Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    May 18, 2012
    60
    The good news: This is Goldthwait the writer-director, not Goldthwait the actor -- so there's no schticky voice to endure. But his exceedingly black comedy does speak loudly -- and it turns out he's actually got something worthwhile to say.
  2. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    May 31, 2012
    50
    Although several great speeches and hilarious one-liners goose the film, God Bless America nevertheless peaks too early and becomes rather one-note.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    May 17, 2012
    50
    Some of this vigilante-fantasy misbehavior is wickedly funny.
  4. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    May 11, 2012
    50
    There are so many monologues about obnoxious behavior that they begin to lose their luster - something I'd never have thought possible.
  5. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    May 10, 2012
    50
    At no point during the movie does it strike him that mass extermination might be classified as "rude." No, Frank has the courage of his convictions, which include the belief that most of America has already flushed itself down the toilet.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    May 10, 2012
    50
    Mr. Goldthwait's screenplay is essentially a comedy act fleshed out with a story he doesn't try to make convincing.
  7. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    May 9, 2012
    50
    Here is a film that begins with merciless comic savagery and descends into merely merciless savagery. But wow, what an opening.
  8. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 9, 2012
    50
    Bobcat Goldthwait's new movie is a burlesque that turns into a harangue that turns into a rampage.
  9. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    May 8, 2012
    50
    The interplay between Murray and Barr is closely and carefully handled, but when the monotonous squib-popping subsides, the movie is often static and talky, lapsing into criticism-hedging qualifications and anti-everything speechifying.
  10. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    May 5, 2012
    50
    A niche theatrical run might draw fans of Goldthwait's previous work, this effort isn't likely to get as much help from critics as those sometimes did.
  11. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    May 5, 2012
    50
    While it starts out well, Bobcat Goldthwait's black comedy struggles to maintain focus as it turns into a road trip of diminishing rewards in satirical and narrative terms.
  12. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    May 10, 2012
    45
    God Bless America only wants to see the worst in people - in fact actively seeks it out in order to be disgusted, and that feels almost as bad as the behavior the film is critiquing.
  13. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    May 10, 2012
    40
    As both a comedian and filmmaker, Bobcat Goldthwait ("Shakes the Clown") has carved out a valuable spot as an idiosyncratic instigator. But even fans may be disappointed at how swiftly he undermines its own message here.
  14. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    May 8, 2012
    40
    It's Goldthwait's first misstep, a serious one. He's simply not the filmmaker to mount a fierce takedown of Kardashian culture, thorough though his script's rage is.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. May 17, 2012
    10
    One of the best movies of the year in my opinion. While the story is not easy to take seriously, its not meant to. The plot relays a messageOne of the best movies of the year in my opinion. While the story is not easy to take seriously, its not meant to. The plot relays a message that needs to be said about todays society. The break out performance by Tara Lynne Barr is phenomenal. I enjoyed every second of this movie. *note this movie will not go over with you as well if you are 1) a Santorum style republican 2) A member of the Real housewives show 3) a member of the Westboro Baptist church. Im Commander Shepherd and this is my favorite movie on the citadel. Full Review »
  2. May 27, 2012
    4
    Ultimately a snuff fantasy for the kind of people who spend their evening watching Jon Stewart and Rachel Maddow. Sure is fun to imagineUltimately a snuff fantasy for the kind of people who spend their evening watching Jon Stewart and Rachel Maddow. Sure is fun to imagine yourself going on a killing spree to wipe out FOX news commentators, reality TV show stars, and insulting judges on American Idol. But ultimately, the film's ccharacters are no better than the targets of their wrath. The is one way I could givev this movie a 10. If you interpret it as a condemnation of the people who will get off on it. In a way, the ending reminds me of the ending of Inglourious Bastards, where the audience is watching a film in which the heros massacre an audience full of Nazis trapped in a theater watching a film in which the hero kills their enemies. I'm not sure the film is really smart enough to have that double edge to it, though. There are numerous occasions when the protagonists rant and rave about the vulgarity of the culture, before immediately revealing themselves to be nothing but the flip side, another example of the vulgarity they condemn. As if going on a killing spree to protest incivility isn't sufficiently ironic. Full Review »
  3. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    Just finished watching the DVD after picking it up at my local Blockbuster. I admit I feel a bit guilty watching this just two days after theJust finished watching the DVD after picking it up at my local Blockbuster. I admit I feel a bit guilty watching this just two days after the latest tragedy in Colorado. But I don't believe Goldthwait's intention was to turn his audience into homicidal maniacs. I think his intention was to express frustration and discontent with the malaise that is our current American culture, albeit in an exaggerated manner. Nonetheless, I can empathize with said frustration of the film's antiheroes. Now the hard part for me isn't resisting the urge to go on a killing spree, with America's most conceited, bigoted, self-absorbed idiots out there as targets. The hard part is willingness to throw my Android phone off a bridge into the water below. Either way, I find God Bless America to be the most entertaining film of 2012 so far. Full Review »