Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Factory Girl imaginatively unfolds the comet-like rise and fall of 60s "it girl" Edie Sedgwick (Miller), the blazing superstar who came to define both the glamour and the tragedy of our celebrity-obsessed culture. (The Weinstein Company)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 27
  2. Negative: 6 out of 27
  1. 75
    Miller is wincingly good at playing up the innocence.
  2. 70
    If the filmmaking is in some ways awkward and elementary, Hickenlooper's attitude toward his subject is more complex, and more admirable.
  3. For Hickenlooper and Mauzner, Sedgwick is more interesting for whom she slept with than who she was. Their movie may indict Warhol for exploiting Sedgwick, but they're just as guilty.
  4. 50
    It's a peculiar movie, frantic and useless, with a hyperactive camera that gives us no more than fleeting impressions of Edie ecstatic at parties, Edie strung out on drugs, Edie lying mostly naked on a bed, with her skin splotchy from injections.
  5. 50
    The movie ends up feeling superficial and mechanical. Warhol is a cut-and-dried villain rather than a complex individual.
  6. It was probably hopeless from the start: The Warhol cosmos is too weird and complicated to lend itself to a conventional Hollywood biopic, and this one is conventional down to Warhol's first glimpse of his future "superstar" bouncing up and down vivaciously in tacky slow motion.
  7. 25
    The film strays so far from verisimilitude that it feels more like a big celebrity dress-up party than history brought to life. The profoundly silly Internet favorite series "Yacht Rock" offered a more convincing take on pop-culture history and that was at least going for laughs.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. [Anonymous]
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    I loved this movie - Sienna Miller and Guy Pearce did fantastic jobs of portraying Edie and Andy - it might not be perfect, but so what??? Perhaps it doesn't portray Andy or Edie completely realistic, so go read some books and see some movies. This is just a glimpse into that world and the actors did fantastically well on their characters at least. Collapse
  2. OmarCamacho
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    I love this movie.
  3. ScottA.
    Mar 12, 2007
    9
    I saw this movie a month ago and loved it. Im surprised to see all of the negative reviews. If you liked The Doors and Wonderland than will like this movie. Maybe I'm just a sucker for movies that involve drugs, sex, greed, vanity, fame, power, envy and jealousy. Expand
  4. Mar 16, 2014
    7
    I never believed that Sienna Miller was a “real” actress but she actually managed quite well in Factory Girl. I am not sure if it is because she can act or just because – having been an IT girl herself - she identified with Edie Sedgwick, the IT girl of the 60s. Whichever way, it worked out.

    Based on the real story of Sedgwick, we follow her from her art studies to the world of the Factory, where an exploitative Warhol is ready to take advantage of her beauty and connections to get a hold to the upper class of New York. It is not clear what Edie’s talent was, as she was a mediocre actress and modeled very little, but talent was not a requirement for Warhol’s superstars.

    Warhol was a complex figure, perhaps a great artist or just an able manipulator, but his unpleasant nature is no secret. He had an adoring gang of “superstars” and would be artists, working for him in the Factory (probably the most pretentious art lab of the time). In the movie we see how he liked to pick the next “superstar”, to replace the previous one he grew bored with. The script suggests Sedgwick was replaced by Nico (who undoubtedly was a more complex and interesting woman).

    More controversy is added by the mystery love story with Dylan (which might or not have happened, but is denied by Dylan). According to the script, Edie interest (even love?) for Dylan was another reason why the jealous Warhol dropped her. Not being able to have her undivided attention, not her money – since her father cut her of her inheritance – Edie was dropped by Warhol to deal alone with her addictions.

    Luckily the script does not even try to make the audience feel sorry for poor little rich girl Edie. Coming for old money, she had a difficult relationship with her father and tragedy struck early in her life with the suicide of her brother. However, her problems were compounded by her self-destructive nature and her Factory experience contributed only to send her down faster, where she probably would have ended anyway.
    Expand
  5. MattK.
    Feb 4, 2007
    6
    I think it is pretty powerfull. I know many a current "factory girl" and I wish they'd see this movie and wake up.
  6. MikeO.
    Jan 1, 2007
    5
    The acting is decent, the story is kind of a mess. In the end, it doesn't really add up to much. Catch it on DVD.
  7. CalK.
    Jan 30, 2007
    0
    Sienna acts her butt off but cannot save this film. It is pitifully written and the editing is even worse. At least Miller comes out unscathed. Rent it, if you are brave enough to sit through it! Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers