User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 142 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 142
  2. Negative: 28 out of 142

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 26, 2011
    2
    As somebody whose son died on 9/11, I found this film to be both exploitive and inaccurate. It was forced and poorly done. A disappointment. And boy is Sandra Bullock getting old.
  2. Feb 14, 2012
    4
    Oh my goodness! what was that? What happened to the Academy? i wish they announce that that it was a mistake and take the nomination back i mean this is a shame nominating a movie with bad reviews over much well received movies? No seriously this movie was so fake and ridiculously pretentious. Performances were not so amazing except the wonderful Max Von Sydow, i appreciate Thomas Horn carrying the entire movie on his own small shoulders. The basic core foundation of this movie itself was just wrong. One of the worst nominated movie in the history or probably the worst since 60 or 70 years. Expand
  3. Dec 30, 2011
    4
    Drama. Oskar (Thomas Horn) is convinced that his father (Tom Hanks), who died in the 9/11 attacks on the World Trade Center, has left a final message for him hidden somewhere in the city. Feeling disconnected from his grieving mother (Sandra Bullock) and driven by a relentlessly active mind that refuses to believe in things that can't be observed, Oskar begins searching New York City for the lock that fits a mysterious key he found in his father's closet. His journey through the five boroughs takes him beyond his own loss to a greater understanding of the observable world around him. Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2011
    0
    Self-indulgent, without redemption, exploitative. The only adjectives applicable to this disturbing attempt at emotional manipulation using 9/11 as its storyline...so disappointing!
  5. Jan 18, 2012
    1
    This movie is just the type of crap the Academy loves to award itself for , beyond awful. i have a bag of lint that is a more convincing actor than Thomas Horn and i assume Tom Hanks jumped to get out of this pretentious piece of garbage
  6. Feb 19, 2012
    4
    Extremely overrated and incredibly disappointing movie... Stephen Daldry's getting worse... This film didn't deserve Best Picture Nomination...
    Instead, great movies like 'Drive' or 'The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo' or 'We Need to Talk about Kevin' deserved its position...
  7. AJE
    Dec 30, 2011
    1
    Embarrassingly forced, and extremely slow moving. Random lines like "I wish it was you..(that the mom died instead of the dad)", that don't flow with the hack job story line make sensitive watchers cry. Other than those few forced tears, there is no way any decent critic would give this movie a nod. Thomas Horn's reviews all talk about his stint on Jeopardy. Stick with games shows, my friend. It's a real shame since a gripping 9/11 movie would be appreciated. No doubt one of the worst movies I have seen in the last 10 years. Expand
  8. Jan 6, 2012
    1
    The movie should be renamed "Extremely Melodramatic and Incredibly Boring". If you want to watch a movie about 9/11, go watch 911: The Road to Tyranny.
  9. Jan 27, 2012
    4
    After his father (Tom Hanks) perishes in the World Trade Center, an obsessive boy searches for the lock that fits a key from his father. This journey takes him throughout New York's boroughs and helps him grow in the process (no surprise there). The story has a few good surprises, but the unhurried pacing and the boy's neurotic behavior make the experience wearisome and frustrating.
  10. Jun 9, 2012
    1
    What rubbish! Possibly one of the most irritating protagonists I have ever come across. He needs a whole lot of 'harden up'. The attempts at emotional manipulation is far too obvious and make this even more unbearable. Really bad.
  11. Feb 18, 2012
    1
    The kid is annoying. The voice over will drive you nuts. Its a fairy tale movie where there is no real tale to speak of. Tom Hanks will give some wind to its sails but its destiny is the bargain bin.
  12. Dec 4, 2012
    3
    I can really easily blame the Academy of Motion Picture of Arts and Sciences for picking Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close an Oscar nomination for Best Picture. It was a mistake, a ruse, a scam, and a shocking blow to critics who I think they were right on the bad reception of the movie. Ya know, this is not what it seems, but I don't think this is Sandra Bullock's kind of a drama movie. The film wasn't as near as her phenomenal role in 2009's The Blind Slide which she deserved that Oscar no matter what choices the Oscar committee has something to prove. But when I heard about the new ruling for the Best Picture race, I thought they were supposed to pick 5 instead of the 10 films (the same 5's they always put in every year during the nominations announced). I wasn't really sure if they're doing the right thing, but It feels unsatisfied and distasteful if you want to know who the winner is during award season. So, shame on you, Oscars. I thought The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo should've replaced Incredibly Close to get a Best Picture nod. That film is so entertaining, I should start reading the book again. But for those of people who wants to see more Sandra Bullock, try rebooting the original Speed instead. Expand
  13. Dec 26, 2011
    4
    Far from the worst movie of the year, but not very good. Cheesy and exploitive of 9/11. Some great New York shots and scenes and great acting all around, but a disappointingly dry drama.
  14. Jan 23, 2012
    4
    Hard to recommend but still possible, it's just kinda one of those movies that you see on TV and your like wow this should be interesting and entertaining aswell as delivering a positive message. But than you watch the movie and findout it's really annoying and hard to watch without wanting to punch the movie and break it's nose and realize that this movie isn't as good as it looked an you found out it actually sucks. Expand
  15. Jun 1, 2012
    4
    This is not a bad movie. It's just not a good one. There are parts of the film that are touching, but then there are parts that are so sappy it gives you chills, and not the good kind. The cast is decent, though I found Thomas Horn's performance as Oscar Schell much more annoying than endearing. Tom Hanks didn't really act in this one, he just played his normal, lovable self. Overall, the movie tries to take us on an "emotional journey" but we don't really end up getting anywhere. Expand
  16. Jun 2, 2012
    1
    Disappointing and overrated don't begin to say it. Contrived sentimentality, what Michael Phillips aptly calls "a fundamentally dishonest weepie" - I tried but I couldn't even endure this movie to the end. Little more than a setup for the Academy, yeesh.
  17. Jan 25, 2012
    4
    This film has a lot of great performances through out. That, however, is the only good thing I can say about it. The story is very odd and rather extreme. The only parts that really moved me were the ones dealing with 9/11. This was not because of good writing, but rather the use of a traumatic and sensitive event as a plot point. The character of Oskar was also an issue because they never establish any medical issue with him which makes his character crude and make little sense. I really see no reason why this film got a nomination for Best Picture. Expand
  18. Mar 17, 2012
    0
    This may be one of the worst movies I have seen in my life, and I am very disappointed that it was recognized by the Academy. The protagonist got on my nerves within the first 10 minutes, and I soon found myself hoping for scenes that did not contain the obnoxiously unrealistic character. Not even Sandra Bullock and Tom Hanks are able to save the horrible writing and directing that plague the film. Expand
  19. Apr 1, 2012
    0
    Extremely annoying and God awful is what you get when you sit through this horrible movie. I usually give movies the 20 minute rule, which is after 20 minutes if I do not like it then I shut it. However, the problem was that I watched this pile of crap with another person that wanted to see what happened next. I would have shut the movie off within 10 minutes. Save yourself the money, time and the wasted 2 hours of your life that you will NEVER get back and do not try and watch this movie. I wanted to bash the kids brains in as soon as he spoke!! I wish I was taking the same drugs that other reviewers are obviously taking to give this movie more than 0. Absolute dog sh*t! Expand
  20. Apr 8, 2013
    4
    Extremely long and incredibly crap. The only purpose this movie had was be sentimental and receive a nomination for Best Picture (which it was). The kid is extremely annoying and just irritates me throughout the movie. If you wish to see a Best Picture nominee watch something else (even The Reader, also directed by Stephen Daldry, which is better than this to some extent).
  21. Sep 2, 2013
    0
    Me preguntaba por que me llamo la atención esta película, y caí en cuenta de que solo era por la aparición de Tom Hanks en esta película y su nominacion a los premios de la Academia, me di cuenta que es una de las peores película jamas creadas y que el uso de 9/11 era una especie de burla, es una película muy aburrida y me parece que si la ven perderán su tiempo.
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 41
  2. Negative: 9 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    Feb 13, 2012
    40
    It's just too tempting to dismiss it as extremely long and incredibly disappointing. It's challenging, divisive and has moments of beauty but leaves you cold.
  2. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Jan 21, 2012
    50
    This precious story line, adapted from a novel by Jonathan Safran Foer, keeps shriveling up against the backdrop of a traumatized city; only gaunt Max von Sydow, as a mute old man who accompanies the young hero on his rounds, supplies the grave authority the premise demands.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jan 20, 2012
    50
    Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close is supposed to promote healing, but as they say in New York: close, but no cigar.