Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Ren MacCormack is transplanted from Boston to the small southern town of Bomont where he experiences a heavy dose of culture shock. A few years prior, the community was rocked by a tragic accident that killed five teenagers after a night out and Bomont’s local councilmen and the belovedRen MacCormack is transplanted from Boston to the small southern town of Bomont where he experiences a heavy dose of culture shock. A few years prior, the community was rocked by a tragic accident that killed five teenagers after a night out and Bomont’s local councilmen and the beloved Reverend Shaw Moore responded by implementing ordinances that prohibit loud music and dancing. Not one to bow to the status quo, Ren challenges the ban, revitalizing the town and falling in love with the minister’s troubled daughter Ariel in the process. (Paramount Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Oct 5, 2011
    91
    Stepping into sacred shoes once worn by Kevin Bacon, Wormald handily owns the role for a new audience. Same goes for a terrific Miles Teller (Rabbit Hole) in the sidekick role of Willard so memorably originated by the late Chris Penn.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Oct 13, 2011
    75
    The new Footloose does everything it needs to do. It's a vibrant youth musical that will appeal to audiences who haven't seen the 1984 original. And it has enough charm and life to it to compete with the memory of the earlier version.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Oct 14, 2011
    63
    Plotwise, though, Brewer's Footloose is anything but loose. In fact, it's rigidly loyal to the original, to the point of slavishness.
  4. Reviewed by: James White
    Oct 10, 2011
    60
    There have been far, far worse remakes out there. Harmless, feel-good fun.
  5. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Oct 13, 2011
    60
    Oddly, Craig Brewer has softened the tone for his remake. But nearly everything else remains intact, and -- surprisingly -- that's just enough to win us over.
  6. 50
    While dance sequences are not particularly well edited compared to the new breed of dance flick, Wormald and Hough are exciting hoofers to watch.
  7. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Oct 12, 2011
    38
    This new Footloose is a film without wit, humor or purpose.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    this movie was very gory it was like war between jack and joey the 3rd the gunbattles were gorylicious i cant wait till i see it again so ithis movie was very gory it was like war between jack and joey the 3rd the gunbattles were gorylicious i cant wait till i see it again so i can have more fun listening to shakespere in the backround! Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    I joined metacritic to write this review. I loved this movie, and I don't typically like chick flicks. If you were expecting a classic, thenI joined metacritic to write this review. I loved this movie, and I don't typically like chick flicks. If you were expecting a classic, then you didn't see the original, and a remake is never going to be a classic if the original wasn't in the first place. This was a great tribute to the original footloose - it was fun, exciting and had great dancing and great music! Julianne was hot, Ren was even hotter, everyone loved Willard so I won't compliment him again, and Ren's uncle and aunt were my favorite. If you didn't like it then I'm guessing you identified a little too much with Chuck...either that or you don't know how to dance your *** off!! See it. Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2011
    8
    I was dragged to see this with my girlfriend. I did not know what I was getting into. I was impressed,(keep in mind I did not see the originalI was dragged to see this with my girlfriend. I did not know what I was getting into. I was impressed,(keep in mind I did not see the original movie) . The story line was unique and the dancing was mixed with old school and new school. Also the music was great. Good news is next the Girlfriend wants to watch one of her movies, there is one I like. Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2011
    6
    Rent-it - It's basically the same Flashdance meets Rebel Without a Cause film from the 80s, but Miles Teller's charming learning-how-to-danceRent-it - It's basically the same Flashdance meets Rebel Without a Cause film from the 80s, but Miles Teller's charming learning-how-to-dance scene makes it worth renting -- if youâ Collapse
  5. Oct 17, 2011
    5
    With such a weak, outdated story, I thought they might rely on more dancing. But unfortunately no. More music and more dancing would haveWith such a weak, outdated story, I thought they might rely on more dancing. But unfortunately no. More music and more dancing would have been the only way to save this. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2011
    5
    I wanted to avoid seeing Footloose because the trailer didn't seem very interesting to me, so of course I was dragged kicking and screaming toI wanted to avoid seeing Footloose because the trailer didn't seem very interesting to me, so of course I was dragged kicking and screaming to watch it by my wife. I was expecting to hate it, but was surprised to find it have a fair amount of heart and soul with decent acting performances. It is very "average" as far as films go, so don't expect to be "wowed". I'm still puzzled as to why they felt the need to remake this script in the first place, because this 2011 version brings nothing new to the table...except more sex and sex appeal. Wait until it comes out on DVD to see it, and even then try to use a coupon so you save some money. Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2012
    1
    Brutal movie, bad acting, horrible story, and lack luster dancing. The only thing keeping it from being a 0/10 is Julianne Hough's looks. SaveBrutal movie, bad acting, horrible story, and lack luster dancing. The only thing keeping it from being a 0/10 is Julianne Hough's looks. Save your time, DO NOT BOTHER WATCHING! Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: September 6, 2011
    We preview the 30 top movies arriving this fall, from Steven Soderbergh's "Contagion" to George Clooney's "Ides of March." While you're at it, find release dates and descriptions for the other 60+ fall films, too.