User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 57
  2. Negative: 10 out of 57

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 27, 2013
    4
    Friends with Kids, though touching at moments, flat lined for the majority of the film. It took nearly an hour for the characters to actually meet any type of conflict. Things simmer, but nothing ever emerges from the early probable conflicts. In general the stakes were very low for the entirety of the first "act." It is obvious what is going to happen, and writer/producer/director/actor Jennifer Westfeldt keeps you waiting for the inevitable to happen way to long. The two main characters are generally uninteresting, and the other four equally interesting characters are never explored or fully developed. The directing was good in parts, but like many directors have demonstrated before, it is hard to direct yourself. Westfeldt is the obvious weak spot amongst the all-star ensemble. I wanted to feel more for the characters, but I didn't. I had extremely high hopes for this film, but when Megan Fox isn't the poorest actress on camera the film is going downhill fast. Expand
  2. Jul 17, 2013
    5
    The biggest problem I have with this movie is that you have to be a fan of Westfeld's writing to enjoy it overall, as the film focuses on nothing but dialogue. It is very talky movie that is at times too smart for it's own good.
  3. Apr 16, 2013
    7
    Quite well done. This movie was funny in many places, and had a lot of heart in it as well. It's actually mostly formulaic, but it's a different type of romantic-comedy, that was enjoyable to watch rather than just ridiculous. As I'm getting older and seeing friends get married and have children, it's very easy to relate to each the characters. Like it a lot.
  4. Jan 22, 2013
    4
    I didnt find the movie boring, it kept intrest at a steady pace. But, once everything was over, the whole movie was just pointless. It had a good idea, but it just didnt go anywhere with it. Sort of a mixed feeling.
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    Funny, absurd and also heartwarming. Friends With Kids premise sounds silly, but here it is, the movie was absolutely good. I bet you can't **** your best friend without emotionally attached. Friends with benefits is ****
  6. Sep 29, 2012
    9
    I loved this movie! I had really low expectations, but it was so good! I should say, that I'm also a big fan of romantic comedies. So, if you're a fan of romantic comedies, you'll love it. If you're not into romantic comedies, you probably won't like it, since there's not that many laughs. It's just really sweet and cute, and refreshing that it's a bit more adult than most romantic comedies. I really liked it and would even watch it again. I'm only giving it a 9 and not a 10 because it could have been funnier. Collapse
  7. Aug 18, 2012
    1
    One of the few movies I've seen that actually gave me the creeps when it wasn't intending to. A gross cynical and very unrealistic so-called romcom. Give it a pass.
  8. Aug 13, 2012
    6
    A fresh take on raising a child in an unorthodox way. The film distracts us with vulgar language and awkward moments between characters. The lead characters perform well and keep us involved but, the main downfall is the unneeded dialogue of vulgarity.
  9. Aug 8, 2012
    7
    My wife loves the Rom-Com genre therefore I am indulged in the often horrendous spectacle that is ROM-COM. This movie isnt that bad though. Thay make some histerical spot on observations of married life and the general misery most American couples live. Its witty, calls out hypacritical bull shart of societal expectations in a unique and funny way. Most of the acting is acceptable, some is so bad you wonder how it made it through editing. Just like every ROM-COM they always muck it up when it comes to the happy ending. In my option it ruins the genre because no matter what the main characters always end up together. CHANGE THE FORMULA! I guess the only other option would be for the movie to end with everyone miserable. Not ideal but maybe worth a try as a change of pace. Expand
  10. Jul 31, 2012
    6
    The cast is great, even if slightly under used at times, and the screenplay has its highs and lows. At its highs it's a smart and heartfelt comedy. At it's lows its an awkwardly crass, and predictable romance.
  11. Jul 30, 2012
    5
    Surprisingly entertaining movie about 2 good friends who decide to have
    A baby together, without the hassle that comes
    With regular relationships. Very moving and very new York .
  12. Jun 17, 2012
    2
    This movie was horrible!!question: why have all the backup actors got soooo much more personality and screen presence than the lead?...ANSWER:
  13. Apr 11, 2012
    2
    I didn't dislike this movie, but I didn't particularly like it either. To be fair, however, I was hoping for something funnier, like Bridesmaids. If you are looking for that, I suggest skipping this movie.
  14. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    I loved this movie and would recommend everyone to see it. I disagree with every reservation expressed by the critics. Unlike them, I feel this was a perfect movie. Jennifer Westfeldt, who wrote, directed, and acted in this movie deserves a lot of credit for doing so many tasks so well. I'm guessing that it was a labor of love.

    The script, which is the backbone of any movie: * was
    centered around an important issue (what do singles do about having a family as they're getting older), * advanced the action naturally from one scene and dilemma to another, * contained dialogue and repartee that was natural and witty

    The direction: * kept us continually engaged - there wasn't one moment that I was just waiting for the next thing to happen - even though I was eager to find out * kept the dialogue flowing between 6 actors - which is not an easy task * had all the actors act perfectly without any false notes * integrated the kids into the action - another difficult directing task

    The acting: * was great. All the actors were funny, exasperated, mean, kind, caring, and loving in turn with no false notes

    Go see it! See if I'm right and the kvetchy critics are wrong!
    Expand
  15. Mar 22, 2012
    2
    The more I think about this movie the more I dislike it. I didn't like any of the characters and they didn't like each other. To suggest that every couple that gets married and has a child is miserable is just ludicrous. The lead male was completely one dimensional, unlikable and unfeeling, the lead female was just as one dimensional and neither was interesting in any way. Save yourself the time and money, don't bother. Expand
  16. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    Rarely does a movie present characters that you identify with everyone of them or have been everyone of them at some point in your life. Yet somehow you want to be none of them. That is life. Humor, truth, emotion, and the impossible dilemmas of life rarely rear their heads together in one story, but they do here. Though the directing is nowhere near Woody Allen's Hanna and Manhattan, and the climax is very hollywood, the majority of the film would make Woody very proud. Expand
  17. Mar 20, 2012
    3
    The movie starts out promising but falls flat. There is not a scene in the movie that is not predictable. There are also some anti-religious statements thrown in that do not further the plot but just serve as a way for the writer (and star) to push their own liberal views.
  18. Mar 17, 2012
    4
    An epic failure of a movie that spends too much time on two moderately appealing characters and never expands on 4 other equally-as-interesting characters. Formulaic for about 95% of the movie, I spent most of my time wondering why it seemed so conceptually similar to When Harry Met Sally, yet was centered around babies. Then, with 10 crucial minutes left to wrap up a story that, if continuing with the formula, had a very predictable ending, yet if it strayed from the formula, it was going to happen very quickly and would ultimately ruin the movie. Somehow, this movie did both. This was a long hour and forty minutes. And the depth just wasn't there. On one hand, it seemed like Jon Hamm life partner, Jennifer Westfeldt, was constructing a sweet film about friends who fall in love, but then on the other, she reduced it to a very shallow and empty story. Such a waste of an incredible cast. Expand
  19. Mar 14, 2012
    3
    The film loses its rhythm when it explores their romances. Jason (Adam Scott) and Julie (Jennifer Westfeldt) have quirky, earnest conversations about sex, life, and death--they talk about choosing between different ways of dying; getting eaten by an alligator vs. a shark, for example. They play off one another like a comedy duo, and this is where the film's chemistry and laughs reside. But once the films shifts direction towards the budding romances of their rival love interests Mary Jane (Megan Fox) and Kurt (Edward Burns), the film fizzles. MJ and Kurt are introduced late in the film, and are types rather than individuals, which generates little tension for us in dual love triangles. While Fox feels more natural in her scenes here than she does in her previous work, she doesn't have enough to do, especially compared with the subtext Westfeldt give herself in her own scenes, where she pretends she's happy that the Jason character has found someone. Furthermore, Friends with Kids has more characters than it can handle (a maid character is introduced and then dropped from the narrative). There's a squabble between an extraneous couple at the film's climax, yet they had so little screen time heretofore that it comes out of the blue. Who are these people and why should we care if they're fighting? Westfeldt doesn't understand that just because the characters know each other doesn't mean that we do Expand
  20. Mar 13, 2012
    6
    Adam Scott and Jennifer Westfeldt (who also wrote and directed) are the last singles in their circle of married friends. After the others all have kids, they decide to split one, but maintain their single status and platonic friendship. Predictability ensues. While there's an energetic pace and a quality supporting cast, there's not enough about the script or the characters to make it consistently funny. Unfortunately, the leading pair lacks sufficient charisma or comic chops to justify their casting. Those who enjoy chick flicks may find it pleasant, but this film doesnâ Expand
  21. Mar 11, 2012
    8
    A happy rom com that I believe is probably the only good movie Megan Fox has ever been in.
  22. Mar 11, 2012
    0
    This was terrible, watched it with the family and was extremely disappointed. The main actress showed us what bad acting is.. please trust me when i say.. DO NOT WATCH THIS...
  23. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    This RomCom will appeal to both genders. Jennifer Westfeldt brings a fresh, voice to the genre; you forget that relationships are at the core of the film, because it's so funny. Just like "Kissing Jessica Stein," this film is unexpectedly entertaining. I'd recommend it to just about anyone.
  24. Mar 10, 2012
    7
    Seems tough to believe that after the hundreds of rom coms that have been done that we'd see an original concept floated, but that's what this movie brings us. The lead actors are terrific, and the supporting characters (Bridesmaids II) are excellent - though I'm getting the feeling the John Hamm is really a one-role (DD) guy. The movie drags a bit 3/4 of the way into it, but otherwise it's a solid movie with plenty of laughs and hide-your-face moments. Even Megan Fox does a decent job. Worth seeing. Expand
  25. Mar 9, 2012
    6
    Much to the akin of a cross between vintage Woody Allen meets Manhattan-set tv sitcoms "Seinfield," and "Friends," with a hint of "Sex and the City," this 'romantic-comedy' doesn't short-change the genre itself; it's both romantic and is certainly funny. From the writer and director, who brought the lesbian-spun quest of finding love in one's 20's to life ("Kissing Jessica Stein"), comes the boundlessly talented Jennifer Westfeldt, who not only writes and directs, but also stars (with also real-life spouse Jon Hamm) in this ensemble comedy. Again putting a twist on relationships, Westfeldt, this time, delineates seeking love in one's 30's...with a baby. The story centers around the lives of two best friends Julie (Jennifer Westfeldt) and Jason (Adam Scott). Each live in the same apartment building, and each engage in frequent one-night stands. Among their social circle, are other couples,who all gradually resort to having kids in their relationships, including the domineering wife Leslie (Maya Rudolph) and her emasculated, subservient laggard husband Alex (Chris O'Dowd). They are the first couple to have a baby. Next, Ben and wife Missy (Hamm and Wiig) have a child. Once their innocent infatuation with child-rearing manifests itself into an actual child, though, the two naive lovebirds resort to heated bickering...like children themselves. When Julie and Jason realize that they get along better than the already married and now-parents, they begin to consider having a child of their own: without the "marriage." The characters' logic stems from the view that most marriages, statistically end in divorce, and that since on average they tend to fail more than they suceed, having a child without the "unnecessary" complexity, would somehow make the situation easier. It lost me too. Regardless, the two friends continue dating, Julie meets empathetically sensitive Kurt (Ed Burns), while Jason stumbles upon tantalizing Mary Jane (Megan Fox). So, the once strictly platonic friends begin to become 'friends' with, a bit more, than meaningless, innocuous 'benefits.' Among the benefits of 'Friends' is a vivaciously committed cast, that has a sense of resonance and on-screen cohesion that may be due to the majority of the cast having already worked together in "Bridesmaids." Nontheless, they congeal and show real, plausible emotion. Also ballasting the film is a slick script that supports the actions of its characters, and inevitably, makes it worth watching; it touches upon a real-life element in social interaction upon friends--the jealousies, judgments, artificialities, and genuine emphathy--that rings a tune of realism. As expected from an ensemble comedy, each of the characters turns in a serviceable performance, Rudolph and O'Dowd being the most distinguisable--too, having worked together in "Bridesmaids"--and being the largest beneficiaries from the strong script. Hamm maintains his charismatic coolness, as usual, though Wiig is arguably the least effective; her role is simply too restrained and irrelevantly peripheral; she's wasted. Furthermore, the two leads are strong, especially Scott, who finally is given a primary role to showcase his causticly acrid demeanor and rapacious output, that the viewer can see and feel him deliver; he shines. Though Westfeldt pulls off an amazing task of directing, writing, producing, and starring in the film, she creates her own character as coming off slightly too simpering and needy. By the latter half, "Friends with Kids" becomes all too predictable, and loses its originality, resorting to genre-specific cliches, and all too-familiar unfunny, ribald humor. In addition, the film is completely oblivious to its various audiences: it's too progressive for some, not enough for others, and perhaps a bit too aloof from the implications of its subject. Having said that, notwithstanding the right intangibles, the film treats its title characters (the kids themselves) as being mere innate objects, burdens laden with excrement and cacophonous sound, of which don't deserve solid, fully-committed, fully-faithful parents; the 'kids''s needs are shown as being offensively inconsequential. The underlying message: it's acceptable to have children if it makes "us" happy. Where is the mention of children's happiness? Casting the moral and ethical concerns aside, "Friends with Kids" is one of the better rom-coms made in quite a while. Expand
  26. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    An incredible film, is funny, emotive, ingenious, the cast is amazing, and the performance of Megan Fox is wow, amazing, I never believe that. Friends with Kids is abig sorprise.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Jun 25, 2012
    60
    It benefits from a supernaturally engaging cast, but this treads too closely to the rom-com model to feel as smart or moving as Westfeldt's previous best.
  2. Reviewed by: Jonathan Crocker
    Jun 21, 2012
    60
    Smart dialogue, a gifted ensemble and good intentions from Jennifer Westfeldt, but her grown-up romcom can't quite escape feeling like a sitcom on the big screen.
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Mar 10, 2012
    50
    In spite of my general distaste for Friends With Kids, let me cast my vote on the side of those who liked the ending. I wish more of the film had had that scene's fresh mixture of casual banter and breathless intimacy, instead of sounding like half-remembered dialogue from a movie we've all seen too many times before.