Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: October 19, 2001
5.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 118 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
50
Mixed:
29
Negative:
39
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
KarthXLRMar 25, 2011
Was this supposed to be a detective film, a thriller, or a horror story? Because it fails at all three at them. Johnny Depp has been miscast into a bland and uninteresting character while all other characters are simply uninteresting to beginWas this supposed to be a detective film, a thriller, or a horror story? Because it fails at all three at them. Johnny Depp has been miscast into a bland and uninteresting character while all other characters are simply uninteresting to begin with. Not bad, but completely forgettable. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
5
TokyochuchuNov 4, 2013
From Hell would almost be interesting if it wasn't for the bungled love story, awful accents and empty conclusion. There are a few nice things about this Jack the Ripper flick but overall it's a mess.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
MichaelF.Apr 1, 2002
I was truly disappointed. All that this film has to offer is some great visuals, nothing else. I totally forgetable film. I liked that most, all, of the violence is implied. The movie just gets a bit boring and loses one's interest. I was truly disappointed. All that this film has to offer is some great visuals, nothing else. I totally forgetable film. I liked that most, all, of the violence is implied. The movie just gets a bit boring and loses one's interest. Zero character developtment, usually this is the actor's job. The movie had no, soul, well, more like, the movie seemed like nothing was keeping it up. There was nothing in paticular that kept this movie going. Went nowhere and said nothing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SidneyM.Oct 29, 2001
Too much rings false. The sets look like sets. The characters act like characters. This is melodramatic nonsense dressed up for a bloody night on the town. I couldn't believe any of it. I finally gave up when Depp fell for Graham. And Too much rings false. The sets look like sets. The characters act like characters. This is melodramatic nonsense dressed up for a bloody night on the town. I couldn't believe any of it. I finally gave up when Depp fell for Graham. And those accents! Has Heather ever taken an acting class? I found myself wanting to check the football scores on my pager rather than watch anymore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JakeM.Jul 2, 2002
This is not the greatest movie of all time but its still a movie worth watching. Although you do come out of the theater asking questions, its still pretty cool because of the horror. The Hughes Brothers did a good job at showing the evil in This is not the greatest movie of all time but its still a movie worth watching. Although you do come out of the theater asking questions, its still pretty cool because of the horror. The Hughes Brothers did a good job at showing the evil in Jack's eyes. And thats about it. I think people will watch this movie just to get some more knowledge of one of the most famous killers of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GaborA.Jun 10, 2004
The Hughes brothers have an eye for detail and know how to work the camera, but the storyline was terrible. If you are a hooker whose friends are all being horribly murdered then would you still enter any mysterious carriage for some grapes The Hughes brothers have an eye for detail and know how to work the camera, but the storyline was terrible. If you are a hooker whose friends are all being horribly murdered then would you still enter any mysterious carriage for some grapes and money? Also, despite the fact that this is suposed to be a murder mystery jonny depp's character does little solving. The crimes just happen until finally the killer gives himself away knowing that clues are apparently non existent. Interesting but story line falls short very much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GinoE.Jun 19, 2004
"From Hell" is a modern serial killer police mystery, that is trying to be hip by taking an old London setting. The accents are terrible. Johnny is really trying, but obviously not good enough. Sometimes too bloody. Too many characters are "From Hell" is a modern serial killer police mystery, that is trying to be hip by taking an old London setting. The accents are terrible. Johnny is really trying, but obviously not good enough. Sometimes too bloody. Too many characters are beeing introduced who has nothing to do with the storyline at all. No wonder this film is 45 minutes too long. Nobody wants to watch long scenes about town hookers and their daily problems and lesbian escapades. Loads of other cliches come to mind, but are not worth mentioning. There is one nice scene, that has nothing to do with anything, but pays a nice tribute to David Lynch's "Elephant Man". Overall: Enjoyable if you're bored, but after all, it's another "Let's-guess-who-the-killer-in-question-is" flick, that we've all seen before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DonD.Oct 21, 2001
Dark characters abound in this story, starting with Johnny Depp in a stupor at a London hash house. The viewer gets no relief from the violence and gore which is deeply disturbing, not scary. The characterization of the Ripper was superb and Dark characters abound in this story, starting with Johnny Depp in a stupor at a London hash house. The viewer gets no relief from the violence and gore which is deeply disturbing, not scary. The characterization of the Ripper was superb and well hidden until the end. But Depp seemed to sleep walk through his role, only expressing great emotion when his new hooker friend, Heather Graham, appeared to be in trouble. Coins for the ferryman fit the ending perfectly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
raVenApr 11, 2004
Johnny Depp has this way of ingesting opiates and wading through pools of blood that makes you half suspect that this is what he does in real life between movies...But of course we all know he's REALLY a pirate. I was a big Depp fan Johnny Depp has this way of ingesting opiates and wading through pools of blood that makes you half suspect that this is what he does in real life between movies...But of course we all know he's REALLY a pirate. I was a big Depp fan before this movie, and I was still a big fan afterwards. But other than a good turn by Ian Holm, this movie didn't have much for me besides the aforementioned opiates and pools of blood. If I had to give it a grade I'd say O+. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RobertBroganSep 30, 2015
The problem I had with From Hell was that it felt like I was watching a movie about Jack the Ripper, set in London. I never got that immersive cinematic experience. While the production values were fine, the way things came off reminded meThe problem I had with From Hell was that it felt like I was watching a movie about Jack the Ripper, set in London. I never got that immersive cinematic experience. While the production values were fine, the way things came off reminded me too much of History Channel dramatizations. I'd put that down to overacting on the part of the supporting cast; Heather Graham and Johnny Depp were fine, as was the directing. I must admit that I ended up returning the disc early to get to the next one in my queue. I read spoilers for the rest of the film and the story sounds much more interesting than what I had seen up to that point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews