Universal Pictures | Release Date: April 29, 2011
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 581 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
452
Mixed:
90
Negative:
39
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
MarcDoyleApr 30, 2011
As several others have mentioned, you absolutely have to sit through the credits. Quite a payoff at the end. This movie is the Oceans 11 of the Fast & The Furious franchise, but you have the benefit of knowing the cast of characters from theAs several others have mentioned, you absolutely have to sit through the credits. Quite a payoff at the end. This movie is the Oceans 11 of the Fast & The Furious franchise, but you have the benefit of knowing the cast of characters from the earlier films. It's just a lot of fun. Guns, fistfights, car chases, heists, destruction, bad guys in power, revenge, robin hood - it's all here. And the wry smile from Dom (Vin Diesel) brings it all together. I was a little surprised the critics were on board for this one, but I can see why they liked it for the most part. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
darktylerJul 23, 2011
ave been a fan of this series ever since the first movie came out in 2001. When I heard this movie was going to come out, I was very excited; especially since seeing the fourth so many times. After the movie, I said to my friend, "That wasave been a fan of this series ever since the first movie came out in 2001. When I heard this movie was going to come out, I was very excited; especially since seeing the fourth so many times. After the movie, I said to my friend, "That was one of the best movies I've seen in a while." I was completely serious too. From the giant gun fights and the fight between Vin Diesel and the Rock, â Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mau1133May 18, 2011
oh come on this movie was great, i took my girlfriend and she loved it, action packed and long becuase there is alot going on in this one, well worth it. let me think what else, oh the two regeton guys made me laugh alot they should do moreoh come on this movie was great, i took my girlfriend and she loved it, action packed and long becuase there is alot going on in this one, well worth it. let me think what else, oh the two regeton guys made me laugh alot they should do more movies together. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gamefriekApr 30, 2011
I have been a fan of this series ever since the first movie came out in 2001. When I heard this movie was going to come out, I was very excited; especially since seeing the fourth so many times. After the movie, I said to my friend, "That wasI have been a fan of this series ever since the first movie came out in 2001. When I heard this movie was going to come out, I was very excited; especially since seeing the fourth so many times. After the movie, I said to my friend, "That was one of the best movies I've seen in a while." I was completely serious too. From the giant gun fights and the fight between Vin Diesel and the Rock, to the high octane car chases, this movie has it all. I'm very excited to see the sixth movie that they are working on now. I hope it's as good as this was. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
ShiiraJun 8, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In chronicling the travails of the Brazilian underclass, "Fast Five" is no "Pixote", the Hector Babenco neo-realist classic about lost childhood, but at least it pays lip service to the poor, which is marginally better than an amoral filmmaker such as Michael Bay, whose infamous chase sequence involving Hummers laying waste to a Cuban hillside shantytown in "Bad Boys 2", makes almost no filmic reference to the impoverished people who reside there. The human collateral damage caused by the SUVs goes unacknowledged by both the driver(Will Smith) and the passenger(Martin Lawrence), because a third-world citizen isn't the equivalent of a first-world one. So even though the U.S. feds(led by Dwayne Johnson), in "Fast Five", chase Dominic Toretto and his friends through an honest-to-goodness favela, firing at will without any self-consciousness about nicking an innocent bystander, the exotic on-location set is not utilized merely as background for a standard Hollywood-style shootout. On the lam from the law, Vince, last seen in "The Fast and the Furious", has been hiding out in the Rio slums for the past ten years, and during the interim, he marries a Brazilian local and fathers a child with her. Likewise, since Canada is too easy, Dom, a recently escaped convict, joins his old childhood friend, along with ex-cop Brian O'Conner and Dom's sister Mia, who are also wanted for their part in the bus hijacking that frees the bald linchpin en route to a federal penitentiary. Despite the fact that all the Portuguese-speaking parts are assigned to crooked cops and criminals, the filmmaker does attempt to put a human face on the favela inhabitants. When Rosa allows the fairer Toretto to put little Nico to sleep, both the mother and child are signified as people through Mia's Americanism. By proxy, they're no longer just ordinary Brazilians. And then there's Elena, a neighborhood girl-turned-cop who, initially anyway, is seemingly the only honest law officer in all of Rio de Janerio. More interaction with the visiting fugitives would further distance the Rio locals from the same filmic life of faceless anonymity that confronts other third-world denizens whose respective countries serve as a backdrop for some crisis which often doesn't include them. While "Fast Five" has just enough cultural sensitivity to stave off comparisons with a Michael Bay production, it still, however, bears the unmistakable stench of American imperialism. (For instance, the scene where the ersatz "Ocean's Eleven"-like outfit brazenly race in police cars.) The filmmaker wants the moviegoer to care about Rosa, but not necessarily her countrymen. We never get to meet them. When Mia goes to an open market, her visit is cut short before she gets the chance to talk with a vendor, somebody other than Rosa who'd give the favela populace a collective identity. Thanks to Vince, the ambushing of Mia, orchestrated by Reyes(the unofficial "governor" of Rio), goes awry, so the quota on Brazilian kidnappings, at least one a day according to the Jason Kohn documentary "Manda Bala(Send a Bullet)", gets left to some other Portuguese goon and his henchmen. Contrary to Brazil's reputation as a glamorous tourist destination, the South American country with the seventh highest GDP is plagued by high crime rates, nefarious government officials, and a disproportionate amount of poor people. In "Manda Bala", a frog farmer, who was thought to be involved in a money-laundering scheme with then-Governor Jader Barbalho, tells the camera proudly that he chose the frogs, after his wife issued him an ultimatum which put the small businessman's aquaculture business in opposition with their marriage. The money was just too good. Love, both the brotherly and romantic kind, also takes a backseat in "Fast Five", as well, since Mia is allowed to go out alone, unescorted, without notice. Dominic and Brian are too busy mulling over their potential hundred-million dollar payday. This cast of characters were a whole lot more likable when they were rebels without a cause, mere small-time crooks who'd boost semi trucks at great risk for the incommensurate payoff of DVD players in the Rob Cohen original. By sequestering the thieves from the natives, the ugliness of their greed will go unnoticed by most moviegoers, who are conditioned to root for the good guys, or at the very least, the anti-heroes. Sure, they give Vince's widow a cut of the money, but that's a mere pittance in lieu of the innumerable poverty-stricken Brazilians who wallow in abject destitution. It's one thing to steal from Americans on domestic soil, but it's a whole other thing to steal from the people of a developing country. "Fast Five" is a film of its time. This updating of Steven Soderbergh's "Ocean's Eleven" very much captures the zeitgeist of the post-economic collapse. These criminals don't give a f*ck about who they steal from, as long as they get paid. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
9
Andy92Apr 30, 2011
i am not going to as far as saying this movie deserves a perfect 10 but it gets a good 9 as a fan of the series since the first movie. what i really liked about this movie is the inspiring teamwork shown in Dom's crew they stay by each otheri am not going to as far as saying this movie deserves a perfect 10 but it gets a good 9 as a fan of the series since the first movie. what i really liked about this movie is the inspiring teamwork shown in Dom's crew they stay by each other no matter what and its them against the world i mean they have got a city full of corrupt working for the most powerful man in Rio and they all have an elite federal agent after them this is the kind of thing that builds up big suspense. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ComasiSep 25, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is my favorite Fast & Furious movie. A lot of over the top action, funny lines, and an awesome performance by Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson. The villain in the movie doesn't really make you hate him enough that you want him to die now. But it still satisfies you when he gets shot and dies even though the execution was very quick and is quickly forgotten after he dies. After the heist, you feel the weight when the cast tries to open the vault. When they open the vault, you actually feel happy for them. I did. And I'm glad they showed how the group spent their lives after their the heist. It's a really good movie and really enjoyable. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
BrahmaBullMay 1, 2011
Totally rocked (literally, The Rock). Summer action has officially begun. If you even slightly enjoyed the previous movies, this one proves the series is still going strong. Vin is slightly chunkier and beefier but the rest of the castTotally rocked (literally, The Rock). Summer action has officially begun. If you even slightly enjoyed the previous movies, this one proves the series is still going strong. Vin is slightly chunkier and beefier but the rest of the cast looks just like they always did. Tyrese along with Luda pumps up the hilarity and Dwayne is no bit player. The Rock puts in a performance that is arguably one of his best in an action film. The racing is slightly de-emphasized in favor of stunt driving, but it's all here: cars, babes, tunes. More guns and hand-to-hand combat than ever before to top it all off. You don't necessarily need to know the history of the characters, but this movie keeps extending what fans are familiar with. Add the "heist" twist and you've got yourself a winner. Watch for the surprise ending! My only question after all is said and done is: how did the producers get permission to destroy Rio De Janeiro as much as they did? Crazy destruction!!! "Fast" is fun!!! Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
5
QadoshMay 7, 2011
I liked the first movie in this series, but was not very impressed with this one. Aside from the fact that most of what takes place in this movie is beyond any scope of reality, the acting was poor. On a positive note: the action was almostI liked the first movie in this series, but was not very impressed with this one. Aside from the fact that most of what takes place in this movie is beyond any scope of reality, the acting was poor. On a positive note: the action was almost non-stop, so if that is all you like then you will love this movie. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
donnelbrMay 4, 2011
Tough to say too much about this film. On the positive, the stunts and special effects are top notch. The story, screenplay, and acting are dumb. But what should I expect, right? I just think perhaps this genre of movie isn't for me. ITough to say too much about this film. On the positive, the stunts and special effects are top notch. The story, screenplay, and acting are dumb. But what should I expect, right? I just think perhaps this genre of movie isn't for me. I can't help thinking of Mike Judge's Idiocracy when imagining the people who REALLY enjoy a film like this. ...and man has "The Rock" been juicing! He looks like a character from Gears of War. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
JacobApr 8, 2015
Fast Five is both awesome and stupid at the same time while ripping off The Italian Job to an extent while also being some awesome that I don’t care.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
supersigyOct 24, 2011
You know those lazy action script moments that piss you off so much they pull you out of the movie: guy with gun walks close enough to get it batted away, kingping says "kill them" as he leaves the room-good guys pick lock at last second,You know those lazy action script moments that piss you off so much they pull you out of the movie: guy with gun walks close enough to get it batted away, kingping says "kill them" as he leaves the room-good guys pick lock at last second, late twist negates everything that happened 10 minutes ago, etc etc? Well this movie has all of them and then some. They should make Tokyo Drift 2. At least that one was stupid fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Forrestgump1Apr 30, 2011
"Tho Not as Fast or Furious as its predecessors and completely implausible Fast Five is still a full - blown adrenalin pumping thrill ride. That holds you in the drivers seat till the Intense and Epic Final Act that will leave you breathless"Tho Not as Fast or Furious as its predecessors and completely implausible Fast Five is still a full - blown adrenalin pumping thrill ride. That holds you in the drivers seat till the Intense and Epic Final Act that will leave you breathless and shocked" .. B+ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryMay 4, 2011
Things have changed in this 5th installment of the "Fast & Furious" series: the stars are more pumped, Dwayne Johnson is the antagonist and it's more about action than the cars. This time Van Diesel, Paul Walker and Jordana Brewster are onThings have changed in this 5th installment of the "Fast & Furious" series: the stars are more pumped, Dwayne Johnson is the antagonist and it's more about action than the cars. This time Van Diesel, Paul Walker and Jordana Brewster are on the run in Rio, where they decide to stage one big final robbery. The movie basically becomes a heist flick that's bookended by two elaborate, action-packed chases. Sure, there's lots of fast driving, but it's not about racing. Still, there's plenty of macho posturing and quick-cut fights to add that testosterone edge. NOTE: Stay thru the credits until you get a double cameo surprise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BikerjamesMay 16, 2011
This movie fits in well with the others in the series. It is a well made action flick with great special effects that you will forget entirely in a couple of months. The best part of the movie is the opening train sequence. The carsThis movie fits in well with the others in the series. It is a well made action flick with great special effects that you will forget entirely in a couple of months. The best part of the movie is the opening train sequence. The cars pulling the safe at the end (not a spoiler since it is in the previews) will have you rolling your eyes in disbelief, but it is still exciting. The Rock actually gives one of his best screen performances to date. Not great but a fun movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
StealthgearOct 19, 2011
This is the worst Fast and Furious movie yet. There is almost no underground racing. Now the characters are on the run in a 3rd world country and decide to rob a bank. Some wrestler FBI guy is out to get them. This movie is filled with badThis is the worst Fast and Furious movie yet. There is almost no underground racing. Now the characters are on the run in a 3rd world country and decide to rob a bank. Some wrestler FBI guy is out to get them. This movie is filled with bad dialogue and poor acting. End of story. This resembles nothing of the first Fast and Furious movies. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
jdrandall38Aug 23, 2011
Not at all what I expected. The Rock, although I like him, was such an unnesiccary addition to the great series. What was with this movie? Everyone is a criminal now? Rio De Janeiro? I didn't know they were known for cars. Have you everNot at all what I expected. The Rock, although I like him, was such an unnesiccary addition to the great series. What was with this movie? Everyone is a criminal now? Rio De Janeiro? I didn't know they were known for cars. Have you ever seen the streets? It would be impossible to race there! Not well thought out by the producers. And the Vault seen dragging though the street at the end? WHAT? Two Peterbuilt trucks couldn't pull a vault through buildings and around corners let alone two muscle cars! The others in this series are admittedly "over the top" but this one takes the cake, then bakes another and takes that one too. 4/10 Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
zero298May 5, 2011
What do Fast 5 and Ocean's 11 have in common besides numbers in their title? Watch this movie to find out. I really enjoyed this movie. I'm not exactly a big fan of the series, but all of the cheese and ridiculousness of this film kept meWhat do Fast 5 and Ocean's 11 have in common besides numbers in their title? Watch this movie to find out. I really enjoyed this movie. I'm not exactly a big fan of the series, but all of the cheese and ridiculousness of this film kept me very entertained despite not knowing the character relationships from the previous films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
wishmasterJul 18, 2011
I only saw the first 15 minutes of the movie, and I do not really taste anything bad, I felt so uncomfortable to see Diesel is the worst actors I've seen, I lost myself in the scenes, went in one side and out of the other (literally). very disgusting
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerJan 5, 2012
A good time if your a fan of the series or just like cheesy action movies with fast cars, the plot is surprisingly good, I wish it could have had a more intense feel, the plot really sets it up for one, but the goofy characters and cheesyA good time if your a fan of the series or just like cheesy action movies with fast cars, the plot is surprisingly good, I wish it could have had a more intense feel, the plot really sets it up for one, but the goofy characters and cheesy lines keep it from reaching it, and speaking of cheesy dialog all of the Rock's lines were awful, some will literally caused you pain to hear, but the action is intense and hiss fight scene with Vin Diesel was pretty awesome, this is basically a movie created specifically for the fans, and includes characters from all the previous movies even Tokyo Drift, so it's a good movie with some extremely cheesy moments, and I don't see this changing your ming if you weren't already a fan, but there are worse movies out there, and if you want a action movie with fast cars for a weekend rental and have seen the others then this is for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
xanderveeApr 29, 2011
If you walk in the theater simply expecting a fun movie to to put you in the middle of yet another experience of ridiculous driving, explosions, gunfire, and a few laughs along the way, you will be very pleased. Some fans may be disappointedIf you walk in the theater simply expecting a fun movie to to put you in the middle of yet another experience of ridiculous driving, explosions, gunfire, and a few laughs along the way, you will be very pleased. Some fans may be disappointed to find that this latest installment of the series does not focus as much on street racing as the other movies may have, but the highly insane finale will be sure to leave everyone satisfied. Hint: Stay through the credits. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuAug 18, 2014
Fast Five (or is that The Fast & the Furious 5? or Fast & Furious 5? Or Rio Heist... never mind) is a decent addition to the franchise which proves to be more fun than parts 2, 3 & 4. Dialing the action up to insane levels and adding in TheFast Five (or is that The Fast & the Furious 5? or Fast & Furious 5? Or Rio Heist... never mind) is a decent addition to the franchise which proves to be more fun than parts 2, 3 & 4. Dialing the action up to insane levels and adding in The Rock makes this a ton of stoopid fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FDT44Apr 30, 2011
'Fast" fans will be left aghast in this latest installment of the racing series as the stunts soar to even greater, insurmountable lengths; impervious to limitation and restraint. Just when you think the crew can't make their objective'Fast" fans will be left aghast in this latest installment of the racing series as the stunts soar to even greater, insurmountable lengths; impervious to limitation and restraint. Just when you think the crew can't make their objective anymore difficult, they do, and execute with such foreseen efficiency, that the approaching quandary seems all the more likely. By the same token, 'Fast Five' is the facility to a much more enjoyable story-line and plot, going beyond life on the circuit. Even so, a few issues remain: "tongue-and-cheek" dialogue, predictability, troubles with continuity, and an overusage of moth-eaten expressions. Aside from subtle deficiencies, the film manages to sway the viewer away from such foibles, and instead, sublimate faced-paced visuals of daring brutes, tantalizing women, and enough tempo to make you wonder what just hit you. 'Fast' is geared up to thrill, and does just that, as entertainment wins the race against normalcy; making for far-fetched, fast, and furious fun. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
allystewMay 26, 2011
Great action movie. If you enjoyed any of the others in the series you'll love this. For me its arguably the best yet. Story, action scenes, comedy and "The Rock" make this worth seeing. I really think the last action sequence is amongst theGreat action movie. If you enjoyed any of the others in the series you'll love this. For me its arguably the best yet. Story, action scenes, comedy and "The Rock" make this worth seeing. I really think the last action sequence is amongst the best car scenes I've seen in a very long time. So good to see real stunts and less CGI for a change. Its a bit hard to believe in places but thats not the point here. Simply leave your brain at the door sit back and enjoy the ride. I'm sure there is more to come from this series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JonnyFendiJun 15, 2011
Race Cars speeding along the street of Rio De Jainero, All Casts come together all at once, the rooftop chasing and ultimate gun-shooting, what more can you ask for? Here comes the fifth installment of THE FAST AND THE FURIOUS (2001)Race Cars speeding along the street of Rio De Jainero, All Casts come together all at once, the rooftop chasing and ultimate gun-shooting, what more can you ask for? Here comes the fifth installment of THE FAST AND THE FURIOUS (2001) franchise, thiz is actually the bridging story between THE FAST AND THE FURIOUS: TOKYO DRIFT (2006) and is a direct connection to the ending scenes of FAST & FURIOUS (2009), when Dom (Vin Diesel) sentenced to 25 years in federal prison and Brian gang (Paul Walker) attempting to free him again. Justin Lin directs thiz sequel with identical pace and tone from previous movies. Just like the previous F & F movies, it is all about high-speed car racing, hot and sexy babes and some of cat and mouse criminal activities. Well, to tell you the truth, thiz time is more like a Heist movie than Car Race movie. We find very less of eye-catching Race Cars, the movie put aside many glamour factors, to do otherwise they step on the gas pedal to full throttle into pure Action. Frankly said, I did not know for sure, who were the real Fast Five in thiz movie. Certainly, the focus is still on two central characters, Dom and Brian. The rest is Dom sister, Mia (Jordana Brewster), the big-mouth Roman (Tyrese Gibson), the high-tech Tej (Chris Ludacris Bridges), the big-muscle Vince (Matt Schulze), the beautiful driver Gal (Gisele Harabo) and the charismatic Sung Kang (Han Lue) from TOKYO DRIFT. One thing for sure, there are more than five people. Thiz time they got a well-matched opponent, the ambitious Federal Agent Luke Hobbs played by Dwayne The Rock Johnson! Thiz seems to be a great selection. The Rock delivers a strong and believable tough guy performance, I am beginning to think thiz WWE sensation could be a great serious Actor as well. On the other hand, Vin Diesel performs one round of WWE wrestling scene with the The Rock, it is pretty entertaining to see two giant muscle brutally clash with each other in bare hand fight. It comes to my mind, if Vin Diesel will also be one hell of good wrestler in WWE ring? With all the hype and enthusiasm around, thiz is clearly not the last F & F movie to be made, they will be back to do their things again. Thiz implicit confirmation was exposed in one of Hobb famous lines, We will find em, we take em as a team and we bring em back. And above all else, we do not ever, ever let them get into cars (again).

Visit My Blog on JONNYâ
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
PleiadesPowerApr 29, 2011
Suspension of disbelief and overacting by The Rock aside, this more than any of the other movies was the most fun. Lots of unexpected comic relief, stunning action sequences, and I'm gonna say it, heart. I went in with low expectations andSuspension of disbelief and overacting by The Rock aside, this more than any of the other movies was the most fun. Lots of unexpected comic relief, stunning action sequences, and I'm gonna say it, heart. I went in with low expectations and came out thoroughly entertained. Go see it and have a crazy good time rooting for our favorite bad guys! Oh, and make sure you sit through the credits for a "Holy cow, no way!" moment. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
PurpleUrpNov 15, 2011
By far, an improvement to the series with its epic scenes that range from the light heavyweight fight to an unbelievable heist. Fast Five leaves its predecessors in the dust with its new material.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
asthobaskoroAug 1, 2011
Never watched the four movies before but it's loud and entertaining. Bad talks, intense and brainless action. Heist. Explosion. Crash. Fast Five is unstoppable ride for summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
codfather96May 6, 2011
Less cars, more destroying Rio with a safe. So the acting is very bad and at one point they say "This just turned from mission impossible to mission damn insane!" But you must forgive for this as this is by far the best action movie thereLess cars, more destroying Rio with a safe. So the acting is very bad and at one point they say "This just turned from mission impossible to mission damn insane!" But you must forgive for this as this is by far the best action movie there will all year and it is the best in the series by far. It even has that great heist movie feeling and and towards the end, The Rock (or Dwayne) by far has the best movie kill this year and there is a $1 million drag race. One word, AMAZING! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheChaser1985May 21, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought this movie was a 6.5, but I'll give it a 7. It was enjoyable, but I won't ever watch it again unless I'm super bored. The races in the this movie were lame and there weren't enough. And although all the Dodge Chargers were cool, it was still cop car sedans. And how about at the end when Dom gets his Dodge and Brian gets his Skyline, they go to race and it doesn't even show it!? Come on! I'm hoping for another one in the series, simply so i can see that race! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews