Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 20, 2008
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 258 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
171
Mixed:
61
Negative:
26
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AlexWJun 27, 2008
I was almost rolling on the movie theater floor I was laughing so hard. This movie is hilarious. Steve Carell is amazing, Alan Arkin is great, Anne Hathaway blew me away and Dwayne Johnson pulled of a great comedic role. I can't wait to I was almost rolling on the movie theater floor I was laughing so hard. This movie is hilarious. Steve Carell is amazing, Alan Arkin is great, Anne Hathaway blew me away and Dwayne Johnson pulled of a great comedic role. I can't wait to buy the DVD! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
WillCJul 18, 2008
I enjoyed this very much. Prior to viewing I was concerned Steve Carell might play the character too slap stick. But was greatly impressed by the way he used more of his"Micheal" character from "The Office". The links in the movie to the old I enjoyed this very much. Prior to viewing I was concerned Steve Carell might play the character too slap stick. But was greatly impressed by the way he used more of his"Micheal" character from "The Office". The links in the movie to the old TV series was a great plus too. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MarkD.Jul 24, 2008
Steve Carrell was very good as Maxwell Smart-- he reinvented the character and has an excellent deadpan delivery. It was also awesome to see Alan Arkin in this as well. It has a fairly predictable and standard plot, but I laughed a lot, and Steve Carrell was very good as Maxwell Smart-- he reinvented the character and has an excellent deadpan delivery. It was also awesome to see Alan Arkin in this as well. It has a fairly predictable and standard plot, but I laughed a lot, and that's what I was looking for. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BlitzcragFeb 11, 2011
The action was better than I expected. As far as the humor goes, all the scenarios that Max gets himself into are, for the most part, hilarious. Side characters supply great one-liners,too.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
JonathanL.Jul 7, 2008
It has been a few years since I have seen a comedy movie that had me laughing as often and as hard as Get Smart. The cast of Get Smart prove to be a huge asset in this James Bond type secret agent comedy. If you enjoyed Dumb and Dumber and It has been a few years since I have seen a comedy movie that had me laughing as often and as hard as Get Smart. The cast of Get Smart prove to be a huge asset in this James Bond type secret agent comedy. If you enjoyed Dumb and Dumber and other easy going comedies from the 80's and 90's, this movie will knock your socks off. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JohnUNov 9, 2008
I am a fan of the original. I feel this remake did it justice. Great writing, acting, humor, special effects/stunts. It made me laugh out loud on multiple occassions. My two teenage kids really appreciated it too.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BenS.Jun 20, 2008
"Get Smart" did a wonderful job of both staying true to the original series, and bringing it into the 21st century. The direction was well done and Steve Carrel was a great Maxwell Smart.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimG.Jun 21, 2008
It was impossible to stop laughing while watching it. Steve Carrell played his part very well, as well as Anne Hathaway (who looked exceptionally beautiful) and the humor was both for adults and children. That might've been the best It was impossible to stop laughing while watching it. Steve Carrell played his part very well, as well as Anne Hathaway (who looked exceptionally beautiful) and the humor was both for adults and children. That might've been the best movie I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
CRLAug 9, 2011
Get Smart blends plenty of spontaneously funny moments and clever, witty jokes with solid performances from Steve Carell and Anne Hathaway to make easily one of the more hilarious comedies I've ever seen.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
HMWMar 8, 2012
This movie had everything, action, mystery, and nonstop comedy. All the actors worked well together and were great spies! Steve and Anne worked well together as well as th rest of the cast. Highly recommended!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
Get Smart is great fun, made so by an awesome cast. Carrell and Arkin are just being themselves here, but they fit in so perfectly.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysSep 29, 2013
A silly movie with nice visuals and an atmosphere that is harmless. It is extremely fun to watch, and all the characters are just like he TV show in the 60's. Steve Carrel is perfect for the role, and many scenes are hilarious as he uses someA silly movie with nice visuals and an atmosphere that is harmless. It is extremely fun to watch, and all the characters are just like he TV show in the 60's. Steve Carrel is perfect for the role, and many scenes are hilarious as he uses some classic Maxwell Smart catchphrases. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Zak21Jul 8, 2014
Get Smart was an absolutely fantastic movie! It is filled with action, a TON of comedy, and suspense that will leave you breathless. The visual and special effects on this movie is a definite crowd pleaser. The actors were superbly phenomenalGet Smart was an absolutely fantastic movie! It is filled with action, a TON of comedy, and suspense that will leave you breathless. The visual and special effects on this movie is a definite crowd pleaser. The actors were superbly phenomenal and were well-suited for their parts. Great movie, great actors, great effects, great storyboard, and a great pleasure to watch! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentApr 6, 2015
A funny movie that revolves around Carrell and his antics. The story is not great nor does it make perfect sense, but it keeps the movie moving and Carrell keeps the jokes coming.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
jelenabiebs31Jan 12, 2016
Steve Carell is at his best. He is incredible as Maxwell Smart. The story line is solid and helps introduce this great spy comedy to a new generation.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-309-Get-Smart-online-free
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31Jan 25, 2016
Steve Carell is at his best. He is incredible as Maxwell Smart. The story line is solid and helps introduce this great spy comedy to a new generation. The cast is absolutely stacked.

Watch it online for free:
Steve Carell is at his best. He is incredible as Maxwell Smart. The story line is solid and helps introduce this great spy comedy to a new generation. The cast is absolutely stacked.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-309-Get-Smart-online-free
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
HarrisonK.Jun 20, 2008
Excellent work! Very, very funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexW.Jun 22, 2008
The critics don't know what they are talking about. I took a chance and skipped out on Love Guru which was more hyped to go see Get Smart and i definitely made the right decision. Keeps you laughing for 90% of the movie, which is a hard The critics don't know what they are talking about. I took a chance and skipped out on Love Guru which was more hyped to go see Get Smart and i definitely made the right decision. Keeps you laughing for 90% of the movie, which is a hard thing to do with a movie as long as this (2 hours). Steve Carell was funny as hell and Get Smart is definitely a must see for this summer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickC.Jun 22, 2008
Great movie, very funny, perhaps a bit cheesy in some parts, but overall, a very enjoyable movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveOJun 30, 2008
This is like the best movie ever compared to THE LOVE GURU which is like the worst movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SuitsYouJul 4, 2008
Really cool film. Funny and actually good quality action flick too. Critics maybe taking life too seriously? Life is too serious a thing to not be made fun of!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshuaB.Jul 4, 2008
One of the funniest movies Ive seen lately. Along the lines of Dumb and Dumber type humor, it pulls comedy off of a dying style, and makes it work wonderfully.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnHJun 7, 2009
This is a very excellent movie. At the beginning, you start to think this is not going to be good, but it really is a terrific hilarious movie. This is a movie that you like better after seeing it the first time, as well. I recommend This is a very excellent movie. At the beginning, you start to think this is not going to be good, but it really is a terrific hilarious movie. This is a movie that you like better after seeing it the first time, as well. I recommend everyone see the movie. It has a great cast with great characters, Max, (Agent 86) 99, the Chief, Agent 23, Laraby, and many other characters. I would also recommend people to see the original TV show of Get Smart. It's hilarious. See this movie, and see it a second time, it is much better after seeing two times! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanW.Jun 21, 2008
One of the funniest movies I have ever seen, and you can hardly go half a minute without laughing, as Steve Carell does an excellent job in his role. It is ridiculous and ridiculously funny, it is a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CallieM.Jun 21, 2008
Loved it. Great casting, hilariously funny, wonderful action scenes combined with a lovely nod to the t.v. show.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PrestonM.Jun 26, 2008
I laughed out loud more than once. Steve Carrel's charm shown through the average script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WalterH.Jul 1, 2008
This movie will be a classic. Like Star Trek's replacement ST-TNG it is hard to fill the predecessor's shoes. This one did a nice job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WillH.Jul 2, 2008
Very funny. True to Steve Carell's comedic history; perhaps funnier than the original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicoE.Jul 5, 2008
Get Smart is a hilarious movie, but not only is it funny the action scenes are top notch. The story isn't extremely deep but is cleverly crafted. you have too see this movie it is the best movie I've seen all summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LouisH.Jul 6, 2008
Get Smart Gets a 10 because it Gets me laughing, even after its over. And for those of u who don't Get this movie, Get funny, or Get bent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexanderMinakovAug 20, 2008
Better than expected!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JonBAug 3, 2008
A few laughs and a descent plot come together to form an above average summer comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WilliamT.Nov 30, 2008
Predictable and sometimes deadpan it may be, but Get Smart proves to be a lot more entertaining than you might expect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelS.Jun 17, 2008
Brilliant and funny from beginning to end. Blink and you'll miss one of the many 1/10 second sight gags.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
VeronicaM.Jun 19, 2008
The reviewers are being a bit harsh. I loved the series, and found this movie to be fun from beginning to end, and I'm rather picky about "blockbusters" and comedys, they are not my preferred genre. The actors are all enjoyable, and I The reviewers are being a bit harsh. I loved the series, and found this movie to be fun from beginning to end, and I'm rather picky about "blockbusters" and comedys, they are not my preferred genre. The actors are all enjoyable, and I found myself laughing quite a bit, as did the others who saw it with me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ELCJun 21, 2008
Very enjoyable and just plain fun. Great update of the show improved humor and got rid of all the sexist undertones in the series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AmsterdamV.Jun 21, 2008
Very funny. Expect for some bad fat jokes and some Bush bashing, this was quite funny. The plot was silly, but the jokes completely redeemed the weak story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EdSJun 21, 2008
I was hesittant about going to see Get Smart, the movie, since I am a huge fan of the original. I can't imagine that the movie could do justice to the work of Don Adams. Also, the 53 metacritic score was another issue, but we were I was hesittant about going to see Get Smart, the movie, since I am a huge fan of the original. I can't imagine that the movie could do justice to the work of Don Adams. Also, the 53 metacritic score was another issue, but we were desparate to see a movie and Get Smart seemed like the best option. The movie was done in such a way that it did not compete with the original and was more of an homage to it. Steve Carell played the character more seriously than some of his other work which worked well (I was afraid that would try to out-Don Adams the original). There were many references to the original that were in throw away lines that worked very well. Also, Control was seemingly working for a presidential administration with many similarities to our current one. Overall a lot of clever inside jokes. The movie was good enough that I actually lauged out loud several times (sometimes I was the only one laughing in the theater). I did enjoy this movie quite a bit and would recommend this to others who remember the original. The current 53 Metascore seems low for this movie. I can only assume that most of those reviews were done by those who didn't watch the TV series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CodyB.Jun 21, 2008
Absolutely hilarious. It was much much better than I thought it would be. Steve Carell made this movie successful. Movie critics are so stuck on themselves that they have forgotten how to enjoy a movie. Its too bad because there are a lot of Absolutely hilarious. It was much much better than I thought it would be. Steve Carell made this movie successful. Movie critics are so stuck on themselves that they have forgotten how to enjoy a movie. Its too bad because there are a lot of great shows out there that are really good, including Get Smart, and they are missing the boat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndrewO.Jun 22, 2008
It probably seemed a lot better than it actually was because every other movie this summer has been horrible (happening, strangers, love geru, hulk)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanB.Jun 20, 2008
I just saw this movie tonight and it was by far the funniest movie of the year! Look for a surprise appearance from Bill Murray!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EricO.Jun 20, 2008
Great fun, light movie, good for a laugh... very good adaptation of the old show.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JosephA.Jun 27, 2008
Hysterical and exciting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisH.Jun 29, 2008
Was surprised by this one. While not quite Get Smart of the 60s, it was a fun movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JulieV.Jul 12, 2008
Steve Carell is 100% hilarious and a real action man. The comedy is nicely timed and not overdone. It is subtle mixed in with slap stick with enough bang to make you laugh aloud not just chuckle here and there. Not normally a fan of Hathaway Steve Carell is 100% hilarious and a real action man. The comedy is nicely timed and not overdone. It is subtle mixed in with slap stick with enough bang to make you laugh aloud not just chuckle here and there. Not normally a fan of Hathaway but she does a great job as 99. Alan Arkin is on fire and hope to see him in Get Smart II with HYMIE. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Jul 14, 2008
It was funny and very entertaining. The world is probably doomed if the secret agents work like that. The terrorist wouldn't really be any better though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesL.Jul 17, 2008
This movie is one of the best Steve Carell movie ever. He is so funny in that movie. He is comedy as gold and with the slapstick in that movie will keep laughing. All the actor have done a great job in this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KentD.Jul 18, 2008
Great "Flash Back" to a very funny TV series I grew up with. I thought the movie was a well done. Special effects were "Good" if not "Great". The punch lines were well placed. Even the flash back and the "shoe phone" was good. Didn't Great "Flash Back" to a very funny TV series I grew up with. I thought the movie was a well done. Special effects were "Good" if not "Great". The punch lines were well placed. Even the flash back and the "shoe phone" was good. Didn't get the driving the small car out of CONTROL and then running out of gas. Ms Hathaway was GREAT as 99 and very easy to look at. She carried the support role perfect. VERY FUNNY. Go see it or buy it on DVD. It's a keeper. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RonaldS.Jul 2, 2008
The people who said this movie was humorfree should try sitting in the theatre next time, instead of in the bathroom reading the graffiti.. this movie had me rolling in tears, especially the bathroom/package scene.. heh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkB.Jul 24, 2008
At this point, Steve Carell can do no wrong. His on-screen sweetness and vulnerability (along with the incomparable Catherine Keener's terrific work) made his breakthrough movie, The 40 Year Old Virgin, not just a very funny raunchfest At this point, Steve Carell can do no wrong. His on-screen sweetness and vulnerability (along with the incomparable Catherine Keener's terrific work) made his breakthrough movie, The 40 Year Old Virgin, not just a very funny raunchfest but a surprisingly affecting romance with characters you really rooted for; on his TV series The Office, his Michael Scott is amazingly gauche and clueless, but he makes you understand why Jan (Melora Walters) falls for him anyway, even though by all standards he spent a lot of time sexually harassing her. Carell made his two 2007 films, the somewhat overblown special effects comedy Evan Almighty and the not-quite-as-adult-as-it-thinks-it-is comedy-drama Dan In reeal life, far more watchable than they would've been without him. Pauline Kael's description of Austin Pendleton's fugitive anarchist in Billy Wilder's 1974 version of The Front Page as a rabbit on the railroad tracks paralyzed by the oncoming train fits Carell perfectly, and that's why casting him in Don Adams' role as the eager but inept secret agent Maxwell Smart in this filmization of the beloved 1960s sitcom is a stroke of genius. Adams, while amusing, was also deliberately stilted and not quite recognizably human, effectively parodying a square-jawed hero type by playing him not so much as a caricature but as an abstraction; Carell brings the humanity. More problematic is Anne Hathaway in Barbara Feldon's role as Agent 99, although it's not Hathaway's fault; she's a charming actress who can play somewhat unlikable characters, as she proved as Jake Gyllenhaal's somewhat shallow wife in Brokeback Mountain, but through most of this movie she's required to display utter contempt for Max. Even allowing for the fact that the big-screen Get Smart, like the first installments of most comic book superhero movies, is an origin story, it's too much and too unpleasant a departure from what made Feldon's characterization so winning: while Agent 99 was far more skilled at her job than Agent 86 was, she stepped back and let him think he was better than he was because she adored him. (And by the way, Feldon occupies a unique, almost singular niche as virtually the only 1960s sex symbol to be one entirely through charm, personality and THAT VOICE rather than revealing attire; correct me if I'm wrong, but through the entire run of the series, I don't think Feldon ever even bared her shoulders.) Nevertheless, the movie is mostly good if undemanding fun; director Peter Segal (The Naked Gun 33 1/3, The Nutty Professor 2: The Klumps) isn't a comic visionary like Frank Tashlin or Blake Edwards; he's more of a Norman Taurog, a competent pro who puts established stars through their paces and knows where to put the camera while doing so. (However, I'd still rather sit through any of Taurog's lazy, late-career Elvis musicals than any of Segal's Adam Sandler movies again; Anger Management, 50 First Dates and The Longest Yard seemed to bring out the worst in both of them.) Segal orchestrates both comedy and action scenes well, gets enjoyable performances from Alan Arkin, David Koechner and a wonderfully droll The Ro--er, Dwayne Johnson, and stages a delightful dance sequence that will leave those of us who don't look like supermodels (that is, about 99.9% of us) beaming. And since, by the time Get Smart ends, it FINALLY gets the Max/99 relationship RIGHT, it promises that relative Hollywood rarity: an even better sequel! Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidS.Jul 5, 2008
I was a bit of a fan of Get Smart on TV and was unsure about the movie, however I think they pulled it off very well. Some parts I had tears in my eyes from laughing so much. Light hearted entertainment very enjoyable non thinking movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonHOct 13, 2009
Steve is a comedic master of portraying immersive believable reactions in the heat of unbelievable situations. Comedy that doesn't beat you over the head and rewards the viewer who notices its subtleties is true comedy, and this movie Steve is a comedic master of portraying immersive believable reactions in the heat of unbelievable situations. Comedy that doesn't beat you over the head and rewards the viewer who notices its subtleties is true comedy, and this movie is mostly that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GavinCJul 28, 2009
Not the best, though it is still quite thrilling and funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AronJ.Dec 1, 2008
This movie is nothing short of fun, and hilarious. Carrell at this best. The actors clicked, the story made sense, and a very well directed movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrentK.Oct 29, 2008
I work for Blockbuster so I got this movie on DVD early. It's a funny movie. Weak plot at some points, but sacrificed for the laughs. Watching it with the bonus scenes adds a lot of time and some mediocre chuckles. basic comedy, I work for Blockbuster so I got this movie on DVD early. It's a funny movie. Weak plot at some points, but sacrificed for the laughs. Watching it with the bonus scenes adds a lot of time and some mediocre chuckles. basic comedy, characters play their roles well for a comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelJ.Jun 21, 2008
Absolutely outstanding cast. Perfect balance of comedy, action, and gadgetry. Very well done. And while it may not satisfy the diehard Get Smart fan, the other 90% of us will undoubtedly enjoy this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GaboJun 21, 2008
It is not an Oscar winner, but at the end delivers in what it promises: a silly comedy with a good number of laughs, and solid entertainment! It could've been a little shorter but all in all, I enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkT.Jun 21, 2008
I would give this movie an 8. I am a fan of the original, and of Steve Carell, and now certainly of Anne Hathaway. There were a lot of nice nods to the 60's series that never went over board or tried to be too obvious. I completely I would give this movie an 8. I am a fan of the original, and of Steve Carell, and now certainly of Anne Hathaway. There were a lot of nice nods to the 60's series that never went over board or tried to be too obvious. I completely forgot about Agent 13 and the cameo was wonderful. What amazes me is that the "professional critics" rated this 1 point lower than "You Don't Mess With The Zohan" which I would rate about a 25. If you had to choose between the two, choose Get Smart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AWJun 22, 2008
Funny writing and a fun movie all around. Great Summer fare.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JanJun 22, 2008
Very funny movie! I laughed out loud many times, and so did the rest of the audience. Steve Carell is a favorite of mine and I'm hoping this will be a hit for him!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertBJun 22, 2008
The casting of this movie was simply brilliant! Took my three kids to see it, and we couldn't stop laughing and quoting parts of the for hours afterwards. Steve Carell was a perfect replacement for Don Adams! Was it campy? Yes. Was the The casting of this movie was simply brilliant! Took my three kids to see it, and we couldn't stop laughing and quoting parts of the for hours afterwards. Steve Carell was a perfect replacement for Don Adams! Was it campy? Yes. Was the plot deep and thoughtful? No. Was is really funny? YES! If you loved the original Get Smart, then this lovingly crafted homage will appeal to you as well (especially given all the cameos by original cast members). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisEJun 27, 2008
HILARIOUS! At first I was a little iffy going in.. But i LOVED it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikhailRJun 29, 2008
I walked into this movie with relatively low expectations, but they were easily shattered. I laughed basically every other minute, and quite strongly too! This movie is unbelievable, truly one of the funniest and SMARTEST comedies I've I walked into this movie with relatively low expectations, but they were easily shattered. I laughed basically every other minute, and quite strongly too! This movie is unbelievable, truly one of the funniest and SMARTEST comedies I've seen in a LONG time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JCJul 11, 2008
Ken Davitian, Dalip Singh, Steve Carell, Anne Hathaway, Dwayne Johnson, Terry Crews and David Koechner in the same movie. It's great! Has a great blend of action and comedy in it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoshuaL.Jul 14, 2008
Classic Steve Carell in this movie. Was funny and fruitful while still having all the action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
easymacAug 24, 2008
Wasn't a bad movie as the avg critics score leads you to believe. Go with the user opinions. Better than Tropic Thunder. S Carell isn't as annoying as Stiller of J Black.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KarenW.Sep 14, 2008
When I was young, I was a fan of the series, and this made me howl with laughter as an adult. It had enough references to the TV show that those of us in the know got the jokes, but it didn't overdo it so it became too hip for its own When I was young, I was a fan of the series, and this made me howl with laughter as an adult. It had enough references to the TV show that those of us in the know got the jokes, but it didn't overdo it so it became too hip for its own good for those unfamiliar with the show's buzzwords. There was some extremely hip humor--- an aging-gracefully Alan Arkin as the Chief correcting the President's mispronunciation of the word "nuclear" (thank God somebody finally did this) or Smart hanging precariously from an airplane banner advertising a suicide hot line. There's some triumph of the nerds to the plot as well --- benched field agents can't cope with computer windows, and Smart, depicted as a one-time analyst, talks his way out of a dangerous situation by recognizing the villain from a recorded conversation and telling him how to fix his relationship problems. Stever Carell deadpans perfectly, and Anne Hathaway has the understated, slightly goofy allure of the original Agent 99. I hesitated to see this because I thought, "Oh, no, another knock-off of an old TV show," but my son insisted, and it turned out to be something that had the entire family in stitches without being offensive on any level. Considering that The Dark Knight, which glorified violence, had the same rating, one has to be wondering what the MPAA is thinking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnyaT.May 22, 2009
When I first sat down to watch Get Smart I had absolutely no idea what it was about, but I had low expectations. I expected it to be the usual dumb comedy fare. I was pleasantly delighted that instead I got a deadpan, engaging, smart and When I first sat down to watch Get Smart I had absolutely no idea what it was about, but I had low expectations. I expected it to be the usual dumb comedy fare. I was pleasantly delighted that instead I got a deadpan, engaging, smart and hilarious film, with action and adventure and a great cast. It was also the film that introduced me to the myriad pleasures of Steve Carell. One of my favourite comedies and such a pleasant surprise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AdamANov 18, 2008
Don't look for a remake, look for a lighthearted homage and you just might find it enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AvodeskormJul 23, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews