Rosebud Communications Releasing | Release Date: March 13, 1987
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 142 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
125
Mixed:
10
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
BroyaxJan 23, 2017
Mieux rythmé que le premier, ce second Evil Dead se laisse aller trop souvent dans le n'importe quoi et n'apporte rien de neuf, il fait davantage penser à une refonte mal lunée qu'à une véritable suite. Les quelques rares moments drôles neMieux rythmé que le premier, ce second Evil Dead se laisse aller trop souvent dans le n'importe quoi et n'apporte rien de neuf, il fait davantage penser à une refonte mal lunée qu'à une véritable suite. Les quelques rares moments drôles ne suffisent pas à sauver cette foirade de série Z dont les effets "spéciaux" font vraiment de la peine. On finit par se lasser de toutes ces idioties en carton-pâte et des cris hystériques des comédiens : si les intentions sont bonnes, elles s'avèrent en définitive si mal réalisées qu'elle font lever les yeux au plafond. Un film dérisoire. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisJun 23, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is possibly one of the wackiest and hilarious films ever released. Sam Raimi returns once again to the horrors of the Book of the Dead, along with star Bruce Campbell, the king of B-movies. The plot is pretty much the same as the original; Ash and his girlfriend Linda venture to a cabin in the middle of a dark and unidentified forest. Ash finds a strange looking book and when he recites passages from it, he ressurects a dark spirit in the woods, and summons all kinds of crazy demons and monsters. The blood flies in some very imaginative ways. Heads get lopped off, demons get blown up and numerous people get zombified. It also has a focus on comedy thats just adds to how entertaining this movie really is. In sum, a great movie to watch on Halloween night an one of the most unique horror films around Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
CalibMcBoltsMay 30, 2016
Let's start of by saying i absolutely hate ''The Evil Dead'' (1981), so i didnt start watching this movie with high expectations (they were rock-bottom actually) and still, did i too, hate this movie. ''Evil Dead 2: Dead by Dawn'' is noLet's start of by saying i absolutely hate ''The Evil Dead'' (1981), so i didnt start watching this movie with high expectations (they were rock-bottom actually) and still, did i too, hate this movie. ''Evil Dead 2: Dead by Dawn'' is no different than ''The Evil Dead'', because they're practically the same movie, only with slightly better effects and SOME interesting things, maybe 1 or 2. That's why i gave it 1.5/5 in stead of 0.5/5

Since ''The Evil Dead'', and ''Evil Dead 2: Dead by Dawn'', are practically the same movie (It isnt a sequel, it's just a remake with a slightly bigger budget.) my exact critcisms apply for this movie too. I, yet again, thought this movie was neither funny nor scary at all. (Except, again, the awfully cheap jump scares, which is just a talentless way of scaring the audience) The acting is horrendous and hammy (yet again), there is no atmospheric tension (yet again), and the movie's scares solely rely on jump scares and gore, which is the worst kind of horror, the plot is extremely simple yet it has many plot holes (Less than the first one however), the solution to the film's main problem is abominable (It made even less sense than in the first one), the structure/ outline of the story is pretty bad too. It is cheesy, silly and poorly made, with awful acting and many filming and continuity errors.

