User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 299 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 299

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    A bombastic, unbarred children's tale whose only considerable flaw is that it is too much fun. Both Wes Andersen and George Clooney are at their peak.
  2. Sep 25, 2011
    8
    Interestingly its choice of presenting the visuals using clay is definitely one of what makes "Fantastic Mr. Fox" a good movie. But its the childish, simple script you'll love.
  3. Sep 6, 2010
    7
    This is definitely a good film. Visually it is rather interesting and quite engaging in a way, which is rather refreshing for animated features. The musical score was definitely the high point of the film! Simply brilliant. However, never having read the book, the film itself does not seem to have a point to it. If one watches it and disregards that it's a children's book originally, one would ask themselves "what the heck is the point of this thing???" despite it being rather entertaining. Also, the actors did an excellent job with the voice-over, especially George Clooney, and it was lovely to hear Meryl Streep's voice!

    Overall, it is definitely a good film, but keep in mind that it does not necessarily have a point to it. It's a children's story turned into a film. Fun, but not very deep/challenging.
    Expand
  4. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Wes Anderson instantly became one of my favorite directors after seeing this great animated film. His quirky style was perfect for this story, and voice-overs were outstanding. Clooney in particular was brilliant. I am a huge fan of animation and I usually don't like it when I recognize an actor's voice because I only think of the actor while watching the film, but in this case the famous actors (George Clooney, Meryl Streep, Bill Murray) became the characters they voiced and were perfect. The music was also brilliant throughout. I hope Wes Anderson makes more animated films in the future. BRILLIANT! Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2010
    7
    Fox retires from stealing chickens, becomes a journalist, wants to steal from three big farms, doesn't tell wife, farmers want him dead.
    Brilliantly animated adaptation of Roald Dahl's book which is helped by solid voice work from George Clooney, Bill Murray & co.
    The Stop-Motion reminded me of 1970's Eastern European fairytales which I'd seen when I was younger & really does add to the
    whole feel & setting of the film.
    Some nice music used throughout as well.
    Expand
  6. Lyn
    Jan 8, 2011
    8
    A fun story that balanced the expected cartoon-style character development with adventures and bright, madcap action. My only complaint is the fact that professional voice actors seem to be nearing extinction as money-grubbing movemakers hire the big names, even though the stars go unseen. George Clooney's voice is so recognizable -- and his persona is so un-fox-like--that it was impossible not to feel throughout that his voice was kind of miscast. Expand
  7. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    One of the most entertaining, funny, clever and wonderfully voiced animated film I've ever seen. Wes Anderson's screen adaptation is brilliantly cast, uniquely animated as clever as the cast who voice the main characters.
  8. Jan 2, 2012
    9
    Fantastic Mr. Fox surprisingly has a lot of heart, actually more than most movies. And the movie has support of its star studded voice cast who give funny performances. Altogether the movie is funny, clever and heartfelt with fitting stop motion animation. I give this movie 91%.
  9. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    Fantastic Mr. Fox is the best animated film of the year! It was based on the book by Roald Dahl,who created Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. It's a great stop-motion animated film since The Nightmare Before Christmas and Wallace & Gromit. The setting was beautiful. The story is very funny and very dark edge at the top. The characters are way awesome. George Clooney plays the best voice of Mr. Fox,he does react like Danny Ocean from The Ocean's Trilogy. So does Meryl Streep who voices Mrs. Fox,she's more foxxy like the other films that she done. Bill Murray was better playing as the owner of the tree,well done dude! So I enjoy this movie! It's was done by Wes Anderson who created slow and seriously films like The Royal Tenebaums and The Life Aquatic of Steve Zissou,but that his first independent animated film and it's sure it's great! Expand
  10. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    Best animated movie I've seen in a long time!! If you are tired of the typical, soulless animated crap that's out there these days, give this movie a try. Subtle humor, wonderful animation. Great movie. Not perfect, but very enjoyable.
  11. Mar 6, 2011
    7
    Title: fantastic mr. fox
    Punchline: wild animals
    Type: animation

    Script: an average script. Mr. fox steals the chickens , refrigerated ones and alcohol from some peasants. They hatch a plan to kill fox. Fox obliges his mistake to his wife. He says that he is responsible for this and he will do anything to continue this. But mistake goes the other way. His son ash and cousin christopherson
    plan a secret route to bring back the stolen tail. This brings trouble and christopherson is been kidnapped by the peasants. Now fox and rest need to do save christopherson. What they do? And how they do ? is the rest of the movie

    Execution: the two questions in the script are perfectly executed. Editing is quick and movie does not lose the tempo. Perfect execution. Nice ending scene. Direction and screenplay: direction is good and narrated perfectly. Screenplay is gripping giving nice mood to the average script.

    Casting: all the voices for the foxes and expressions by the animals like beavers rats and mice, rabbits are good. Their animation is perfect. Dialogs and action are perfectly synchronized.

    Music and background score: the music is good. Background score is good during the tractor scene. Gun shots and explosions are reverberating and perfectly engineered.
    Cinematography: this is the main life to the movie. Nice scenaries , nice cities , nice shops and good camera work. All the scenes are perfectly captured.

    Editing: very quick and movie has a short running time. Good editing and really works well with the narrative speed.

    Cgi/ production values: the visual effects ( animation ) are good. Production values are worthy. Entertainment value: a colorful rich treat for young children. With parents spending 90 minutes with them , this movie is a rejoice to watch during weekends. Final analysis: the movie begins with fast paced narration and the first half ends well. The second half has a serious tone to the script and execution is perfect. The climax is good and will cause goose bumps for more to come. Overall the movie is a treat to watch

    Rating: 3.75/5
    Expand
  12. Apr 10, 2011
    8
    http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/04/fantastic-mr-fox.html

    If you know me, which to be honest, not many of you do aside from what I post here you should know that Wes Anderson is my all time favorite director. His other works include The Life Aquatic, Rushmore, etc. So when I heard he was doing an actual animated (or claymation I guess) I was at first skeptical but then excited to
    see if he could do it.

    I am happy to report that this movie is great. Now I'm not one for much animation, sure I watch all of Pixar's movies but aside from that I don't venture out into the world of animation too often, but I'm glad I did for this one. Fantastic Mr. Fox's style is unprecedented, it is a fast paced, hilarious, and surprisingly mature rendition. If you don't know already the story line is essentially about a father fox who used to be a big time chicken stealer, well he gets back into the game trying to steal from the three biggest farms. Hilarity ensues of course.

    But laughter at the plight of father fox and co. isn't the only thing this movie has to offer. There are also very good morals in place (surprising for a movie about robbery) but it tells the tale of a forgotten son, jealously, and pressure. Sounds kind of cheap when you type it out but it really isn't. So definitely go see this movie if you haven't already, you won't be sad.
    Expand
  13. Nov 2, 2010
    5
    This movie bored me to the point I almost fell asleep many times during it. The beautiful animation and style can only keep you entertained for so long. The story is just a poor excuse. I am sorry but this movie with the cast and director it had should have been much much better.
  14. Jun 6, 2012
    9
    Fantastic Mr. Fox is unmistakably a Wes Anderson movie. It may be stop motion animated and based on a classic children's book, but it's as slavish to Anderson's style as Rushmoore or The Life Aquatic. Prime amongst it's qualities is the familiar off kilter humor and gentle catharsis that made his previous works such essential viewing. Fantastic Mr. Fox is overflowing with charm, impressive animation and belly-rumbling laughs. An excellent film for children and adults alike. Expand
  15. Mar 12, 2011
    9
    Fantastic Mr. Fox was actually even better than I imagined it to be. I thought it would lean a lot on the lead voices (George Clooney and Meryl Streep) I think the movie would have done fine with out them (not to say they weren't a great finishing touch). With a quirky storyline and witty dialogue, this movie will leave you entertained and satisfied.
  16. Feb 5, 2011
    1
    For anyone who enjoyed Roald Dahl as a child, be aware: this movie is one of the greatest disappointments I've ever seen. Shoddy writing, inexplicably stupid characters, and a generally foolish plot hit me where it hurts. George Clooney, who I usually enjoy immensely, actually managed to make me want to punch him in the mouth; none of the other actors managed even that large of a rise from me, instead filling me with resigned disgust. By the end, I was cheering for Boggis, Bunce, and Bean. Expand
  17. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    We all must admit, we don't usually like stop motion that much, unless it's something Tim Burton. But in this case, it's different. Fantastic Mr. Fox got everything right... the soundtrack, the visuals, the voice cast... it all made this stop-motion movie something that flew into Pixar territory, and in a huge way.
  18. Oct 27, 2011
    9
    A excellent animated movie that I bet pretty much all adults will chuckle or evan laugh out load at. Goerge Clooney and Meryl Streep were really good at voicing mr and mrs fox and definitely the right choice of all the actors and actresses in the world to portray them. Bill Murray was also great at voicing the badger. I have watched the film quite a few times and I enjoyed every single one.
  19. Aug 27, 2011
    8
    Wes Anderson is a filmmaker who can run along a bizarre path, stop, look over at some odd detour, contemplate about it, and then keep on running. Fantastic Mr. Fox is Anderson in his purest form, and arguably his most entertaining.
  20. Aug 27, 2011
    2
    From the point of view of someone who hasn't been brought up in the US and wasn't familiar with the novel or the character of Mr. Fox, this movie presents quite an issue. It's not particularly funny, there's a certain creepiness about it, and I'm not convinced about Clooney dubbing the main character. Overall, it left me with a very upsetting feeling of being tricked into watching something that turned out to be something completely different. Expand
  21. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    t was definetly a breath of fresh air in originality and it had fantastic visuals. Stop motion has always been one of my favorite art styles and the thing I don't like about it nowadays is that people prefer all slam bam in your face cg effects, and nothing organic, and it is getting very old, but when you see something like this it is just fantastic. And this is a dying art to filmmaking, think about it it has been 3 years since another Wallace and Gromit film, and 2 years since a Stop Motion film has had a theatrical release, and thats why I think this is a dying art. I love all the details that are put into the characters, like how the fur on the puppets constantly moves throughout the scenes, plus the voice acting is really, really funny and entertaining. I didn't know who George Clooney was until this movie and im happy it introduced me to him, plus this movie i think has the biggest all star cast ever for a stop motion film, Bill Murray, Adrian Brody, George Clooney, Owen Wilson, even the small part characters have big actors. Expand
  22. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    Funny, this movie is just........different, Fantastic Mr Fox is a good example of how we can find stories in every single element of the nature, but this movies is not another stupid talking animal movie
  23. Dec 1, 2011
    2
    Fantastic Mr. Fox is a stop motion animated film about woodland creatures doing things. I donâ
  24. Apr 19, 2012
    8
    Stop motion is a curious art. It never looks as real as CGI, and it's not as fluid as CGI. Also, it's extremely difficult to master. In fact, one would wonder why anyone would bother making a stop motion movie, as opposed to a CGI movie. The reason, is that stop motion has an odd, old fashioned, hand made feel to it. And somehow, that feel has been captured and placed into this movie, and it's not just evident in the animation. Fantastic Mr. Fox is inspired from Roald Dahl's picture book by the same name. The film follows the story of Mr. Fox, who starts stealing farmer's merchandise again, without telling his wife. Mr. Fox has been planning some "great heist," despite his promises to his wife, claiming he would quit. Soon, the three meanest farmers of them all (Farmers Boggis, Bunce, and Bean), decide to end Mr. Fox's reign once and for all. The film's dry humor is both witty and hilarious. No movie in the world can stand up to the unique humor that Fantastic Mr. Fox displays. I give points to the outstanding voice talents (namely for George Clooney and Meryl Streep), and the comedic score by Alexandre Desplat. The animation is spectacular. By far the best I've seen in a stop motion film. It's truly fantastic. Even for stop motion, it looks incredibly good fashioned, and that is a very good thing. Unlike the book, however, this is not a piece of entertainment I can recommend for younger children. It's too dark, and they probably won't get many of the jokes (they may get a kick out of all the fuzzy animals, however). This is more of an older kids and parents flick. Fantastic Mr. Fox is fun, entertaining, unique, and visually wonderful. It is not hard to understand why they call it "Fantastic" Mr. Fox. Expand
