Rogue Pictures | Release Date: April 24, 2009
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 173 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
144
Mixed:
11
Negative:
18
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
terrypattisonJun 13, 2014
I didn't expect to enjoy this film, but I did. Not the predictable storyline, but the characters. I actually enjoyed the way every one of the actors played their parts - and that's not something you can say of many movies. I'm sure theI didn't expect to enjoy this film, but I did. Not the predictable storyline, but the characters. I actually enjoyed the way every one of the actors played their parts - and that's not something you can say of many movies. I'm sure the director can take a lot of the credit for the way the nuanced performances made a quite enjoyable film from what was probably a terrible script, but I still liked all the characters, right down to the love interests' elderly relation. This is a bad movie made into an enjoyable one by the people who made it. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
VorlargenMar 20, 2012
Unwatchable. Bad story, bad acting, bad fight corry. I knew it was time to stop watching when I caught myself reading something else with the movie going in the background.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
jimmytancrediJul 24, 2011
Fighting is a film that tries desperately to be relevant in any way, but it is only a weak action film punctuated by some good ideas in the script. The film tells the story of Shawn MacArthur, a young man lost in life after a fight in aFighting is a film that tries desperately to be relevant in any way, but it is only a weak action film punctuated by some good ideas in the script. The film tells the story of Shawn MacArthur, a young man lost in life after a fight in a square is contacted by an agent that helps him making money in illegal fights.
With an outcome of the head just wrong (as The Man Who Copied, for example), Fighting is a film that shows that the end had interesting characters and was supposed to be a good movie, and itâ
Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
TavoGAug 31, 2009
How is this movie getting halfway decent reviews? Worst movie I have seen since the last Indiana Jones movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
IsaacHAug 28, 2009
Purely a terrible movie. Bad acting to go with the terrible script and dialogue. You never really understand the whole of what is going on and they never tell the back story for any of the characters even though a large chunk of the movie is Purely a terrible movie. Bad acting to go with the terrible script and dialogue. You never really understand the whole of what is going on and they never tell the back story for any of the characters even though a large chunk of the movie is based around Sean's past. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Aug 24, 2009
A likable performance by Channing Tatum is a plus, some good action sequences but unfortunately, the story is nothing new and the plot is paper thin. Terrence Howard offers good support. Not bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NerijusDJun 16, 2009
Terrence Howard is acting perfectly. The film features some very good music as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DaveMJun 15, 2009
Best nap I've had in a long time. An insomniac's must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WinstonLMay 6, 2009
This was one of the most intense movies I've seen...I loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JackMay 3, 2009
This movie was one of the worst films I've ever seen. And I've seen Wicker Man. I was physically ill after watching this terrible excuse for cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TravisTMay 2, 2009
BOO! we left after an hour. LAME!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
pcMay 1, 2009
Too much like never back down
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadSApr 30, 2009
Jack(Channing Tatum) isn't fighting for a heavyweight belt, so keeping things in proportion is everything. There are no arenas, no hot lights, and no roaring crowds in this line of work: bare-knuckle boxing. The venues are happenings, Jack(Channing Tatum) isn't fighting for a heavyweight belt, so keeping things in proportion is everything. There are no arenas, no hot lights, and no roaring crowds in this line of work: bare-knuckle boxing. The venues are happenings, held at private homes and back alleys, on the fly, witnessed by an invitation-only gathering of lowlifes who find mixed martial arts too tame and regulated. Even when Jack is winning, he's losing. "Fighting" is a sports film without glamour. As the bare-knuckle boxer moves up the ranks, the lack of prestige and gravitas for his accomplishments cast a pall of inconsequentiality over the victories. The science isn't sweet, after all. No matter how many fights Jack wins, the drifter is still right back where he started from, because his street cred has no currency in the real world. Jack has a manager: Harvey(Terrence Howard), a two-bit hustler who finally has himself a winner, but tries to Terry Malloy his fighter by hedging bets like a bum. Jack also has a prospective girlfriend: Zulai(Zulai Henao), a working single mother who deceives the fighter in a way that's not dramatically satisfying to the story. There's a revelatory moment between the three principal characters, but it's the wrong revelatory moment. The boondoggle hatched by Harvey and Zulai isn't down-and-dirty enough to leave much of an impression. (SELF-POLICING SPOILER ALERT) "Fighting" errs by being a crowd-pleaser, even though the storyline cries out for some form of comeuppance towards the people in Jack's corner. The film loses its proportion by making everybody a winner after the climactic fight. "Fighting" could have been, should have been, a contender. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
kgmApr 29, 2009
Punchdrunk
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PabloRApr 25, 2009
Funny, edge of your seat movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BobV.Apr 24, 2009
This movie was absolutely terrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful