User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 35
  2. Negative: 9 out of 35
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JayH
    May 30, 2009
    6
    There aren't many surprises, but I enjoyed the movie and it did at least make me laugh. The cast is fun and the characters are likable. Let's call it a guilty pleasure. Juliette Goglia is terrific as the conniving little sister.
  2. FDenkins
    Feb 21, 2009
    0
    I especially hate how all these sh*tty comedies dress their ad campaigns up to make em all seem like the next "Knocked Up" or "Superbad".
  3. rickyr
    Feb 21, 2009
    8
    This movie isn't as bad as everyone else is saying it is. it isn't only about two guys who are womanizers but also about a cheerleading squad that comes in last every year and with the help of these "womanizers" come up and do better than ever before.
  4. ChadS
    Feb 21, 2009
    2
    "Fired Up" plods on without consequence in a sort of no man's land where both male and female audience members will be disappointed by the film's equivocal handling of the tropes prevalent in such teen "classics" as "American Pie" and "Bring it On". Conjuring hormonal-fueled hi-jinks under the parameters of its PG-13 rating, devitalizes the horndog-to-human being transformation "Fired Up" plods on without consequence in a sort of no man's land where both male and female audience members will be disappointed by the film's equivocal handling of the tropes prevalent in such teen "classics" as "American Pie" and "Bring it On". Conjuring hormonal-fueled hi-jinks under the parameters of its PG-13 rating, devitalizes the horndog-to-human being transformation that Shawn(Nicholas D'Agosto) and Nick(Eric Christian Olsen) undergo when the delinquent football players both find love in what was, on first impression, the Shangri-La of booty calls: a cheerleading camp. The film's relative wholesomeness has the stagnating effect of making the jocks' lascivious natures seem wholesome by association; in effect, killing the anarchic spirit that is crucial to a genre which celebrates bacchanal decadence and godless immorality. "Fired Up" is a sex comedy that won't go to first base; it's a starter film for pre-adolescents not ready to lay their eyes on Shannon Elizabeth's immaculate breasts. "Fired Up" is the filmic equivalent of a training bra. As for the cheerleading-specific scenes in this bland, would-be comedic romp about the two sexes, to paraphrase John Lydon of Public Image Ltd., "This Is Not a Poor Man's Bring it On", either. "Fired Up" is not worthy enough to kiss the hem of Kirsten Dunst's lycra skirt. The routines are lost in the shoddy editing, and adding insult to injury, the infectious girly-ness of the Peyton Reed film is replaced by a sort of post-feministic plot point, in which the squad's impending success is contingent on Shawn and Nick's participation during the final cheer-off. Expand
  5. R.L.
    Feb 20, 2009
    1
    I'm not a man who usually give's a movie a bad score or review but I can't help my self with this one. Fired up is as stupid and gay as they come. Comedies about the maturing of arrested adolescents
  6. ScottE
    Mar 16, 2009
    7
    I took my two teenage kids to see this. Its not as bad as I thought it would be. Its entertaining and has some funny moments.
  7. JesseM.
    Jun 18, 2009
    7
    Despite this films failings -- and as the above reviewers had rattled on about at great length, there are many -- the chemistry between the two leads had me laughing start to finish. Perhaps I went it to it with such low expectations, it had to be good. Who knows...
  8. MichaelN
    Feb 23, 2009
    10
    I think the main reason it's getting reviews that aren't good is that the target audience is mainly younger people, rather than the people who are most likely to be reviewing it. I thought it was funny from the beginning to the end. It was joke after joke after joke. It was consistently funny throughout the entire movie. The ending is also kind of a surprise. It's I think the main reason it's getting reviews that aren't good is that the target audience is mainly younger people, rather than the people who are most likely to be reviewing it. I thought it was funny from the beginning to the end. It was joke after joke after joke. It was consistently funny throughout the entire movie. The ending is also kind of a surprise. It's definitely enjoyable, and it's worth seeing. Expand
  9. TDKinDallas
    Jun 12, 2009
    4
    A really bad movie, but I laughed a lot!
  10. Dec 1, 2010
    7
    Hyper-fast teen comedy made to make people laugh and not to be taken too seriously. The jokes come hard, fast and un-PC, but they are never mean-spirited; there are tons of obvious and obscure (visual and verbal) references for geeky viewers to parse and the whole thing is extremely self-referential and postmodern-y. Think less "American Pie" and "Bring It On" and more "Clueless" andHyper-fast teen comedy made to make people laugh and not to be taken too seriously. The jokes come hard, fast and un-PC, but they are never mean-spirited; there are tons of obvious and obscure (visual and verbal) references for geeky viewers to parse and the whole thing is extremely self-referential and postmodern-y. Think less "American Pie" and "Bring It On" and more "Clueless" and "Popular" on hormonal overdrive. Well worth a watch, just like the director's follow-up "Easy A". Expand
  11. Aug 19, 2014
    6
    Not terrible, probably better than most other films in the cheer leading genre.
    A cheer-leading film which is more "masculine" focused and aimed primary more to the male democratic but females will also enjoy.
    There are a few classic teen comedy jokes which have been recycled from other movies, but overall the movie is just a bit of fun.
Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 18
  2. Negative: 9 out of 18
  1. It's like being trapped for an hour-and-a-half in a pound full of yappy puppies.
  2. Reviewed by: Aaron Hillis
    10
    We're light years away from "Animal House," sure, but who ever thought we would long for the richer, funnier dignity of "American Pie?"
  3. The teensploitation premise is like something a porn filmmaker from the '70s might have come up with. But Fired Up! has one added quirk: The script, credited to Freedom Jones, is a riot of tongue-twisting ironic sleaze -- it sounds like the first (and last) collaboration between Diablo Cody and Artie Lange.