  25. Feb 16, 2014
    9
    It's so much fun and visually interesting it won't matter if you catch all the meaningful dialogue and the fast paced plot. I absolutely adored the movie, a man in his mid-twenties completely joyous to get to experience such a sweet animation film.
  26. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    Fantastic Mr. Fox: An absolute masterpiece in children's cinema. Unlike typical kid films, not dumbed down or shallow. Fun, clever, and meticulously well shot.
  27. Jan 19, 2012
    9
    This movie is charming, funny, sweet, pretty, and has an awesome soundtrack to boot. The voice acting is fresh and classic, though sometimes very to the point in a funny Wes Anderson way. You say, "Well I don't like Wes Anderson, he's weird." Well I can respect that, but I'd like to ask you to give this movie a shot all the same. The thing that separates it from the rest of his work is how sweet it is. If the rest of his films were Grey Poupon... this film is like warm apple cider. Expand
  28. Jun 16, 2012
    4
    idk, i didn't see any comedy, any action, any anything in this movie, the only thing i found about it was it was boring. i mean, it seems to be aimed at children, but most of it is pointed at adults. so in all, it just wasn't my thing
  29. HMW
    Mar 7, 2012
    0
    I was so looking forward to this movie, everyone said it was so great but when I saw it, it was the worst movie I ever saw. The storyline made no since, the characters had no personality. Overall, do not see this movie, it is a waste of time.
  30. Oct 3, 2012
    9
    To all the people here saying how terrible this movie is, i can only say, give it a few tries. There is such a wealth of humour in here, so many great lines, silly repeating jokes and a great love of language. Its main failing seem to be that it isn't really a kids film, and isn't really much to do with the original books, more just a hanger to place a Wes Anderson movie on. And seriously, anyone who rates Pixar animation over this really needs to get a grip (and this is coming from someone who really loves Pixar movies) Expand
  31. May 16, 2012
    4
    Fantastic Mr. Fox was not terrible, but there was a lot happening that just didn't work for me. I was unpleased with the choices of voices they had for the characters (with a mighty exception of Willem Dafoe's Voice as 'The Rat'). The animations were good and eye-catching, but I honestly think the fox characters would be a little bit scary for younger children.
  32. Jun 6, 2012
    9
    Absolutly great movie. Very fun with alot of comedy as well. It has its own style. Extremly creative, qnd has great voice actors. George clooney, owen wilson, and bill muray. Also other great under rated actors. This movie is animated, but some of the best ive seen. Its a must see
  33. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    Relentless in it's intricately amusing ways, Fantastic Mr Fox is animated perfectly and written with an abundance of intelligence and wit.
  34. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    Though I hear it isn't much like the book at all, when looking at it for the film itself it's nothing short of great. The characters are much deeper than that of a typical animated film. The has that typical Wes Anderson tone to it but in a claymation film. Nonetheless an overall great film with a lot of character.
  35. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    This movie remains as a personal favorite. Not only does it have great plot with a great acting and comedy, it also is made from stopmotion, which is my personal favorite. I would try not to be bias however.
  36. Nov 16, 2013
    8
    Fantastic Mr. Fox is fantastic.
    The screenplay is a great adaption from the book with good comical twists. The dialogue is witty, funny, and clever. Its very rare to experience a PG with such incredible writing and execution. Fantastic Mr. Fox is an instant classic that walks among that of Toy Story.
  37. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    Though a few morbid scenes might make this a little much for really young children, this animated masterpiece from Wes Anderson is the funnest movie I have seen in years. Honestly, I couldn't believe this adaption of the Roald Dahl classic could be this good but the voice-acting is among the best I have ever seen, so the characters, who are just as important as the plot in this film, come to life in a way that is simply amazing. This movie must be seen to be believed. Expand
  38. Apr 3, 2014
    7
    like most of Wes Anderdson's films they end up terrible like Moonrise Kingdom . But he step up his game for once and a film that is thrilling , violent and fun . Grade A
  39. Apr 3, 2014
    9
    On the same level as coraline in the world of stop motion. An incredible story from roald dahl that translates perfectly into this movie and the style fits it very well. From the voices to the details everything comes together perfectly to create this heartwarming story with a message! A real must watch for every age.

    Just my opinion
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Feb 18, 2014
    90
    Fantastic Mr. Fox may be his most purely pleasurable film to date, evoking the Dahl books and Rankin-Bass productions that so transported him as a kid.
  2. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    80
    Genuinely original: a silly, hilarious and oddly profound adaptation for adult-sized children.
  3. Anderson has created a world as stylized and inventive as anything he's done... "Fox" is a visual delight.