For Greater Glory

Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 17
  2. Negative: 9 out of 17
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    May 31, 2012
    40
    The result is a pious mess of a movie that falls short both as history and as storytelling.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    May 31, 2012
    40
    The film is ultimately a stodgy, overblown and repetitive slog.
  3. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    May 31, 2012
    50
    There's enough froth along the way to keep the memory of Will Ferrell's recent "Casa Di Me Padre" close at hand.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 31, 2012
    60
    The actor (Garcia), whose banked anger has been a secret weapon since "The Untouchables" 25 years ago, paints a fascinating portrait of a man moved by fate.
  5. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    May 31, 2012
    50
    The sort of lumbering epic drama that went out of fashion by the late 1960s, For Greater Glory is mainly notable for shedding light on a little-known historical conflict, namely the Cristero War that took place in 1920s Mexico.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    May 31, 2012
    60
    Even at 143 minutes, For Greater Glory cannot satisfyingly fill out the stories of a half-dozen secondary characters, and there are frustrating gaps in the biographies of Gorostieta and José. The jamming together of so much history and melodrama makes for a handsome movie that is only rarely gripping.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    May 31, 2012
    50
    Despite enough good intentions to pave a four-lane highway, the ardently sincere but dramatically unfocused For Greater Glory plays like a multipart miniseries that has been hacked down to feature length.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    This is an exceptional film that clearly portraits in less than 3 hours the war for religious freedom in Mexico. If you did not experienceThis is an exceptional film that clearly portraits in less than 3 hours the war for religious freedom in Mexico. If you did not experience the cruelty of the government against our people, our ancestors, in my case Anacleto Gonzalez Flores, and of all our relatives and beloved priests and children getting killed for practicing their religion, you will not understand this film. This is the best that could be done in less than 3 hours. I STRONGLY recommend this film. It was very close to reality. It was a bloody struggle, of course!! a bloody battle that the Mexican government of that time initiated. WE, the audience, LOVED IT!!!!! THUMBS UP!!!!!!! Full Review »
  2. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Is the best movie I have ever seen about recent history.
    Show us how the gov secular and atheist of Mexico wants to destroy Catholic Church.
    Is the best movie I have ever seen about recent history.
    Show us how the gov secular and atheist of Mexico wants to destroy Catholic Church.
    Is an epic and emotive movie.
    Inspirational, with real heroes, and martyrs.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 7, 2012
    4
    An interesting story that needs to be told, but in a less manipulative way. The characters her are all cut from the back hat, white hat moldAn interesting story that needs to be told, but in a less manipulative way. The characters her are all cut from the back hat, white hat mold and consequently when the emotional scenes appear, we mostly know how they will unfold and care very little. The acting here was not bad but unfortunately the actors were not given a very good script to work with. Full Review »