Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: February 11, 2011
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 122 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
51
Mixed:
46
Negative:
25
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
LosAngelicFeb 12, 2011
I thought this movie was absolutely delightful, then again, I was not expecting a computer-animated retelling of Romeo and Juliet like other reviewers were. The characters were fun caricatures of those players we've grown to love and knowI thought this movie was absolutely delightful, then again, I was not expecting a computer-animated retelling of Romeo and Juliet like other reviewers were. The characters were fun caricatures of those players we've grown to love and know very well from Shakespeare's original play, and even small characters had fully developed personalities. I found myself caring for the main protagonists' plights due to the careful, if not a little rushed, storytelling. The animation was gorgeous and delightful. Young ones will love it, and even though I am decidedly not in the target demographic, I was mesmerized by the vibrant and colorful graphics.

The soundtrack and music, courtesy of Sir Elton John, fit the movie perfectly and provided a very fun backdrop the the on-screen action.

All in all, I'd definitely go to see this one again and I encourage you to give it a chance-- you may be surprised.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
moviefan11Aug 28, 2012
endearing and fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
BDeyo01Feb 15, 2011
Getting very tired of the people whining about this ruining Romeo and Juliet. Nothing is sacred any more and everything is viable to be poked fun at. Romeo and Juliet was believed to be written around 500 years ago. So stop complaining. AllGetting very tired of the people whining about this ruining Romeo and Juliet. Nothing is sacred any more and everything is viable to be poked fun at. Romeo and Juliet was believed to be written around 500 years ago. So stop complaining. All of that aside, this was a mediocre animated comedy film. It has excitement, love/romance, adventure, and plenty of comedy to go around, even for adults. This was made for kids. It's no Toy Story, but it's not so bad as to deserve anything below a 5. Take your kids to it and you won't be entirely bored. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
RoseMusicFeb 13, 2011
My husband took me to see Gnomeo (Long story...), and we both found it to be really cute. It is made for kids, so no traditional old-world language, but I recognized lots of lines from the play and really enjoyed how everything was wovenMy husband took me to see Gnomeo (Long story...), and we both found it to be really cute. It is made for kids, so no traditional old-world language, but I recognized lots of lines from the play and really enjoyed how everything was woven together. The animation and 3-D was gorgeous, and I loved the Elton John soundtrack (Pay attention to what song is playing during several scenes, they are chosen with care!). The kids in the theater all seemed to enjoy the show, and the adults looked pretty relaxed and happy as well. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MovieCriticNov 21, 2011
This was an amazing movie. It is a kid movie, what can you expect? Not every moment is going to be right out hilarious. Even adults enjoy the humor and the plot was very good. I was curious to see how the ending went and I was very pleasedThis was an amazing movie. It is a kid movie, what can you expect? Not every moment is going to be right out hilarious. Even adults enjoy the humor and the plot was very good. I was curious to see how the ending went and I was very pleased when the gnomes didn't die. I think the idea is very creative, who else would think to make a spoof-like movie about gnomes on ShakeSpears Romeo and Juliet. For a kid movie I really enjoyed it. It has bright, cute humor and the characters arn't perfect and are enjoyable. People are rating this bad because they think the animation is bad, well it's not. Also all the other animated kids movie: Toy Story 3, Cars 2, ect are lame in the plot. Cars 1 was ok but they're just going to run the whole idea of it right into the ground. Gnomeo and Juliet is filled with surprised and the plot doesn't falter nor is it run in the ground so people are bored. The humor wasn't always in words but in facial expressions and body language. If you actually watch the movie and tried to read into it it is a very enjoyable watch. I highly recommend it for kids 1-13. I think even the teenagers would enjoy all the humor and like the funny twist on Romeo and Juliet. I'm definitely not saying that adults won't enjoy this film because I can almost guarantee that all ages would enjoy this movie. I like how there is action and romance and comedy all mixed into one great retelling (sort of) Gnomeo and Juliet. If you saw this in the theaters with your children you would be entertained as well. I don't think this movie is down right hilarious every second but what movie is? If everything that happened was funny the whole film would be cheesy, boring, and pathetic. I like how this movie balances it out nicely so the humor doesn't let you down or get boring unlike probably a lot of other comedy's that have no meaning, no plot, and people made out of boredom. If you didn't like this adorable, sweet movie then fine, be a Grinch. You can be ugly and sour about this movie all you want and have extremely high standards when it comes to movies then fine but you don't have to put down negative comments. The whole world doesn't really care whether or not you yawned the whole way through it. I think if you don't like it you should not purposely go on a review site and dish about a movie you didn't like. This is definitely a movie thats worth seeing, just to see if you like it or not. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
B4byG3n1u5L0v3rMar 25, 2015
This iphone app was aweosme. I gave it to me kids and tehy wouldn't stop playing. Dunnow how it intstalled - came w/ chaep ripoof iphoon, stuk to bottom of bar tabl w/ gum, makes phon smell like hops. tasttyyy phon thx yeah.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
gm101Jun 19, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let me just say that I absolutely hate Shakespeare and his works, including Romeo and Juliet. This movie however, was the anti- Romeo and Juliet, and that, for me, was a very good thing. Sure, there may have been a bit too many pop culture references (although I loved Hulk Hogan's Terrafirminator commercial, brother!). But in the end, I'm glad some guys decided to give William Shakespeare the finger by making this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JamesNWAFeb 21, 2011
I don't tend to make a habit of going out to see children's animations but I'm pleased I did. I must admit that I was expecting to be bored within 10 minutes but this was no way the case. It is clear that the demographic for the film is aI don't tend to make a habit of going out to see children's animations but I'm pleased I did. I must admit that I was expecting to be bored within 10 minutes but this was no way the case. It is clear that the demographic for the film is a younger audience but it is also made in a way that enables it to be enjoyed by people outside of the demographic too. I for one enjoyed the film and didn't at all think it ruined the Romeo and Juliet story at all. Children of this age will not know the Romeo and Juliet story in as much detail as an older audience would. They'll be watching the film for the film not for an animated adaption of Romeo and Juliet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TeatimeMar 1, 2011
This was cute, funny and amusing. The visual references to Baz Lurman's Romeo and Juliet were great for the accompanying adult. My 6 year old kept up with the storyline without any difficulty.

Yes, it was somewhat predictable. But it's
This was cute, funny and amusing. The visual references to Baz Lurman's Romeo and Juliet were great for the accompanying adult. My 6 year old kept up with the storyline without any difficulty.

Yes, it was somewhat predictable. But it's a story everyone knows. You don't go to discover new elements, you go to be entertained. The Elton John based sound track was great fun. The voice actors were well done and overall it was the funny and entertaining work aimed at the 5-9 year audience it was supposed to be.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
M_ajaAug 18, 2011
gnomeo and juliet is amazing cartoon, first i thought it would be lame and boring, but it turned out just the opposite! movie is great, it has a happy ending, that's the most important thing, at least for me. although i was a bit disappointedgnomeo and juliet is amazing cartoon, first i thought it would be lame and boring, but it turned out just the opposite! movie is great, it has a happy ending, that's the most important thing, at least for me. although i was a bit disappointed because some parts of movie doesn't make sense at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
faraaz11Oct 25, 2011
it's a good movie.these kinds of movies should be fun and lively and there was a little romance as wel.so that's what has to be expected from this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lrbohnertNov 9, 2016
"Gnomeo & Juliet" doesn't have a single original idea in its pointy, ceramic head.
Spirited and brisk as this animated family film can be, its energy can't disguise the fact that it's an awkward mash-up of Shakespeare puns, hackneyed pop
"Gnomeo & Juliet" doesn't have a single original idea in its pointy, ceramic head.
Spirited and brisk as this animated family film can be, its energy can't disguise the fact that it's an awkward mash-up of Shakespeare puns, hackneyed pop culture references and familiar Elton John songs, with one of those everything-but-the-kitchen-sink scripts cobbled together by committee. (Nine screenwriters receive credit, for those of you keeping score at home.) The concept of yard gnomes acting out the tragic romance of "Romeo and Juliet" is clever enough — I mean, come on, who doesn't like yard gnomes? — but that's pretty much all this film from director Kelly Asbury ("Shrek 2") is. Like "Snakes on a Plane," the title is the gag, and it tells you all you need to know.
And of course, "Gnomeo & Juliet" is in 3-D. There was never any question about that, was there? While adding a third dimension can provide an inspired sense of perspective and makes some of the details pop in a tactile way — the chips in the gnomes' paint, the smudges of dirt on their faces — it is, as always, unnecessary.
"Gnomeo & Juliet" does feature a strong voice cast, though, led by James McAvoy, Emily Blunt, Michael Caine and Maggie Smith, with cameos from the likes of Dolly Parton, Hulk Hogan and Ozzy Osbourne. Some of the one-liners and visual bits hit their targets, but for the most part, reheated gags and sequences that recall earlier, better animated films are the norm.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews