Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , ,
  • Summary: Social warfare erupts when three high school clique queens battle for supremacy: drama diva Caprice (Xosha Roquemore), Mormon princess ‘Shley (Andrea Bowen) and blonde fashionista Fawcett (Sasha Pieterse). When unassuming Tanner (Michael J. Willet) is outted, he finds himself cast as the hottest new teen-girl accessory: The Gay Best Friend. The clique queens immediately pounce and makeover Tanner into their ideal arm candy, forcing him to choose between popularity and the true friends — including his own B.F.F. Brent (Paul Iacono) — that he's leaving behind. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Jan 6, 2014
    75
    The film, lensed in appealing candy-striped colors, has so much fun exploding stereotypes and radiates with such infectious comic gusto and genuine good nature, that it would be almost churlish to resist its charms.
  2. Reviewed by: Misha Davenport
    Jan 16, 2014
    75
    It’s cheery but still has a bit of a bite, makes a point without ever being too preachy and features a litany of quotable lines with a cleverness not seen since “Heathers.”
  3. Reviewed by: David Lewis
    Jan 17, 2014
    75
    G.B.F. has been unfairly slapped with an R rating, but the film is about as scandalous as a "Glee" episode. It's suitable for young teenage girls, who apparently are far more at ease with the times than the homophobic folks at the MPAA. Don't let their rating fool you: The movie may be thoroughly modern, yet it's old-fashioned, too.
  4. Reviewed by: Susan Wloszczyna
    Jan 17, 2014
    63
    Once this self-consciously campy fairy tale stops trying so hard to emulate every high-school comedy and TV show from the past 30 years and relaxes into a stream of clever repartee and amusing situations, it eventually offers enough LOL opportunities to deserve a passing grade.
  5. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Mar 18, 2014
    60
    The joke wears a bit thin and performances vary: this isn’t as slick as the teen movies it draws from, such as ‘Clueless’ and ‘Mean Girls’. But an original premise and earnest tone go a long way.
  6. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jan 23, 2014
    60
    The subject matter calls for ruthless observation, but his candy-colored pop vision has more in common with “Glee” than, say, “Heathers.” He’s aiming for a stinging WTF, but winds up with a fairly mild LOL.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jan 24, 2014
    25
    I guess I’ve seen worse teen sex comedies, but it’s rare to encounter one this stupid.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Apr 28, 2014
    8
    Finally got a chance to watch this after seeing how well it performed on rotten tomato, and I gotta admit it's a really funny movie! Just imagine John Hughes directing a movie with a gay protagonist. The writing is really fresh, giving a fun satire on high school culture and how gay kids are often viewed. It's a very exaggerated universe and the actors pull off the comedy very well, especially Xosha Roquemore who I've only seen in a small part in Precious but she is a great comedian (and sexy to boot). I hope more people get a chance to see this through word of mouth. Collapse
  2. Aug 27, 2014
    7
    Summary: G.B.F. is highly entertaining, awkward to watch and the concept is original, though it definitely could be a deeper film. 67/100 [B-]

    In G.B.F., social warfare erupts when three high school clique queens battle for supremacy: drama diva Caprice, Mormon princess 'Shley and blonde fashionista Fawcett. When unassuming Tanner is outted, he finds himself cast as the hottest new teen-girl accessory: The Gay Best Friend. The clique queens immediately pounce and makeover Tanner into their ideal arm candy, forcing him to choose between popularity and the true friends - including his own B.F.F. Brent - that he's leaving behind. G.B.F. has an interesting and original premise, totally deserves its R rating, because it has too many sexual references. The film is funny, the plot is original and the acting is good, though sometimes the characterization is cliche and it has some surreal situations.

    G.B.F. has a mostly unknown cast, but there are actually some famous young actresses like Sasha Pieterse (Pretty Little Liars), Molly Tarlov (Awkward) and the actress/singer Joanna "JoJo" Levesque (RV, Aquamarine), they all are very likeable and i'll be sincere, i saw this film only for Joanna's performance, i'm a huge fan of her. The film is pretty good actually and is not predictable at all. I like its execution, the first 15 minutes are straight to the point, also the whole first act is kinda sad and deep sometimes, the rest of the film is more about jokes and funny stuff. The film at the third act tries to be deep again, but it feels unrealistic and ineffective. Some sexual scenes in the film are very awkward to watch, so if you are not familiar with this gay stuff, don't see it. The script is refreshing, but sometimes all the situations throughout the film are very surreal and unbelievable.

    G.B.F. has its funny parts, some of them very funny, i enjoyed it so much. The movie leverages its uncommon premise. You care for the main character, he's shy and likable. G.B.F. is like a very good T.V. film, you will laugh and it's enjoyable but unfortunately it's just a simple little film (though it's not forgettable at all). I know that this is a very low budget film, i respect that and i enjoyed it, but overall it could be deeper and more dramatic. The script is laughable but it works, it's very funny and effective. Sometimes in the second act the direction is messy and the relation between the characters is confusing. But overall i recommend it for people with average expectations. [B-] Check out my blog: www.memobosque.blogspot.mx Twitter: @MemoBosque
    Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2014
    6
    A light and fluffy gay/teen comedy that is sporadically amusing even if after a while it seems to be a one note joke. The cast inject bags of energy in to the proceedings and the production is certainly colourful, in every sense of he word. To get the most out of the screenplay it is imperative that you have an understanding of teen/gay jargon. If you don't the film just doesn't play. If you do you may very well love it. Expand

Trailers