The movie is told through a documentary like perspective, and it has really convincing acting. This movie is no "nice
Its always good to see that the movie industry is not completely brain-dead when it comes to creative risk taking.

The movie is told through a documentary like perspective, and it has really convincing acting. This movie is no "nice throwback scifi movie" and some deeper themes are explored if you look really hard. The movie does not get caught back in stuff that other scifi movies get into, like badly forced themes and misfit love stories, this movie is straight to the point.

The movie is clearly coped well with a fairly low budget, and I respect it for that. The movie is 100% worth a try, and if you did not like it (due to its fairly mixed opinions), no biggie! Its not like the 6$ or so is a great investment, especially to see something never before done (at least done properly (yes Im talking about you Astronaut))
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mthrlJan 21, 2014
Although the premise of the movie seems a little flawed (Why would we send a manned flight to one of Jupiter's moons to do a job that could just as easily be done with probes?), I nonetheless found it thoroughly engrossing. It's hardAlthough the premise of the movie seems a little flawed (Why would we send a manned flight to one of Jupiter's moons to do a job that could just as easily be done with probes?), I nonetheless found it thoroughly engrossing. It's hard science-fiction done well. The camera-work (the found-footage technique is used) and minimalist sound editing do a great job of inserting you into the claustrophobic confines of the spacecraft. The character development is fantastic and I'm not going to give anything away, but there are a fair number of little puzzles that the viewer gets to work on for a while before the answers are made apparent. Great film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Patrick94Jan 3, 2014
Europa Report 8/10. I loved it. Bravo Sebastián Cordero, you did with a 10 million dollar budget what Shane Black and 200 million could only dream of: make a great movie, LOL. Seriously, if you're a sci-fi fan tired of the same oldEuropa Report 8/10. I loved it. Bravo Sebastián Cordero, you did with a 10 million dollar budget what Shane Black and 200 million could only dream of: make a great movie, LOL. Seriously, if you're a sci-fi fan tired of the same old predictable repetitive crap, then watch this. It has tension, emotion, depth, mystery, everything that makes a great sci-fi movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
sanyrubDec 15, 2013
Surprisingly good visuals for a low budget film. This is the proof you can make a film with not that big of a budget but make it interesting, intense and such an attention grabber. Really enjoyed the journey and felt like I was in space. ISurprisingly good visuals for a low budget film. This is the proof you can make a film with not that big of a budget but make it interesting, intense and such an attention grabber. Really enjoyed the journey and felt like I was in space. I felt the fear one must feel in this kind of situation. Maybe the very end was a little out of place (the last scenes). But overall, everybody did a good job and the landing on Europa was so captivating. I would give it a 7.5. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
alescio92Aug 4, 2013
Europe Report by Sebastián Cordero: I had high expectations for this film, but I had a little incuriosito.Il film manages to put tension throughout its duration, is consistent with himself, affascina.Riesce in order to be realistic despiteEurope Report by Sebastián Cordero: I had high expectations for this film, but I had a little incuriosito.Il film manages to put tension throughout its duration, is consistent with himself, affascina.Riesce in order to be realistic despite the budget remeber, maybe there's a little something that could be done a little better, but you can not gloss over some difetti.I protagonists behave in a credible way, there is the appeal to discovery, there is a lot of curiosity in what accade.Il everything is made with the technique of found footage, which in this case is apt for this film.Ci are references to other science fiction films like A Space Odyssey that are sure to please however the film for me is very cool piacevole.Davvero is a good science fiction movie, definitely worth watching (I hope it comes out sooner or later in Italy), one of the best of its kind in recent years. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
ZombieWhosoeverAug 16, 2013
A gratifying and mystifying science fiction thriller that delivers with expert detail, impressive visuals, and a captivating sense of realism that can be described as breathtaking, as well as thought provoking.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
RevRonOct 11, 2013
I went into this one with no real expectations but found a movie that was attention grabbing and something that was fresh in the "discover alien life" and "found footage" genres. The presentation of the story is the biggest highlight of thisI went into this one with no real expectations but found a movie that was attention grabbing and something that was fresh in the "discover alien life" and "found footage" genres. The presentation of the story is the biggest highlight of this film--second only to the story itself and the tension that unfolds from it. The movie is NOT told in a linear fashion and its creative editing is enough to make you say, "Aha!" more than once. The director also did a great job of making the film feel tense, and did so while keeping the cameras (mostly) stationary--it's a "found footage" movie after all...and being a "found footage" film, "Europa Report" was able to dodge all the pitfalls that becomes that subgenre and was actually watchable (I can't stand "found footage" movies). The only real downside is the movie's special effects aren't the best but with a great story, great presentation, great acting and a fantastic ending (not all the elements are great...some are better!), the movie doesn't fail to entertain. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
theseparatorSep 28, 2013
When a sci-fi movie achieves a certain degree of excellence I have special category of greatness where I place such films. Europa Report, the little known sci-fi film of summer 2013 is placed squarely in this special category.

