User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 158

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2014
    10
    Thoroughly written, directed and acted. "Foxcatcher" is Bennett Miller's finest work, and Mark Ruffalo, Channing Tatum and the incredible Steve Carell are at top of their game. One of the best films of the year!
  2. Nov 15, 2014
    4
    I agree with foxgrove, unfortunately. Mark Ruffalo is outstanding (totally convincing as older brother Dave Shultz), and he's more than reason enough to endure the tedious slog that is the majority of the film. Carrell isn't bad, but he's a rich, strange zombie who doesn't do a whole lot - and I felt like this story could have been told in half the time. The Wrestler touched on a few ofI agree with foxgrove, unfortunately. Mark Ruffalo is outstanding (totally convincing as older brother Dave Shultz), and he's more than reason enough to endure the tedious slog that is the majority of the film. Carrell isn't bad, but he's a rich, strange zombie who doesn't do a whole lot - and I felt like this story could have been told in half the time. The Wrestler touched on a few of the same themes, but it handled the story with a much more deft touch. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2014
    3
    The critics were overly kind with their reviews, or... they were paid. Aside from the 3 'characters' that were well played, but underdeveloped, there is not much story here or point. Viewers are left scratching their heads... what did i just watch? what happened? why? I was very disappointed that there was no insight in to the characters or what the point was.
  4. Nov 14, 2014
    5
    Aside from three outstanding performances this critically acclaimed movie is long, slow and very disappointing. Certainly not worth the eager anticipation afforded by a year's wait. Based on true events, and despite a menacing undercurrent generated by an effective score, one is constantly intrigued but never fully engaged.
    Steve Carell perfects a menacingly quizzical stare in a turn that
    Aside from three outstanding performances this critically acclaimed movie is long, slow and very disappointing. Certainly not worth the eager anticipation afforded by a year's wait. Based on true events, and despite a menacing undercurrent generated by an effective score, one is constantly intrigued but never fully engaged.
    Steve Carell perfects a menacingly quizzical stare in a turn that has sparse use for dialogue. Mark Ruffalo is superb, as usual, in a pivotal supporting role, but the real revelation is Channing Tatum. The guy shows us here that he really can act. He is undoubtedly the best reason to endure 'Foxcatcher'. Awards bound it may be, but a classic film. Never!
    Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2014
    0
    I'm was so excited to see this movie and it sucked. it was so slow, I felt nothing for the characters and i had no flippin idea what was the rationale or motives for a lot of the characters. Other than seeing Steve C in makeup, playing a straight character, albeit a caricature of sorts, there wasn't a whole lot here. I was expecting some major revelation or something, but it never came.I'm was so excited to see this movie and it sucked. it was so slow, I felt nothing for the characters and i had no flippin idea what was the rationale or motives for a lot of the characters. Other than seeing Steve C in makeup, playing a straight character, albeit a caricature of sorts, there wasn't a whole lot here. I was expecting some major revelation or something, but it never came. engaging at times, yes... would i ever see it again or recommend it... no. Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2014
    4
    Directed by Bennett Miller, FOXCATCHER is one of those films that feel serious and important until you realize there's nothing going on behind a very impressive facade. Like his earlier film CAPOTE, Miller wants to make some sort of statement about America, class difference, politics and all that jazz but unfortunately, the film has about as many insights as a freshman high school studentDirected by Bennett Miller, FOXCATCHER is one of those films that feel serious and important until you realize there's nothing going on behind a very impressive facade. Like his earlier film CAPOTE, Miller wants to make some sort of statement about America, class difference, politics and all that jazz but unfortunately, the film has about as many insights as a freshman high school student who has just discovered the world around him. The odd is never odd enough. The sad never sad enough. The film is loaded with American flags but so what? Sadly, the three main performances also fall flat. They too are more surface. The actors never inhabit their roles fully or lead us down a path of anything that might provide insight or clarity. Expand
  7. Nov 16, 2014
    8
    "Foxcatcher" stars Steve Carell, Channing Tatum and Mark Ruffalo in this true story of the relationship between Olympic wrestling champions and brothers, Dave and Mark Schultz and a troubled and eccentric member of the one of the wealthiest families in America, John DuPont. The film was written by E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman and was directed by Bennett Miller ("Moneyball") with Mr."Foxcatcher" stars Steve Carell, Channing Tatum and Mark Ruffalo in this true story of the relationship between Olympic wrestling champions and brothers, Dave and Mark Schultz and a troubled and eccentric member of the one of the wealthiest families in America, John DuPont. The film was written by E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman and was directed by Bennett Miller ("Moneyball") with Mr. Carell playing the part of John DuPont. Although Mr. DuPont’s picture is not familiar to most of us, he obviously had a prominent nose which accounts for the significant and almost cartoon-like makeup which Mr. Carell wears throughout the film. Unfortunately, in the producers attempt to achieve reality, they brought about the opposite result as far as this viewer is concerned. No matter how much you want to lose yourself into the film and the character Mr. Carell attempts to portray, you (or I at least) are constantly reminded that it is Mr. Carell wearing lots of makeup. That being said, the film offers a study into the degrees of control those having the power to exert it will go in order to attain their goals. The film, though slow moving at times (2 hours and 14 minutes) manages to hold the viewer’s interest as these two brothers cope with the idiosyncrasies and desires of their wealthy "mentor". I give the film an 8 but can’t help wondering if a lesser known actor other than Mr. Carell could have been more convincing in the part he played. Expand
  8. Nov 16, 2014
    2
    I think that ed nunez's comment below indicates that he works for the studio that put this movie out.
    i just got in from a full theater at the arclight cinema in hollywood, and everyone said the same thing: huh?
    the movie goes nowhere, it offers no insight into why the characters do anything. they studio may have "caught" a fox, but they lost the script somewhere along the way. what a
    I think that ed nunez's comment below indicates that he works for the studio that put this movie out.
    i just got in from a full theater at the arclight cinema in hollywood, and everyone said the same thing: huh?
    the movie goes nowhere, it offers no insight into why the characters do anything. they studio may have "caught" a fox, but they lost the script somewhere along the way. what a huge disappointment.
    Expand
  9. Nov 16, 2014
    7
    Dark, gruesome and often difficult to watch, Foxcatcher is a harrowing experience which burns slowly and, unfortunately, may leave audiences feeling empty by its end. What works here, and works remarkably, is the trio of performances that are sure to be the talk of the awards season.
  10. Nov 16, 2014
    4
    The edgiest thing Miller accomplishes here is making a sports film that lacks heroism. This is a film that reaches its climax too late and when it finally arrives doesn't match the narrative that precedes it. Aside from a few impressive scenes from Ruffalo, Foxcatcher is the suffocating tale of two unlikeable men told through the solid, but one-note performances written for Carell andThe edgiest thing Miller accomplishes here is making a sports film that lacks heroism. This is a film that reaches its climax too late and when it finally arrives doesn't match the narrative that precedes it. Aside from a few impressive scenes from Ruffalo, Foxcatcher is the suffocating tale of two unlikeable men told through the solid, but one-note performances written for Carell and Tatum. If I'm asked to watch a film that doesn't want me to breathe, my only request is that I'm at least drowned in a sea consisting of more than one shade of blue.

