User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 452 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 452

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 1, 2011
    9
    Totally rocked (literally, The Rock). Summer action has officially begun. If you even slightly enjoyed the previous movies, this one proves the series is still going strong. Vin is slightly chunkier and beefier but the rest of the cast looks just like they always did. Tyrese along with Luda pumps up the hilarity and Dwayne is no bit player. The Rock puts in a performance that isTotally rocked (literally, The Rock). Summer action has officially begun. If you even slightly enjoyed the previous movies, this one proves the series is still going strong. Vin is slightly chunkier and beefier but the rest of the cast looks just like they always did. Tyrese along with Luda pumps up the hilarity and Dwayne is no bit player. The Rock puts in a performance that is arguably one of his best in an action film. The racing is slightly de-emphasized in favor of stunt driving, but it's all here: cars, babes, tunes. More guns and hand-to-hand combat than ever before to top it all off. You don't necessarily need to know the history of the characters, but this movie keeps extending what fans are familiar with. Add the "heist" twist and you've got yourself a winner. Watch for the surprise ending! My only question after all is said and done is: how did the producers get permission to destroy Rio De Janeiro as much as they did? Crazy destruction!!! "Fast" is fun!!! Expand
  2. May 3, 2011
    10
    I don't think anyone expected the fifth film of the series to be the best. Up to this point the only one I liked was the first one, but after seeing this one possibly the greatest car themed film ever. it's full of action, comedy, drama, babes, and way more. True it didn't have too much racing in it for a street racing film , but the use of street racing was one of the main reasons none ofI don't think anyone expected the fifth film of the series to be the best. Up to this point the only one I liked was the first one, but after seeing this one possibly the greatest car themed film ever. it's full of action, comedy, drama, babes, and way more. True it didn't have too much racing in it for a street racing film , but the use of street racing was one of the main reasons none of the films got good reviews, and because of the fact that the last chase scene is one that you'll never forget. I definetly recommend this film to all, whether your a fan of racing or not. Expand
  3. May 2, 2011
    9
    You need to let yourself go before you walk into this fun, action-packed film. It's filled with the usual - babes, fast cars, ridiculous stunts, and a list of story Clichés. Just don't expect a realistic film, because the director doesn't want you to. They don't take themselves seriously and that means this makes for one of the most fun experiences in a theater in recentYou need to let yourself go before you walk into this fun, action-packed film. It's filled with the usual - babes, fast cars, ridiculous stunts, and a list of story Clichés. Just don't expect a realistic film, because the director doesn't want you to. They don't take themselves seriously and that means this makes for one of the most fun experiences in a theater in recent memory. Go with a big, lively audience and a fun group of friends and you will have yourself a damn good time. Expand
  4. Apr 30, 2011
    9
    i am not going to as far as saying this movie deserves a perfect 10 but it gets a good 9 as a fan of the series since the first movie. what i really liked about this movie is the inspiring teamwork shown in Dom's crew they stay by each other no matter what and its them against the world i mean they have got a city full of corrupt working for the most powerful man in Rio and they all havei am not going to as far as saying this movie deserves a perfect 10 but it gets a good 9 as a fan of the series since the first movie. what i really liked about this movie is the inspiring teamwork shown in Dom's crew they stay by each other no matter what and its them against the world i mean they have got a city full of corrupt working for the most powerful man in Rio and they all have an elite federal agent after them this is the kind of thing that builds up big suspense. Expand
  5. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is my favorite Fast & Furious movie. A lot of over the top action, funny lines, and an awesome performance by Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson. The villain in the movie doesn't really make you hate him enough that you want him to die now. But it still satisfies you when he gets shot and dies even though the execution was very quick and is quickly forgotten after he dies. After the heist, you feel the weight when the cast tries to open the vault. When they open the vault, you actually feel happy for them. I did. And I'm glad they showed how the group spent their lives after their the heist. It's a really good movie and really enjoyable. Expand
  6. May 1, 2011
    9
    Great film. pure escapism. Best of the series. never slow. action packed adventure. Great locations and not bad acting for the best part. cant wait for the next one..........
  7. May 18, 2011
    9
    oh come on this movie was great, i took my girlfriend and she loved it, action packed and long becuase there is alot going on in this one, well worth it. let me think what else, oh the two regeton guys made me laugh alot they should do more movies together.
  8. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    You know those lazy action script moments that piss you off so much they pull you out of the movie: guy with gun walks close enough to get it batted away, kingping says "kill them" as he leaves the room-good guys pick lock at last second, late twist negates everything that happened 10 minutes ago, etc etc? Well this movie has all of them and then some. They should make Tokyo Drift 2. AtYou know those lazy action script moments that piss you off so much they pull you out of the movie: guy with gun walks close enough to get it batted away, kingping says "kill them" as he leaves the room-good guys pick lock at last second, late twist negates everything that happened 10 minutes ago, etc etc? Well this movie has all of them and then some. They should make Tokyo Drift 2. At least that one was stupid fun. Expand
  9. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    By far, an improvement to the series with its epic scenes that range from the light heavyweight fight to an unbelievable heist. Fast Five leaves its predecessors in the dust with its new material.
  10. May 3, 2011
    9
    Fast Five is definitely the best of the series and the most worthy to be called a sequel to the original. This movie has it all for the adrenaline junky: Fast cars, hot women, guns, and insane action sequences. If you didn't like this movie then your brain just isn't capable of suspending disbelief, go watch a documentary instead!
  11. Jun 5, 2011
    9
    Fast Five. Action packed thrill ride gun firing explosion blowing WOW of a film. You would think that after all the other four films that five would be pushing the sequel's too far. now i can see that, However "Fast Five" is by far the best one out of all of them. i guess because they have put much more money into this film, the budget was an estimated $125,000,000, the film was wellFast Five. Action packed thrill ride gun firing explosion blowing WOW of a film. You would think that after all the other four films that five would be pushing the sequel's too far. now i can see that, However "Fast Five" is by far the best one out of all of them. i guess because they have put much more money into this film, the budget was an estimated $125,000,000, the film was well advertised and people were more aware of this film coming to the cinema and there was a big "hype" about it coming out. I think the hype towards this film was the audience responding to all the characters from the previous films are now featured together as one "big family" and working together as a team to do this last job. This films got it all, comedy action thrill suspense, muscle and guns and girls in next to nothing washing beautiful cars, i mean seriously can anything top that? watch and see, yet another must see film and will rock your night at the cinema. Expand
  12. May 31, 2011
    9
    The epic Hollywood action film with a great cast, jaw-dropping stunts, and a streamlined plot that gets to the point quickly and doesn't look back! Easily one of the best, if not THE best, of the entire F&F franchise!
  13. Apr 30, 2011
    9
    I usually don't review movies but I had to for this one because it was so gooooood! There were a couple scenes which were cheese and overacted but the rest of the flick was very fun to watch. I really enjoyed it and felt for the characters. It did a great job of weaving aspects from all 4 Fast movies together. The audience at my theatre actually clapped a couple times - esp. towardsI usually don't review movies but I had to for this one because it was so gooooood! There were a couple scenes which were cheese and overacted but the rest of the flick was very fun to watch. I really enjoyed it and felt for the characters. It did a great job of weaving aspects from all 4 Fast movies together. The audience at my theatre actually clapped a couple times - esp. towards the end. This is an exciting movie.

    The only negatives were the under developed side-story of the Rock and Esla chasing the team and the choice to not show one particular racing scene.

    All in all though, Fast 5 was an excellent movie and great way to spend a Friday night.

    PS: If you watched the last movie, make sure to stay to watch the last scene after the credits.
    Expand
  14. May 7, 2011
    9
    Thoroughly enjoyable! great cast, by far the best in the series. The addition of Dwayne "the rock" Johnson definitely added to the entertainment value. Go watch it now, and don't let your inherited prejudice brought on by the less successful iterations keep you out of the theatres!
  15. May 6, 2011
    9
    Best one yet indeed. The way the scenes fit into the overall story are very well done. There were no boring moments for me - just a nice balance between action and dialogue - for an action movie. The character are also very good and the introduction Dwayne Johnson in the "series" gives it a boost. You should watch it as it is really entertainment. Not some random action movie.
  16. May 7, 2011
    9
    Was exactly what was expected and I didn't mind that. It is ridiculously over the top at this point and features more of a super hero, insane driving sort of plot line. I find at this point the movies aren't as much about the cars and the customization as they are about the explosions, fight scenes and insane amounts of destruction. It also ended up making me laugh at a large amount ofWas exactly what was expected and I didn't mind that. It is ridiculously over the top at this point and features more of a super hero, insane driving sort of plot line. I find at this point the movies aren't as much about the cars and the customization as they are about the explosions, fight scenes and insane amounts of destruction. It also ended up making me laugh at a large amount of spots. Whether this is because the movie itself is so over the top that it is funny or that the movie itself was made to be rather funny, either way it was funny. Overall a good movie, exactly what I expected it to be. Expand
  17. May 8, 2011
    10
    5th time's the charm, it seems! All-star cast...seems like the first four movies were just a bunch of prequels to give backstory (or forestory) on all the characters. They managed to deliver quite a bit of plot at the beginning without putting the viewers to sleep like in the 4th movie. Much less emphasis on the racing culture....felt like a very balanced film as a result. And come5th time's the charm, it seems! All-star cast...seems like the first four movies were just a bunch of prequels to give backstory (or forestory) on all the characters. They managed to deliver quite a bit of plot at the beginning without putting the viewers to sleep like in the 4th movie. Much less emphasis on the racing culture....felt like a very balanced film as a result. And come on...when you put The Rock against Vin Diesel, you're bound to have one of the muscle bulgingest, nostril flaringest action sequences this year! The interactions between all of the characters are superb. This movie did exactly what it was supposed to do and, despite the outlandishness of some of the action sequences, it's really hard to find anything wrong with this movie. Expand
  18. May 14, 2011
    9
    Best film in the series. No question. The first one was always my favorite up until this film. Its a tight fast movie with everything you would expect from a Fast and Furious film. I cant wait until Fast Six
  19. May 22, 2011
    9
    This movie rocked and seeing all of those great characters again was just awesome. I loved this movie alot. It's right up there with the first Fast movie. A very close second!!
  20. Jul 25, 2011
    10
    Fast Five is a brilliant film. It had the best story in the franchise, some of my favourite actors from the last films are in this one and the action & stunts in this film are great. The driving sequence in this film is just fantastic and the actors did probably their best performance ever in this film. I would give this film a full price.
  21. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    Best in the series. Loved hauling the safe part. Was the most action ever. Also like seeing Dom with the FBI agent at end, was hoping for that. Looks like Lettie is still alive or maybe a start for another movie that was shown after end of movie. What do you think??? Dom and Bryan are great together, hope they do another series.
  22. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    i think the film was every good because Fast Five is definitely the best of the series and the most worthy to be called a sequel to the original. Fast cars, guns, and insane action sequences.Best in the series. Loved hauling the safe part. Was the most action ever. Also like seeing Dom with the FBI agent at end, was hoping for that. Looks like Lettie is still alive or maybe a start fori think the film was every good because Fast Five is definitely the best of the series and the most worthy to be called a sequel to the original. Fast cars, guns, and insane action sequences.Best in the series. Loved hauling the safe part. Was the most action ever. Also like seeing Dom with the FBI agent at end, was hoping for that. Looks like Lettie is still alive or maybe a start for another movie that was shown after end of movie.Also fast Five is definitely the best made of the fast films so far and i will be fan of fast five for ever. Expand
  23. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    This was so much fun, I definitely agree to watching it again and again as there's so much action and really entertaining. its taken the best bits of the series and put it into one. sometimes you have to suspend belief in some of the set pieces but you cant help but go along with the ride. this is what summer is all about, pure entertainment, its the nearest thing to the original, IThis was so much fun, I definitely agree to watching it again and again as there's so much action and really entertaining. its taken the best bits of the series and put it into one. sometimes you have to suspend belief in some of the set pieces but you cant help but go along with the ride. this is what summer is all about, pure entertainment, its the nearest thing to the original, I actually felt I was back in the that cinema way back in 2001 seeing it for the first time. Weather you got a train heist, the rock vs diesel punch up, or a downtown carnage finale its just awesome. Expand
  24. Oct 16, 2011
    9
    One world describes this movie: Awesome. I believe it is better than the original Fast and the Furious. The story had a good amount of cause/effect driven action that greatly related to the story. Characters were believeable. I can't wait for the next movie in the chain now...
  25. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This is the best action movie I have seen in the while. There was constant action and I cant wait for the next one to come out. Anybody who like action movie like Transformers should definitely see this.
  26. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    The best from the F&F series yet. All the relevant members from the previous movies are here, and the addition of Dwayne "Rock" Johnson, puts this cast head and shoulders above all the rest. The action in this movie is nonstop, and is a first class adrenaline ride from beginning to end. And the movie doesn't end with the credits, be sure and keep watching for a huge twist in the plotThe best from the F&F series yet. All the relevant members from the previous movies are here, and the addition of Dwayne "Rock" Johnson, puts this cast head and shoulders above all the rest. The action in this movie is nonstop, and is a first class adrenaline ride from beginning to end. And the movie doesn't end with the credits, be sure and keep watching for a huge twist in the plot line to the franchise. Expand
  27. Jun 6, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fast Five was awesome. It was essentially Fast and the Furious meets Oceans 11 except with more badasses. There wasn't as much car action as there was in the past movies (1 and 3 especially) but that really didn't hurt the movie much. Like the prior installment in the FF franchise, this one featured a really good story, impressive action, solid acting, and some unfortunately unrealistic aspects (like determining the identity of someone by using piss poor traffic cameras to read their eyes or face through a mask) that were the only real negatives of the film. Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson was a beast and a great addition to the series and the fight scene between him and Vin Diesel was epic. I wish they would've shown some of the car chases that they left out (Dom and Brian acquiring the Porsche for example) but I suppose they felt the movie was already too long. I also thought the brief cameo in the after-credits scene by two females from movies past was a cool touch but I truly do with they would've ended the story with this film instead of extending out the franchise. Regardless, it was definitely a good movie and most would really enjoy it. Expand
  28. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Muscle men vs Muscle cars on steroids! Diesel and Rock are all you need to make action look Expendable. Rio is a brilliant backdrop to make the film an international success...Forget Brazilian Job 2...Fast 5 stole it.
  29. Apr 16, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Finally! I know that this saga one day can have a good movie, and Fast Five is really amazing, ok, the first movie is better, but after a horrible second part, a good third, and regular fourth, is obviusly that this new film be a disaster, but is sorpresive. The story is good, have great elements. The performances of the cast are really amazing. The only thing that I don't understand is the character of Michelle Rodriguez, she not died in the last movie? Ok, the movie is really amazing. A great sorprise. Expand
  30. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    First off, this is a 9.5 out of 10. Best fast&furious movie yet. Acting is good. Not Oscar winning performances, but everyone delivers. Score is good. Especially the sound of destruction throughout. Story is alot better. It's a lot better then usually. Action sequences are really good. There all so well made and created. Overall, this is a really good movie. If your skeptical thenFirst off, this is a 9.5 out of 10. Best fast&furious movie yet. Acting is good. Not Oscar winning performances, but everyone delivers. Score is good. Especially the sound of destruction throughout. Story is alot better. It's a lot better then usually. Action sequences are really good. There all so well made and created. Overall, this is a really good movie. If your skeptical then don't worry. This is a funny, action joyride for everyone. Expand
  31. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    One of the best movies ever. Period. The best fighting scenes, gun shootouts, action packed scenes, romance and a bit of comedy, with a bunch of A-List actors we know and love. I would say this is one of the best if not the best in the series.
  32. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    AWESOME film! Justin Lin once again brought us a well directed and exciting, race thrilling story plot. One of the best action movies of 2011, wonderful stunts with amazing characters. Showing the best heist with the best characters for it. Knowing anything is possible when determined and a bit crazy enough.
  33. Aug 21, 2014
    9
    "Running ain't freedom. You should know that." - Dom

    Fast Five is a nice movie.Is fun with all cast. Enjoy the movie.

    **************************************
  34. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    Sure the acting was horrible, but who went to see Fast Five for good acting?! F that nonsense. I wanted action and boy did they deliver. Hand down the greatest action film I have seen to date on the big screen. Mind was blown. Gorgeous special effects. I have no idea how they are going to top this, or even come close, but I cannot wait till fast 6!
  35. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    the collective cast of the series gets my attention to the better goods.the action is expensive the intensity is "spice of life". the story is getting me somewhere like remind me of the early titles. i watch this 5 time more than by all the meanings.
  36. Jul 15, 2014
    10
    The Fast and the Furious is a great and effortlessly entertaining movie, i highly recommend it and the cast perform very well, I can't believe how bad the critic reviews are for this movie, because, nice cars, girls, money, street race, actor !
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    May 5, 2011
    40
    Fascinating, no? Of course, that's just one (obvious) reading of Fast Five. You could also say it's a kickass demolition derby – pure dumb summer fun – and often easy on the (hetero) eyes thanks to the inclusion of Brewster and Mendes.
  2. Reviewed by: Sam Adams
    May 3, 2011
    40
    The Fast and the Furious movies haven't exactly gotten better as they've gone along.
  3. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    Apr 29, 2011
    70
    Five's few driving set pieces, all economically cut for spectacle over continuity, are pumped to near-Crank levels of absurdity, with Lin transforming his ragtag bunch of fugitives' superhuman knack for escaping certain death into a running joke.