User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 247 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 247

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    A truly heart-warming story of friendship and passion, wrapped up in a nice bouquet and delivered by hand by Timberlake and Kunis. The most underated actor and actress of our time team up to produce an inspiring movie about the trials and tribulations of todays society. An enjoyable film that will bring a smile to your face every time. I bought this on blu-ray and DVD just so the creatorsA truly heart-warming story of friendship and passion, wrapped up in a nice bouquet and delivered by hand by Timberlake and Kunis. The most underated actor and actress of our time team up to produce an inspiring movie about the trials and tribulations of todays society. An enjoyable film that will bring a smile to your face every time. I bought this on blu-ray and DVD just so the creators of this masterpiece got the money they deserved for this genius piece of writing and acting. A lovely family movie that will keep everybody entertained through-out. Expand
  2. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    One of the best rom-coms in several years. Witty dialogue and fun performances by both Timberlake and Kunis. And they have great chemistry together, which really makes it work.
  3. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    Essential to a good romantic comedy are: a believable chemistry between the protagonists; a story that is real enough to make you think it could happen; humor that is generally appealing enough to maintain levity through the majority of the movie and emotional enough to care about the characters situation when not smiling; the setting or locale is almost a third party in the relationship.Essential to a good romantic comedy are: a believable chemistry between the protagonists; a story that is real enough to make you think it could happen; humor that is generally appealing enough to maintain levity through the majority of the movie and emotional enough to care about the characters situation when not smiling; the setting or locale is almost a third party in the relationship. When Harry Met Sally, Pretty Woman, etc. Down with Love is one of my all-time favorites too, but not exactly realistic, but still adorable. Friends with Benefits fits the criteria better than I've seen in years. In the Rom-Com genre, the film is near perfect. The chemistry between JT and Kunis is flawless and believable. The use of New York and Los Angeles were reflections of both their personalities and, thus, enhanced an understanding of the characters. The writing is smart, the editing makes the movie flow seamlessly and it even finds a way to make fun of itself and its genre. I enjoyed the film from the opening scene to the final credits. Expand
  4. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    Brilliantly funny with witty comedy, Sadness and madness. A brilliant film with brilliant acting from all the people involved. If you were expecting a large appearance from Emma Stone, you will be disappointed.
    A Must Watch
  5. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    [MILD SPOILER] A-MA-ZING. Although cheesy and predictable, the cast for this movie brought it all the way home for me and left me smiling and satisfied with the "happily ever after" ending. There was no doubt that they were going to fall in love with each other and get together by the end of the movie - however just every little detail and every cute thing made it that much cuter and[MILD SPOILER] A-MA-ZING. Although cheesy and predictable, the cast for this movie brought it all the way home for me and left me smiling and satisfied with the "happily ever after" ending. There was no doubt that they were going to fall in love with each other and get together by the end of the movie - however just every little detail and every cute thing made it that much cuter and entertaining to watch. Justin Timberlake and Mila Kunis look really good together. HOWEVER; the trailer is slightly misleading - the trailer depicts a much more sexual side of the movie while the whole movie is sappy and cute. Overall, the cast had great chemistry and the acting was well done. I'm glad I watched it; it's totally worth the time! Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    A welcome surprise. Thoughtful, well written and definitely moments of good laughter to be had. There is clearly an authentic connection between Kunis and Timberlake as their feelings evolve layer upon layer. You find yourself rooting for them even though its clear from the start how things will net out them. A must rent!
  7. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    I loved this movie. I thought it was well done. After the movie No Strings Attached I thought this one would be bad too and it really surprised me. It had a much better story like then No Strings. And of course Justin Timberlake is hilarious which makes it great, and Mila Kunis is such a great actress they both really worked well together.
  8. Sep 9, 2011
    9
    Is a very good movie, because it has a beautiful story that infects all who watch the film. Even the end is not any surprise, but that did not stop him from being a great movie
  9. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    This movie is amazing! It one you can go see with the girls or with you guy, both would enjoy it. One of the best romantic comedies of the year. Mila Kunis and JT work so well together. When previews first came out, i was a little nervous because of the recent release of No Strings Attached, but this movie by far was one of the best!
  10. Sep 1, 2011
    9
    While surroundings itself with the overused cliche that is "friends with benefits," the movie does not disappoint. Making up for the failure that was Ashton Kutcher's "No String Attached" this movie actually portrays the cliche in a humorous, if not entirely PG rated way. The excessive montage of almost sex scenes probably don't do Kunis fans justice, but the characters, especially WoodyWhile surroundings itself with the overused cliche that is "friends with benefits," the movie does not disappoint. Making up for the failure that was Ashton Kutcher's "No String Attached" this movie actually portrays the cliche in a humorous, if not entirely PG rated way. The excessive montage of almost sex scenes probably don't do Kunis fans justice, but the characters, especially Woody Harrelson and Patricia Clarkson that give the film at least an 8/10 Expand
  11. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    this is an awesome movie i guarantee u won,t be bored from the start to the end ,and the beginning is awesome and smart ,who ever wrote the conversations in it between the leading stars is original, hat off for every one helped direct this one
    but still i thought there was too much porn in it, yet again the movie called Friends with BENEFITS
  12. Aug 12, 2011
    9
    This movie is absolutely fantastic. Refreshing, smart and most importantly, funny as hell, Friends with benefits is a wonder. It's interesting to see two similar movies released within a common time frame. No Strings Attached dropped the ball and Friends with Benefits surpasses it every way. Kunis and Timberlake shine and play off of each other like old pros. What is even more amazing isThis movie is absolutely fantastic. Refreshing, smart and most importantly, funny as hell, Friends with benefits is a wonder. It's interesting to see two similar movies released within a common time frame. No Strings Attached dropped the ball and Friends with Benefits surpasses it every way. Kunis and Timberlake shine and play off of each other like old pros. What is even more amazing is the true heart of it. Both characters have to deal with family issues that are real and honest. My one problem is believing that these characters are damaged, which they will repeatedly tell the audience. This however can be easily overlooked in favor of casting, plot, and chemistry. Expand
  13. Aug 11, 2011
    10
    I will appreciate the work done by Mila kunis. She's my favorite and made me laugh alot. I must say a good comedy and drama movie that i have seen after a long time. For full reviews read here: http://www.moviesfunzone.com/download-friends-with-benefits-movie
  14. Aug 6, 2011
    9
    Hilarious! This movie jumped off the screen on a level I did not expect, it will have you in tears of laughter and sadness. Justin Timberlake and Mila Kunis really have excellent chemistry in this dramatic/romantic comedy. The comedy side of the movie was soo funny I just couldn't stop laughing, even the next day when I replayed the scenes in my head and would embarrassingly laugh outHilarious! This movie jumped off the screen on a level I did not expect, it will have you in tears of laughter and sadness. Justin Timberlake and Mila Kunis really have excellent chemistry in this dramatic/romantic comedy. The comedy side of the movie was soo funny I just couldn't stop laughing, even the next day when I replayed the scenes in my head and would embarrassingly laugh out loud... in public... The drama in the movie was unexpected and in my opinion very moving. You see a lot of good emotion and a touching love story that makes this comedy a movie you could watch over and over. This is a DVD buyer for certain! Expand
  15. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    This is a good movie. I was not expecting too much but its a very real and funny movie. The story about the Dad is very touching. Its a guy meets girl movie coupled with the blue humor of Californication , the fast paced fun of entourage , and a bit of Wilfred thrown in. I like this movie.
  16. Jul 25, 2011
    10
    Once you get past the fact that the storyline isn't that original, this is a terrific movie...definitely one of my favorite romantic comedies in the past few years. The dialogue is hilarious and witty and kept me laughing during most of the movie. The casting is terrific. Mila Kunis really shines in her role and Justin Timberlake is a natural. Looking forward to getting this on DVD.
  17. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    Justin Timberlake and Mia Kunis are so good together. I laughed soo hard throughout the movie, but it wasn't just a comedy, if you are a sucker for a good love story this ones for you. I thought it was great. I will probably buy it when it comes out on DVD!
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Sep 5, 2011
    60
    This coasts along just fine thanks to charm and comical interludes, but it fails to deliver the sassy story it promises. Fine for a romantic comedy, but an inferior follow up to director Gluck's edgier "Easy A."
  2. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jul 24, 2011
    80
    Friends with Benefits is fast, allusive, urban, glamorous - clearly the Zeitgeist winner of the summer.
  3. Reviewed by: Anita Li
    Jul 23, 2011
    75
    It's a tired formula moviegoers know well, but in the case of Friends With Benefits, it works.