    I think there actually is a great story to tell among this set of characters, but Miller unfortunately chose the wrong one; the real god was in Redgrave raising her prized horses alongside her disappointing and troubled son.
    Expand
  11. Nov 16, 2014
    10
    Very well written story. Many criticisms involve it being "too slow" or the motives being confusing, but it was a true chunk out of reality. It painted a very bleak, and yet beautiful picture of masculinity, and overall humanity. Showing the adverse effects of what our society values can have upon us.
  12. Jan 13, 2015
    0
    I'll add a review for the Steve Carell movie Foxcatcher because it was so distasteful I would have walked if it was not -20 Celsius outside. The director and script writer have no idea of pace or timing. They created a cast of characters no sane person could ever care about. Fill in some details! make care when misfortune befalls them! And yes I realize this is a true story but if theI'll add a review for the Steve Carell movie Foxcatcher because it was so distasteful I would have walked if it was not -20 Celsius outside. The director and script writer have no idea of pace or timing. They created a cast of characters no sane person could ever care about. Fill in some details! make care when misfortune befalls them! And yes I realize this is a true story but if the people are so uninteresting why tell it all? Actually they use the age old phrase "based on a true story". Do they mean their version is embellished? Simply not possible.

    As an example of the inanity of the script our protagonist is told to never talk to Dupont's (carell's) wife if should run into her on the estate grounds. She does not show up on even one frame of film?
    Huh? (apologies if I dozed off).
    Expand
  13. Jan 18, 2015
    9
    Without a doubt it's Bennet Miller's finest work. The way he constructs the tension and dark side of the story is simply brilliant. The film excels in directing because it doesn't takes the easy way, it's a masterclass on how to create a minimal, subtle and elegant thriller. Steve Carrell delivers the best he's done till now with a stunning performance. What it just don't get is why only aWithout a doubt it's Bennet Miller's finest work. The way he constructs the tension and dark side of the story is simply brilliant. The film excels in directing because it doesn't takes the easy way, it's a masterclass on how to create a minimal, subtle and elegant thriller. Steve Carrell delivers the best he's done till now with a stunning performance. What it just don't get is why only a few speak about Channing Tatum? He truly gives a brutal Oscar worthy performance. Expand
  14. Dec 29, 2014
    6
    The movie unquestionably has an eerie haunting quality, but there is something lacking in the last third of the movie. Everything becomes slower and less interesting. Although the movie is decent, it feels kind of pointless.
  15. Jan 12, 2015
    3
    Down in Liverpool Street tube in London there are huge posters for this film. On the poster it says in enormous letters 'Psychological Thriller'!! This is NOT A THRILLER. It is I think, even when compared to Interstellar, possibly the slowest and most tedious movie of the last year. It's like an incredibly slow mockumentary. If it was about an hour shorter it would be ok, The mainDown in Liverpool Street tube in London there are huge posters for this film. On the poster it says in enormous letters 'Psychological Thriller'!! This is NOT A THRILLER. It is I think, even when compared to Interstellar, possibly the slowest and most tedious movie of the last year. It's like an incredibly slow mockumentary. If it was about an hour shorter it would be ok, The main character Steve Carrell plays pauses between each word and slows it all down hugely. The best bit is Channing Tatum's genuine fighting skills and his older brother in the movie who is pretty darn convincing, but the chances of anyone watching this and not being restless or entirely bored for 90% of the film.... 0%. Expand
  16. Nov 22, 2014
    4
    Despite gorgeous cinematography and outstanding performances by Steve Carell, Mark Ruffalo and (especially) Channing Tatum, this laboriously paced, tediously written biopic tragedy offers little more than a meandering, largely pointless story. The film's surprisingly thin narrative seeks to pass off underdevelopment as nuance through a needlessly bloated script and countless scenes ofDespite gorgeous cinematography and outstanding performances by Steve Carell, Mark Ruffalo and (especially) Channing Tatum, this laboriously paced, tediously written biopic tragedy offers little more than a meandering, largely pointless story. The film's surprisingly thin narrative seeks to pass off underdevelopment as nuance through a needlessly bloated script and countless scenes of silent emoting and scant dialogue. Easily one of the most overrated offerings of this year's awards season. Expand
  17. Dec 29, 2014
    4
    Amazing performances do not a good movie make.

    If you relish brilliant actors giving what may be their career defining performances - you should watch this movie.

    If you don't love simply watching actors plying their trade well and instead wish to see a good movie - skip Foxcatcher because it's a mess.
  18. Dec 22, 2014
    8
    This is one of those dramas where everybody pulls out their best acting chops and in this case, it paid off. Channing Tatum plays an solemn Olympic wrestler, who's solicited to train with eccentric, rich John du Pont (Steve Carell). Mark Ruffalo is the older brother, whose relationship is crucial. Carell not only appended the giant schnoz to transform his look, he also assumed a halting,This is one of those dramas where everybody pulls out their best acting chops and in this case, it paid off. Channing Tatum plays an solemn Olympic wrestler, who's solicited to train with eccentric, rich John du Pont (Steve Carell). Mark Ruffalo is the older brother, whose relationship is crucial. Carell not only appended the giant schnoz to transform his look, he also assumed a halting, dark demeanor that's both compelling and creepy. Ruffalo turns in an expected involving performance and Tatum's jumped to a new level with his physical and emotional transformation: touchingly tough and sweet. The story moves at a deliberate pace and could get tedious if it weren't for the riveting performances and astounding story (which is based on fact). Expand
  19. Dec 29, 2014
    9
    This movie is based on real facts, it is a story of Schultz brothers, Mark and Dave, both Olympic champions in free-style wrestling, and a creepy John duPont (of duPont dynasty) who wanted desperately to be a wrestling coach, a mentor, a leader of men, in a word - a great man.

    It’s a deep psychological drama with few dialogs and plenty of raw emotions. The plot-line is fascinating,
    This movie is based on real facts, it is a story of Schultz brothers, Mark and Dave, both Olympic champions in free-style wrestling, and a creepy John duPont (of duPont dynasty) who wanted desperately to be a wrestling coach, a mentor, a leader of men, in a word - a great man.

    It’s a deep psychological drama with few dialogs and plenty of raw emotions.

    The plot-line is fascinating, even though not exactly accurate. But it is not a documentary, artistic license can and should be applied. Performances are excellent across the board, from leads to the smallest parts, which is a trademark of a very good director. Casting could not be better. And have I mentioned cinematography? Excellent! Overall, this is one of the best (if not *the* best) movie of 2014.

    I enjoyed the movie immensely; however I realize that not everybody will like it’s deliberately slow and contemplative pace.
    Expand
  20. Jan 23, 2015
    10
    The amazing true story of John Du Pont and his attempts to coach the US Olympic wrestling team sounds like a dull sports drama, but is anything but. Du Pont was an eccentric millionaire whose motives are never clear, and the film has a sense of dread and impending doom that is almost tangible. The performances across the board are magnificent, but Steve Carell and Channing Tatum areThe amazing true story of John Du Pont and his attempts to coach the US Olympic wrestling team sounds like a dull sports drama, but is anything but. Du Pont was an eccentric millionaire whose motives are never clear, and the film has a sense of dread and impending doom that is almost tangible. The performances across the board are magnificent, but Steve Carell and Channing Tatum are revelatory. Destined to become an American classic Expand
  21. Jan 11, 2015
    6
    Like many on here, I was expecting a bit more from this movie. The character development opportunities were there but not taken and I'm pretty sure Dupont/young Schultz collectively only spoke a dozen times in the movie after being the main focus in the first. I was a bit disappointed overall but I can't deny the acting was solid.
  22. Jan 25, 2015
    8
    What an awful lesson to learn. If a rich guy is so weird he's constantly making your uncomfortable, you're just going to have to forget about the money that you so badly need. It's unfortunate to realize there are so many mentally-Ill people among us, and we don't know when they'll snap. Wish the movie stuck closer to the real story, but it was still an impressive cast of good acting inWhat an awful lesson to learn. If a rich guy is so weird he's constantly making your uncomfortable, you're just going to have to forget about the money that you so badly need. It's unfortunate to realize there are so many mentally-Ill people among us, and we don't know when they'll snap. Wish the movie stuck closer to the real story, but it was still an impressive cast of good acting in this horrible story of a crazy person masquerading as a benevolent mentor. Expand
  23. Nov 21, 2014
    4
    Yes, incredible performances (Tatum, Ruffalo), but the pacing is off-putting and while it's a deliberate choice to make the performances awkward and disturbing, it did the reverse and never allowed me to get into the story, which is not all that interesting to begin with. Yes, an unsettling film, but not disturbing. The 2:20 runtime for the deliberate pacing is not worth the sacrifice andYes, incredible performances (Tatum, Ruffalo), but the pacing is off-putting and while it's a deliberate choice to make the performances awkward and disturbing, it did the reverse and never allowed me to get into the story, which is not all that interesting to begin with. Yes, an unsettling film, but not disturbing. The 2:20 runtime for the deliberate pacing is not worth the sacrifice and the overall film and experience suffers greatly. The totality of the film feels very forced and unnatural. And I really wanted to appreciate this film. Expand
  24. Dec 28, 2014
    6
    The best part of Foxcatcher are the three well acted roles of Carell, Tantum, and Ruffalo. This is a film that reaches its climax too late and when it finally arrives doesn't match the narrative that precedes it. A pace that is slow and mostly effective but not worth the wait.
  25. Jan 5, 2015
    10
    This will be a controversial film because of its style and pacing. The characters are never quite sure what they want to say and thus reveal. The result is a deliberate slowness that may seem, to some, slackness. And although it is a psychological study, it never psychologizes--it's up to the viewer to name or explain the strangeness of these characters. The result is a film that's veryThis will be a controversial film because of its style and pacing. The characters are never quite sure what they want to say and thus reveal. The result is a deliberate slowness that may seem, to some, slackness. And although it is a psychological study, it never psychologizes--it's up to the viewer to name or explain the strangeness of these characters. The result is a film that's very American in its story and very European in its film making. But I found it hypnotic and suggestive. Steve Carell is amazing and Channing Tatum is a revelation--lantern jawed, brooding, never comfortable with his brother or his benefactor. Expand
  26. Dec 19, 2014
    3
    “Foxcatcher” will probably go down in my book of 2014 as the most disappointing movie of the year. There has been so much positive talk of the film, particularly of Steve Carell’s playing of John du Pont that seems will change the direction of his career, that I found that to be the jaw dropping aspect of the whole movie. He is not playing funny but he is playing monotone, no smile,“Foxcatcher” will probably go down in my book of 2014 as the most disappointing movie of the year. There has been so much positive talk of the film, particularly of Steve Carell’s playing of John du Pont that seems will change the direction of his career, that I found that to be the jaw dropping aspect of the whole movie. He is not playing funny but he is playing monotone, no smile, seriousness. Maybe du Pont had that kind of personality but it doesn’t help the movie.

    The editing is some of the worse I have ever seen. I don’t know if it was the director’s, Bennett Miller, choice but there are 5 too many blurry scenes and more than that of unnecessary long shots that made the picture drag at over 2 hours.

    The writers, E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman, leave so much out about du Pont that his final act doesn’t make any sense. Based on a true story, though they show du Pont inhaling cocaine and having drinks, they never show that he was mentally ill. Yes they do show an unfeeling mother but they never reference the sisters and brother he had inferring that he was an only child.

    Channing Tatum, as Mark Schultz, is an Olympic gold winner, more or less the jock presented as a ‘dumb ox’, more than once called an ‘ape’. He really does an excellent job and has a couple of self brutalizing scenes. Mark Ruffalo, as his older brother Dave is also a gold middle winner and the only one in the film who has a happy home life with a wife and 2 children who come first in his life. By the way their medals are in wrestling and you can get bored watching two somewhat hunky guys grappling with each other in two scenes too many, none of the scenes equaling the wrestling scene in “Women In Love” movie!

    In an emotional story like this with the lead being emotionless, and only seeing someone being self destructive getting a response from the audience, made this a very disappointing film to me.
    Expand
  27. Jan 1, 2015
    5
    I was looking forward to seeing this movie because I remember this story from the news when I was a kid. I wondered why a guy from a rich family who had everything would give it all up by murdering a wrestler. Unfortunately after sitting through 2 hours of very slow paced film I still don't know why, there was no explanation why he snapped, he acted strange from beginning to end. Also, whyI was looking forward to seeing this movie because I remember this story from the news when I was a kid. I wondered why a guy from a rich family who had everything would give it all up by murdering a wrestler. Unfortunately after sitting through 2 hours of very slow paced film I still don't know why, there was no explanation why he snapped, he acted strange from beginning to end. Also, why did the 21 Jump Street dude, who called him a father, suddenly act like a dick towards the 40 Year old Virgin guy? Because he gave him a slap after missing a practice? That's a good reason to get slapped, especially since 40 Year Old Virgin is paying for everything. Potentially a great film if it made more sense. Expand
  28. Jan 16, 2015
    6
    A haunting film on a scale not seen in dramas. Carrell plays the character of a deranged billionaire to well I think (joking).
    Channing Tatum and Mark Ruffalo play believable brothers as well.
    Really haunting how it all happened, there are some epilogue pieces which should be watched. In summary, a sad drama about some terrible circumstances, but it's all true (the level of accuracy may
    A haunting film on a scale not seen in dramas. Carrell plays the character of a deranged billionaire to well I think (joking).
    Channing Tatum and Mark Ruffalo play believable brothers as well.
    Really haunting how it all happened, there are some epilogue pieces which should be watched.
    In summary, a sad drama about some terrible circumstances, but it's all true (the level of accuracy may be a bit much at times). See it if you like dramas, or sports montages. It had a very dark, moody feel to it throughout.
    Expand
  29. Dec 14, 2014
    8
    It may be a bit too minimalist in nature for some, but underneath its eerily simplistic and quiet veneer lurks an explosive psychological war film with brilliantly nuanced performances and striking imagery.
  30. Dec 2, 2014
    7
    Foxcatcher is a deliberately slow movie, but a good one. I think it's definitely the weakest of Bennett Miller's three movies though. Mark Ruffalo, Steve Carell and Channing Tatum all shine and the story is interesting, but the pace is very slow burn and when the climax does arrive, it feels a little unwarranted and lacks the massive emotional punch it should have had. Still, wouldn't beFoxcatcher is a deliberately slow movie, but a good one. I think it's definitely the weakest of Bennett Miller's three movies though. Mark Ruffalo, Steve Carell and Channing Tatum all shine and the story is interesting, but the pace is very slow burn and when the climax does arrive, it feels a little unwarranted and lacks the massive emotional punch it should have had. Still, wouldn't be surprised if all three and the director get nominated. Expand
  31. Dec 26, 2014
    6
    Foxcatcher has a great performance by Steve Carrell and very good performances by the entire cast. I had not read any reviews, so the end of the film came as a complete shock to me. The pace of most of the film was rather sedate, and occasionally it almost stalled, possibly because Channing Tatum was too muscle-bound to project much energy or emotion. An interesting film, but not as tenseFoxcatcher has a great performance by Steve Carrell and very good performances by the entire cast. I had not read any reviews, so the end of the film came as a complete shock to me. The pace of most of the film was rather sedate, and occasionally it almost stalled, possibly because Channing Tatum was too muscle-bound to project much energy or emotion. An interesting film, but not as tense or believable as the same director’s Capote. Expand
  32. Jan 5, 2015
    10
    Deservedly winner of best director at Cannes, Bennett Miller is clearly one of the finest directors of his generation. "Foxcatcher" can proudly stand alongside Paul Thomas Anderson's The Master. This is the new great American outsider film, challenging, powerful and terrifying. . Much as been said about Steve Carrell's and Mark Ruffalo's performances but Channing Tatum is simplyDeservedly winner of best director at Cannes, Bennett Miller is clearly one of the finest directors of his generation. "Foxcatcher" can proudly stand alongside Paul Thomas Anderson's The Master. This is the new great American outsider film, challenging, powerful and terrifying. . Much as been said about Steve Carrell's and Mark Ruffalo's performances but Channing Tatum is simply outstanding in a difficult role - a masculine loner who internalises all his fears,anger and anguish. "Foxcatcher" is not for everyone, its a much quieter film than Capote, tenser and ultimately much darker. Expand
  33. Jan 12, 2015
    5
    Although beautifully shot and with great performances, Foxcatcher is for the most part a depressing, gloomy picture. The isolation element that worked so well in "Capote" is overdone here. The American satire in "Moneyball" is used wrongly. The whole movie is just unsettling and bleak, but without redeeming value. Also, 45 minutes could've been shaved off if it was edited better.
  34. Dec 9, 2014
    6
    Foxcatcher will go down as my greatest disappointment of 2014. It is a psychological drama completely devoid of psychological exploration, and buoyed only by the might of the three leads.
  35. Jan 24, 2015
    6
    Believe me when I say that I seriously wanted to give this movie a higher rating, but I can't. Everything about this movie is good (the acting, story, direction).... but the pacing is way too f*cking slow. I love when the pace is slow but at some degree, and Foxcatcher's pace is way too much. Some parts were interesting, other parts were unfortunately boring. This film boasts a beautifullyBelieve me when I say that I seriously wanted to give this movie a higher rating, but I can't. Everything about this movie is good (the acting, story, direction).... but the pacing is way too f*cking slow. I love when the pace is slow but at some degree, and Foxcatcher's pace is way too much. Some parts were interesting, other parts were unfortunately boring. This film boasts a beautifully written screenplay, Steve Carell and Channing Tatum just shine in this movie and the directing is really quite good, but the pace is plodding. I bet there are some people that will enjoy it, but I just can't. I can't be involved in a movie that is heavily paced like "Foxcatcher". Not a bad movie, just a disappointing one. Expand
  36. Jan 18, 2015
    7
    It's undoubtedly flawed but it's also very tense and eerie. Bennet Miller does a good job at creating an atmosphere of hostility, a cloud of darkness looms throughout the film. But this movie belongs heart and soul to Steve Carell who plays a deeply disturbed billionaire who's always just 2 shakes away from exploding like a volcano.
  37. Jan 28, 2015
    8
    Foxcatcher is all about the performance. The main cast are all incredible. Steve Carell pulls off what is certainly a performance of a lifetime for a man who has been known for comedy roles. Carell may not win an Oscar for this film but it did earn him his first nomination and its hard not to cheer for him as the Oscars approach. Mark Ruffalo also received an Oscar nomination for hisFoxcatcher is all about the performance. The main cast are all incredible. Steve Carell pulls off what is certainly a performance of a lifetime for a man who has been known for comedy roles. Carell may not win an Oscar for this film but it did earn him his first nomination and its hard not to cheer for him as the Oscars approach. Mark Ruffalo also received an Oscar nomination for his portrayal of Dave Schultz but its Channing Tatum who surprises me out of the whole cast. Tatum shows that he is certainly capable to of a serious role and he doesn't always have to be a big box office draw. I read Mark Schultz (who makes a cameo in the film if you know his story see if you can point him out) biography prior to watching the Foxcatcher movie and sure it does not necessarily follow the most true story but the film is still effective. The film was a lot darker and more thriller like than I had expected as I figured it would be more of an intense sport film. The ending of course is a pivotal part of the film and I will not give it away but if you are unaware of the Foxcatcher story it will likely shock you and I think that is why this film has gotten such critical acclaim because its a true story that many people are completely unaware of. If you're a fan of sports movie I would maybe sit this film out because it certainly not full of action but if you want to see some amazing acting Foxcatcher is a film for you. Expand
  38. Jan 20, 2015
    4
    Yet another massively over-rated by the jackass critics awards contender that deserves NONE, and is a complete bore. The quiet, slow, deliberate, methodical pace here is much the same as in the director's previous work "Capote" and "Moneyball" where in both cases it worked well. Here it definitely does NOT!
    All the fuss over the performances can be chalked up to an SNL level sketch with
    Yet another massively over-rated by the jackass critics awards contender that deserves NONE, and is a complete bore. The quiet, slow, deliberate, methodical pace here is much the same as in the director's previous work "Capote" and "Moneyball" where in both cases it worked well. Here it definitely does NOT!
    All the fuss over the performances can be chalked up to an SNL level sketch with simple prosthetics.
    Is that worthy of Oscars much less your dollars and time? No way.
    Expand
  39. Jan 7, 2015
    5
    Había oído mucho hablar de esta película y me ha decepcionado. Tanto escándalo para esto. Channing Tatum, Steve Carrel y Mark Ruffalo hacen el papelón de su vida, pero es una película LENTA y ABURRIDA (aunque tiene sus momentazos). En serio, no entiendo el escándalo ni porqué está entre una de las mejores películas de 2014.
  40. Jan 12, 2015
    8
    This is a really good movie with outstanding performances from Channing Tatum and Mark Ruffalo who have excellent on screen chemistry and Steve Carell gives the performance of his career. it also has great cinematography and can be really gripping. however i did feel a bit confused on what the film was trying to convey if anything and i felt that the film was so depressing that i'm notThis is a really good movie with outstanding performances from Channing Tatum and Mark Ruffalo who have excellent on screen chemistry and Steve Carell gives the performance of his career. it also has great cinematography and can be really gripping. however i did feel a bit confused on what the film was trying to convey if anything and i felt that the film was so depressing that i'm not sure i would re-watch it. that being said i would still highly recommend it especially to wrestling fans Expand
  41. Jan 23, 2015
    9
    If you want to see Steve Carell being a creepy **** then this is the movie for you. If you want to see wrestlers grapple and slap each other on the head and eat cake and smash mirrors and run through forests and observe the equine wildlife through binoculars and inhale cocaine and respect the bird wildlife and watch the history of the du pont family then this is the movie for you. If youIf you want to see Steve Carell being a creepy **** then this is the movie for you. If you want to see wrestlers grapple and slap each other on the head and eat cake and smash mirrors and run through forests and observe the equine wildlife through binoculars and inhale cocaine and respect the bird wildlife and watch the history of the du pont family then this is the movie for you. If you want to see channing tatum hit himself repeatedly then this is the movie for you.

    For me it had to be Mark ruffalos neck beard that made this a must watch for me. Ruffalo's beard's performance was outstanding, it completely overshadowed Tatum's performance.

    This movie gets a 9.734 out of ten for me but metacritic will only let me give whole number score so i give it 10. Congratulations ruffalo beard.
    Expand
  42. Jan 8, 2015
    8
    “Foxcatcher”’s true story and ensemble both seem to have a cold and frosty shade of white over them and the film generally has that too, both literally and metaphorically. Bennett Miller’s direction reflects this, and the several chilling shots he captures, for me made my experience within that screen.
    The film’s true story follows Mark Schulz as he trains to win the Gold medal for
    “Foxcatcher”’s true story and ensemble both seem to have a cold and frosty shade of white over them and the film generally has that too, both literally and metaphorically. Bennett Miller’s direction reflects this, and the several chilling shots he captures, for me made my experience within that screen.
    The film’s true story follows Mark Schulz as he trains to win the Gold medal for Wrestling at the 1988 Seoul Olympics, with the help of the multimillionaire John Du Pont. As usual difficult questions are posed and “Foxcatcher” again asks us a question, as so many films do, about America, and as Erin Whitney and Matthew Jacobs point out in their review for the Huffington Post, it is one that acts as “a distant horror story for the 1% percent”. The film comments heavily on this with the multimillionaire Du Pont as the man at the fore front of these comments understandably. For example Du Pont almost seems to have the Olympic Wrestling Schulz brothers simply because they form part of his trophy cabinet, as objects to play with at his disposal, which acts as an explanation for the films ending.
    But the compelling true story and character study, particularly in regards to John Du Pont (played by Steve Carrell), is the films strength and a fascinating one at that. It will probably be unknown to my generation. But as usual the story told here is different to the one that actually happened and on reading what did happen it seems that the film’s director, Bennett Miller, missed out on several details that could have made the story that much better. For example, although the film does pick up on Du Pont’s descent into madness to an extent, it doesn’t take the opportunity to make it obvious and although I appreciate subtlety I think it would have been even better otherwise. In the true story, Du Pont for example thought that his horses were sending him messages from Mars and he also frequently asked his wrestlers to check his attic for ghosts. This really would have been a test for Carrell and could have contributed to an already stellar performance by him.
    The film though is propelled forward by its performances that branch out past what these actors are typically known for, Channing Tatum (playing Mark Schulz) and Mark Ruffalo (playing Dave Schulz) for example. But it is Steve Carrell’s performance that manages to break through the story and again what roles he is generally known for, and the hole that he leaves allows for Channing Tatum and Mark Ruffalo to follow through it, and therefore still deserved of the praise they have received from others. These performances ultimately stop “Foxcatcher” from being defined as good for its story alone.
    Bennett Miller’s direction is good. As I mentioned several of the shots he captured really made my cinematic experience, the best of those featuring Du Pont releasing his horses out into the wild. We see Du Pont’s dark silhouette with his hands raised, urging his horses to flee and it looked great on screen.
    Although its story is good and its ensemble, headed up by Carrell, is brilliant “Foxcatcher” doesn’t bring anything new to the table, and although I didn’t expect it to, I did expect it to do more than it did. It’s a vague expression to say that and I’m lost for words really in how to describe why I’m not rating the film better, but it’s almost as if, thinking about it, the film was saved by its ensemble performances which will explain why so many will have it in their best films of 2015 lists come the end of the year. Ultimately, “Foxcatcher” is a good film and worth seeing, but not one that lives up to the hype surrounding it.
    Expand
  43. Nov 16, 2014
    2
    Norman Bates. A sexless boy toy and a bullet. a tragic story. a horrible movie.
    why do reviews have to be 150 characters? etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc
  44. Dec 27, 2014
    9
    Foxcatcher is the most disturbing, creepy and most well acted movie I’ve seen all year. The three leads all give Oscar worthy performances including a career changing performance by Steve Carell.
  45. Nov 26, 2014
    10
    Wow! 1st 15 minutes are slow, but it picks up to a crescendo. One of the best true movies that I have ever seen. Brilliant acting, very well done. I remember the tragedy, and I believe that the movie does not deviate very far from the total truth. Mesmerizing and gripping to say the least. Great film. Sure to be an Oscar contender.
  46. Dec 10, 2014
    7
    A couple of brief thoughts on Foxcatcher:
    A fascinating, albeit slow, character-driven study of the corroded American dream, privilege, devotion and entitlement. The film's muted color palette is painterly - but a dash of sunshine/color here and there would have been a welcome respite from all the doom and gloom. It's all seen through the prism of shattered aspirations and hopelessness -
    A couple of brief thoughts on Foxcatcher:
    A fascinating, albeit slow, character-driven study of the corroded American dream, privilege, devotion and entitlement. The film's muted color palette is painterly - but a dash of sunshine/color here and there would have been a welcome respite from all the doom and gloom. It's all seen through the prism of shattered aspirations and hopelessness - we get it, Bennett Miller, you don't have to choke us with it!
    Mark Ruffalo's performance is the most effective, buoying the film with a much-needed warmth; he's the heart and soul of "Foxcatcher" (and of pretty much every film he's in).
    Steve Carell, while effectively frightening, needy and insecure as DuPont, seemingly had trouble fully committing to the performance - from time to time, a glimpse of "The Office"'s Michael Scott surfaces through all the layers of make-up. It's in a gesture, a mannerism - the prosthetics, once again (see: "The Hours"), prove distracting, making one focus on recognizing familiar aspect of the established celebrity personality, rather than the character being played. That said, there are several powerful moments where the actor truly shines, utilizing the gargantuan nose and thin lips to great (and greatly creepy) effect.
    Channing Tatum is technically the protagonist of the film, featured in almost every scene, and he's compelling to watch, imbuing his staple "dumb-but-talented oaf" character (see: "Magic Mike") with gravitas and a sense of purpose. Still, he weighs the already-heavy film down with a resolute seriousness. Crack a smile, just once, Channing! There are also moments where he overdoes it a bit, such as the sequence where he bashes through a mirror with his head, weeping and scowling. Method acting, folks!
    The film presents the final murder as totally random and unexpected - supposedly, that's how it happened in real life. It's effective on one level, but also made me wish the narrative had more of a sense of purpose, more of a drive, a momentum that led to this point. Miller's "Moneyball" was far more entertaining; this is more of a return to his "Capote" roots, where everything is meaningful and disconnected at the same time, and the final result drags.
    As it stands, watching "Foxcatcher" is like looking at a beautiful, impactful painting that you wouldn't want hanging in your living room.
    Expand
  47. Dec 22, 2014
    9
    What do you get when a rich megalomaniac with mommy-issues who hates horses basically buys a wrestling team, names himself coach, and, after failing to see a gold medal from the 1988 Olympics, doesn't quite get his way? I won't spoil it for you, but it's closely based on a true story so you could look it up if you saw fit. The film is a slow paced march toward that inevitable conclusion.What do you get when a rich megalomaniac with mommy-issues who hates horses basically buys a wrestling team, names himself coach, and, after failing to see a gold medal from the 1988 Olympics, doesn't quite get his way? I won't spoil it for you, but it's closely based on a true story so you could look it up if you saw fit. The film is a slow paced march toward that inevitable conclusion. The pacing is brilliant and winds tension up beautifully all the way through. Long moments of silence that leave you to wonder just what is going on in the characters' heads.

    Bennett Miller has coaxed amazing performances from three great leads. This is by far Steve Carrell's best work. Ruffalo and Tatum are great as well. Dialogue is sparse and emotions are understated and real. It is fasinating to watch Du Pont's slow spiral into madness. It made me think of "affluenza." If he weren't so rich and intimidating to those around him, someone probably would have noticed that something just wasn't quite right, and the audience of this movie surely will.

    This won't be for everyone. Not everyone has the patience for a slow moving, plodding drama. I recommend Googling the conclusion. I think I enjoyed the movie more knowing what was coming, and it still surprised me. That knowledge helped the suspense build more.
    Expand
  48. Dec 17, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I remember the murder of Olympic wrestler Dave Schultz like it was just yesterday. Being from the Philadelphia area, the story was all that anyone talked about for weeks after the tragedy. Not only was Dave Schultz an Olympic gold medalist, but John du Pont and his family were such big personalities in these parts. It's not everyday you get to relive a local tragedy played out on film, but Director Bennett Miller has reenacted this story for the screen in hauntingly realistic fashion. Foxcatcher is going to leave you speechless.
    Mark Schultz (Channing Tatum) is an Olympic gold medalist for wrestling who has ambitions of returning to the Olympics to win gold in the 1998 Seoul games. Life on the outside for the Olympic gold medalist isn't all fame and glory. Living alone in a run down apartment and living on ramen noodles in between workouts has become a way of life for the American hero. Mark's older brother Dave (Mark Ruffalo) is also an Olympic gold medal wrestler who is helping Mark get ready for the World Championships. A relationship that appears, on the surface, to be strained by jealousy on the part of Mark. Dave has won multiple championships, has a loving family with his wife Nancy (Sienna Miller), and their young children and steady employment, while Mark struggles with his place in life. Mark is determined to leave his own mark and get out of the shadow of his successful brother.
    John du Pont (Steve Carrell) is a multimillionaire sports enthusiast with aspirations of becoming a wrestling mentor. His dream is to have his wrestling facility, Foxcatcher Farms, be the official wrestling training site for the US Olympic team. What du Pont needs is an Olympic wrestler to train on his grounds and help begin to build his dream. After being contacted by du Pont's representatives, Mark flies to Pennsylvania to meet with the philanthropist and the two come to an agreement. The agreement not only allows Mark financial freedom, but also allows Mark to remove himself from Dave's influence. A divide between the brothers has been fortified and allows the influence of du Pont to take hold.
    It becomes quickly apparent that du Pont's aspirations of an athletic career were squandered by his conservative mother (Vanessa Redgrave), which has led the eccentric man-child to believe coaching to be his strongest asset. With little experience in molding young minds in the art of wrestling, it becomes abundantly clear that du Pont's interest appear nothing more than a mere hobby. Du Pont's power and influence have allowed him to exploit a young man who's in need of a father-figure and brainwashed him into believing that he's the answer Mark has been searching for. The influence of du Pont quickly takes hold on Mark and his life begins to spiral out of control.
    Determined to make Foxcatcher successful, du Pont hires the services of Mark's brother Dave to train the group for the Olympic trials, a move that does not sit well with Mark. Tensions begin to escalate between the three men and a mental chess game begins. Dave attempts to derail Mark's freefall and navigate du Pont's eclectic personality all the while trying to keep the team on track to meet its goal of becoming Olympic champs. As the story culminates with the death of Dave you can assume that things take a turn for the worse. It's the buildup to the event that stands apart from the rest of the story, the hows and the whys, and those things become the most chilling.
    Director Bennett Miller (Moneyball) has created a eerily mesmerizing depiction of manipulation and deceit and the cinematography of Greig Fraser (Zero Dark Thirty) is gripping. The performances by each of the three actors is spellbinding. Tatum allows his chiseled persona to omit vulnerability and allow for an emotionally driven performance of a life time. Mark Ruffalo is the calming force between two tides in this film and he allows for a balance sorely needed. Ruffalo is never overpowering and he allows his character to play off each of his costars and his brotherly relationship with Mark is wonderful. Steve Carrell is haunting as the eccentric du Pont. His transformation into this character, including the mannerisms and mental state, are truly a wonder and one of the most interesting performances of his career.
    Overall, Foxcatcher is a gripping film but albeit a long, slow one. A movie delayed nearly a year by the studio to "complete" the film is never a good sign, but the performances by Tatum and Carrell may push this one into contention for award consideration. This movie is not for everyone, fans of these actors earlier work may find the movie boring and uninteresting, but if you're looking for a good drama, this may be a film that would interest you.
    Expand
  49. Dec 22, 2014
    2
    Thought it was a terrible movie- slow and boring. Steve Corell's fine acting couldn't help. And the tragic event towards the end was very disturbing. Not good.
  50. Jan 15, 2015
    3
    Good performances do not make up for weak script and snail pacing. I'm a former college wrestler - and screenwriter - who knew this story well. Carrell is terrific as the creepiest creep this side of Hannibal Lecter - albeit without an ounce of humor or interesting quality. Channing is just fine. Mark Ruffalo is completely unconvincing as a world class wrestler, so out of shape theyGood performances do not make up for weak script and snail pacing. I'm a former college wrestler - and screenwriter - who knew this story well. Carrell is terrific as the creepiest creep this side of Hannibal Lecter - albeit without an ounce of humor or interesting quality. Channing is just fine. Mark Ruffalo is completely unconvincing as a world class wrestler, so out of shape they have to cover his belly, and could barely fake his wrestling scenes. But it's the grim, slow, deathly silent pacing that kills what could have been a good film. Expand
  51. Dec 26, 2014
    9
    Foxcatcher is mesmerizing, sad and profound. I am old enough to know how it ends, yet I was fascinated throughout. It is a statement about the fragility of people who, on the outside, have everything and about the brokenness that comes from loss that neither money or accomplishment can cure. Steve Carell's John DuPont is creepy, Channing Tatum's Mark Shultz is tortured success and MarkFoxcatcher is mesmerizing, sad and profound. I am old enough to know how it ends, yet I was fascinated throughout. It is a statement about the fragility of people who, on the outside, have everything and about the brokenness that comes from loss that neither money or accomplishment can cure. Steve Carell's John DuPont is creepy, Channing Tatum's Mark Shultz is tortured success and Mark Ruffalo's Dave Shultz is admirable, accomplished and good (DuPont's opposite). I am old enough to remember how the story ends, but I was fascinated until the very, bitter end. Expand
  52. Jan 8, 2015
    8
    Foxcatcher is everything you would come to expect from a movie that re-tells true events. Channing Tatum, Steve Carrell, and Mark Ruffalo all respectively deserve awards for their incredible performances in this film. All play such very different roles but they all just mash together perfectly under the direction of Bennet Miller. Foxcatcher is brilliantly written. It's raw, it's dark, andFoxcatcher is everything you would come to expect from a movie that re-tells true events. Channing Tatum, Steve Carrell, and Mark Ruffalo all respectively deserve awards for their incredible performances in this film. All play such very different roles but they all just mash together perfectly under the direction of Bennet Miller. Foxcatcher is brilliantly written. It's raw, it's dark, and it's honest. It's a must see and one the best films of 2014 Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jan 16, 2015
    60
    Foxcatcher isn't a film many viewers will clamor to rewatch. It's too chilly a film for that. At the same time, it's one that will suck them in -- and it will hold them while they're there.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jan 14, 2015
    100
    Miller unravels this story with the grim inevitability of a death row vigil, but not without flashes of sly humor.
  3. Reviewed by: Emma Dibdin
    Jan 9, 2015
    80
    A hypnotically disturbing triumph for Miller and his cast. Bruisingly intimate and psychologically nuanced, its spiral into savagery lingers like a bad dream.