I have nothing more to say, except that i'm even less excited for ''Army of Darkness'' than i was after watching ''The Evil Dead''
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
FanBoyCritic1Mar 24, 2016
Plot/Summary,After a relaxing cabin vacation doesn't go as planned,Ash,is left with three dead friends,an undead girlfriend and an angry evil spirit on the loose. As nightfall approaches,Ash must prepare again to battle the legions of thePlot/Summary,After a relaxing cabin vacation doesn't go as planned,Ash,is left with three dead friends,an undead girlfriend and an angry evil spirit on the loose. As nightfall approaches,Ash must prepare again to battle the legions of the damned if he wants to make it to dawn.
My Review
The last time we saw Ash he was going insane and man the beginning of this one shows. He go's insane and that scene where he is laughing and he images the things around the house laughing really shows. Eventually the daughter of the first man who said those evil translations on the tape goes to the cabin and finds Ash and thinks he killed her mother and father when all along he's been trying to survive the evil they brought back once more. Bruce campbell still plays Ash with greatness i don't know the names of the other actors who played the other characters but i will say that they did great as well. I love how they change the evil zombie in the basement from the guys girlfriend to the womens mother and father.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oDjentoMar 9, 2015
I can't believe but love the way they went with the tone for the trilogy. Still with enough jumpscares to still be loosely classed as a horror but with a ton of awesome comedic moments and one liners. Acting suits itself better here as it'sI can't believe but love the way they went with the tone for the trilogy. Still with enough jumpscares to still be loosely classed as a horror but with a ton of awesome comedic moments and one liners. Acting suits itself better here as it's being campy horror comedy. The stupidity is racked up to 10 and the direction is still pretty brilliant overall with some absolutely cracking scenes on display. Possibly my favourite, but i do love Army of Darkness a lot too. The film gets more evidently silly as it progresses, and you'll love every moment of it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheQuietGamerOct 24, 2014
It tones down the horror in favor of comedy, but all in all it's still one of the craziest horror flicks of all time. You really never know what to expect as there are unpredictable moments that come one after another. It's all brought toIt tones down the horror in favor of comedy, but all in all it's still one of the craziest horror flicks of all time. You really never know what to expect as there are unpredictable moments that come one after another. It's all brought to life with visual effects and tricks that no one uses today anymore. Granted it looks dated, but it's visual tricks are still all the more exciting and different. It's clear that this is pure imaginative horror-comedy.

