Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 493 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Michael Moore's searing examination of the Bush administration's actions in the wake of the tragic events of 9/11.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. This movie, the subject of controversy, is a defiantly personal statement on what the war really is--laced with that now-familiar "Roger and Me" mix of homespun wit, pop culture playfulness, populist heart twisting and "gotcha" guerilla film-making tactics.
  2. 88
    A compelling, persuasive film, at odds with the White House effort to present Bush as a strong leader.
  3. This would be 10 times the movie if it featured an actual debate between Moore and Bush. Nonetheless, the man makes a remarkably strong case, tastefully inserting himself into the Bush-baiting only when necessary--one such stroke of brilliance involves personally urging congressmen to send their own kids to Iraq.
  4. 70
    Fahrenheit 9/11 offers the thrill of a coherent explanation for everything, but parts of the movie are no better than a wild, lunging grab at a supposed master plan. [28 June 2004, p. 108]
  5. 70
    If Moore is formidable, it's not because he is a great filmmaker (far from it), but because he infuses his sense of ridicule with the fury of moral indignation. Fahrenheit 9/11 is strongest when that wrath is vented on Bush and his cohorts.
  6. Aesthetically, this isn't a great documentary, although, during the first half, there are great moments in it. But the latter part is scattered and frenzied, rather like an excited dog tearing off after too many rabbits at once -- a thematic hunt that's all chase and scant context.
  7. 30
    Moore's supporters are quick to impugn the liberal credentials of anyone who criticizes his presentation of the information he digs up (or, in some cases, makes up). For them, Michael Moore is the issues he talks about, so his detractors must be enemies of democratic principles. It's an old trick, akin to the way Pauline Kael was accused of being insensitive about the Holocaust when she didn't like "Shoah."

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. StacieL.
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    I don't care if people think that Michael Moore has twisted facts and edited the footage to make George Bush look bad. Personally I I don't care if people think that Michael Moore has twisted facts and edited the footage to make George Bush look bad. Personally I think George did this himself. All that Michael did was give us facts, have his say on it and let us decide whether or not Bush was right about his actions. This film has made me open my eyes to the cruelness and the lies that's in the world. Expand
  2. NickA.
    Oct 10, 2006
    9
    Never could one film have so polarized opinions on both sides of the political spectrum within the USA as this. Although some of Mr. Moore
  3. JonathanS.
    Jun 26, 2007
    8
    I really liked this movie, and when I came out of the cinema I had a great feeling. Maybe this would open the eyes about the war in Iraq, I really liked this movie, and when I came out of the cinema I had a great feeling. Maybe this would open the eyes about the war in Iraq, even if you ask people on the street they usually say that the war was wrong. It really surprised me that he won the next election, at maybe he shouldn't have, and he actually cheated like the movie says he does. A lot of these clips that Michael shows in his movie, had been shown in the news and I recognized some of them, and you have to admit that Bushes behavior has been very weird. Even though some people say that this is propaganda, all lies and is stupid just doesn't want to see the facts. A lot of these things are true, and can anyone actually stand up and tell me why a war where hundreds of thousand people have died? Was it to force democracy down on a middle eastern country, how many Iraqis do you think are happy about this war? The only ones that are happy is Bush and those blinded greedy people that follow him. I cant give you a certain number of how many people have died in Iraq since bush are hiding the numbers (i wonder why), but its quite high and at least above 100.000 people. I cannot rate this a shining 10 because Moore got a little carried away and actually told some lies. I thought this movie was really good and i liked it a lot, i loved his humor and there is no extreme editing in this movie to make bush look bad, there of course a little but who can blame him? A lot of these are live interviews with people and aren't in any way edited so that they somehow say something else that what they mean. This movie is great, not just does more give the audience what they want he also opens eyes. The leader is always a reflection of the people he leads, remember that America. Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2010
    6
    A good documentary but your enjoyment of it will depend too much on how you feel about sensitive political issues. I believe that most of whatA good documentary but your enjoyment of it will depend too much on how you feel about sensitive political issues. I believe that most of what is portrayed here is relevant and true and wish more people would at least have an open mind about this. Expand
  5. Feb 24, 2013
    6
    It's clear that Michael Moore often has his own agenda, but I'm sure if he could prove any of the things he says in this film, a lot of peopleIt's clear that Michael Moore often has his own agenda, but I'm sure if he could prove any of the things he says in this film, a lot of people would be in prison. Some things are VERY interesting and really makes you think, while other stuff is complete bull meant to serve his personal agenda, never the less, it was entertaining and it does gives you something to think about. Expand
  6. JoeS.
    Sep 24, 2007
    5
    Anyone who voted this movie a "0" is completely wrong. I'm not saying that I believe everything this movie tells me, but I'm not Anyone who voted this movie a "0" is completely wrong. I'm not saying that I believe everything this movie tells me, but I'm not saying I don't believe it either. The point is not to take sides my fellow Americans. To completely put all your trust and faith into Bush or Moore is wrong. It is not un-American at all to distrust and disagree with our president. Again, I don't necessarily believe or take to heart what Moore has presented, but I respect the fact that he's going out on a limb to question someone of high authority. Moore isn't an "America hater", if anything he is more American by questioning and thinking freely. So don't take sides, because you don't have to. Think for yourself, and remember that questioning your government will never be a bad thing. Collapse
  7. MarshallM.
    Nov 2, 2005
    0
    Yeah! go Aaron j. ! he's right, he just twists facts with ficiton, with some good editing, he can make anyone look like a criminal. i Yeah! go Aaron j. ! he's right, he just twists facts with ficiton, with some good editing, he can make anyone look like a criminal. i wish he'd just go away and live in england or something, since he thinks america is so bad. or at least, he think s our leaders are. either way, he's an un-patriotic idiot. Expand

See all 323 User Reviews

Trailers