Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 97 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Frank has had enough of the downward spiral of American culture, which he sees as overrun with cruelty, stupidity and intolerance. Divorced, recently fired, and possibly terminally ill, Frank truly has nothing left to live for. But instead of taking his own life, he buys a gun and decides toFrank has had enough of the downward spiral of American culture, which he sees as overrun with cruelty, stupidity and intolerance. Divorced, recently fired, and possibly terminally ill, Frank truly has nothing left to live for. But instead of taking his own life, he buys a gun and decides to take out his frustration on the cruelest, stupidest, most intolerant people he can imagine—starting with some particularly odious reality television stars. Frank finds an unusual accomplice in a high-school student named Roxy, who shares his sense of rage and disenfranchisement, and together they embark on a nation-wide assault on our country’s dumbest, most irritating celebrities. (Magnet Releasing) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    May 10, 2012
    100
    As with the earlier movie, this one turns in on its own morality like a Möbius strip, endorsing kindness by practicing slaughter, and pulls us along for the ride. Detractors will call its reasoning ridiculous, and they'll be right - though I doubt that will bother Goldthwait, who makes a living being ridiculous.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    May 9, 2012
    75
    The key point about God Bless America is that it's extreme but not exaggerated, a dark comedy that indulges - and questions - a violent, misanthropic fantasy about laying waste to the cultural landscape while staying grounded in a recognizable reality.
  3. 70
    You'll laugh and be offended, but if you watch it and don't want to be part of the solution, you'll know which side of the line you're on. Activism takes some unique forms.
  4. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    May 5, 2012
    50
    A niche theatrical run might draw fans of Goldthwait's previous work, this effort isn't likely to get as much help from critics as those sometimes did.
  5. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    May 11, 2012
    50
    There are so many monologues about obnoxious behavior that they begin to lose their luster - something I'd never have thought possible.
  6. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    May 9, 2012
    50
    Here is a film that begins with merciless comic savagery and descends into merely merciless savagery. But wow, what an opening.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    May 7, 2012
    38
    By wholeheartedly taking its main character's side instead of complicating or censuring his homicidal vigilante crusade, it proves inanely one-note and preachy.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. May 17, 2012
    10
    One of the best movies of the year in my opinion. While the story is not easy to take seriously, its not meant to. The plot relays a messageOne of the best movies of the year in my opinion. While the story is not easy to take seriously, its not meant to. The plot relays a message that needs to be said about todays society. The break out performance by Tara Lynne Barr is phenomenal. I enjoyed every second of this movie. *note this movie will not go over with you as well if you are 1) a Santorum style republican 2) A member of the Real housewives show 3) a member of the Westboro Baptist church. Im Commander Shepherd and this is my favorite movie on the citadel. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    This movie is hilarious. Killing the ones who deserve it. Just perfect.
  3. Mar 14, 2015
    9
    It's a well-deserved and darkly comic slap in the face to a mostly-hollow and superficial society. Is it the best flick that I've ever seen?It's a well-deserved and darkly comic slap in the face to a mostly-hollow and superficial society. Is it the best flick that I've ever seen? Not really. I love it anyway. God Bless America jerks you out of your comfort zone, and that is something that I think everyone needs--whether they like it or not.

    Frank: "It's the same type of freak-show distraction that comes along every time a mighty empire starts collapsing. "American Superstarz" is the new colosseum and I won't participate in watching a show where the weak are torn apart every week for our entertainment."
    Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2012
    7
    Funny, sad and twisted , brought up some very valid points with today's society. Although I cannot condone murder I understand the point ofFunny, sad and twisted , brought up some very valid points with today's society. Although I cannot condone murder I understand the point of the movie. Expand
  5. May 14, 2012
    6
    Idiocracy meets Super, without the good writing. Flip-flops between unfunny parody of tv shows and scenes with characters complaining aboutIdiocracy meets Super, without the good writing. Flip-flops between unfunny parody of tv shows and scenes with characters complaining about modern culture for a few minutes at a time.

    Overall entertaining and generally satisfying, but not a particularly well made, profound movie or especially funny movie.
    Expand
  6. Sep 25, 2012
    5
    Where the film falls short is in its lack of character and plot development, both are strong at the beginning but neither go anywhere. ThisWhere the film falls short is in its lack of character and plot development, both are strong at the beginning but neither go anywhere. This results in what seems like a sermon on the state of affairs without offering hope or a solution, leaving the audience fairly depressed and uninterested. I was far more amused by the trailer, which offered the whole story with all the funniest bits in under five minutes. Perhaps it would have worked better as a short film, but as is, Sorkin Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2013
    0
    I know there is a lot of trash around us all the time but that does not means that we start killing every such person we don't like. No twoI know there is a lot of trash around us all the time but that does not means that we start killing every such person we don't like. No two persons can ever be same, that is what defines being human and not machines. The leads are terrorists and if you are rooting for them then God bless You. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Trailers