TriStar Pictures | Release Date: May 19, 1998
4.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 187 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
51
Mixed:
57
Negative:
79
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
russiangamerMar 10, 2017
Тупой блокбастер с кучей ляпов, плохо играющими актёрами, весьма средними даже для того времен спец-эффектами, плохим сценарием.
Итог: Не смотрите эту ленту, лучше оригинал 50-х годов или фильм 2015 года.
Тупой блокбастер с кучей ляпов, плохо играющими актёрами, весьма средними даже для того времен спец-эффектами, плохим сценарием.
Итог: Не смотрите эту ленту, лучше оригинал 50-х годов или фильм 2015 года.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
bfoore90Nov 16, 2016
I liked this adaption as a kid and even still, I still have a bit of a soft spot for "Zilla." Starting out, this movie is not by any means a very good movie. I don't 100% fault the movie as much as I fault TriStar for allowing Roland EmmerichI liked this adaption as a kid and even still, I still have a bit of a soft spot for "Zilla." Starting out, this movie is not by any means a very good movie. I don't 100% fault the movie as much as I fault TriStar for allowing Roland Emmerich to helm this project and Roland Emmerich for taking on this project and not staying close to the material. I thought the actual monster was a very unique and cool take on Godzilla but they diminished the "God" in his name by making him just a mere mortal with no powers. The acting is also pretty mediocre as well as somw of the special effects, script ect and alot of the movie seems to just want to rip-off Jurassic Park rather than pave its own way. All in all, I would say if you're a fan of monster movies then give this a watch but if you're a fan of Godzilla then this would just be nothing more than a guilty pleasure flick. Its a decent movie but the Legendary 2014 adaption of the movie is better and a much more faithful adaption for the King of All Monsters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieMasterEddyApr 9, 2016
“Godzilla” is not so much a remake as a reinvention of the 1954 Japanese production that spawned scores of sequels, comic books and television commercials. (U.S. audiences are more familiar with the first pic’s 1956 Americanized version“Godzilla” is not so much a remake as a reinvention of the 1954 Japanese production that spawned scores of sequels, comic books and television commercials. (U.S. audiences are more familiar with the first pic’s 1956 Americanized version “Godzilla, King of the Monsters” which incorporated new footage with Raymond Burr as a reporter/narrator.)

In the Emmerich-Devlin version, as in the original, the title creature is an unforeseen side effect of nuclear testing. The big difference is, this Godzilla is not a regenerated dinosaur. Rather, fallout from French nuclear blasts in the South Pacific have turned a lizard into a gigantic mutant monster.

Only tantalizing bits and pieces of the monster are glimpsed during the early portions of the pic, as screenwriters Devlin and Emmerich (working from a story they concocted with Ted Elliott and Terry Rossio) zip through exposition and introduce lead characters. After an effectively frightening Godzilla attack on a Japanese fishing ship, focus shifts to the Ukraine, where Dr. Niko Tatopoulos (Matthew Broderick), a biologist from the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, is studying the effect of radiation leakage on earthworms near Chernobyl. A military team led by Colonel Hicks (Kevin Dunn) drops in to whisk Tatopoulos away to help with a much bigger problem.

Joined by paleontologists Elsie Chapman (Vicki Lewis) and Mendel Craven (Malcolm Danare), Tatopoulos and the military team examine, among other things, the beached wreckage of the Japanese vessel. The ship has a huge claw mark on its bow, but that’s not the worst of it. Tatopoulos finds traces of blood that, along with the creature’s footprints, point to the existence of “some sort of enormous reptile.”

Right from the start, Broderick conveys a gee-whiz ingenuousness that is distracting at best, insipid at worst. Broderick’s mannered affectations are either meant to humanize a thinly written character or simply provide comic relief. Either way, the performance as a whole comes off as a major miscalculation, to the point of making one miss the morose gravity of Burr in the earlier “Godzilla.”

In sharp contrast, Jean Reno takes a winningly subtle approach in offering a crafty mix of foreboding and bemusement as Philippe Roache, a French secret agent who’s working undercover as an insurance company representative. .

Throughout “Godzilla,” New York endures the most sustained rainfall in all of movie history. Most of the action takes place at night, but even the daytime scenes unfold under darkly overcast skies, which, of course, makes it all the easier for Emmerich to obscure Godzilla’s features for the maximum amount of time to generate the maximum amount of suspense.

But when the creature is fully visible, it resembles nothing more than a hybrid of the mother beast from “Alien” and a T-Rex from “Jurassic Park.” Although the effect is striking, it’s not the familiar creature who often managed to earn audience sympathy, or at least develop a distinct personality. There’s something oddly generic-looking about this computer-generated image.

This slimmed-down, turbo-charged beast is able to move easier and lunge more quickly while dashing through the streets of Manhattan. But, then again, why should Godzilla have to dash? Part of what made the original “Godzilla” and its sequels so much fun was Godzilla’s bad-ass, take-no-guff attitude as he lumbered down streets, kicking over buildings and remaining defiantly immune to bullets, bombs and heat-seeking missiles. This Godzilla usually runs away from his attackers, causing most of his damage mostly by accident.

There’s no getting around the fact that all the Godzilla offspring bear a suspicious resemblance to the “Jurassic Park” raptors. Just as in that lizard epic, the good guys — joined by TV cameraman Victor (Animal) Palotti (Hank Azaria) race down hallways and crouch behind closed doors, pursued by the hungry creatures and the thrills and spills appear to be recycled from the climactic sequence of “Park.” But the sheer number of the creatures here, and the genuinely clever way Emmerich utilizes them, make for a high-octane adrenaline rush.

And the banal dialogue particularly in scenes where Broderick and Pitillo try to sort out their relationship is spiked with a few witty touches.

Godzilla designer and supervisor Patrick Tatopoulos whose name is commandeered for Broderick’s character does a bang-up job of creating a lean , mean monster machine. But there is little that is charismatic about his handiwork. As a result, there is no emotional frisson at the very end, even when it’s obvious that the audience should share Broderick’s pang of sorrow for thefallen creature. Size does matter, of course, but some things matter more.

The soundtrack is also primed to produce sensory overload, as it is very loud , sometimes discomfortingly so, but the target audience likely would be surprised if it weren’t.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Evyan2002Jan 24, 2016
Godzilla is a really great action movie. Roland Emmerich did a very good job directing it. All the actors were really great too. This will always be one of my favorite movies ever
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
EpicLadySpongeJan 12, 2016
Size does matter? Oh boy, time to go flame on this movie for making a tagline so dumb it gets stuck on my head after seeing it a bunch of times in this movie's poster.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
CineAutoctonoDec 25, 2015
Godzilla, the best-looking Roland Emmerich worsened , and much about the script , visual effects and CGI for my lamejor Godzilla film is that of 2014, Gareth Edwards , because the Emmerich lost all the necessary pace , Godzilla also appearsGodzilla, the best-looking Roland Emmerich worsened , and much about the script , visual effects and CGI for my lamejor Godzilla film is that of 2014, Gareth Edwards , because the Emmerich lost all the necessary pace , Godzilla also appears that a Tyrannosaurus Rex. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
YT_TheHaloFreakJul 29, 2015
I don't understand how my mother can like this movie. The new Godzilla in this movie would be an awesome creature... if it wasn't called Godzilla. The dialogue: clunky. The action: mindless. The monster: cool, but disappointing. How the hellI don't understand how my mother can like this movie. The new Godzilla in this movie would be an awesome creature... if it wasn't called Godzilla. The dialogue: clunky. The action: mindless. The monster: cool, but disappointing. How the hell a twenty-plus story dinosaur can hide in Manhattan is beyond me. The movie is really something to behold, but for all the wrong reasons. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
TheDude-Jun 1, 2015
this film has nothing redeeming the acting is bad the characters are poorly written and quite unlikable the design of Godzilla is awful he looks like a freaking dinosaur not to mention the countless scenes that try to rip off Jurassic parkthis film has nothing redeeming the acting is bad the characters are poorly written and quite unlikable the design of Godzilla is awful he looks like a freaking dinosaur not to mention the countless scenes that try to rip off Jurassic park BTW the attempt at comedy in this movie is cringe worthy Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
supermann234Dec 23, 2014
This is an average movie with an average storyline and little action. It did not use a good Godzilla design and has a bad ending which I do not like. Nonetheless, this film is not that bad as it sticks closely to the title"Godzilla".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
jacobshoffDec 21, 2014
i absolutely hated this Godzilla. It's not even Godzilla. It's this huge, sad-looking iguana. I give congratulations for an american studio trying to take a Japanese property and give it to us Americans. But it just did not work whatsoever. Ii absolutely hated this Godzilla. It's not even Godzilla. It's this huge, sad-looking iguana. I give congratulations for an american studio trying to take a Japanese property and give it to us Americans. But it just did not work whatsoever. I just did not like this movie. Hated it!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
paragD9Sep 21, 2014
GODZILLA 1998 is a good action flick Its Roland Emmerich he is good he has a unique way to show it was a box office hit and i also purchased DVD of this film. Forget about negative reviews first you have a look then decide until that dontGODZILLA 1998 is a good action flick Its Roland Emmerich he is good he has a unique way to show it was a box office hit and i also purchased DVD of this film. Forget about negative reviews first you have a look then decide until that dont hold any negative comments or reviews OK. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
KameronAug 30, 2014
Its a GREAT action movie of giant monsters vs the Humans.
Music is great too even though its is hugely taken from Jurassic Park.
I still find this film enjoyable. But HOWEVER the movie ROTS as a Godzilla film, It does not have the spirit
Its a GREAT action movie of giant monsters vs the Humans.
Music is great too even though its is hugely taken from Jurassic Park.
I still find this film enjoyable.
But HOWEVER the movie ROTS as a Godzilla film, It does not have the spirit of Godzilla, This monster does stuff that Godzilla doesn't, It would have been better received if it was retitled to ZILLA as many people prefer.
Butom line if you want a movie with creativity don't watch it but if you only want to see action Youll find it enjoyable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
diogomendesAug 29, 2014
With daft special effects, listless acting and a tedious script, "Godzilla (the bad one)" is ultimately horrible, ugly Jurassic Park rip-off that could be a complete nightmare for some people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DKS01Aug 2, 2014
Sighs* Okay I thought with the new (and way superior) American Godzilla movie out, I should say some stuff about this film. Firstly this is NOT a Godzilla movie. The creature in this film is not Godzilla, he is Zilla. Toho renamed him, that'sSighs* Okay I thought with the new (and way superior) American Godzilla movie out, I should say some stuff about this film. Firstly this is NOT a Godzilla movie. The creature in this film is not Godzilla, he is Zilla. Toho renamed him, that's a fact. He doesn't look like Godzilla, act like Godzilla, or have atomic breath, and the films rips a lot off of Jurassic Park....That being said, the film is an okay monster movie and while not great is a fairly entertaining film if you can get over the fact it's meant to be a Godzilla movie. It was my very first giant monster movie and for a long time, THIS was Godzilla to me. Hell I even felt genuinely sad (and cried as a kid) when Zilla dies at the end. But I've seen the real thing (figuratively speaking) and can't turn back. Still I do have a bit of a nostalgic attachment to this film that wont let me fully hate it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
mariotoadrabbitJul 5, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just want to say about this movie that the reasons why I really hate this 1998 one is because that here are lots of reasons I would complain about this bullcrap Godzilla film I ever seen. Ok because first about the design of godzilla it looks like a creature like dinosaur and the worst of all it's the first time it's a female monster of the franchise which I was pissed off about this. Second is that the new casts of this movie are stupid boring performances that ever play in it and which I don't know some of the casts in it. Third is that there are not a lot of sound, and visual effects in it which that yet again pissed me off about and last is that the director Roland emmerich came up with that stupid idea about the design about it. so that's the reasons why I hate this 1998 one I my life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
dante_finnJun 28, 2014
The films plot is very thin,the acting is off,and the directing is just terrible.I espicially hate the redisign of Godzilla from the source material. It is so bad I like to pretend this movie never happened. But I will say that the effectsThe films plot is very thin,the acting is off,and the directing is just terrible.I espicially hate the redisign of Godzilla from the source material. It is so bad I like to pretend this movie never happened. But I will say that the effects animation is outstanding. But other than that the screenplay sucks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BakaHaramMay 24, 2014
This is a masterpiece, very realistic, gripping, terrifying movie about what could happen as a result of nuclear tests. Godzilla looks very lifelike and behaves like a really smart animal. This movie is a milestone of action films, it's onThis is a masterpiece, very realistic, gripping, terrifying movie about what could happen as a result of nuclear tests. Godzilla looks very lifelike and behaves like a really smart animal. This movie is a milestone of action films, it's on the level of Jurassic Park. And I don't like how the Japanese plagiarized the ideas of the brilliant Roland Emmerich and made a bunch of their crappy, trashy, low-budget remakes. This movie was a serious drama, and Japan turned it into a laughing stock of badly designed puppets. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
WulfSuzakiMay 21, 2014
Recently saw the 2014 Godzilla, and I gotta say, Zilla '98 is about 5 million times better. '98 starts out showing off the power of Zilla and lets you know just why we should fear her. The script does a superb job of explaining why thingsRecently saw the 2014 Godzilla, and I gotta say, Zilla '98 is about 5 million times better. '98 starts out showing off the power of Zilla and lets you know just why we should fear her. The script does a superb job of explaining why things have turned out the way they have, and the explanations are realistically conceivable. The entire script was fun and action packed, with plenty of screen time for The Lizard. And just when you think the movie is over - BAM! More excitement! The acting was fantastic, and the actors fit the parts and played them expertly (with the exception of one bad crying scene). The nerds were nerdy and quirky, the bad A** camera guy was friggin cool, the wanna-be reporter was unconfident, the wife was caring/compassionate/protective, the military head guy was determined, and the politician was a sleaz-bag. For 1998, the graphics were spectacular, and the rebooted monster was sleek and beautiful. Warning to hard core old school fans, this ain’t your grandma’s Godzilla, this is a reboot with its own timeline, universe, and dimension. This is America’s Godzilla. She is not THE Godzilla, but it was the closest name they could find to describe her. And if this happened in reality – no matter what it looked like, I believe the world would call a giant dinosaur/lizard/any non-mammal “Godzilla”. Graphics – good for the time. Acting – Great for the script that was written. Script – did exactly what it was meant to do with action, adventure, comedy, and character development. Excellent movie. Watch this instead of Godzilla 2014. Fun times. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
zeoxdragonMay 18, 2014
This movie is beautiful, maybe is not the original japan godzilla, but "original" is not always "better" and this is the case.
if you are not a stupid fanboy of the original japan godzilla, then watch this.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
8
MovieFan123May 17, 2014
OK so don't get me wrong Godzilla is no Best Picture winner and it is not the Citizen Kane of monster movies but it is not as terrible as everyone says it is. Then again this is coming from a kid who has not seen any Gojira films and doesOK so don't get me wrong Godzilla is no Best Picture winner and it is not the Citizen Kane of monster movies but it is not as terrible as everyone says it is. Then again this is coming from a kid who has not seen any Gojira films and does have much knowledge of the subject. Yet while today this film would be criticized for bad special effects back in 1998 those effects were probably pretty good. Also while the acting is not top of the line Matthew Broderick gives it good effort and makes his character pretty interesting. Unfortunately Godzilla is weighted down by the poor design of the creature (which looks like an over sized iguana and from what I heard couldn't even scratch the real Godzilla in Final Wars.) In conclusion, while Godzilla is not perfect it has some decent performances and some good special effects. A decent movie from start to finish. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
aheadsonic22May 17, 2014
ok lets see this is like the freaking WORST GODZILLA MOVIE EVER IN EXISTENCE THEY DIDN'T GET A THING RIGHT HE DOES NOT BREATH A ATOMIC LASER HE IS NOT ALMOST IMPOSABLE TO KILL HE LOOKS NOTHING LIKE GODZILLA HE WAS TOOK OUT WITH ROCKETS!ok lets see this is like the freaking WORST GODZILLA MOVIE EVER IN EXISTENCE THEY DIDN'T GET A THING RIGHT HE DOES NOT BREATH A ATOMIC LASER HE IS NOT ALMOST IMPOSABLE TO KILL HE LOOKS NOTHING LIKE GODZILLA HE WAS TOOK OUT WITH ROCKETS! GODZILLA GETS HIT WITH ROCKETS EVERY DAY! HE EVEN WAS HIT WITH A BLACK HOLE GUN! AND TOHO CHANGED USA GODZILLA TO ZILLA CAUSE HE DIDN'T DESERVE THE NAME GODZILLA IM NEVER WATCHING THIS MOVIE EVER AGAIN YOU SHOULD NOT EVEN BE THINKING ABOUT WATCHING IT the japanese godzilla was amazing BUT THIS USA GODZILLA IS HORSE CRAP!!!!!! im done Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
Danielhero1998May 17, 2014
Godzilla (1998) is not a good movie, but in my opinion it is a guilty pleasure movie. I think it is entertaining, but I know its not good. The characters are like stick toys. The monster looks like an iguana and the baby godzilla's :, but itGodzilla (1998) is not a good movie, but in my opinion it is a guilty pleasure movie. I think it is entertaining, but I know its not good. The characters are like stick toys. The monster looks like an iguana and the baby godzilla's :, but it is still just fun to watch. Hate if you wish :'( Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
Vegeta586May 12, 2014
Godzilla as a goddamn Iguana. Why was this made? This Movie (If you want to even call it that), is so bad, it goes to dinner with superman 4. 0/10 DON'T SEE THIS MOVIE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ManolisspaikMay 11, 2014
I dont't care about the people's opinion, this was one of my favourite movies of my childhood. Seriously, a movie with a big dinosaur would be a miracle not to entertain me. I really enjoyed the animalistic side of Zilla. Overall, if thisI dont't care about the people's opinion, this was one of my favourite movies of my childhood. Seriously, a movie with a big dinosaur would be a miracle not to entertain me. I really enjoyed the animalistic side of Zilla. Overall, if this movie was named Zilla, i would give it a 10. And what's up with the cgi, it was 1998........ don't expect too much... Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
InspectorJavertMay 10, 2014
As Mathew Broderick's character would surely agree, something is rather fishy here. Godzilla is a perfect example of a cash grab. Godzilla is filled with horrible writing, illogical characters, and god awful special effects. And you cantAs Mathew Broderick's character would surely agree, something is rather fishy here. Godzilla is a perfect example of a cash grab. Godzilla is filled with horrible writing, illogical characters, and god awful special effects. And you cant claim that its just 90's cgi, look at Jurassic Park, that was far superior to this garbage. Unfortunately this movie doesn't qualify for the right of being called "so bad its good." Its just nothing but boring all the way through. If you want to have a laugh at a bad movie, don't waste your time and instead watch Troll 2. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
SirMartyApr 16, 2014
This American 'Godzilla' was just flat-out terrible. The only thing I liked that this movie introduced was the monster "Zilla", and that Toho decided to make him a separate entity and incorporate him in 'Godzilla: Final Wars'. Outside of thatThis American 'Godzilla' was just flat-out terrible. The only thing I liked that this movie introduced was the monster "Zilla", and that Toho decided to make him a separate entity and incorporate him in 'Godzilla: Final Wars'. Outside of that you either like this film, or you don't. I didn't like it at all, but if you're a Godzilla fan just watch it and see what you think. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
OfficialMar 8, 2014
The script is weak, the acting is bad in some places, and the only positive feature we're getting here are some cool CGI. "Godzilla" is another example of a bad Roland Emmerich film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MrJurgensNov 6, 2013
This is the American remake of the Japanese 'Godzilla' film. To me this remake was just flat-out terrible. The only thing I liked that this movie introduced was the monster "Zilla", that being this American Godzilla. Toho decided to make themThis is the American remake of the Japanese 'Godzilla' film. To me this remake was just flat-out terrible. The only thing I liked that this movie introduced was the monster "Zilla", that being this American Godzilla. Toho decided to make them separate entities and incorporate him in 'Godzilla: Final Wars'. Outside of that you either like this film, or you don't. I didn't like it at all, but if you're a Godzilla fan just watch it and see what you think. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MovieGuysOct 5, 2013
When, oh when, will a remake be worth the watch? Almost no remakes are worth it, and this one falls under that category. It's pure trash, and I has nothing to offer but mindless eye candy and inept acting. Truthfully, I think this movieWhen, oh when, will a remake be worth the watch? Almost no remakes are worth it, and this one falls under that category. It's pure trash, and I has nothing to offer but mindless eye candy and inept acting. Truthfully, I think this movie would've been better if it had been dubbed in Japanese. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Gojira63Jun 13, 2013
The American Godzilla movie seems to be a very divisive film. There is no middle ground, some either like it or they hate it. I am one who actually really enjoys this film despite its flaws. Having grown up on the Toho Godzilla films of theThe American Godzilla movie seems to be a very divisive film. There is no middle ground, some either like it or they hate it. I am one who actually really enjoys this film despite its flaws. Having grown up on the Toho Godzilla films of the 60s and the 70s it seems that the majority of the complaints about this movie are in how far Rolland Emmerich and Dean Devlin deviated from Godzilla's original design. I think those who were upset with the design changes do have a valid point. When you change the design of a cultural icon it is bound to upset the core fan base. However, despite the monster being Godzilla in name only, the movie does have many qualities to redeem it.

Pros: Taking the design of the monster on its own merit, Godzilla, or Zilla, as he is renamed by Toho studios, is a very creatively designed creature. Even if one doesn't consider this creature Godzilla, on his own he is a well designed monster and a welcome addition to the panoply of Toho's Kaiju creatures. He is more animal like than his Japanese counterpart (and less indestructible) and this has been the source of many of the criticisms levied at this incarnation of Godzilla. But from my perspective the CGI effects are much more superior to a guy walking around in a latex suit and that adds to the sense of realism. Rolland Emmerich and Dean Devlin have unapologetically stated that they make fun lighthearted popcorn movies. That is exemplary with this movie and that is where the enjoyment comes. All of the Toho Godzilla movies are covered with a healthy slice of cheese or two and the American version is no exception. This is a light hearted movie which doesn't take itself too seriously and is enjoyable despite its flaws.

Cons: Sure the movie does have its cheesy moments but in my opinion all of Toho's Godzilla movies (with the exception of the 1954 Japanese original) are covered with more Velveeta than this American version. I believe Matthew Broderick does an excellent job in the lead role as well as much of the supporting cast. My only major complaint and big flaw as far as the characters are concerned is with Mayor Ebert. He spends the majority of the movie just whining and complaining and worried how this will affect his popularity. Even when the military is doing things to protect the city Mayor Ebert really doesn't seem to care about the welfare of the citizens at all. The other complaint is that the time spent in Madison Square Gardens with the baby Zilla's is the part of the movie which seems to slow down and drag a bit too much. Other than that I really do enjoy this movie and wished Zilla could get another chance to star in his own feature length movie.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
MalevolentMay 31, 2013
I freaking loved this movie when I was kid. It came out in the year I was born. I've seen this movie a million times as a kid. Sure, the effects were cheesy, but the monster was really cool. I felt really sorry for it at the end.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
eganretanaApr 20, 2013
one of my favorite monster movies of all time i really don't care about all the negative reviews this is a fun, cool, and imaginative monster flick and I have watched a million times and will watch it a million more :D
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
3
mds03Apr 14, 2013
I was greatly disappointed since I was a huge fan of the many Japanese Godzilla aka Gojira films. This Godzilla just didn't feel right to me. In fact, just about everthing is wrong with it. It has a bad script, bad acting, mediocre specialI was greatly disappointed since I was a huge fan of the many Japanese Godzilla aka Gojira films. This Godzilla just didn't feel right to me. In fact, just about everthing is wrong with it. It has a bad script, bad acting, mediocre special effects, and it's unbelievably cheesy. The biggest problem is that it doesn't even feel like a Godzilla film it just feels like a ripoff of Jurassic Park and King Kong. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
RikiegeJan 12, 2013
Not a great movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Reaper1990Dec 20, 2012
Damn that time flies so fast...
I remember the 1998 when I was just 8 years old and watched it alongside same-name cartoon anyway it was good film for that time...

But today, its only nostalgia of thing which never comes back - childhood...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
YoursTrulyNov 12, 2012
Usually, if there's a giant lizard monster walking around destroying s**t I'm in. However, everything else about this movie was so bad that I could not bear it. Truly a feat of inadequacy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
spadenxDec 22, 2011
It was ok. The acting was generic at best but the effects were good. It was interesting dont get me wrong but it was just executed poorly. I think if given another shot then they would have knocked it out of the park (or at least made a decent film).
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JAM123Oct 22, 2011
It was an okay movie. Not my favorite but it was at least okay. Not one of Roland Emmerich's best movies but it wasn't terrible. Okay movie that's all I'm saying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
grandpajoe6191Oct 6, 2011
"Godzilla", the remake of the (gasp!) Godzilla movie in Japan, is pure trash. This time not even Roland's broad visuals can't save this clunky film. If you think you were going to watch this, forget it. It's just unbelievably terrible.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
4
davenbettridgeAug 28, 2011
Roland Emmerich's movies are some of the worst of all popular movies to be marketed and watches by the masses of uncritically minded morons who are easily entertained by visual effects and who are satisfied with mediocrity. If you were to cutRoland Emmerich's movies are some of the worst of all popular movies to be marketed and watches by the masses of uncritically minded morons who are easily entertained by visual effects and who are satisfied with mediocrity. If you were to cut the visual effects from this movie you would be left with shallow uninteresting characters, cliche dialogue, a formulaic story, gaping scientific and historical inaccuracies, and illogical plot development. I actually love special effects but I guess these things bother me more than most as I believe that movies have more potential then the 'popcorn' films Emmerich makes every few years, and it would be easier for me not worry about so much if they werent so popular. Just because a movie is trying to be a 'popcorn flick' and not trying to be intelligent does NOT make it a good one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
LegotwinJul 31, 2011
Argh! This movie makes me so mad! I grew up loving Godzilla when I was little, you know, the old Japanese cheesy, yet awesome, adventures of fighting guys in rubber monster suits. the good ol' days. One of my favorite things in the series wasArgh! This movie makes me so mad! I grew up loving Godzilla when I was little, you know, the old Japanese cheesy, yet awesome, adventures of fighting guys in rubber monster suits. the good ol' days. One of my favorite things in the series was how awesome Godzilla looked. A cross between a giant...ummm...and a big...umm...with the-uh-vague appearance of a giant dinosaur! I don't know, but the point is, he was awesome! Now, they finally make a movie in america with the greatest effects, good-named actors, all being filmed in New York City! Sounds pretty epic, until you actually see the movie. The first question I've ever had for this movie is why the heck is Godzilla a T-rex? Seriously? They are finally making a movie about possibly the greatest monster movie franchise of all time (next to King Kong, of coarse) with all the right tools and that's what they came up with? I know there are fans of this movie, and I don't hold a grudge against them in any way, that will debate that Godzilla is a giant iguana and not a T-rex. But really look at him. He looks like something out of Jurassic Park. I can see why some people like this movie, but frankly do not and that's all I've got to say about that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
CameronPowellXJul 26, 2011
Godzilla? More like Attack of the Radioactive Iguanas. This isn't a Godzilla film. This movie is disgrace to the name. If you want to watch this movie go ahead. But you know even though its a disgrace to TOHO and the name it isn't thatGodzilla? More like Attack of the Radioactive Iguanas. This isn't a Godzilla film. This movie is disgrace to the name. If you want to watch this movie go ahead. But you know even though its a disgrace to TOHO and the name it isn't that bad of a movie. Its a monster movie at least. It a simple monster movie. Monster attack city people fight its a nothing more than a simple monster movie that ruined the name of GODZILLA. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
MovieLonely94Jun 11, 2011
Based on the Godzilla Japanese franchise and a re-imagining of a 1954 movie of the same name (in which I haven't even watched/heard before), it was known for being one of the best movies of 1998 despite it having received Golden RaspberryBased on the Godzilla Japanese franchise and a re-imagining of a 1954 movie of the same name (in which I haven't even watched/heard before), it was known for being one of the best movies of 1998 despite it having received Golden Raspberry Awards. Now to get on with the story.

After a mutation was caused from the lizards by the french in French Polynesia, a deadly reptilian creature was created and migrates to New York City, destroying everything in sight. Dr. Nick Tatopoulos is called by the military force to do research on this gigantic creature and to aid them to stop it once and for all.

Do you think that Action and Science Fiction movies keep you interested on what's going on? Then, frankly, this is one of them.

The good things that I found to be tolerable was the cinematography, Matthew Broderick's performance, the CGI, the music score and the action scenes.

The bad things are the plot holes, overused clichés, the scenes, the development, and the scenes in where the hatchlings of Godzilla started to eat the team by ripping off the scenes from Jurassic Park that were very familiar.

Godzilla isn't good or bad either. It just did okay and it's a very mediocre action/science fiction movie, but at least Roland Emmerich tried. It is worth watching and a guilty pleasure on DVD or VHS only.

5/10
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
asthobaskoroApr 3, 2011
I'm curious why this flick pan by critics. OK cheesy CGI and plot, but this flick still entertaining than Roland Emerich's **** blockbuster 2012
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ArkonBladeAug 28, 2010
oh Godzilla what have they done to you. even TOHO company the japanese film complany that makes the godzilla films in japan was disgusted with what was done to godzilla by hollywood. that giant lizard on the big screen was not godzilla andoh Godzilla what have they done to you. even TOHO company the japanese film complany that makes the godzilla films in japan was disgusted with what was done to godzilla by hollywood. that giant lizard on the big screen was not godzilla and calling it Godzilla felt like a insult . if this was not called godzilla i might be able to squeeze out a 5 or a 6 for this film . the special effects where ver nice but thats about it. the film felt abit to cheesey even for the japanese godzilla films . atleast the japanese saved godzilla abit with Godzilla 2k. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GeraldoZNov 21, 2008
For 1998, this movie had top-notch graphics. The storyline was a little dull but flowed well. The movie definitely could have been made better but still proved to be strong.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
IanReyP.Sep 29, 2008
I just searched Godzilla for it's rating and saw how it's poorly rated. I was 12 yrs old when I watched this and I just enjoyed it. For those ages and below, this is a definitely something to watch for!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KurtC.Jul 13, 2008
A stubid, lamebrain boring film. Godzilla looks more like a 100-foot reptilian rat for pete's sake. A disgrace to the original Japanese Godzilla.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FungoB.Mar 11, 2008
One of the best action films of recent years. Don't listen to the critics! Even the short quotes on Metacritic show that most of them weren't paying attention to the actual movie. How else to explain that so many get basic plot One of the best action films of recent years. Don't listen to the critics! Even the short quotes on Metacritic show that most of them weren't paying attention to the actual movie. How else to explain that so many get basic plot details wrong??? (e.g. "No surprises..." "humorless"... And my favorite: "How come he [sic'] only breathes fire twice?" Hey, bonehead: Godzilla doesn't breathe fire _at all_! He blows across something burning, in a perfectly obvious in-joke reference to the Japanese fire-breathing original. Too high-brow for professional movie critics, I guess.) Collapse
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
JordanP.Sep 10, 2007
A brave attempt at a concept that immediately is unfavorable amongst every critic, just for what it is, a monster movie. Because it is brave, has stunning special effects, jean reno and Hank Azaria, it should certainly be regarded higher A brave attempt at a concept that immediately is unfavorable amongst every critic, just for what it is, a monster movie. Because it is brave, has stunning special effects, jean reno and Hank Azaria, it should certainly be regarded higher than it is. Also, it took me 9 years to find a film like this which was in the same concept, the Host, and thats one of my favourite movies. Period. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredC.Aug 16, 2007
The computer generation is top notch, while the story is flowing with its every character and visuals. It is crafted superbly and it turns out nice.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
tonydannieJul 3, 2006
This film is not really bad. The effects are descent and the action sequences are good if not a bit campy at times. The problem with this movie is the dialogue. But David Arnold's score over powers it. This is the same director who This film is not really bad. The effects are descent and the action sequences are good if not a bit campy at times. The problem with this movie is the dialogue. But David Arnold's score over powers it. This is the same director who redeemed himself to me when he directed Mel Gibson's The Patriot" and then went back down hill when he directed "The Day After Tomorrow". You win some,you loose some. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GeoffSDec 27, 2005
My main problem with this film can be summed up in two words: Matthew Broderick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful