Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: What price would you pay for freedom? In the exhilarating action epic For Greater Glory an impassioned group of men and women each make the decision to risk it all for family, faith and the very future of their country, as the film's adventure unfolds against the long-hidden, true story of the 1920s Cristero War ­the daring people¹s revolt that rocked 20th Century North America. (ARC Entertainment) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 17
  2. Negative: 9 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    May 30, 2012
    63
    In its use of locations and sets, it's an impressive achievement by director Dean Wright, whose credits include some of the effects on the "Lord of the Rings" films. If it had not hewed so singlemindedly to the Catholic view and included all religions under the banner of religious liberty, I believe it would have been more effective.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 31, 2012
    60
    The actor (Garcia), whose banked anger has been a secret weapon since "The Untouchables" 25 years ago, paints a fascinating portrait of a man moved by fate.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    May 31, 2012
    50
    Despite enough good intentions to pave a four-lane highway, the ardently sincere but dramatically unfocused For Greater Glory plays like a multipart miniseries that has been hacked down to feature length.
  4. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jun 1, 2012
    38
    The sometimes painfully sincere and slow-moving For Greater Glory clearly aspires to be inspirational, but history won't cooperate. The Cristeros triumphed not because of their faith, but because the United States exerted diplomatic pressure to protect its oil interests in Mexico.
  5. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    May 30, 2012
    33
    With its shameless melodrama, ghoulish violence, and scenes of Christians being slaughtered en masse in holy places for the crime of publicly being Christians, the religious drama For Greater Glory feels an awful lot like evangelical Tribulation dramas such as "Left Behind: The Movie" and "The Omega Code."
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    May 31, 2012
    25
    If For Greater Glory were a person, it would be wearing two different socks. It is a scattered mess, as earnest as a folk song, but like a folk song that goes on for two hours and 23 minutes. Not only does it never justify its epic length, it gets even the small things wrong.
  7. Reviewed by: Sam Adams
    May 29, 2012
    20
    Extremism in defense of liberty is no vice, but let's not get carried away here.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    This is an exceptional film that clearly portraits in less than 3 hours the war for religious freedom in Mexico. If you did not experience the cruelty of the government against our people, our ancestors, in my case Anacleto Gonzalez Flores, and of all our relatives and beloved priests and children getting killed for practicing their religion, you will not understand this film. This is the best that could be done in less than 3 hours. I STRONGLY recommend this film. It was very close to reality. It was a bloody struggle, of course!! a bloody battle that the Mexican government of that time initiated. WE, the audience, LOVED IT!!!!! THUMBS UP!!!!!!! Collapse
  2. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    The combination of stunning cinematography, a breathtaking score and inspired performances by a terrific cast, Dean Wright's directorial debut sets him up for a future of continued greatness. I will be happy to watch anything he puts forward, especially if they are as wonderful as this. Expand
  3. Jun 7, 2012
    10
    Amazing and deep movie. Some parts are rather sad, but it depicts the realistic pain that comes with war. Quite inspirational, to think it was based off history. Expand
  4. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    It is powerful, moving and keeps you wanting to watch more. Interesting direction in the opening and climactic battle scenes. Awesome film and should stay on every shelf in every house. Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2012
    9
    this is a spectacular movie , full of courage/ truth/ freedom & RELIGIOUS FREEDOM...
    ACTING IS OUTSTANDING & ANDY GARCIA IS THE TRUMP
    CARD...a very wonderful, charismatic actor that we miss not seeing much more of.../ excellent in directing & story ....wish there were many more of these movies available for us to enjoy../ THE CRITICS ARE SO OFF BASE & IDIOITIC & LEFT WINGED, THAT IT IS A JOKE TO EVEN LISTENT TO THEM..../ THEY SHOULD ALL BE FIRED...UGHHH
    ***DONT MISS --FOR GREATER GLORY--- IT IS THE ULTIMATE MOVIE.....
    Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2012
    8
    I found this movie to be outstanding. The cast and Andy Garcia were excellent. I was riveted during the entire movie and was stunned at the blood shed for religious freedom no so long ago. I was rating it a 10, but this scale saved "8" whllst I was still rating
    My rating is a 10.
    Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    With a metacritic rating of 35 and a user score of 72 you can assure that there is something fishy going on with the ratings of this movie.

    This movie, if it can even be called one, is actually a two hour plus piece of propaganda from the religious right (yes, we have one in Mexico) to try to justify the actions of a group of people who started refusing state provided secular education and was handled very poorly by the government.

    Of course the movie never mentions the numbers of teachers that were assassinated by the cristeros, which started the reaction by Calles' government.

    Not worth wasting your time on it.
    Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers