Friday the 13th

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 244 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 244

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 12, 2012
    3
    It's almost as if they didn't even watch the original Friday the 13th before making this. Please ignore this piece of crap, this is hollywood trying to get every buck they can. Thank the lord for redbox. But still, buying gum with my one dollar would've been a better investment.
  2. Oct 9, 2011
    4
    Everything that I have seen before I found here. The same poor acting that I saw on other horror films I found here too. The same "scary" moments. The same archetype murderer. Nothing new. Nothing original.
  3. Sep 6, 2011
    0
    Why does this movie have a higher score than other Horror movies that are actually better than it? I hated it. It just seemed like another stupid sequel
  4. Jan 6, 2012
    3
    it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.v
  5. Aug 31, 2012
    1
    Really a very disappointing remake. The film begins with the death of the mother of Jason and Jason as a child who grabs the machete used to kill her. After that scene, the movie is full of clichés and ridiculous characters and already seen the boy with glasses who is a loser, then black and foreign that have to be ridiculous, the girls have to be naked, the boys always in heat andReally a very disappointing remake. The film begins with the death of the mother of Jason and Jason as a child who grabs the machete used to kill her. After that scene, the movie is full of clichés and ridiculous characters and already seen the boy with glasses who is a loser, then black and foreign that have to be ridiculous, the girls have to be naked, the boys always in heat and two normal characters. If I can describe the movie in two words are sex and drugs. The good thing about the film are Jason and the deaths of the characters. At least the dead have not been studied repetitive, but all in the spoken to him. However a disappointing film. Expand
  6. Feb 20, 2012
    0
    Mind-numbing garbage that doesn't even try to follow the source material its supposedly remaking.
  7. Sep 26, 2011
    2
    I'm a huge horror film fan and i liked most of the original Friday the 13th films. But in this modern age, filmmakers seems to have forgotten what horror is all about. Nowadays it's just lots and lots of dreadfully boring gore flicks. Horror films is supposed to be about suspense and scare but those things are almost completely abscent in todays films. And this new tradition continues onI'm a huge horror film fan and i liked most of the original Friday the 13th films. But in this modern age, filmmakers seems to have forgotten what horror is all about. Nowadays it's just lots and lots of dreadfully boring gore flicks. Horror films is supposed to be about suspense and scare but those things are almost completely abscent in todays films. And this new tradition continues on in this remake. This movie is a total bore and is not worth more than a rent at best. Expand
  8. Sep 18, 2011
    5
    The lousy remake "Friday the 13th" is only there for the ones who greatly enjoy slash-and-hack movies that includes boobs and blood. If your not one of them, don't even consider watching this.
  9. Dec 28, 2010
    2
    wow this is 80s horror in its truest form... lame . ok i dont know why the hell any one goes to the theater and supports theese kind of **** slasher films. every thing about this movie was predictable . i mean i predicted when every person was gona die atleast 2-5 min before it happend . the only scaryy thing about this film to me is that there are people that like this crap. the onlywow this is 80s horror in its truest form... lame . ok i dont know why the hell any one goes to the theater and supports theese kind of **** slasher films. every thing about this movie was predictable . i mean i predicted when every person was gona die atleast 2-5 min before it happend . the only scaryy thing about this film to me is that there are people that like this crap. the only reason i give this 2 points is for the 2 nice sets of breasts i saw in this craptacular **** . its not that i dont like slasher films its just that for the love of god make them more innovative then abunch of dumb (and i emphisize dumb) teenagers go out in the woods have sex and get killed or get drunk and get killed and then just keep doing that despite of all the dead bodies and missing people that do or dont show up. Expand
  10. Oct 16, 2010
    1
    um, do we really need a 2009 remake of the 1980 horror movie that had became one of the worst movies ever made? no, we didn't want to, but instead they did. god, those people are just being too stupid and naive seeing this crappy remake.
  11. Apr 30, 2011
    0
    I like to write reviews based primarily on how much enjoyment I got from watching the film in question. Therefore, my score of 0 speaks for itself.
  12. Jun 21, 2011
    2
    Terrible. Just terrible. This movie embodies everything that is wrong with modern horror movies. The characters weren't likable (complete with cheesy dialogue and bad acting), the story was riddled with plot holes, and, to top it all off, the killer had no motive. Watch it if you're a fan horrid movies, which seems silly to me. Otherwise, stay away. Oh, and it's not scary. At all.
  13. Nov 26, 2011
    7
    Okay, for the record, I have a soft spot for Friday the 13th movies. Jason is my favorite slasher from the 80's. So hearing that they were going to remake the Friday movies got me hyped, a lot. Perhaps a little too much though, as when I left the movie theater, I was a bit disappointed. Now I own the movie on Blu-ray so that disappointment didn't last long. If you liked the otherOkay, for the record, I have a soft spot for Friday the 13th movies. Jason is my favorite slasher from the 80's. So hearing that they were going to remake the Friday movies got me hyped, a lot. Perhaps a little too much though, as when I left the movie theater, I was a bit disappointed. Now I own the movie on Blu-ray so that disappointment didn't last long. If you liked the other Friday sequels like part 4, then you will probably like this movie. It's cheesy, slasher fun, full of obnoxious **** that need a good axe to the face. Enough said. Expand
  14. Feb 17, 2014
    6
    Disappointing remake...can it be classified as a remake?....or a stand alone movie? The film has it's good points. Jason is again given human traits; the finding of the hockey mask is an interesting and clever scene; including the bag headed version of Jason was a good touch. Most of the acting was good, but some was just lousy.
    Some clever, effective kills. I just wasn't scared
    Disappointing remake...can it be classified as a remake?....or a stand alone movie? The film has it's good points. Jason is again given human traits; the finding of the hockey mask is an interesting and clever scene; including the bag headed version of Jason was a good touch. Most of the acting was good, but some was just lousy.
    Some clever, effective kills. I just wasn't scared watching this film. Too much sarcasm from the characters, I guess. The ending was a shocker, cliffhanger, though.

    All in all they could have done better.
    Expand
  15. May 3, 2011
    3
    Wow this sucked sorta this movie was boring and made fun of the horror name i mean please i could go to camp crystal lake and do much better than this
  16. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    It's more effective than the previous horror films: The Final Destination, Prom Night or any cheap horror movie. It's very actable and horrifying..........................
  17. JimboH.
    Jun 25, 2009
    4
    The movie hits an awkward spot where it tries to be campy and scary at the same time and manages to be neither. Best part of the movie are the scenes with boobies in them, and I assure you, calling them "boobies" is a bit more accurate than calling them "breasts". Worst part is that it is in general too predictable and the killings too plain. For example, the foreshadowing needs to be a The movie hits an awkward spot where it tries to be campy and scary at the same time and manages to be neither. Best part of the movie are the scenes with boobies in them, and I assure you, calling them "boobies" is a bit more accurate than calling them "breasts". Worst part is that it is in general too predictable and the killings too plain. For example, the foreshadowing needs to be a little more subtle than "HEY THIS WOMAN IN THE LOCKET LOOKS LIKE YOU!!". Expand
  18. RyanS
    Jul 3, 2009
    4
    This movie was pretty terrible. At least the irritating teenagers all got killed. You're actually cheering for Jason throughout the movie.
  19. HarleyS.
    Feb 28, 2009
    10
    This was the first R rated movie I've seen, and I must say it was great. I enjoyed the original, and this was a great reimagining of it. There's plenty of breasts, gore and intense moments sure to keep you on the edge of your seat.
  20. Terrman
    Feb 23, 2009
    10
    Now that's entertainment! This movie starts off by despaching all the characters with amazing style in the first 15 minutes - OK, damn short movie, but cool... Well that just setup the plot for the rest of the film which was a blast in the best of the slasher-movie sense. Full-on fun.
  21. antwianf
    Jun 22, 2009
    4
    Watchable. Not very entertaining. A bit of a letdown. The best of all though which is not saying much.
  22. ScottN
    Jun 29, 2009
    2
    Basically nothing more than another forgettable horror movie remake. Compared with the endless onslaught of horror remakes, this file is pretty comparable, but that's not saying alot as most of these remakes offer very little of anything new, and lack the intensity and effectiveness of the originals. Friday the 13th is no exception. I will say that they did a good job with Jason and Basically nothing more than another forgettable horror movie remake. Compared with the endless onslaught of horror remakes, this file is pretty comparable, but that's not saying alot as most of these remakes offer very little of anything new, and lack the intensity and effectiveness of the originals. Friday the 13th is no exception. I will say that they did a good job with Jason and there were some good kills in this movie. F13 fans will be pleased at the usual amount of gratuitous fornication taking place in this film (a trademark of F13 movies), but those bells and whistles are the only resemblance to the original movies. Gone are the intense music (even during action/murder scenes), the witty humor, and the charasmatic characters. F13 2009 is nothing more than a shell of Sean Cunningham's original classic. Not the worst movie I've ever seen (I've seen some doosies) but quickly forgotten once I was done watching it. Yawn. Expand
  23. Oct 22, 2010
    5
    Friday the 13th is a decent remake of a decent original. This slasher movie is nowhere near as bad as other modern horrors and slashers that destroyed the genre but that doesn't make it a very good movie. The script could have been a lot better, contained a lot more substance than it did and porbably went something like - Man in mask kills teen one, kills teen two and continues killingFriday the 13th is a decent remake of a decent original. This slasher movie is nowhere near as bad as other modern horrors and slashers that destroyed the genre but that doesn't make it a very good movie. The script could have been a lot better, contained a lot more substance than it did and porbably went something like - Man in mask kills teen one, kills teen two and continues killing teens until he eventually fails, dies and somehow comes back to life but it's the varying amount of ways he kills his victims that redeem this movie, slightly. Expand
  24. Apr 20, 2013
    8
    Why do people say in many horror remakes "This isn't as bad as Friday the 13th remake." What is it about this one that is so terrible? I watched all 11 Jason movies and this REBOOT, not remake. If this was a remake, then Jason wouldn't be in this one. Anyways, what I hear most is "The guy doesn't even look like Jason Voorhees." Let's describe him shall we, this was before he was a zombieWhy do people say in many horror remakes "This isn't as bad as Friday the 13th remake." What is it about this one that is so terrible? I watched all 11 Jason movies and this REBOOT, not remake. If this was a remake, then Jason wouldn't be in this one. Anyways, what I hear most is "The guy doesn't even look like Jason Voorhees." Let's describe him shall we, this was before he was a zombie so we're looking at Part 2-4. He has a disfigured head, wears a sack on his head till he gets a hockey mask, and he carries a machete. In the remake, he looks just like that. "The other characters are stupid and are meant to die." Guys, did you even watch the other movies...in fact, have you seen any slasher movies? Every character in the Friday the 13th movies are all disposable for Jason to kill, except the main character. This takes place in Crystal Lake, just like the original movies. Jason takes his time killing people, just like the original movies. Most importantly, Jason didn't die. Do I have to mention about the original movies again? What is it about this movie that pissed people off and say its the worst remake. It didn't copy and paste anything and it wasn't anything different from the original movies. What I saw was a Friday the 13th movie. Expand
  25. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    So it's not everyone's cup of tea, it' not the best story line, but it is rememberable... Jason Voohees has got to be one of the best horror characters ever invented! It's genius, it's legendary, it's Friday The 13th!
  26. Sep 1, 2011
    6
    For all you complaining about it being a remake and waaa waaaa shut the hell up, if you dont like remakes then don't watch the damn movie, plain and simple!!! And im sorry but this is better than most of the absurb sequels that followed the original, after friday the 13th pt 2, the franchise pretty much stunk. I loved the first 2 movies, but they were not suspenseful, they were just hackFor all you complaining about it being a remake and waaa waaaa shut the hell up, if you dont like remakes then don't watch the damn movie, plain and simple!!! And im sorry but this is better than most of the absurb sequels that followed the original, after friday the 13th pt 2, the franchise pretty much stunk. I loved the first 2 movies, but they were not suspenseful, they were just hack and slash. This was a good remake, it is what you would expect from a Jason movie, except he runs(which was nice) instead of walking behind you and then miraciously appearing right in front of you(teleportation much?) If you dont like remakes then dont watch it, no one is forcing you too! Expand
  27. Aug 19, 2012
    6
    Not a great movie, but it's a good movie to see if any one night with friends. Some scenes are very tense and screenplay is reasonably good, is not an exceptional film, but worth watching.
  28. SamA
    Feb 13, 2009
    8
    I came into this not expecting a whole lot but I was happily suprised as to how good this movie is. I don't understand why the critics are saying the kills are not unique. They are phenonal! There were kills in this movie that i've never seen before and i watch a lot of horror movies. The acting wasn't great but padalecki and righetti as the leads were very good as well as I came into this not expecting a whole lot but I was happily suprised as to how good this movie is. I don't understand why the critics are saying the kills are not unique. They are phenonal! There were kills in this movie that i've never seen before and i watch a lot of horror movies. The acting wasn't great but padalecki and righetti as the leads were very good as well as ms. panabaker. The rest served their purpose. Mears as Jason was among the best to ever play him. The visuals were specatcular and I was very impressed with the whole movie. The beginning was awesome and grabbed my attention and held throughout the whole thing. Nispel did a great job directing and a horror movie has to be pretty good for me to take the time to post a review b/c most of the newer horror movies and remakes have been terrible, I love the Halloween movies more than any other but this was much better than the halloween remake and I really liked what Rob Zombie did with that film but Friday the 13th was much better. I encourage everyone to go and see this movie and decide for themselves. It will satisfy causual horror fans as well as friday the 13th fans. Expand
  29. Kriiis!!
    Mar 3, 2009
    2
    Giving the few jumpy moments when i saw this film, they have managed to turn a cult classic series into a soft porn teen slasher film. Not even worth downloading... Predictable story lines, rubbish acting and a sense of repetition..
  30. CommonSense
    Mar 3, 2009
    2
    Very forgettable, absolutely no suspense. about 11 out of the 13 kills are painfully predictable. the movie was so short only because the basic plot couldn't have possibly gone any further; nothing was added to the original story. i think users are giving the movie high ratings based on the fact that they managed to finish the film without passing out of leaving the theatre.Very forgettable, absolutely no suspense. about 11 out of the 13 kills are painfully predictable. the movie was so short only because the basic plot couldn't have possibly gone any further; nothing was added to the original story. i think users are giving the movie high ratings based on the fact that they managed to finish the film without passing out of leaving the theatre. semi-entertaining and a great movie are 2 different things Expand
  31. kwont.
    Feb 13, 2009
    9
    this movie was fun to watch! even though it was 2 hrs. long, this film kept me interested all the way to the end! The kill scenes were good, every last one of them , reminds me of the campy-grindhouse trailers.
  32. MikeP
    Feb 14, 2009
    0
    Uninspired and pointless.
  33. RovertN
    Feb 14, 2009
    10
    Welcome back to Crystal Lake in a chilling re-imagining of the classic horror film. Searching for his missing sister, Clay Miller heads up to the eerie woods of legendary Crystal Lake. Against the advice of police and cautions from the locals, Clay pursues what few leads he has in the search for his missing sister, Whitney, with the help of Jenna, a young woman he meets among a group of Welcome back to Crystal Lake in a chilling re-imagining of the classic horror film. Searching for his missing sister, Clay Miller heads up to the eerie woods of legendary Crystal Lake. Against the advice of police and cautions from the locals, Clay pursues what few leads he has in the search for his missing sister, Whitney, with the help of Jenna, a young woman he meets among a group of college kids up for an all-thrills weekend. But they are all about to find much more than they bargained for. Little do they know, they've entered the domain of Jason Voorhees. Expand
  34. jamiet
    Feb 16, 2009
    6
    People friday the 13th 12 times before, on the first few it was called night mare on elm street so i think they people in Hollywood are just running out off ideas that they have to mess with the old classics.
  35. BL
    Feb 17, 2009
    6
    Although it was predictable and had horrible acting, it was a fun movie to watch with several friends. A good way to spend an afternoon.
  36. [Anonymous]
    Feb 21, 2009
    8
    I thought this movie was actually quite enjoyable, much more than the earlier ones that were so bad they were almost comedies, this jason film brings him back with more then just shock and awe, but with an attitude and the real reason to see it isn't just for the nostalgia, it's for slasher film fans to remember why they loved seeing flasher films in the first place.
  37. jason
    Feb 23, 2009
    8
    Something needs to be made clear. This really is not a horror movie. Jason movies never really have been. Your more likely to hear cheers from the audience than screams. If you want to see oversexed potheads die in fun and interesting ways than you'll enjoy this movie. If you came for giggles you'll enjoy this movie. If you came for fear you will be sorely disappointed. Q.E.D.
  38. PaulC
    Feb 23, 2009
    0
    I've been a fan of horror movies for over 40 years and have learned to take "critics" reviews with the proverbial "grain of salt" I really wasn't interested in seeing this "remake", but after reading what the users were saying I went to see it with good expectations. What a major dissapointment and waste of precious time! I don't understand how so many users on this site I've been a fan of horror movies for over 40 years and have learned to take "critics" reviews with the proverbial "grain of salt" I really wasn't interested in seeing this "remake", but after reading what the users were saying I went to see it with good expectations. What a major dissapointment and waste of precious time! I don't understand how so many users on this site could give this crap such positive reviews. This time the critics and user Mike P got it right. Uninspired and pointless indeed! Stay away from and stop supporting garbage like this which insults the intelligence of any and all fans of this genre. Expand
  39. BobH>
    Mar 3, 2009
    7
    I went to this movie thinking it was going to be terrible and I was wrong. It was surprisingly well-done (not like that poor excuse of a movie "Prom Night") and well-paced. The acting was typical horror movie acting (in other words, not oscar -worthy by all means). But in the end the movie delivers.
  40. KevinM.
    Mar 7, 2009
    9
    True, the new Friday the 13th movie wasn't any different from the other ones other than more sex and gore, but that's why I had so much fun watching this.
  41. meelan.
    Jul 18, 2009
    5
    Out of all the "re-makes" this one was the best, just the right amount of stupid teen fun and gore. i don't know if it was my t.v. but it was a bit to dark. other then that good movie.
  42. JasonP
    Feb 13, 2009
    9
    This remake is more create and innovative aside from the older films and creates a scary and suspencful atmosphere. Jason is far different in "personality" than the last movies and acts more human and insane than before. There are things that I would've liked to change, but in general this is a great movie for pure entertainment. Plus an amazing ending.
  43. caseyn
    Feb 13, 2009
    8
    Down to the basics of a horror/slasher film.
  44. ChrisP
    Feb 14, 2009
    7
    This movie was far better than I had expected... To think i wasnt even particularly interested in seeing the movie beforehand! It has alot of action and intense slash scenes.... I will be getting this when the DVD comes out for sure!
  45. RHammond
    Feb 14, 2009
    10
    I really enjoyed this movie, although the critics seem to disagree with me :) VERY close to the originals, and I loved the humor plugged into it as well. I'd definitely recommend this to any horror film fans.
  46. JesseB
    Feb 14, 2009
    10
    At first I was nervous of this Friday the 13th remake but it delivers big time. Rob Zombie should take notes on how to do a proper remake. Forget what these critics say, the movie is fun, it has everything that a Friday the 13th movie should have except this time it comes without the cheese. Do yourself a favor and go watch it.
  47. PeterJ
    Feb 14, 2009
    10
    I think is a great remake, a great soundtrack with a very suspense.
  48. JohnM
    Feb 14, 2009
    9
    Its been a long time since I have actually seen a "good" horror movie. Most of them are shit. Although this movie is far from originial, the cast and crew did an excellent job with this re-invisionment. The characters are well written and funny, there is enough tits to make everyone happy, and the kills are off the hook. I had a good time watching it. Props.
  49. maryt
    Feb 15, 2009
    4
    If you've seen any 80's horror flick this will not be a very surprising movie as it uses the same predictable scenes over and over. The killing scenes are not inventive and hardly gory. This movie relies on loud noises to scare. Save your money.
  50. LukeL
    Feb 16, 2009
    10
    This movie shouldn't be reviewed. During tough times people like to just watch someone take out they're aggresions. Especially when those aggressions are annoying college co-eds. This movie was everything I hoped for. Great killing scenes and no story. Perfect. Too many cheesy pot references though. But, Jason fixes this problem.
  51. McKinleyW
    Feb 16, 2009
    5
    This movie is so bad it's hilarious. The only reason it get a 5 it a mix of pity and confusion.
  52. MartinS.
    Feb 16, 2009
    4
    This remake is a mixture of the classic cliches of horror films. The producers didn't take the example of Halloween, who was an original and excellent remake of his first episode. It was a pity.
  53. AlecB
    Feb 18, 2009
    5
    Lets start of with that fact that it wasnt great or even good.. its was alright. it really wasn't like the orignals to tell you the truth, like jason having the bag over his head for half the movie was true to the 2nd in the franchise.. and of course later finding the hockey mask.. but when the fuck did jason ever use a bow and arrow to kill sombody? The Cast was pretty bad. Travis Lets start of with that fact that it wasnt great or even good.. its was alright. it really wasn't like the orignals to tell you the truth, like jason having the bag over his head for half the movie was true to the 2nd in the franchise.. and of course later finding the hockey mask.. but when the fuck did jason ever use a bow and arrow to kill sombody? The Cast was pretty bad. Travis Van Winkle played a great Pussy in the movie. Some of the girls were pretty good looking, probably because they were topless more then half the time but thats alright. I think the thing that bugged me most about the movie was.. it was TOO short and predictable. If the movie was supposed to be the first 3 original movies then they did bad on that.. they shouldve made it longer at least to the 2 hour mark.. Not some hour and a half bullshit. Jason was a badass no doubt he looked awesome in the movie all props to him. Once again.. not a bad remake but not a good one either.. next remake we have to look forward to is Rob Zombies Halloween 2. Expand
  54. JeffL
    Feb 22, 2009
    4
    I did not enjoy it as a horror movie. It was empty, really. Jason kills a large number of people. 13 I guess. And he killls them one at a time, and then teleporting to the next destination. There was no real art to this, and i did not hear the "ch-ch-chhh" music, although I hear it was there, I never heard it, which makes me sad.
  55. ChrisY
    Feb 20, 2009
    1
    This movie was ridiculous. I was expecting to be scared out of my mind, and that's what I got for about the first 10 minutes. But after the initial five characters are killed, the plot stops and gratuitous killings slowly happen one by one... by one... by one. I found myself laughing more in this movie than I should have. I cannot recommend this to anyone who is seriously searching This movie was ridiculous. I was expecting to be scared out of my mind, and that's what I got for about the first 10 minutes. But after the initial five characters are killed, the plot stops and gratuitous killings slowly happen one by one... by one... by one. I found myself laughing more in this movie than I should have. I cannot recommend this to anyone who is seriously searching for a quality horror movie. Expand
  56. thetruth
    Feb 25, 2009
    1
    "They have entered the domain of jason Vorrhees".... Tjason is pure evil".... etc etc etc Um. He is not the killer in the original firday the 13th and not even a man. The killer is the mother. So, yeah, nice one retards.
  57. SteveMoneyFist
    Feb 27, 2009
    9
    This was a great film to take my girl to watch on valentines days. If I learnt anything from watching this film, it would be never listen to movie critics!
  58. JayH.
    Jun 12, 2009
    4
    I was hoping for a fresh approach to the over done film series, but didn't quite get that. It does have some good gore effects and the production is well done, but everything else is old hat.
  59. GeorgeM
    Jun 18, 2009
    7
    I've always been a fan of the slasher film genre and growing up with such films as the original Friday the 13th series, Halloween, and Nightmare on Elm Street and watching these series go from good to bad to so bad its good has been interesting as I've gotten older. Friday the 13th is the next of many slasher films being re-introduced to audiences in the form of a re-make. The I've always been a fan of the slasher film genre and growing up with such films as the original Friday the 13th series, Halloween, and Nightmare on Elm Street and watching these series go from good to bad to so bad its good has been interesting as I've gotten older. Friday the 13th is the next of many slasher films being re-introduced to audiences in the form of a re-make. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre and Halloween have been done, now its Friday the 13th (and I've heard Nightmare on Elm Street is next). The re-make of Friday the 13th is a bit different in the sense that it skips over most of the events of the first film in the original series. Jason's mother was still a killer at Crystal Lake, she was still beheaded by a camp counselor...but those events are told more as an opener for Jason and his rise (and motivation) to becoming a killer himself and punishing rowdy teenagers. The story is a bit predictable, mainly from the teenagers/partiers side...someone turns up missing, family member comes to look for them...that person meets other potential "victims", and thats that...its forgettable, designed entirely to give Jason fresh meat for the grinder...but thats okay, no-one goes to see a Jason film for intricacy in plot/story..but for good ole fashion slasher fun, of which there is plenty. The gore quotient is rather high...the kills range "aw cool" to "oh man thats nasty" to tongue in cheek and almost goofy, but thats always been the charm of these films, the ludicrous nature of Jason's killing methods. All in all, I enjoyed this film...it's gritty and oft times dark and moody but at the same time still containing that sense of campiness and cheesiness thats made this series famous and infamous at the same time. It's not great and in some cases not even good, but films like this are hard to pass up...because they are indeed good fun if your looking for something you can enjoy without thinking too much about. I'd recommend this as a RENTAL. Expand
  60. MetalPunkA7X
    Aug 15, 2009
    0
    This movie is terrible... I can't believe one of my favorite slasher movies got terribly reanimated into this festering pile of s*#%... Granted, I wasn't alive when the original came out, but when I was of age, I started with the classics... F13 was very cool, and got me hooked to the genre.... When I heard that it was being remade, I was excited to see what they could do with This movie is terrible... I can't believe one of my favorite slasher movies got terribly reanimated into this festering pile of s*#%... Granted, I wasn't alive when the original came out, but when I was of age, I started with the classics... F13 was very cool, and got me hooked to the genre.... When I heard that it was being remade, I was excited to see what they could do with modern technology.... Unfortunately, when I saw Michael Bay's name attached to it in the opening credits, my heart was shattered... All I could remember was Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen, where his "producing amazingness" turned it into an abomination of film... I couldn't see how THIS FILM could do the same (sarcasm *hint* *hint*). Surely, after 20 minutes, I was correct in my assumption.... When the characters were introduced, I only had a connection with one... Jason.... For obvious reasons, I could see his motives for vengeance... However, the other character's personalities made them forgettable, and just downright annoying... As a viewer, I just wanted to see the teenagers killed as fast as possible, and I wanted the movie to be over... The teens had no variety, because they just got drunk/high, and were naive as hell.... Let's talk about the death scenes, shall we? People critisize the Saw franchaise for "senseless killings," but one overview of these, and they would think differently... No variety, whatsoever, to them leads me to suspect that they rehashed some old killings to attain to a younger, and obscenely naive, audience. Granted, I am in that audience range, but my mind is above the majority... A machete there, an axe here, it just all got so old... There wasn't anything that made me say, "That was something else..." It's the same stuff that we've seen before, and I can't believe people bought into this... Entertainment Weekly rated this "film" a 75, and I have one question for them? WHY!? Were you under the influence while watching this? Was it just that amazing? When Saw films are rated so low, this gets a higher rating than them?!? OK, I'LL ADMIT! The Saw films are a different subgenre of horror, but ITS HORROR PEOPLE!!!! We get scared, and that's what horror is about, being scared... My adivce, go watch Saw 1-5, because you will be scared better, and get a better story with characters to connect with. Expand
  61. GrantZ
    Aug 17, 2009
    9
    Watching this movie, i started off thinking it was terrible. The kills were cut off, and the actors bored me. Then, as soon the second group of teenagers arrived the film got so much better. They all carried their roles really well, kills were good, and some sections were generally shocking. Padalecki and Panabaker, act really well, and Jason is a monster, he doesn't give up, and Watching this movie, i started off thinking it was terrible. The kills were cut off, and the actors bored me. Then, as soon the second group of teenagers arrived the film got so much better. They all carried their roles really well, kills were good, and some sections were generally shocking. Padalecki and Panabaker, act really well, and Jason is a monster, he doesn't give up, and keeps coming. And he's more human this time, running after people and setting up traps. Ending was a bit iffy though. Expand
  62. ChadS.
    Feb 13, 2009
    5
    Jason takes a hostage. "Friday the 13th" is short on surprises, but that's a divergence from the norm, right? Jason may be an unrepentant, cold-blooded killer, but at least he doesn't play games with his victims. Compared to the killer from the "Saw" movies, that practically makes him Mother Theresa. You can't call this mama's boy compassionate, but at least he never Jason takes a hostage. "Friday the 13th" is short on surprises, but that's a divergence from the norm, right? Jason may be an unrepentant, cold-blooded killer, but at least he doesn't play games with his victims. Compared to the killer from the "Saw" movies, that practically makes him Mother Theresa. You can't call this mama's boy compassionate, but at least he never gives his teen prey any hope. With machete in hand, the killing is over and done with in a jiffy, then he sets his sights on the next nubile(or dude) without ceremony. If there's such a thing as good slasher etiquette, Jason could start his own finishing school for homicidal maniacs. Structured like a trilogy-in-one(the film has two prologues, or rather, two short films), the final girl in the second part survives his bloodlust rampaging. If the filmmaker had the artistic latitude to try something really different, he could have used Jean Cocteau's "Beauty and the Beast" as a template for this hypothetical relationship between Jason and the girl. An affinity for Whitney(Amanda Righetti) is suggested, but never fully realized, largely because the main demographic for "Friday the 13th" are fanboys, who would probably balk at their anti-hero displaying an unprecedented sensitive side. Since Whitney is alive, she must be receiving sustenance from her goalie-masked captor; the filmmaker, however, decided to keep all of the girl's meals and met hydration needs off-screen. To do otherwise, would force the filmmaker's hand into showing that Jason has some deep-seated humanity left, somewhere in his black heart, contrary to the mythology of this inexplicably popular franchise. Expand
  63. AndrewR
    Feb 13, 2009
    10
    Ok I won't lie to you I hate horror movies, and poor quality movies, and movies with bad actors/actresses... but seriously, this was awesome. I'm not trying to say it doesn't have those qualities in spades (cuz it does) but subtract a few pointless sex scenes from it and it's one of the most entertaining movies I've seen in awhile. This could just be some personal Ok I won't lie to you I hate horror movies, and poor quality movies, and movies with bad actors/actresses... but seriously, this was awesome. I'm not trying to say it doesn't have those qualities in spades (cuz it does) but subtract a few pointless sex scenes from it and it's one of the most entertaining movies I've seen in awhile. This could just be some personal phenomena I experienced after for so long being caught up in critiquing and analyzing every intricate detail of a movie, but it really is just plain, predictable, unprecedented fun. Expand
  64. DanielS
    Feb 14, 2009
    10
    This movie was awesome... I do not understand the critics & their bad reviews there the ones who don't know a good movie when they see it. Anybody who's a Jason fan or just likes a good horror slasher movie is going to fall in love with this film PERIOD!
  65. DerekW
    Feb 14, 2009
    7
    A great Saturday afternoon matinee flick! Stupid, but fun.
  66. TimT
    Feb 14, 2009
    8
    Great remake, not sure why critics don't like it, audiences seem wowed by it!
  67. OwenM
    Feb 15, 2009
    8
    This film doesn't deserve a 10, nor does it deserve what the critics are giving it. I enjoyed the film for the most part, it was very enjoyable to sit back and relax with some friends to a decent horror film. It's definitely worth seeing if you're a fan of Jason Vorhees, or horror movies in general.
  68. LuisG
    Feb 18, 2009
    1
    The thrill is gone the gore and killings pleanty and aisde from a small snippet of backstory theres not much to see here that other F13th films had... jason goes on killing rampage and thats about it and once again are the same stupid teens that you can but not car for in dismal amount... unlike scream that offered scares with some amount of brains ... this new F13th is everthing that was The thrill is gone the gore and killings pleanty and aisde from a small snippet of backstory theres not much to see here that other F13th films had... jason goes on killing rampage and thats about it and once again are the same stupid teens that you can but not car for in dismal amount... unlike scream that offered scares with some amount of brains ... this new F13th is everthing that was before and that not a compliment. Expand
  69. RockyM
    Feb 24, 2009
    9
    This movie restarts the series without changing the storyline. It is the best in the series, and should be enjoyed by any horror movie lover.
  70. NateB.
    Feb 28, 2009
    9
    A great re-boot of the series for die-hard fans. Newcomers may be a bit put-off, however.
  71. Nov 25, 2011
    5
    Compared to other films in the franchise, This remake was rather good. It started off strong but it sadly went all down hill from there. The acting was fine and the kills were good as well. However the whole "reinventing" Jason idea had pretty much nothing at all to do with this film. It was solid through out and watch the worth.
  72. Jun 13, 2012
    6
    I don't typically watch horror movies as I am sadly very easily scared, and I thought going into this movie that I was going to be terrified, but from the moment Jason appears on the screen and makes his first kill I knew that this wasn't going to be scary in the least. And even though it wasn't scary like I expected (and was kind of hoping) I still got some enjoyment out of it thanks toI don't typically watch horror movies as I am sadly very easily scared, and I thought going into this movie that I was going to be terrified, but from the moment Jason appears on the screen and makes his first kill I knew that this wasn't going to be scary in the least. And even though it wasn't scary like I expected (and was kind of hoping) I still got some enjoyment out of it thanks to some pretty gruesome kills and some hot topless chicks. But I still can't help but feel disappointed with the movie. The acting is good and most of the main characters likable, but surprisingly the worst part of the movie and what brings it down the most is actually Jason himself. All they have him do is just walk up behind the victims get their attention and kill them in some bloody way. It's far from tense or scary and that's what's so disappointing with this movie. But if you like to see a bunch of 20-somethings get hacked up by a (kinda bland) psychopath then this may be for you, just don't expect some super scary horror movie. Expand
  73. SFN
    Jan 8, 2011
    8
    people dont give this movie enough credit then it should be getting, i know the same teenageer thing where they go to the woods have sex, get drunk, do drugs and get killed can get boring but you have to look past that, the movie has unique kill scenes and they even made jason smarter to the point where he sets traps, the movie i will admit will get boring and repetitive sometimes theypeople dont give this movie enough credit then it should be getting, i know the same teenageer thing where they go to the woods have sex, get drunk, do drugs and get killed can get boring but you have to look past that, the movie has unique kill scenes and they even made jason smarter to the point where he sets traps, the movie i will admit will get boring and repetitive sometimes they make up for that but adding in boobs and killing scenes, if your a fan of the friday the 13th i say atleast look into this movie and give it a try Expand
  74. Jan 30, 2011
    6
    Friday the 13th, considering all things, is actually not a bad remake, and may be one of the best Friday the 13th movies out there. Yet despite this, that doesn't mean the movie is anywhere close to perfect with the still same laughable dialogue and jump scares that have become yawnable. Still though, this movie isn't bad and worth a rental.
  75. Aug 20, 2011
    7
    A Pretty Good Reboot you dont see good reboot around much but this is one of the better ones and its not a Masterpiece but it definatly looks like a good start in New Line of Friday The 13th Movies it definatly better Then Jason X or Jason Goes to Hell The Kills are good and it Wasnt a Movie that Dragged on Much it was Enjoyable and I Suggest That More People Check it Out
  76. Jan 7, 2012
    8
    I had a great time watching this movie in the theaters. Is it really all that original an addition to the series. Not exactly. However it does take the typical friday the 13th formula and makes a very good typical friday the 13th movie, but with a few new bells and whistles. Jason can run in this one, which I thought was cool, makes him more aggressive looking. He sets traps and movesI had a great time watching this movie in the theaters. Is it really all that original an addition to the series. Not exactly. However it does take the typical friday the 13th formula and makes a very good typical friday the 13th movie, but with a few new bells and whistles. Jason can run in this one, which I thought was cool, makes him more aggressive looking. He sets traps and moves around with underground tunnels, these new things were cool. However if you were expecting a really groundbreaking remake, youll be disapointed. The scares aren't really scary, but atleast its violent enough and dirty enough to satisfy a horror fan. The story they came up here wasn't bad at all, and I even cared about a few characters. The movie is entertaining to watch as long as you don't set the bar very high on expectation. It is a good friday the 13th movie, just not REALLY new. Expand
  77. Jun 15, 2016
    6
    I liked what they did with Jason, Making him a more Rambo styled killer than just an immortal psychopath. They did a solid enough job mixing the plots of the first 3 original films together into this one and the kills are certainly entertaining. Could have been acted better and would have been nice to see something different with the plot too. Not a terrible movie though.
  78. Dec 23, 2013
    4
    You're stereotypical slasher movie. Characters get killed off one by one and it's somewhat suspenseful. It's nothing new at all. It's very entertaining and it was fun to watch but it wasn't really good in any way. That said other than the fact that it was completely cliche it wasn't bad either. If you like these type of movies you'll enjoy it but if you find yourself saying it's good thenYou're stereotypical slasher movie. Characters get killed off one by one and it's somewhat suspenseful. It's nothing new at all. It's very entertaining and it was fun to watch but it wasn't really good in any way. That said other than the fact that it was completely cliche it wasn't bad either. If you like these type of movies you'll enjoy it but if you find yourself saying it's good then you're lying to yourself. Expand
  79. Sep 9, 2012
    6
    Lack-lustre 'remake' that has some great moments, but ultimately falls short. Could have been a lot better, but pales in comparison to the classic original. Populated with obnoxious characters that I didn't care lived or died. Lousy plot as well.
  80. Dec 8, 2012
    5
    Not a great remake. It's entertaining but it shows that have made only to make money.
  81. Nov 4, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First off, I love horror movies! I grew up watching old classics movies from the 70s-90s like Halloween, Child's Play, Friday the 13th, It, A Nightmare on Elm Street, etc. So when "Friday the 13th" remake came out, I think most people like me were excited, yet very skeptical. Basically, I pitied it with a score of 4, because it was nice to see Jason in action again, though, movie did turn out to be horrid. The kills were all so predictable, and not very creative. There was no character to really cheer on to survive or that you'd absolutely love. The acting was just somewhat off. There really wasn't much of a campy feel to it either. Plus, since it is a remake, this movie didn't really emphasize on Jason Voorhees and his mother's story. Like how it all began, or the new kids being skeptical staying in the cabin because of the stories being told about Crystal Lake and such. That used to be done in every Friday the 13th movie (and that scenes of when the characters would feel like they're being watched), and there's no reason why it shouldn't have been done it this one (especially for a new audience). They could have at least brought back an original actress/actor to appear in this remake. A big disappointment was the fact that Jason held that girl captive. He CHAINED HER UP instead of killing her. Okay yeah, she supposedly looked like his mother, but even the Jason in the original saw past that REAL quick. Also, this movie was not dark, scary, campy, nor suspenseful. And, the acting was a bit lacking. Honestly, it didn't even make me jump like the originals still do (no matter how many times I watch it lol). I agree with users JeffL about the absence of the memorable "ch-ch-ch" sound effects and MikeP about the movie being "uninspired and pointless". It is a damn shame that Directors and Writers are just making so many remakes and just ruining what we grew up with and that we have so many expectations of. And, the remake of Halloween was just the absolute worst! I could rant all day about that one lol. Expand
  82. Nov 7, 2012
    2
    There's a nude scene towards the beginning that may go down as being one of the better ones in film history, but other than a great nude scene, the remake is flat and pointless, and it's supposed to be a horror film.
  83. Jan 13, 2013
    4
    Friday the 13th prequel is just not up to scratch. No scare just lots of *** and rude scenes. The only reason i did not give it 0 is that the story was average. The rest was just bland scenes and sets.
  84. Mar 30, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The film opens with the death of Mrs. Voorhees and proceeds to the present day. It seems that the filmmakers re-wrote the film completely different. Whitney Miller (Amanda Righetti) is camping in the woods with her friends. After telling the legend of Jason Voorhees (Derek Mears) Jason actually kills Whitney's friends and takes her hostage underground. When we see Jason for most parts until the middle of the film he wears a sack over his head. It likes like the sack he wore in Friday The 13TH part: II. It's not until after killing someone in a barn does he get his Hockey Mask. This leaves me to believe that this is a film that combines the elements of the second and third films, totally re-written for a remake. While Whitney's brother Clay Miller (Jared Padalecki) searchers for her, Trent, (Travis Van Winkle) along with his friends and his girlfriend party it up at his mansion sized cottage. To me, this took away the Camp Crystal Lake setting. We're not even focused on it except for two scenes. One in the beginning and one in the middle. One includes Clay and Jenna hiding from Jason as he approaches with a body bag in Camp Crystal Lake. The first scene is when two of Whitney's friends are go to visit Camp Crystal Lake in the beginning of the film. The battle between Clay and Trent really didn't help the storyline at all. The interesting part is that Jason won't kill Whitney because she has the locket his mom had in the opening sequence of the film. She reminds him of his mother. This film has a high gore content. An example is that in one water skiing scene involving Willa Ford and one of her cast members. After Willa falls into the wall her cast member is shot in the head by Jason with an axe. He falls down and is dead of course. Another example is that Willa Ford is stabbed in the head by Jason with his Machete while hiding under a dock.
    Then blood is shown going down her face. For many reasons the remake of Friday The 13TH gets a 1 out of 10 score from me.
    Expand
  85. Feb 7, 2013
    8
    I can see why people who weren't fans of the Friday the 13th series wouldn't like this film. But honestly, who cares? This film wasn't made for them anyway. As for critics, none of the Friday the 13th films have done well with critics. That being said, as someone who's been a fan of horror films for years. Friday the 13th is a decent slasher movie, that does a great job of starting theI can see why people who weren't fans of the Friday the 13th series wouldn't like this film. But honestly, who cares? This film wasn't made for them anyway. As for critics, none of the Friday the 13th films have done well with critics. That being said, as someone who's been a fan of horror films for years. Friday the 13th is a decent slasher movie, that does a great job of starting the story over with aspects of the first three (and the fourth to a lesser extent) films Expand
  86. May 12, 2013
    6
    It's been a while since I watched a Friday the 13th movie, or this movie. So my memory of this movie is thin. I thought is was okay, it's certainly not a good movie, but it is enjoyable at certain points. I can't say where in the film though. I liked the way this flick looked, at times, and I like how this Jason looked. There this thing with how well an actor played the characters: Jason,It's been a while since I watched a Friday the 13th movie, or this movie. So my memory of this movie is thin. I thought is was okay, it's certainly not a good movie, but it is enjoyable at certain points. I can't say where in the film though. I liked the way this flick looked, at times, and I like how this Jason looked. There this thing with how well an actor played the characters: Jason, and while this guy is okay as the part of Jason, he's not as good as the last guy from Freddy vs Jason. That all aside, I don't really recommend this flick to anyone unless they are a big fan of the series. Expand
  87. Jun 26, 2013
    0
    Friday the 13th remake is dull full of cliches, uninteresting and stupid, it is not entertaining at all, the acting is mediocre and the jump scares are predictable, this is an example of a really bad horror movie.
  88. Jul 23, 2013
    7
    Everyone should know what this movie is going to be like before even seeing it. It is a movie where teens go to the woods and get killed. Simple as that. Why some people expect more out of a Friday the 13th movie still confuses me. I found this movie to be an enjoyable slasher movie, but nothing more. If you want anything more out of it than that, then steer clear. If however, youEveryone should know what this movie is going to be like before even seeing it. It is a movie where teens go to the woods and get killed. Simple as that. Why some people expect more out of a Friday the 13th movie still confuses me. I found this movie to be an enjoyable slasher movie, but nothing more. If you want anything more out of it than that, then steer clear. If however, you want to watch a fun slasher movie, then go ahead and give this a try. Expand
  89. Jan 13, 2015
    0
    i thought that Friday the 13th needed a remake why? cause the characters need to improve, the fact their the horror's disposable cliche characters.It came true and it's dumb and more dumber. I expected that the remake was awful and i was right. When the movie started We have druggie teenagers and the sluts as well, go camping at " Camp Crystal lake." girls take off their shirts and theni thought that Friday the 13th needed a remake why? cause the characters need to improve, the fact their the horror's disposable cliche characters.It came true and it's dumb and more dumber. I expected that the remake was awful and i was right. When the movie started We have druggie teenagers and the sluts as well, go camping at " Camp Crystal lake." girls take off their shirts and then sex happens! did you think when watching this remake did you think there was going to be no sex? your wrong and there is sex a lot. (That's not the point), Then they wonder off into oblivion then they find Jason! the characters into the original were dumb in this "remake" they get Dumber. The story continues, a bunch of teens (what ever they are) are spending a week at a mansion.By the way these characters are much much worst as we saw earlier in the film, The guys get dumbest and so are the blonde whores as well. Thank god their was two good characters in this movie Jared Padalecki and his sister are kick ass one good thing about this movie. Positives: Jason's kills in this movie are totally epic.the action improves one-hundred percent;Jared Padalecki's performance as clay was epic and one of the best characters. This movie wants you to care about the characters, i didn't i just wanted them to be dead! thank god! the only character i cared was clay and his sister. Negatives: Nipsel directs other people's classic and turns into remakes, basically Nipsel just makes the directors of the original look bad. Cunningham gets a healthy way to kill the characters, Nipsel goes for the slick by pouring tomato crap as "blood". Nipsel has no showing skill as a director. the script and the directing kills the franchise also Bay's presence. Producer Micheal Bay ruins another successful franchise also he has bad taste of directors instead of hiring a man who knows the genre/franchise, like James Wan or Hitchcock but no they choose the director who killed the chainsaw franchise now kills the guy the mask franchise. You could hear mislead producers Andrew form and Brad Fuller screaming "Come on Nipsel work that camera!" and then cheap porn producer (Bay) saying "hey speed it up let's shoot the sex scene i got my camera!" Bay just has to be involved in casting cute blondes to suck at acting in a movie then put them in a horror movie. It has "Platinum Dunes" written all over this movie. The writer Damian Shannon wrote ( Freddy vs Jason) he killed two franchises. Then we have producer Sean S. Cunningham (the director of the original) the poor man! i can't believe that this guy is producing this garbage. Grade F+ Expand
  90. Mar 25, 2015
    7
    Unfortunately the movie is kinda slow,the acting is not that good and the death are not really outrageous but,the movie is entertaining and he's a respectable reboot.
  91. Jul 30, 2014
    8
    Friday the 13 (2009): 8 out of 10: Jason is a bit off in this one. He moves to fast, he kidnaps people like he watched Rest Stop one too many times and he seems to lack a certain hulking presence of the original. Outside of the main character however, this is a pretty good Friday the 13th film.

    Friday the 13th is billed as a relaunch (remake reboot etc) and as such it seems to confuse.
    Friday the 13 (2009): 8 out of 10: Jason is a bit off in this one. He moves to fast, he kidnaps people like he watched Rest Stop one too many times and he seems to lack a certain hulking presence of the original. Outside of the main character however, this is a pretty good Friday the 13th film.

    Friday the 13th is billed as a relaunch (remake reboot etc) and as such it seems to confuse. It contains plot elements of the first four films (Mrs. Voorhees decapitation takes place in flashback) and Jason rightfully starts with his original sack and finds his hockey mask (as he did in part 3). In addition, while I am critical of Jason having his own “lair” I am reminded he had one in Part 2 (Where he kept his mothers severed head lovingly surrounded by candles). The main plot of a man trying to find his missing sister is straight from part 4. Where the film succeeds is canon fodder and nudity. There are plenty of both and most of it is of high quality. The kills range from mundane (of these there are plenty) surprisingly intense (A burning sleeping bag may cause nightmares and the topless wakeboarding will cause nothing but smiles.) The sheer number and variety of kills however is quite impressive.

    Camp Crystal Lake has apparently turned into a breast implant recovery retreat. While there is only one camp counselor to be found (in grainy flashback no less) there are plenty of woman with breast implants and an aversion to wearing shirts. Julianna Guill (who in fairness may be au-natural) in particular gets points for simply being one of the most attractive women I have seen on-screen in many a movie. (Willa Ford of the topless wakeboarding scene is not half bad either.)

    Considering the number of times the Friday the 13th films have gone of the rails in the past, one should not raise the bar all that high. In addition, while I am an unabashed fanboy of the series, I do recognize it does have serious limitations. (What we now refer to as its charms.) This is a flashier, more competently lensed Friday the 13th, and all in all is that such a bad thing?

    There are plenty of bad jokes, drugs, nudity and violence. If that is not what you were looking for you may want to check the title screen again. As Friday the 13th movies go this is one of the best.
    Expand
  92. Jul 1, 2014
    3
    This movie would have fared much better in my book if it took more from the original Friday the 13th film where Jason Voorhees was more of a downplayed character, and was portrayed as a psychological bogeyman, rather than an invincible deadite.

    But, alas, this film wants to please the crowd by bringing the legendary slasher villain to the 21st century, and this it certainly did,
    This movie would have fared much better in my book if it took more from the original Friday the 13th film where Jason Voorhees was more of a downplayed character, and was portrayed as a psychological bogeyman, rather than an invincible deadite.

    But, alas, this film wants to please the crowd by bringing the legendary slasher villain to the 21st century, and this it certainly did, although they forgot to bring anything fresh to the table.
    Expand
  93. Nov 22, 2014
    7
    Friday the 13th is sort of the same old same old but it just sticking to what works. Jason has always just been awesome, badass and unstoppable, no tampering really needs to be done with that character. I have always been a fan of this franchise and this may be one of the stronger films that were released. It certainly beats that crappy Nightmare on Elm Street remake.
  94. Oct 12, 2015
    1
    Garbage. I've watched the entire Friday the 13th series in the past few months, so they are all fresh in my mind, and this 2009 remake is absolute garbage with no redeeming qualities and just stupid and brutal. There is also a huge plot failure where a woman escapes from Jason's underground hive, runs through the woods to escape, and then 30 minutes later is back in chains--with noGarbage. I've watched the entire Friday the 13th series in the past few months, so they are all fresh in my mind, and this 2009 remake is absolute garbage with no redeeming qualities and just stupid and brutal. There is also a huge plot failure where a woman escapes from Jason's underground hive, runs through the woods to escape, and then 30 minutes later is back in chains--with no explanation or scene explaining how she was re-captured. Edited out? What an epic fail.

    I'm really not surprised at how bad this movie is because Michael Bay was involved in it. He should really just be banned from Hollywood. Next time I see his name come up front and center at the beginning, I'll just quit and save myself an hour. I did not finish this movie, just couldn't take it after an hour.

    Yes, we know, death and sex go hand-in-hand. Put people in situations where they're having lots of sex and then murder them gets the adrenalin pumping. But seriously, this is 2015, not 1985. Aren't we beyond that primal crap by now? When it's this obvious it doesn't work. Sure, the girls are fun to look at, but I was at least expecting a bare minimum plot here IN ADDITION.
    Expand
  95. Apr 6, 2015
    1
    a god awful remake to a okay film. they could call this movie pron with Jason because that what it is. there is a stupid park of the film the only reason he does not kill this girl is because he thinks she his mom really.
  96. Apr 22, 2016
    3
    Jason Voorhees is back for some more slashing and dicing in Crystal Lake. Michael Bay decides to join Producing Lane 101 when it comes to making this. He made the entire franchise lose its mojo. Too boring, so tired, this Friday the 13th calls My Bloody Valentine to join with the rest of the horrible horror films.
  97. Jan 18, 2016
    8
    This was enjoyable, had a few jump scares and the kills were great.

    Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-15-Friday-the-13th-online-free
  98. Feb 4, 2016
    8
    I'd say this was just as good as the original. For a horror movie it actually didn't have bad acting. Highly enjoyable.

    Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-15-Friday-the-13th-online-free
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 29
  2. Negative: 13 out of 29
  1. 38
    If all you're looking for is breasts, blood, and gore, this film hits pay dirt. None of the killings are terribly inventive, but they are plentiful, and why bother being devious when axes, machetes, knives, and pointed sticks will do the job just as well?
  2. 0
    But bad, this film's so bad! To flub the fans' most beloved butcher boy.
  3. 50
    About the best Friday the 13th movie you could hope for. Its technical credits are excellent. It has a lot of scary and gruesome killings. Not a whole lot of acting is required.