Finding Neverland

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 195 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 195

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Dec 25, 2013
    6
    Finding Neverland is too much too late. During the last hour or so it began to engage me, and by the end it was actually somewhat moving. That doesn't change the fact that the first 40 minutes were extremely boring. And when I say extremely I mean horrendously. It just seemed so repetitive and pointless during that section. There wasn't any adult drama. Just Johnny Depp playing makeFinding Neverland is too much too late. During the last hour or so it began to engage me, and by the end it was actually somewhat moving. That doesn't change the fact that the first 40 minutes were extremely boring. And when I say extremely I mean horrendously. It just seemed so repetitive and pointless during that section. There wasn't any adult drama. Just Johnny Depp playing make believe with a couple of kids and their mom. This could have worked if it wasn't done so blandly, and if it was rendered more convincingly. Yes it does eventually become involving. Its story takes some formulaic but effective turns, and the acting was solid, but it should have been good from the get go. The production design and cinematography were pretty throughout but nothing groundbreaking. You may like the movie more than I did. I thought it was decent, but I'm not sure if it was worth enduring the first forty minutes. Expand
  2. SteveG.
    Dec 28, 2004
    6
    Johnny Depp is good, Kate Winslett is okay, Julie Christie a delight, Dustin Hoffman (for the role he played) unecessary and the plot is - well, inadequate. Of course, it is a distorted reality in which all the factors are in place for a disenchanted, unloved and increasingly mediocre playwright to be revitalised and inspired by a chance encounter with a family needing a lovable, Johnny Depp is good, Kate Winslett is okay, Julie Christie a delight, Dustin Hoffman (for the role he played) unecessary and the plot is - well, inadequate. Of course, it is a distorted reality in which all the factors are in place for a disenchanted, unloved and increasingly mediocre playwright to be revitalised and inspired by a chance encounter with a family needing a lovable, crazy-but-fun father. Happiness could be theirs forever if only the mother hadn't got that nasty cough... All in all, a commendable but disappointingly lightweight film for all its good performances. Expand
  3. ChadS.
    Dec 15, 2004
    6
    It's groaning time when the oncoming tragedy comes to fruition on what should be James Barrie's big night. In movies, diseases have impeccable timing. But a great performance bails everybody out, and it doesn't come from Johnny Depp or Kate Winslet (look for the "Heavenly Creatures" allusion). "Finding Neverland" is unforgivable in its seeming endorsement of Andrew Llyod It's groaning time when the oncoming tragedy comes to fruition on what should be James Barrie's big night. In movies, diseases have impeccable timing. But a great performance bails everybody out, and it doesn't come from Johnny Depp or Kate Winslet (look for the "Heavenly Creatures" allusion). "Finding Neverland" is unforgivable in its seeming endorsement of Andrew Llyod Webber as a savior to the dramatic arts. There's the suggestion that spectacle, here in the form of rigging actors with strings to simulate flight, helped stimulate a moribund theater scene, in which the crowd grew disenchanted with plays where the actors merely...talked. "Peter Pan" is comparable to Webber's insistence that grown men and women should dress up as caterwaulin' cats, or sing on rollerskates under cheesy lights. The opening scene works as a commentary on contemporary audiences. Expand
  4. DanD.
    Dec 12, 2004
    4
    Mediocre at best. If not for Johnny Depp this film would have soon been forgotten.
  5. BeccaF
    Dec 1, 2004
    6
    It was a bit sappy at some parts, but on a whole a great and touching movie.
  6. OnurZ.
    Jan 12, 2005
    6
    So much potential wasted... Should have been made as a musical/comedy, and the Weinsteins would be better off hiring a director WITH imagination. I hope their lobbying won't succeed this year.
  7. HW
    Feb 21, 2005
    5
    I'm glad to see at least some critics saw through the schtick of this unbelievably corny piece of fluff. And don't get me wrong, I'm all for quality fluff, which this is not. The characters are awesomely uninteresting and one-dimensional. The fact that several people told me this movie drove them to tears really makes me worry about the state of humankind. Worse of all, I I'm glad to see at least some critics saw through the schtick of this unbelievably corny piece of fluff. And don't get me wrong, I'm all for quality fluff, which this is not. The characters are awesomely uninteresting and one-dimensional. The fact that several people told me this movie drove them to tears really makes me worry about the state of humankind. Worse of all, I just found it boring. Expand
  8. Lauren
    Apr 17, 2005
    5
    Nothing particularaly offends, but nothing enchants. Two hours of my life I wish I had spent doing something more enthralling.
  9. Aug 28, 2014
    6
    A unique combination of fantasy and reality, Johnny Depp is gloriously entertaining as J.M. Barrie. Finding Neverland is not simply for fans of J.M. Barrie or his most beloved work, Peter Pan.
  10. Jan 23, 2015
    5
    For a story like this I found it engaging at certain points. At other points, like most biopics, unfortunately, it becomes too mawkish for my tastes during the really emotional play. I was invested in the characters, to an extent, but it seemed that this film was not trying to be a real biopic, but just another distortion to add the drama and make the story more profitable, which is cheapFor a story like this I found it engaging at certain points. At other points, like most biopics, unfortunately, it becomes too mawkish for my tastes during the really emotional play. I was invested in the characters, to an extent, but it seemed that this film was not trying to be a real biopic, but just another distortion to add the drama and make the story more profitable, which is cheap in the end. Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    80
    Mingling reality and fantasy, Forster has given us a luminous, touching meditation on life and art.
  2. 88
    Glorious entertainment.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    40
    Finding Neverland takes a big, brave leap and lands splat on the sidewalk.