Glengarry Glen Ross

Glengarry Glen Ross Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 69 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A group of real estate salesmen in Chicago compete for the best "leads" at a small firm selling property in "resort" areas, such as Florida and Arizona. When a hotshot executive from the head office arrives and proposes a vicious sales contest, competition gets stiff, and salesmen who haveA group of real estate salesmen in Chicago compete for the best "leads" at a small firm selling property in "resort" areas, such as Florida and Arizona. When a hotshot executive from the head office arrives and proposes a vicious sales contest, competition gets stiff, and salesmen who have worked a lifetime for the company find their jobs in jeopardy. [Artisan] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. The movie version, directed with unobtrusive precision by James Foley, stays amazingly true to the play's feisty spirit.
  2. 100
    The pleasure of this unique film comes in watching superb actors dine on Mamet's pungent language like the feast it is.
  3. The reason the film prompts laughter, and finally elation, is not because it's jolly or has any feel-good words to live by. It's because of the utterly demonic skill with which these foulmouthed characters carve one another up in futile attempts to stave off disaster.
  4. 80
    All the performances are exceptional.
  5. It's blackly comic - though the humour creeps up on you slowly, and you're seldom sure if you should really be laughing.
  6. Dallas Observer
    Reviewed by: Luke Y. Thompson
    70
    The directing's a bit obtrusive, but the script and the acting gets to the heart of Mamet's glorious obsession with macho B.S.
  7. Interesting to watch like well-performed gymnastics but it never really connects.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    My all time favorite movie probably, so excuse me both for being biased AND for not being an expert on movies enough to say anything remotelyMy all time favorite movie probably, so excuse me both for being biased AND for not being an expert on movies enough to say anything remotely deep or accurate about it. I honestly don't know what to say, I remember I was amazed by the fact that despite being a movie relying solely on dialogue I wasn't bored in the slightest, but that's comparative and also from the PoV of a modern hyperactive kid or something, so disregard that: on its own merit, it made me care about most characters, wonder about who was the "culprit" at the end, and they were all detailed in their own way. I read aferwards that it was actually an adaptation from a famous play, and after rewatching it, I could totally see the theatrality in it: the characters coming in and out of the scene, the intertwined plots. I really don't know what to say, all the actors were amazing and the story was awesome and it described the grim reality of something as mundane as salesmen, and even managed to slip in some suspence with the final theft thing among all that beautifully crafted dialogue. I liked it very much! Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    Lights, camera, talk! Sit back and watch the words fly. It's not called Mamet speak for nothing. This is Mamet's best work, and the sameLights, camera, talk! Sit back and watch the words fly. It's not called Mamet speak for nothing. This is Mamet's best work, and the same could be said about any of the actors. Pacino got the nom, but Lemmon should have taken home an Oscar! Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2015
    10
    Glengarry Glen Ross is the type of movie where if you enjoy it once then you will enjoy watching it again. Why? It has excellent dialogue andGlengarry Glen Ross is the type of movie where if you enjoy it once then you will enjoy watching it again. Why? It has excellent dialogue and acting, which do not get used up in one viewing (vs. special effects or plot twists). Jack Lemmon gives a stand-out performance, great characterization and reactions. This is a film you will want to view since it may become one of your all-time favorites. Expand
  4. RyanM.
    Sep 14, 2005
    9
    Classic, great movie that is as good as the play and just as effective. Dialogue and performances are superb. Beyond well written. A pleasure Classic, great movie that is as good as the play and just as effective. Dialogue and performances are superb. Beyond well written. A pleasure to watch all- around. Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2014
    9
    Most films rely on pretty visuals and cool sound effects. Not many are talk-heavy like this 90's classic. Glengarry Glen Ross not only pullsMost films rely on pretty visuals and cool sound effects. Not many are talk-heavy like this 90's classic. Glengarry Glen Ross not only pulls in the viewer with it's harsh, realistic feel, but does it only by the characters talking. No one ever does anything except talk. That's what makes this film so different. You could literally just listen to the film and you'd still understand it. Also, I should mention that this is the best acting I've ever seen in a movie. All the actors talk like real people, and the fantastic writing goes with the superb acting. As long as you're paying attention to it, Glengarry Glen Ross is sure to please. Expand
  6. Aug 24, 2010
    8
    Real estate agency, poor sales, owners send man to motivate them, after a week the two best sellers keep their jobs, rest get fired.
    Great
    Real estate agency, poor sales, owners send man to motivate them, after a week the two best sellers keep their jobs, rest get fired.
    Great cast, good fast-paced script, sweary & dramatic.
    Really well acted (Al Pacino plays himself, Hoo Ha) but Jack Lemmon steals the show for me as Shell "The Machine" Levine.
    Collapse
  7. May 14, 2015
    5
    Every character is unlikable from the very beginning and the movie feels somewhat claustrophobic by being in one setting the entire time.Every character is unlikable from the very beginning and the movie feels somewhat claustrophobic by being in one setting the entire time. Dialogue was decent but boring at times with all nonsense being said. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Movies Based on Plays and Musicals

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Movies Based on Plays and Musicals Image
    Published: June 14, 2012
    It's becoming increasingly clear that this week's "Rock of Ages" is not a great film. How bad will it need to be to rank among the worst stage-to-screen adaptations in recent memory, and what 10 films made the jump most successfully?
  2. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.