The farthest
When a sci-fi movie achieves a certain degree of excellence I have special category of greatness where I place such films. Europa Report, the little known sci-fi film of summer 2013 is placed squarely in this special category.

The farthest than humankind has ever traveled; Europa Report takes us to a moon orbiting Jupiter where researchers believe there may be life. As a crew of scientists and engineers depart Earth they tread the well-worn path of many a space movie. Traveling to Europa the crew have their squabbles, their celebrations, their successes, their letters and videos made for loved ones on earth.

Then lines go dead. They loose all contact with Earth. They have every possible gear malfunction imaginable, including a few mental and emotional ones. Director Sebastian Cordero permits this display, the usual psychological strains the typical sci-fi film character faces, but Cordero keeps them to a minimum. He does not rely on these typical factors to carry the film. The clichés become less and less important as the adventure of the actual mission intensifies

Once on the crew arrive on the moon Europa everything goes wrong. When characters we’ve become fond of start dramatically disappearing we realize this is not a story about the power of the human spirit’s ability to overcome all odds. This is intended as a realistic portrayal of a real mission. What it would actually be like to venture to the far reaches of our solar system. It is a stunning achievement.

For 10 million dollars this film transcends basic film devices. The Astronauts’ struggles to survive become incidental. Europa Report takes us past the mere human crusade of survival. Way past.

Errata: Surprisingly the crew miscalculates the temperature of Europa as absolute zero. Absolute zero is a scientific impossibility according to the Smithsonian. Particles no longer move and energy is no longer transferred. At absolute zero, the principle that prevents perpetual motion from existing which is also used as an adjective to describe the decent into disorder- entropy- reaches its minimum value. The scenes on Europa are overflowing with entropy, so this absolute zero declaration is blatantly false.

8/10
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
RoachramirezMay 12, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. buena pelicula con efectos interesantes sin caer en exagerados , actuaciones, la forma que utilizan las cámaras como si fuera en directo lo hacen mas interesante. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Europa Report" 10 Scale Rating: 8.0 (Great) ...

The Good: An extremely realistic account of what space exploration would probably actually be like, Europa Report avoids typical sci-fi cliches. Despite being comprised almost entirely of
"Europa Report" 10 Scale Rating: 8.0 (Great) ...

The Good: An extremely realistic account of what space exploration would probably actually be like, Europa Report avoids typical sci-fi cliches. Despite being comprised almost entirely of unknowns, the cast holds up and does an amazing job. Extremely interesting film, especially if you have an affinity for space exploration. One of the better films of 2013, despite being a film that most people have never heard of.

The Bad: Can be a little slow at times. Sometimes the out of sequence script is a put off and confuses you somewhat early on.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleDec 8, 2015
Riveting from beginning to end, Europa Report manages to extract a ton of thrills out of the mystery surrounding the happenings and what they will find on Europa. The film has a certain chilliness to it that really keeps you on edge andRiveting from beginning to end, Europa Report manages to extract a ton of thrills out of the mystery surrounding the happenings and what they will find on Europa. The film has a certain chilliness to it that really keeps you on edge and waiting to see what comes next. Though, it can drag a bit in the middle until things really kick in. The constant jumping in time period also does not help matters in that regard. However, the pay-off is more than worth it and once they reach Europa, it really becomes a very good science fiction film. Somehow, it managed to be this good of a science fiction film with beautiful production design and effects with an under $10 million production budget, which is worthy of acclaim. An interesting twist on the found footage genre, Europa Report never truly feels like a found footage film, which helps. Entertaining, thrilling, and well made, Europa Report may not be great, but it is certainly more than worth your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
morfilNov 13, 2013
Not every sci-fi movie is an action-packed super-hero popcorn flick. Luckily! And Europa Report shines among those, lately rather rare examples.

Europa Report follows the line of a documentary and does that so successfully that I,
Not every sci-fi movie is an action-packed super-hero popcorn flick. Luckily! And Europa Report shines among those, lately rather rare examples.

Europa Report follows the line of a documentary and does that so successfully that I, throughout the movie, kept forgetting that humans actually have not yet landed on Europa. While the search for extraterrestrial is in fact the focus of the mission, it is not the focus of this movie, but rather human behavior and psychology, the magic of exploration and the steps we are ready to take for something that is larger than individual life.

The story flows beautifully and, yes, with time-jumps demands full attention from the viewer. And as a consequence also delivers a great deal of excitement and enjoyment.

I definitely recommend to all the science, space exploration and old- school-sci-fi fans.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
JermsNov 22, 2013
Amazing special effects and visuals. Some stupid choices are made that trained professional astronauts would never make, and proper safety measures weren't followed most of the time. Over all I really enjoyed this creepy sci-fi thriller andAmazing special effects and visuals. Some stupid choices are made that trained professional astronauts would never make, and proper safety measures weren't followed most of the time. Over all I really enjoyed this creepy sci-fi thriller and applaud the sheer scope of this film's purpose. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews