User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 59
  2. Negative: 9 out of 59

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 8, 2011
    5
    This movie is fairly interesting, however, the ending is very disturbing because I am an agnostic. I do not deny the existence of god but I also have seen no proof, ergo the ending would be disturbing to a logical person.
  2. Apr 14, 2011
    8
    http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/04/frailty.html I wasn't sure what I was getting myself into when I was suggested this movie and decided to watch it. When I was suggested it I looked it up and discovered it was a thriller about a serial killer, I'm game! One of my favorite genres so I of course gave it a shot. From the start I was a little skeptical. The first few scenes the acting was pretty spotty actually and it made me heavily doubt this movie. However, then the meat of the movie started to roll in and I could see the shining spots. This movie excelled, and I mean excelled, when it came to plot twists and overall story line.

    The basic storyline for those who don't know this movie already follows a man who comes into the FBI and says he knows the identity of a serial killer. He then goes on to explain the story of how when he was young, his father saw a vision from God who told him to destroy "demons" and then went on to capture these demons and kill them in front of them and have them partake. Sounds simple enough but the way it was shown on camera and story wise was phenomenal. They did it so well I felt at times like I completely understood where the dad was coming from and didn't feel the typical hatred for him. So that was a major change in a movie personality for me. Here is this guy who they are showing to be completely rational at first, who goes "crazy" but then make you doubt that he's crazy at all and is actually justified!

    Then the movie goes even further and introduces you two huge twists at the end which I won't spoil but I will say that you really need to see this movie. I feel it changed my perception on the whole aspect of serial killing. Not that I find it justifiable now but the fact that the movie portrayed them having in their mind, completely rational reasons and didn't even think they were killing people. Huge mind benders in this movie, don't let the poor acting scare you off.
    Expand
  3. Dec 2, 2010
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Starts out as a good psychological and moral chiller which ends up with a drawn out disappointing ending with one plot twist too many. Paxtons descent into apparent insanity is too quick, and an attractive idea that can be taken from the film which is the greatest evil comes from men who believe that they are doing good is swiftly destroyed with the reveal that it was God all along taking with it themes that could have been explored of sibling rivalry and family loyalty. Had the writer kept his feet on the ground this could have been so much better. Instead the script starts to implode leaving you wondering why you bothered in the first place. Expand
  4. DHE
    Dec 3, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A bait-and-switch contrivance of the worst kind. (Is there a good kind?) The creepy religious weirdness that characterized the bulk of the movie was an accurate - and disturbing - cautionary tale about how faith and belief untethered to objective reality morphs seamlessly into bat-**** crazy. Unfortunately, there are plenty of people like those depicted in the film (some of them are currently running for president), so the apparent message of the film would have seemed to be: watch out for nut-jobs masquerading as good God-fearing people. I say apparent because this prevailing theme gives way in the end to its opposite. Namely, no matter how crazy you thought these people were, you were wrong: they were actually doing God's handiwork. Really. So I guess regardless of how irrational people might seem, who knows, they may just be taking orders from God. This is not a plot twist; it's a plot reversal. Or a sick joke. If you're truly religious, I don't see how you could make it through most of this movie. If you're not, you'll be thoroughly disgusted with the ending. If you're neither, maybe this is the movie for you. Expand
  5. May 24, 2013
    9
    Having terrorised a small Texan town years before, the God's Hand Killer has returned leaving many more victims. Late at night Fenton Meiks arrives at FBI Headquarters claiming he knows the killers identity and so, in order to convince Agent Doyle Fenton, returns to the beginning of a story that started with his father.

    Frailty doesnt rely on blood and gore to produce its shocks instead
    choosing to gradually explore the relationship between Meiks, his brother and his father. The story that builds is truly gripping as we learn the origin of the Gods Hand Killer and start to understand how Meiks knows as much as he does. Thankfully the finale is able to match the rest of the film making for one of the most underrated thrillers in recent times. Expand
  6. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    A film that is like many other crime dramas but with a dark scary twist to it. Every scene in this film is important. The film flows very smoothly and the shocking finish fits perfectly with the past events that have already occured in the film. Unlike many other films this ending was necessary for the story and it's themes. The question i'm still pondering at the end of the film is if Adam Meekes is a hero or if Fenton was right. The film does lean towards one side but there is still room for Fenton's perspective. Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2011
    7
    This is a good film.. i thought that the plot was well thought out and it's a very interesting film to watch. the ending is very clever and i liked this film a lot. whilst the film's plot twist is obvious from the beginning it's still very gripping
  8. Feb 24, 2013
    4
    This is a great cast in a terrible movie. McConaughey goes to the FBI with an eyewitness account of a notorious murder he witnessed when he was a kid. From there the whole movie is done in flashbacks, similar to The Usual Suspects. Sounds pretty good right? Nope! In The Usual Suspects, things happen, you were drawn into the story. Frailty doesn't have any of that. It's like watching one of these lame reality shows, that takes place inside some families home. Until the end nothing happens! ...finally you get to the end and you see something! My reaction to it was, 'that was it, that's what you were building up to this whole time!?' The trailer, the description, and the cast might suck you in, but seeing this movie is a waste of time. Expand
  9. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    One of the best thrillers ever
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. There's a good little psychological thriller buried underneath all the manufactured shocks, in the story of a powerless child standing alone against a parent's mental illness.
  2. Most of Frailty is so good -- done in a low-key, realistic mood of genuine creepiness and dread -- that it doesn't need formula shocks.
  3. 60
    Audiences are destined to debate the film's final scenes, where Hanley piles on plot twists, leading to a coda that turns a creepily ambiguous story about God and the terrifying power of paternal love into something closer to an X-File.