Lionsgate | Release Date: September 4, 2009
4.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 244 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
94
Mixed:
46
Negative:
104
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
AndrewM.Jan 20, 2010
Terrible. just terrible. and it gave me a migraine, with all the strobing and odd, jerky camera movements and switches. Maybe worse than Crank 2
5 of 5 users found this helpful
0
AlfonsoC.Sep 6, 2009
The worst film I've ever seen.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
2
RyanSJan 20, 2010
Big, dumb, and boring. A bunch of bad ideas about video games of the future taking concepts from video games of today.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
0
MichaelSep 10, 2009
This was the worst movie I have ever seen. PS-I am an old man and have seen lots of movies. PPS-Popcorn was OK.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
2
BlakeR.Sep 4, 2009
Literally the worst movie I've ever seen. A confusing mixed bag of things the movie was obviously trying to appeal to the public. Tits, violence, pointless language, terrible dialogue. I mean really...no wonder the theater was empty on Literally the worst movie I've ever seen. A confusing mixed bag of things the movie was obviously trying to appeal to the public. Tits, violence, pointless language, terrible dialogue. I mean really...no wonder the theater was empty on opening night. Don't waste your money. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
0
PhilipNov 15, 2009
Avoid! It's sad that a movie like this was even conceived, not to mention funded and actually produced.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
rbSep 8, 2009
This was one of the worst movies I have seen. The movie was watchable until we saw the guy behind the avatar...he was wierd perverted and those scenes just ruined the movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
2
FraserV.Sep 4, 2009
This is without a doubt one of the worst movies I've seen so far this year. Acting, Script/Story, Editing....all less than 'B' movie quality. Take a pass unless you're a 15 year old nOOb, hopped up on to much Pepsi.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
KennyNov 4, 2009
It was a matter of time before someone were to have this story which is not original, to be honest, but I have a little message to give to Butler: "Let it before you upload your career. Gerard Butler is a good actor, but making these films It was a matter of time before someone were to have this story which is not original, to be honest, but I have a little message to give to Butler: "Let it before you upload your career. Gerard Butler is a good actor, but making these films is auto catalloge collapses and the public began to mold himself into this kind of action movies and honestly I think this man can reach more. The story is stupid, his characters come and go will die, resurrect, they put them out, they bore me. The script is awful and the dialogues are to be tortured, because they intend to put a sentence at all times. "Gamer" is a waste of time. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
OliverWNov 8, 2009
As a teen gamer, you'd imagine that this movie would be perfect for me! Sadly, everybody seems to assume that every male teen is a horny sex maniac who will disregard an utter lack of story and terrible acting just to see some tits and As a teen gamer, you'd imagine that this movie would be perfect for me! Sadly, everybody seems to assume that every male teen is a horny sex maniac who will disregard an utter lack of story and terrible acting just to see some tits and guns. Reviewers, please don't try and speak for the audience that you think this is intended for when you obviously don't understand them. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
theonerandomJan 4, 2012
Probably one of the worst movies I have ever seen in my entire life. I wish everyday that I could get those two hours of my life back to do something more productive then watching this awful, awful movie. It made no sense, the premise wasProbably one of the worst movies I have ever seen in my entire life. I wish everyday that I could get those two hours of my life back to do something more productive then watching this awful, awful movie. It made no sense, the premise was dull, the acting terrible, and the action scenes were awful. This is by far the worst Gerard Butler film I have seen and definitely in the top 10 (getting into the top 5) of the worst movies I have ever seen. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
DustinCSep 9, 2009
Mike R. gave it a10: Its not so serious like you think And NY Times doesn't like none movie. if you're as eloquent and intellectual as this reviewer, you'll surely love this movie!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AMovieCriticSep 9, 2009
Gamer; F------ One of the worst, if not THE worst, movies I've ever seen. I went in expecting a goofy good time but left feeling totally disgusted with myself for agreeing to be dragged along to see it. The concept sounds interesting on Gamer; F------ One of the worst, if not THE worst, movies I've ever seen. I went in expecting a goofy good time but left feeling totally disgusted with myself for agreeing to be dragged along to see it. The concept sounds interesting on paper but (aside from a very stylishly shot, but totally pointless futuristic rave scene) the movie just looks terrible, the whole thing lacking much in the way of color, the plot takes itself way too seriously and makes no sense, the violence/sexual themes are gratuitous and unnecessary, and it just grossed me out. There's one point when a huge, mentally ill killer kills two people and is contemplating stabbing to death a girl in an elevator (who is being "controlled" by an obese man in a wheelchair, who is pleasuring himself to the images,) and during this scene I began to wonder what I was doing in this terrible movie. The plot felt thrown together with no sort of thought put into it, no characters are developed, no characters are likable, and half the cast is literally killed off in the blink of an eye with no sort of farewell or mention afterwards. Awful, awful movie. It's not even trashy fun like violent movies like Snakes on a Plane, this is just unpleasant. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
beastloveOct 22, 2010
I am sure this would a great film if you were Stevie Wonder. Actually that isn't true because you would still need to listen to the actors and the really bad script. It is like the writers watched The Running Man and decided it would be coolI am sure this would a great film if you were Stevie Wonder. Actually that isn't true because you would still need to listen to the actors and the really bad script. It is like the writers watched The Running Man and decided it would be cool to mix it with Facebook and a FPS. I hope the writers now work in McDonalds or milk goats for a living. Go watch American Ninja instead Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
TheQuietGamerOct 15, 2011
One of the worst movies of all time, don't watch this at all, the plot and characters are awful, the action scenes suck, and it just an awful movie all around, there is nothing good about it at all, avoid at all costs.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
islandDec 9, 2011
Great concept but bad realization. It's damn boring. I can't mention a good part of it. Nobody is recommended to watch this. Avoid it, it's a waste of time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
grandpajoe6191Sep 28, 2011
"The Gamer" is a game you will NEVER want to play, especially with Gerald Butler starring in it.
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
1
CodyT.Jan 22, 2010
Michael C. Hall should get a slap, no, SEVERAL slaps on the wrist for this bomb. I HATE movies like this. The one movie with an absurd over the top futuristic plot that was actually decent is Minority Report. This is just...wow.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
EllisBDec 4, 2009
Infuriating... This movie is the iconic monument to what is currently wrong with the world. All the technicalities aside - bad camera work, incessant screen flashing and uncalled transitions; this movie depicts an anti utopia of ludicrous Infuriating... This movie is the iconic monument to what is currently wrong with the world. All the technicalities aside - bad camera work, incessant screen flashing and uncalled transitions; this movie depicts an anti utopia of ludicrous proportions. Lions gate studios have created another DO NOT WATCH title. Gamer promotes technophobia, defeatism and attempts to capitalize on shock value, way past the appropriate amounts. This horrendous picture should be banned on the basis of obscenity. Even if you let assume all the what ifs; you will find that it will never make any logical sense. Sure it's got action, it's got drama, it's got excitement but watching this movie is like eating cherry twizzlers blended with 0 percent yogurt, and a healthy dose of number 7 recycled plastic as a whipped topping. It takes away from sci-fi; it gives bad impression about any human-technology interfacing. This movie reeks of artificial engineering by some forces interested in lowering human-wide IQ levels, it decreased my attention span by 10%; while watching this movie, I have lost 134,586 brain cells; anybody pregnant would instantly give premature birth after watching this atrocity. Please note the trend of all filmmakers to fill the logical voids with irrelevant conversation during which the camera view will shift at least 70 times. It is NOT OK for me to watch something which makes no sense, why would anybody do that? Starring at the wall is better for our psyche than to look at this crap. Would everybody please stand up and say that no matter how much or how little money is spent on a film, what really matters is the ingenuity of the story and the essential soul of the motion picture. Gamer has no soul, no intrigue, it is meant to play with your basic feelings; but at the end you feel like you got raped. Collapse
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
EliJ.Sep 11, 2009
The first hint that this movie was going to be horrible was the fact that the plot is pretty much taken straight from death race, but spiced up a bit of coarse. So i wasn't surprised in the least that the movie was horrible when i saw The first hint that this movie was going to be horrible was the fact that the plot is pretty much taken straight from death race, but spiced up a bit of coarse. So i wasn't surprised in the least that the movie was horrible when i saw it. Just the fact that the 80's are over and there are still completely awful and worthless movies being made kills me a little inside. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
brasdNov 15, 2012
Absolutely terrible.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
KadeemluvmusicNov 18, 2012
I got two words for Gerald Butler: GAME OVER. As good as "300" goes, the next time he'll be facing is a computer virus and he wished if he's the one getting trapped in a video game for a very long time. It's not a video game adapted movie,I got two words for Gerald Butler: GAME OVER. As good as "300" goes, the next time he'll be facing is a computer virus and he wished if he's the one getting trapped in a video game for a very long time. It's not a video game adapted movie, but a terrible movie that it is a video game. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
TokyochuchuJul 14, 2012
Gamer is the biggest insult to gamers since the Super Mario Bros movie. It assumes we're all ultra-violence loving COD fanatics who get our jollies watching other people get eviscerated... And even if a few of us are like that, we stillGamer is the biggest insult to gamers since the Super Mario Bros movie. It assumes we're all ultra-violence loving COD fanatics who get our jollies watching other people get eviscerated... And even if a few of us are like that, we still demand much, much better quality entertainment than this stinking pile of B-movie toss. If you're interested in this because of the title, avoid completely and watch Scott Pilgrim vs. the World instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
ExKingMar 31, 2013
this movie have a huge lack of imagination and the result was a horrible movie with an awful picture and acting wasn't in the place and Gerard Butler to go from 300 to this movie is just plain wrong. after all it seems like a gamer wanted tothis movie have a huge lack of imagination and the result was a horrible movie with an awful picture and acting wasn't in the place and Gerard Butler to go from 300 to this movie is just plain wrong. after all it seems like a gamer wanted to make a successful movie but his imagination betrayed him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
EpicLadySpongeMay 12, 2016
Gamers, look out for Gamer. You gamers don't need a movie about anything and at this point of the line, when the game over signal comes out, you're finally good to go!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews