Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: April 7, 2006
5.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 60 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
27
Mixed:
19
Negative:
14
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
CherylC.May 14, 2006
Life in L.A. could be life on another planet. Or maybe just a depressing depiction of life in America today. Unappealing and a waste of wonderful talent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CraigA.Jun 2, 2006
Enjoyable, funny, but doesn't really seem to go beyond inspiring a feeling of "yeah, I know somebody like that...".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CatherineB.Apr 9, 2006
I ran off to a matinee based on the LA Times review, and what a disappointment. That critic must be on the payroll or something to compare Holofcener to Jane Austen. Austen's work is piercing, deeply observant, funny and literate. This I ran off to a matinee based on the LA Times review, and what a disappointment. That critic must be on the payroll or something to compare Holofcener to Jane Austen. Austen's work is piercing, deeply observant, funny and literate. This work had a few apt perceptions, and that was it. The women were completely unlikeable, I had no idea why they were friends and didn't care about any of them. Does this sound like Jane Austen? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JMApr 22, 2006
The most over-praised movie I've seen in a long time. Clearly intended to be an incisive look at relationships and the strains that develop along financial faultlines, this plays out like some sort of actors' workshop where The most over-praised movie I've seen in a long time. Clearly intended to be an incisive look at relationships and the strains that develop along financial faultlines, this plays out like some sort of actors' workshop where everyone is given a problem or secret and then improvise arguments or vaguely elliptical conversations. How odd that this dour exercise iis being marketed as a light comedy! (The scene being shown on the talk shows -- Aniston in a french-maid outfit apparently flirting with a client -- is not what it appears to be and, even then, seems to have been flown in from another movie.) I'm also stunned at the number of critics who call these characters "likable"; I can't recall a less-ingratiating ensemble. The fact that the actors inhabiting these characters are uniformly excellent doesn't mitigate the underlying falseness at the story's core. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AlessandraS.Apr 23, 2006
Although the film's personalities were complex and had real depth, Friends With Money simply felt like a exerpt from a larger story. The ending was bizarre and unsettling. However, the movie does leave you with a feeling that these Although the film's personalities were complex and had real depth, Friends With Money simply felt like a exerpt from a larger story. The ending was bizarre and unsettling. However, the movie does leave you with a feeling that these characters will continue on to live interesting yet seemingly "normal" lives. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TracyR.Apr 29, 2006
I really wanted to like it, and there were a few apt observations here and there, but nowhere near enough given the potential. [***SPOILERS***] No credible backstory (why are these women friends, where did they all come from, what is theI really wanted to like it, and there were a few apt observations here and there, but nowhere near enough given the potential. [***SPOILERS***] No credible backstory (why are these women friends, where did they all come from, what is the history of these relationships?). What the heck did happen to Olivia? Why can't she teach somewhere where the kids aren't so obnoxious? In stead of filling out ANY of these questions : the movie resorts to gimmicks that are supposed to be worth a thousand words, but aren't (Keener bumping into things, McDormand and her hair, Cusack and the husband buying two toys and Aniston with the face cream). overly repeated and not as revealing as the screenwriter seems to think they are. If you're going to take on the very tough issue of class, you hae to do a little more than this. Disappointing, on the whole. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
VeronicaJ.Aug 14, 2009
I didn't get what the filmaker was trying to say. It didn't seem to go anywhere and the ending with Aniston's character seemed to be a tacked on so audiences would like the movie better. Why do a prolonged and subtle character I didn't get what the filmaker was trying to say. It didn't seem to go anywhere and the ending with Aniston's character seemed to be a tacked on so audiences would like the movie better. Why do a prolonged and subtle character study to ruin it with a completely unbelievable "happy" ending. Same goes with the ending for Jane and her husband, She washes and curls her hair and that's supposed to be satisfying as deeply symbolic? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RJonesApr 14, 2006
Ah, the problems of rich people. Seriously, this was like a Hallmark movie with better production values. It was shot well, framed well, the acting's strong and the characters were likeable...but it was like a big piece of fluff. You Ah, the problems of rich people. Seriously, this was like a Hallmark movie with better production values. It was shot well, framed well, the acting's strong and the characters were likeable...but it was like a big piece of fluff. You call those problems? Hell, I'd trade places with ANY of those women, right now. BTW, Jennifer Aniston dating an overweight slob...a nice thought, but still phony. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarcK.Apr 22, 2006
I usually like Catherine Keener, Frances McDormand, AND Jennifer Aniston, but the script was horrible, the idea was horrible, etc. Most of the characters were very unlikeable, as noted by someone below. But the most unrealistic character of I usually like Catherine Keener, Frances McDormand, AND Jennifer Aniston, but the script was horrible, the idea was horrible, etc. Most of the characters were very unlikeable, as noted by someone below. But the most unrealistic character of them all is Jennifer Aniston. Does anyone really think she would have problems in real life finding guys to date? Why many critics liked this film so much is completely beyond me. The user score (at least at this point) is far more accurate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JimG.Jul 21, 2006
More rich white peoples with problems. Finds some truth, but with characters only other rich white peoples could feel for.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BinkiJul 7, 2011
Such a boring movie. I wouldn't say it was awful, there are some good moments, but generally, this movie is a waste of time. I still liked Jennifer Aniston by the way, she's cute and funny as always.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
beingryanjudeSep 3, 2014
Certainly watchable and occasionally entertaining, Nicole Holofcener is able to create a slightly above-average ensemble of ladies. Stand-outs: Jennifer Aniston and Catherine Keener.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews