Universal Pictures | Release Date: July 31, 2009
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 231 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
134
Mixed:
53
Negative:
44
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
MichaelDMay 1, 2011
I only watched the movie for the first hour and from what I've seen, I guess it's worth a watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
thecurberJan 31, 2011
Funny people has the warmth, the usual raunchy laughs, a semi decent plot, and a winning cast. But all of this gets rather stale after the first hour, and this drama comedy, i hate to say this- pretty much rotts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheDaveHimselfAug 3, 2011
Although I absolutely love Judd Apatow's films, this one ranks third in his directorial efforts (right behind Knocked Up and 40 Year Old Virgin). What is great about the film though is the balance of humor and drama. Adam Sandler does a greatAlthough I absolutely love Judd Apatow's films, this one ranks third in his directorial efforts (right behind Knocked Up and 40 Year Old Virgin). What is great about the film though is the balance of humor and drama. Adam Sandler does a great job. One of the better things he's ever done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
alexandergreenSep 4, 2011
A more dramatic turn from Judd Apatow sees Adam Sandler playing what is essentially an exaggerated version of himself. The performances are great, and it's one of the few films which I can happily sit through despite its huge run time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
spadenxDec 31, 2011
This was the worst "comedy" I have ever seen. First of all, Apatow should stay the heck out of drama from now on. Second, Sandler sucks as a dramatic comedy actor (history has shown us this plenty of times before). I expected it to be goodThis was the worst "comedy" I have ever seen. First of all, Apatow should stay the heck out of drama from now on. Second, Sandler sucks as a dramatic comedy actor (history has shown us this plenty of times before). I expected it to be good but the entire film was simply trash that I had to suffer through 2 hours of because my family sadly paid money to rent it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
csw12May 31, 2014
Funny People feels like three movies in one. The movie is painfully long with mediocre acting by the entire cast. I couldn't take any of the drama seriously when you have Adam Sandler acting the same way when he's trying to being funny. TheFunny People feels like three movies in one. The movie is painfully long with mediocre acting by the entire cast. I couldn't take any of the drama seriously when you have Adam Sandler acting the same way when he's trying to being funny. The movie simply didn't work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Trev29Apr 13, 2013
A seemingly endless story that never reaches a satisfying ending. Between the dark comedy and serious undertone there was a decent movie that was making a statement, but the length and unnecessary supporting characters just makes you forget that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dev92Aug 25, 2012
I thought this film would be a comedy but in actually fact I think this film should be classed as a drama. Sure it is funny in places but it is a lot more serious than most other Judd Apatow productions. Despite this, I actually enjoyed theI thought this film would be a comedy but in actually fact I think this film should be classed as a drama. Sure it is funny in places but it is a lot more serious than most other Judd Apatow productions. Despite this, I actually enjoyed the film. Eric Bana is a fantastic actor and Seth Rogan along with Adam Sandler for once bring a sense of realism to their roles. I think Rogan would suit more roles like this in the future as well his more obvious drug-addled roles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
gill000Aug 19, 2012
This movie may be called 'Funny People' but it is anything but funny. I have always been a big fan of Adam Sandler and with the cast that this film has I was expecting a lot more from it. I'd go so far as to say I would never watch it again.This movie may be called 'Funny People' but it is anything but funny. I have always been a big fan of Adam Sandler and with the cast that this film has I was expecting a lot more from it. I'd go so far as to say I would never watch it again. Life is precious, don't waste it watching this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Apatow's Funny People had so much potential, and it really did have moments of greatness. It's just the lag in between those moments that brings it down.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Kylenine1Jun 12, 2014
I was searching for a comedy movie that I thought would make me laugh. Funny People contains a great story, but the standup comedy scenes and the supposedly funny moments aren't really that funny.
I loved the story and it was entertaining,
I was searching for a comedy movie that I thought would make me laugh. Funny People contains a great story, but the standup comedy scenes and the supposedly funny moments aren't really that funny.
I loved the story and it was entertaining, but I had to give it a 6 out of 10 because the film didn't really make me laugh all that much. Adam Sandler really had me laughing in the film Grown ups and Seth Rogan did a pretty good job in the new film Neighbors. So I think it's safe to say that this film wasn't terrible at all, but it wasn't by far their best work. The reason being is that real comedy films make you laugh. I'm sure other movie goers laughed and that's great. The only movie goers and film buffs that would like this kind of movie are stand up comedy fans. Other people don't understand what is supposed to be funny. I thought the same thing, the jokes were a 0 out of 10. I haven't been a big stand up comedy fan. I thought this movie was going to be about something else. I was in for a big surprise. If you want a great story and don't mind not laughing then this is a great film. If you're looking for some jokes that will make you laugh like I was, then you might as well skip this one. All in all, Funny People isn't bad, but it lakes comedic jokes.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SimpleMethodJul 11, 2013
Not correctly advertised. It's a really depressing movie, honestly. Very different from typical apatow fare. But I still enjoyed it, despite feeling like I in fact had cancer at the end of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bladeagentMar 2, 2014
In a time where a lot of comedies involve lowbrow, unintelligent humor, Funny People is a surprisingly smart and heartfelt comedy that features funny performances by Seth Rogen and Adam Sandler.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
heeldavidJun 11, 2014
Many people will complaint about the length, but this is Apatow's best film. Apatow has a nice way to mix comedy and drama. Seth Rogen puts on a very nice performance, Adam Sandler puts on a way better performance that he puts on in his otherMany people will complaint about the length, but this is Apatow's best film. Apatow has a nice way to mix comedy and drama. Seth Rogen puts on a very nice performance, Adam Sandler puts on a way better performance that he puts on in his other comedic flops, Sandler is very different and wise in this role we've seen that side of him in movies such as Punch Drunk-Love and the very underrated Reign Over Me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Meth-dudeNov 17, 2017
While the movie had it's funny moments (very few) and the first hour and a half was a very well constructed movie, the last hour or so was completely unnecessary and very boring. If you want to see Adam Sandler acting a little bit more matureWhile the movie had it's funny moments (very few) and the first hour and a half was a very well constructed movie, the last hour or so was completely unnecessary and very boring. If you want to see Adam Sandler acting a little bit more mature than usual and if you have two hours and a half to waste, you might enjoy the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
juliankennedy23Jul 31, 2014
Funny People: 8 out of 10: What is amazing about Funny people is considering its set-up and storyline it manages to deftly dodge a veritable minefield of bathos laid out before it. The story is about comedian, who is super rich after a stringFunny People: 8 out of 10: What is amazing about Funny people is considering its set-up and storyline it manages to deftly dodge a veritable minefield of bathos laid out before it. The story is about comedian, who is super rich after a string of really bad comedies (Adam Sandler playing himself), finds he has version of leukemia and well is going to die soon. Therefore, he reflects back on his life makes amends and chases the girl that got away with the help of new assistant, a thin Seth Rogen.

Yes, it is what we hipsters would call Narm city. Yet this Judd Aptow directed flick is so self aware of the pitfalls that it not just avoids them for the most part but in a true stand up comic style calls them out. This is at its heart a very smart and aware film. What could have been Terms of Endearment with dick jokes turns into an occasionally funny and somewhat touching film. It is also a very real film about real people and I am going to repeat myself here but it is truly smart.

The only real downside I see is that I really do not see myself watching this film again anytime soon. It is a great ride but it never reaches that next level. The movie consists of some very funny bits, but do not come aboard expecting belly laughs. In addition, while I found myself enjoying the laid back pace at 153 minutes there is no question this feels more like a directors cut than a tightly paced theatrical release.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JamisInsomiaJul 11, 2014
This in my opinion Adam Sandler best movie before Punch Drunk Love. This movie is underrated because I'll say," Does anyone know what the movie Funny People is". Then everyone who look at me weird but no spoilers in this review but this movieThis in my opinion Adam Sandler best movie before Punch Drunk Love. This movie is underrated because I'll say," Does anyone know what the movie Funny People is". Then everyone who look at me weird but no spoilers in this review but this movie is a 2 and a half hours of a good movie maybe my 7th Favorite movie of all time but the everyone is giving all of their best her even Adam Sandler is giving all his best here. Seth Rogen is funny in this such as Jonah Hill, Leslie Mann, Eric Bana and many more. But this is Judd Apatow best film he I think giving all his best too. If I had to give a rating to this film its a easy A- . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
EpicLadySpongeMay 10, 2016
This isn't about Adam Sandler at this time around, it's about Judd Apatow and I can agree (even though I don't like the general idea of the film) the 40-Year-Old Virgin is better. These 'Funny People' you see here isn't funny enough toThis isn't about Adam Sandler at this time around, it's about Judd Apatow and I can agree (even though I don't like the general idea of the film) the 40-Year-Old Virgin is better. These 'Funny People' you see here isn't funny enough to generate a whole laugh track for 146 minutes of movie time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
2016Jul 27, 2016
The truth, which is a good movie with a great argument to begin. It is one of only Adam Sandler's movie that is worth a sorrow seeing. The only thing that I did not like was the scene of it her fights.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews