Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 892 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Anna sets off on an epic journey—teaming up with rugged mountain man Kristoff and his loyal reindeer Sven—to find her sister Elsa, whose icy powers have trapped the kingdom of Arendelle in eternal winter. Encountering Everest-like conditions, mystical trolls and a hilarious snowman namedAnna sets off on an epic journey—teaming up with rugged mountain man Kristoff and his loyal reindeer Sven—to find her sister Elsa, whose icy powers have trapped the kingdom of Arendelle in eternal winter. Encountering Everest-like conditions, mystical trolls and a hilarious snowman named Olaf, Anna and Kristoff battle the elements in a race to save the kingdom. [Walt Disney Pictures] Expand
  • Director: Chris Buck and Jennifer Lee
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Mystery, Thriller, Fantasy, Comedy, Romance, Animation, Family, Musical
  • Rating: PG
  • Runtime: 102 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Nov 26, 2013
    100
    Wonderfully enchanting wintry fare.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Nov 26, 2013
    90
    Frozen is a delightful animated musical, a return to form for Disney animation with an intriguing story and terrific songs.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Nov 27, 2013
    83
    Frozen impresses by conveying coldness in all its frostbitten beauty, from northern lights and blizzards, to ice magnifying, refracting and reflecting light. The movie is a lovely example for animation enthusiasts to study.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Nov 27, 2013
    75
    Frozen establishes a strong, confident tone: Cool mythology, rich, vivid animation, and 3-D effects that are actually worth seeing, not just migraine-inducing distractions.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 13, 2013
    70
    The film transcends its various borrowings and occasional stumblings with a modern, exuberant spirit that draws heat from Broadway-style musical numbers and, before and after everything else, from marvelous 3-D animation
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Nov 6, 2013
    70
    This always enjoyable tale of mysterious magic, imperiled princesses and square-jawed men of action proves longer on striking visuals than on truly engaging or memorable characters.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Nov 26, 2013
    40
    The story — aside from a climax that plays like a too-knowing rebuke to Disney formula — goes tediously through the motions. It isn’t only Papa Walt’s head that’s been put on ice.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 253
  1. Apr 27, 2014
    10
    frozen movie its the best , amazing , fantastic.
    animation and musical very very good, i like
    frozen movie its the best , amazing , fantastic.
    animation and musical very very good, i like it......................................................
    Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was surprisingly good and to me was not like other predictable Disney movies. IT had a lot of singing but I really enjoyed watching it. Olaf the snowman was my by far favorite character. Expand
  3. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    While we all love Disney and the happiness it brings to everyone, sometimes it over-shows ideals to young girls that might not come true inWhile we all love Disney and the happiness it brings to everyone, sometimes it over-shows ideals to young girls that might not come true in reality. "Frozen" addresses the meaning of love right from the start, with an adult Anna, who being separated from reality for her entire life has no idea what love truly means. .As an avid Disney fan, and as someone with two sisters, this is a movie that people of all ages will love to see. Expand
  4. May 12, 2014
    8
    I enjoyed Frozen a lot, but I don't think that it's as great as some may say. It does have great characters, beautiful animation and some goodI enjoyed Frozen a lot, but I don't think that it's as great as some may say. It does have great characters, beautiful animation and some good songs (especially Let if Go) and I do like that it goes down some routes and uses some formulas that have a nostalgic feeling to them. However, to all those "die-hard" Frozen fans who think that Frozen is the best Disney movie since The Lion King, I have to disagree. For example I do think that a couple of the songs are a little forgettable and not to mention I wasn't the biggest fan of the overall story. But Frozen still does impress me, it's probably about as good as Tangled and I would recommend it to Disney Die-hards. Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'd heard all the glowing reviews about this film, which has done fantastically well both commercially and critically. However having watched it I was slightly disappointed. Don't get me wrong, it's a good film and ticks all the right boxes - the score is great and the animation is amazing. The lack of a proper villain or conflict and a few odd plotting moments spoilt it a bit for me. The queen's power was never explained and the snowman appeared from nowhere with no explanation. Nice to see a great animated Disney film with lots of songs - the things I miss from Pixar/Dreamworks films. Expand
  6. Dec 10, 2013
    6
    Decent Disney move with predictable ending, less action and good characters. I did enjoy it but the truth is that it's nothing special.Decent Disney move with predictable ending, less action and good characters. I did enjoy it but the truth is that it's nothing special. Overall it's a great family movie. So 6/10 i think is fair Expand
  7. May 6, 2014
    0
    I love CGI movies, but this was a big disappointment! 1. The animations were nothing new, it seems like they haven't done anything new in overI love CGI movies, but this was a big disappointment! 1. The animations were nothing new, it seems like they haven't done anything new in over 5 years! Even some of the textures were low resolution! 2. The musical pieces seem, just like a filler in the movie. 3. Story? there was no story, it was a copy of the lion king. 4. This is another example of a Disney movie, that should of went straight to Blu-ray release! Expand

See all 253 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.
  2. Holiday Movie Preview: The Key Films to Seek Out Before the End of the Year

    Holiday Movie Preview: The Key Films to Seek Out Before the End of the Year Image
    Published: November 19, 2013
    Get details on 18 noteworthy films due in theaters over the holiday season, including an "Anchorman" sequel plus new features from David O. Russell, Spike Jonze, Spike Lee, the Coen brothers, Martin Scorsese, and more.