I just wish it was more horror and less comedy. It's not a scary movie. It's also not a particularly funny one. It's still entertaining, but it's strength lies in it's incredible weirdness as well as with Raimi's imaginatively twisted scenes and Campbell's performance. It's easy to see why this one became a cult-classic. It's unlike anything you've ever seen before and I really wish more horror movies would be this unique nowadays. It's not the best horror-comedy, but it's still worth a watch for hardcore genre fans. Overall I give it a 6.8/10.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Blackops1231Sep 8, 2014
by far the best horror movie of all time. It's funny, stupid, and gory. What's not to like here?
I enjoyed every second of this film and I'd highly recommend you go watch this RIGHT NOW!!!
It's on Netflix, well at least in Canada it is. If
by far the best horror movie of all time. It's funny, stupid, and gory. What's not to like here?
I enjoyed every second of this film and I'd highly recommend you go watch this RIGHT NOW!!!
It's on Netflix, well at least in Canada it is. If I could I would rate this 12/10. I hope this helped and you should definitely watch this sometime.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
horcrux2007Sep 3, 2014
It's not as scary as its ingenious predecessor, but "Evil Dead II" is still highly entertaining and probably even more interesting than "The Evil Dead". It's mostly a string of disconnected crazy scenes for the first thirty minutes, but theIt's not as scary as its ingenious predecessor, but "Evil Dead II" is still highly entertaining and probably even more interesting than "The Evil Dead". It's mostly a string of disconnected crazy scenes for the first thirty minutes, but the movie finds itself, and it becomes more coherent and creepy. If you liked the first one, I definitely recommend this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticJul 17, 2014
A horror with more comedy than its sequel, but manages to be just as original and refreshing from the mindless slashers with magic monsters. The 'evil' in 'Evil Dead II' is more of a freak show than something actually terrifying. But Raimi'sA horror with more comedy than its sequel, but manages to be just as original and refreshing from the mindless slashers with magic monsters. The 'evil' in 'Evil Dead II' is more of a freak show than something actually terrifying. But Raimi's filmmaking style keeps you entertained, both screaming and laughing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PvtJacksonJun 16, 2014
Evil Dead II: Dead By Dawn is a breathtaking part 2, worthy of expectations from both fans and critics about the sequel of the original renowned movie. Bruce Campbell returned as a sole survivor after the event in The Evil Dead, and this timeEvil Dead II: Dead By Dawn is a breathtaking part 2, worthy of expectations from both fans and critics about the sequel of the original renowned movie. Bruce Campbell returned as a sole survivor after the event in The Evil Dead, and this time he is even better with unpredictable, fearsome performance, which precisely matched Ash's mysteriously dangerous psychological behavior when he had his arm chopped and his girlfriend decapitated. Concisely speaking, Sam Raimi's terrifying direction, successfully combined with Campbell's breathtaking acting, produced a somewhat better horror cult classic with a higher level of blood, gore and visual elements that would leave viewers forever scared **** Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JekSpaceyMay 11, 2014
It's easy to see , from the beginning of the film, "The House 2" is a sequel to " The House " , but that takes a few moments a remake of the original. This time, however , Raimi wanted to include elements of the grotesque and comic , makingIt's easy to see , from the beginning of the film, "The House 2" is a sequel to " The House " , but that takes a few moments a remake of the original. This time, however , Raimi wanted to include elements of the grotesque and comic , making the film a real B -movie.
All this, contrary to what you might think , is not a defect, it helps to make the film a true gem that entertains from the first minute . Let's be clear that the B-movie does not need to be in the film of low quality, there are geniuses like Sam Raimi, in fact, that in movies at the highest level as "The House 2" , manage to insert elements typical of these films, alzandone further the level. There is , therefore, no need to say that the film is one of the greatest cult cinema history , as well as a horror film that deserves the highest of the stars.
The dominance , however, of these elements wants the judgment of the film to be assigned considering it as a B -movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lukechristianscApr 8, 2014
Evil Dead returns as a good sequel its epic , horrorific , and awsome . but why at the last scene Ash ends up back in time ??????????????????????????? . Grade A+
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cjm868Dec 30, 2013
Among the greatest horror movies of all time, my personal favourite. It is brilliantly directed by Sam Raimi and wonderfully acted by Bruce Campbell. This is one of the most entertaining movies i have ever seen. I love the slapstick humourAmong the greatest horror movies of all time, my personal favourite. It is brilliantly directed by Sam Raimi and wonderfully acted by Bruce Campbell. This is one of the most entertaining movies i have ever seen. I love the slapstick humour mixed with horror. All of the movies elements combined lead to it being one of my favourite films of all time, and a must see for fans of the horror(/Slapstick Comedy) genre Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
python2000Dec 30, 2013
Full of blood, guts, gore and more blood, guts and gore. Evil Dead 2 is not very different from the first movie but it's a successful formula. Lots of cheesy dialogue and ancient curses reminiscent of 1950's B movies so outrageous andFull of blood, guts, gore and more blood, guts and gore. Evil Dead 2 is not very different from the first movie but it's a successful formula. Lots of cheesy dialogue and ancient curses reminiscent of 1950's B movies so outrageous and completely insane that you really don't care. Perhaps not as brilliant as many make it out to be, but good entertainment to make you laugh and enjoy yourself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Spider1775Dec 26, 2013
Evil Dead II is proof that Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell were the gods of low budget filmmaking, proof of the incredible intelligence and stupidity of the horror genre. Evil Dead II is among the best horror comedies ever made. No much needs toEvil Dead II is proof that Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell were the gods of low budget filmmaking, proof of the incredible intelligence and stupidity of the horror genre. Evil Dead II is among the best horror comedies ever made. No much needs to be said from Raimi's spot on direction and Campbell's iconic, ridiculous parody of the action hero, Evil Dead II combines ludicrous amounts of gore with ludicrous amounts of hilarity, what more could you need? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksDec 8, 2013
A good sequel and a fun film. The only thing I do dislike about this film series is that in each one the continuity changes. A great cast of characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Nesbitt10Oct 13, 2013
Maximum visceral impact is what "Evil Dead 2" is all about-- and it delivers. The brilliance of "Evil Dead 2" is found in its psychotic blend of over-the-top gore, and it's fantastic sense of humor. Not a sequel so much as an elaborateMaximum visceral impact is what "Evil Dead 2" is all about-- and it delivers. The brilliance of "Evil Dead 2" is found in its psychotic blend of over-the-top gore, and it's fantastic sense of humor. Not a sequel so much as an elaborate do-over, "Evil Dead 2" amps up the ghastly laughs to generally thrilling results. As in the first film, director Sam Raimi lets out all the stops and plays on almost every cinematic trick in the book. Although the movie is obviously indebted to any number of sources, the film has an infectious energy all of its own.

After a high-speed recap and continuation of first film's ending, Ash (Bruce Campbell) ventures out to that same lonely cabin for a romantic weekend with his girlfriend (Denise Bixler). There he discovers the same tape recorder again. When the voice reads a translation of the "Book of the Dead," a vicious evil force awakens in the woods, and rushes into the house, and all hell breaks loose once more. Despite "Evil Dead 2" being more of a rehash than a sequel, it's the tone of the two movies that are significantly different. While the original is more of a conventional horror movie, the sequel ventures into full-blown surrealism. While both movies contain moments of humor, "Evil Dead 2" raises the comedic stakes.

Campbell's performance shifts to match the needs of the humorous script, and Ash is now all swagger, spitting out one-liners and taking on the forces of darkness with style. The overall intensity and old-school effects give the film a lovable quality that high-tech movies just can't provide nowadays. An acknowledgement to Mark Shostrom's prosthetic makeup and the camera work of Peter Deming and Eugene Shlugleit. Vivid, utterly unique, and quickly paced, ''Evil Dead 2'' is one of the goofiest, goriest movies this side of the grave.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
wrightm1Jun 26, 2013
Similar but completely different to the first one.

While the first one definitely tries to be more serious, the second one really does take everything with a wink and a little dance. Weird analogy but let me explain... There would be a
Similar but completely different to the first one.

While the first one definitely tries to be more serious, the second one really does take everything with a wink and a little dance. Weird analogy but let me explain... There would be a scare, which would represent the 'wink', and then the scary thing would laugh, and then everything would suddenly almost Disney style. But with blood.

I loved it.

From the weird descriptions, it should be noted that it has been a long day, and this film gave me a bit of a boost that I needed.

The best way to put this review is that it firstly puts you straight into the action, which at first is admittedly a little jarring, as I had no idea where I was for a second, and then, as they say: does indeed hit the fan'.

I just enjoyed it.

... This is probably one of the worst reviews so far.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Skullgirlsfan13May 18, 2013
I don't get it, I just don't get. I read everywhere that this was an awesome movie, Empire says; from what I believe are user votes, that this was the 46 or something best film out of 500. I know that doesn't entirely mean that it is thatI don't get it, I just don't get. I read everywhere that this was an awesome movie, Empire says; from what I believe are user votes, that this was the 46 or something best film out of 500. I know that doesn't entirely mean that it is that good just because a magazine says so. But this was so interesting, I had to watch, and when I did, I was so confused. So from what I can tell this is the first horror movie to include intentional laughs in it, even before scream. So I thought: well this will be fun to watch. When it was done though, I had this feeling of me just not understanding why people love this movie so much. Personally I think the last one was okay, it definitely scared me at certain parts and was real gross. The same can be said for this; in my opinion. There're moments where it's being funny, more so than the last one, but only at one or two moments. This is probably most appreciated by those who really love horror, or just understand film a bit more than I do. Until I do understand, this film will be listed as: okay, in my book. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
survivorfan989Apr 22, 2013
Quite similar to the first film and it pretty much follows straight on from where the last one finished up, and while the special effects have improved I think the first one is just that tad better. Definitely still entertaining enough andQuite similar to the first film and it pretty much follows straight on from where the last one finished up, and while the special effects have improved I think the first one is just that tad better. Definitely still entertaining enough and Ash provides most of the laughs, but it was a little more on the corny side and almost more of a comedy this time around, which wasn't always a bad thing either. Now I'm pumped though because I've seen both the originals and all prepared for the remake!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Spyfighter5000Apr 11, 2013
With amped up production value comes a perfect blend of black comedy, horror, nostalgia and unbeatable atmosphere. Great cinematography and direction from Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell gives a fantastic hammed up performance as Ash a long withWith amped up production value comes a perfect blend of black comedy, horror, nostalgia and unbeatable atmosphere. Great cinematography and direction from Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell gives a fantastic hammed up performance as Ash a long with the films hilarious comedic tone. A great, if not the best entry in the awesome franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
oliver1hMar 18, 2013
Funny and sometimes cheesy (intentionally), yet with Campbell in the lead this movie is just a cult classic. Raimi made a perfect blend of horror, haunted-house and dark-comedy movie, with a really nice atmosphere and special effects. OverallFunny and sometimes cheesy (intentionally), yet with Campbell in the lead this movie is just a cult classic. Raimi made a perfect blend of horror, haunted-house and dark-comedy movie, with a really nice atmosphere and special effects. Overall recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobJan 30, 2013
Honestly, I thought it was a pretty enjoyable movie. Funny at times and it doesn't take itself too seriously. Only thing I have to say that's bad about it is that the last 20 mins or so are rather boring, Not much in terms of originality whenHonestly, I thought it was a pretty enjoyable movie. Funny at times and it doesn't take itself too seriously. Only thing I have to say that's bad about it is that the last 20 mins or so are rather boring, Not much in terms of originality when compared to the original even though it is a sequel/remake. Still, An enjoyable watch imo. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ZegilgameshJan 21, 2013
Evil Dead 2 is a delightful mix of eye-popping gore, wacky special effects, hilarious slapstick comedy, deliciously campy dialogue, and Bruce Campbell's best performance yet. Groovy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BrandonBonaseraJan 4, 2013
Evil Dead 2 is fun and very entertaining, but it abandons the horror genre for a violent slapstick comedy theme, which I wouldn't really say it's a bad thing, it's just that I would prefer more horror. The film suffers from odd-pacing, a veryEvil Dead 2 is fun and very entertaining, but it abandons the horror genre for a violent slapstick comedy theme, which I wouldn't really say it's a bad thing, it's just that I would prefer more horror. The film suffers from odd-pacing, a very short run time and not being as fun as the first, though it is still quite an enjoyable film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CanaMavrickTwoSep 29, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This surpasses the original one in my opinion. It's a horror and a comedy so you'll be scared and be laughing at the same time. This is quite possibly the most outrageous film I ever saw, especially the laughing scene. If you just want movies that have logic then pass this, but if you're open minded, then you should watch this, but watch the first one too since it's also pretty good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Kyle39Sep 9, 2012
Compelling horror/comedy sequel to the intense, terrifying original. The acting could be better, but the effects are top knotch and the direction is brilliant. Bruce Campbell is a comedic genius. His physical comedy is inspiring andCompelling horror/comedy sequel to the intense, terrifying original. The acting could be better, but the effects are top knotch and the direction is brilliant. Bruce Campbell is a comedic genius. His physical comedy is inspiring and entertaining to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Thumpz99Nov 11, 2011
This is a staple of our Halloween season in my house. My daughter and I watch it every year and absolutely LOVE it! Creepy yet cheezy and a whole lot of fun to watch! Our favorite scenes are when Ash battles his own hand. Tons of BloodThis is a staple of our Halloween season in my house. My daughter and I watch it every year and absolutely LOVE it! Creepy yet cheezy and a whole lot of fun to watch! Our favorite scenes are when Ash battles his own hand. Tons of Blood and Laughs! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
j30Nov 9, 2011
Horror films don't get much better than this. Perfectly balances slap-stick comedy and horror. It's hard to believe the director of Spider-man Sam Raimi got his start here. My favorite horror movie by far.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
TheNewSpielbergApr 7, 2011
This movie is possibly one of the wackiest and hilarious films ever released. Sam Raimi returns once again to the horrors of the Book of the Dead, along with star Bruce Campbell, the king of B-movies. The plot is pretty much the same as theThis movie is possibly one of the wackiest and hilarious films ever released. Sam Raimi returns once again to the horrors of the Book of the Dead, along with star Bruce Campbell, the king of B-movies. The plot is pretty much the same as the original; Ash and his girlfriend Linda venture to a cabin in the middle of a dark and unidentified forest. Ash finds a strange looking book and when he recites passages from it, he ressurects a dark spirit in the woods, and summons all kinds of crazy demons and monsters. The blood flies in some very imaginative ways. Heads get lopped off, demons get blown up and numerous people get zombified. It also has a focus on comedy thats just adds to how entertaining this movie really is. In sum, a great movie to watch on Halloween night an one of the most unique horror films around. Collapse
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
monkeybrainspitFeb 27, 2011
â
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RDalviJun 1, 2006
Truly the wackiest and funniest film on this planet. Raimi and Campbell rock. They should make Evil Dead IV. The eyeball scene rocks. Raimi may have made a brilliant Spiderman but his Evil Dead series are his original masterpiece. It should Truly the wackiest and funniest film on this planet. Raimi and Campbell rock. They should make Evil Dead IV. The eyeball scene rocks. Raimi may have made a brilliant Spiderman but his Evil Dead series are his original masterpiece. It should win Oscar for Best Actor Campbell, best Director, Raimi and Best Costume Design. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DrewFSep 25, 2005
In the top 5 horror movies of all-time. A true classic. Campbell's hand-possession scene should be required viewing in every acting class on the planet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful