Miramax Films | Release Date: December 5, 1997
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 397 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
368
Mixed:
23
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
VicMar 24, 2006
Solid performances all around, especially by Damon and Robin Williams. It's a touching and inspirational film that explores several issues in life.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamDec 14, 2005
This movie is one of the best movies I have seen. After seeing it a second time and seeing some of the unaccidental coincidences by the producer, the movie shows many different angles. This is one of the cleverest movies I have seen, very This movie is one of the best movies I have seen. After seeing it a second time and seeing some of the unaccidental coincidences by the producer, the movie shows many different angles. This is one of the cleverest movies I have seen, very intriguing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Toml.Jan 3, 2007
A great movie. Matt damon did way more on the screenplay than Ben Affleck. It's clear they realized who was more talented some time ago.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EthanNov 26, 2005
Great movie. Learn to be more mature and get past the use of the 'f' word as you love to call it, otherwise go watching finding nemo.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SamanthaJul 25, 2007
This is one of my all time favorite movies. The grit and grime of the kind of life that most wish to look away from. Matt Damon was truly inspiring in his performance and insight. I wish that more movies were as real as this one (with the This is one of my all time favorite movies. The grit and grime of the kind of life that most wish to look away from. Matt Damon was truly inspiring in his performance and insight. I wish that more movies were as real as this one (with the exception of 'Will' being a genius). Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
efh1108Aug 22, 2010
This is a great movie. I got out of it that it is a sham that without pushing that a life would be wasted and I can"t stand wasted lives. he wasn"t even on drugs. It also stresses the importance of getting your emotional stuff in order.This is a great movie. I got out of it that it is a sham that without pushing that a life would be wasted and I can"t stand wasted lives. he wasn"t even on drugs. It also stresses the importance of getting your emotional stuff in order. Untill that was in order, he had no faith in himself. I guess your environment really really determines that. Great movie. you can learn so much from it. That is why I am not into action movies because I can"t learn much from them that I can"t use in life if you know what I mean. Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
10
JammerjointAug 28, 2010
Of the works of art I have experienced, this has struck a deep impression within me and remains to be my favorite film of all time. To begin with, the story is not only a wonderful concept but also devoid of idealistic cliché.Of the works of art I have experienced, this has struck a deep impression within me and remains to be my favorite film of all time. To begin with, the story is not only a wonderful concept but also devoid of idealistic cliché. It was the kind of story that carried itself through the journey; situations fabricated to nudge the plot along were very sparse. The entire movie flowed out smoothly, avoiding the impression of multiple disjointed scenes, instead following a cohesive line of thought, and yet integrated within was a well-paced emotional rampage. It balanced on the edge of fact and fiction, using â Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
asthobaskoroFeb 19, 2011
Brilliant script and great direction, Good Will Hunting is a must-see movie. Amazing performance by Matt Damon. The Greatest Math Janitor Film Of All Time
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
phxsikhJul 8, 2011
It comes quite clear that the critics that gave the movie a negative review did not understand the excellence of the acting. Especially from Robin Williams, has he ver made a movie like this? No. The intelligence of this movie is outstanding,It comes quite clear that the critics that gave the movie a negative review did not understand the excellence of the acting. Especially from Robin Williams, has he ver made a movie like this? No. The intelligence of this movie is outstanding, no fancy effects or crazy dramatic turns, just human life at it's peak. A beautiful movie, don't over analyze it, but do recognize how it makes you look deep into life. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
hoops2448Feb 14, 2012
The complexity of the characters in Good Will Hunting is astounding with it taking multiple viewing to truly understand the depth of character (even for some of its more minor characters). Good Will Hunting tells the story of (believe it orThe complexity of the characters in Good Will Hunting is astounding with it taking multiple viewing to truly understand the depth of character (even for some of its more minor characters). Good Will Hunting tells the story of (believe it or not) Will Hunting, An underachieving genius who works as a janitor at MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology to us non Americans). When one of the professors (the always impressive Stellan Skaarsgard) notices him he suddenly finds his way out of his life but at the same time is sabotaging himself due to the problems of his past. The movie has a strong emotional richness as the film covers everything from love and family to abuse and heartbreak. The writing (by Matt Damon and Ben Affleck) is brilliant as it has the ability to be mundane and colloquial only to turn suddenly to something eloquent and articulate. The film has a tendency to give you speeches instead of conversations but they are so well written you cannot help but listen in awe as these characters wax lyrical. The cast is sensational with Matt Damon being a solid lead as Will. Stellan Skaarsgard portrayal helps us empathise with his character despite the fact he is incredibly arrogant. Even Ben Affleck whose early career has been peppered with terrible performances gives everything as Willâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RiriboyOct 10, 2011
This one of my all time favorites movies.
C'est un film original et qui traite de beaucoup de sujet tout en gardant de la fraicheur et de la surprise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ApocalypseGamerNov 23, 2011
This was superb. A best cast ensemble and a very planned out story from Matt Damon and Ben Affleck has made this film more favorable to the fans of Matt Damon and his films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jzmeNov 11, 2013
Undeniably genius. This movie is true to its core, lacking pretense. It brings you to an emotional roller coaster too. Thanks to the brilliant and phenomenal actors, it pulled off a great storyline. It's been a while since I get speechless byUndeniably genius. This movie is true to its core, lacking pretense. It brings you to an emotional roller coaster too. Thanks to the brilliant and phenomenal actors, it pulled off a great storyline. It's been a while since I get speechless by good movies, but this movie is just one of them. It's mind blowingly good, not to mention a good moral lesson to be learnt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
IamMensaMay 28, 2012
Incredibly well written and well executed piece of art. Feel good movie on the level of the story but also on the level that there are still true writers and films out there that don't need lame special effects and corny action to compensateIncredibly well written and well executed piece of art. Feel good movie on the level of the story but also on the level that there are still true writers and films out there that don't need lame special effects and corny action to compensate for the terrible script. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SpangleMay 26, 2013
Absolutely marvelous. Matt Damon and his cast of friends, Robin Williams, and every other actor turned in outstanding performances. At many points, you're not entirely whether you're rooting for or against the kid seemingly determined to ruinAbsolutely marvelous. Matt Damon and his cast of friends, Robin Williams, and every other actor turned in outstanding performances. At many points, you're not entirely whether you're rooting for or against the kid seemingly determined to ruin his life. However, the movie had numerous good messages, such as pushing through your hardships to reach your potential. Fantastic directing and writing here, just a feel good kind of film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Ample with truly heartwarming themes and chock full of some supremely well-written dialogue, "Good Will Hunting" is a modest, yet undeniably faultless drama.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Movie1997Aug 31, 2014
I can't believe what I had been missing! This movie is a great and powerful film. The performances are spot on, especially Matt Damon and Robin Williams. And the chemistry between those two were dynamite! I completely understand why this isI can't believe what I had been missing! This movie is a great and powerful film. The performances are spot on, especially Matt Damon and Robin Williams. And the chemistry between those two were dynamite! I completely understand why this is Williams and Damon's best film. The screenplay is refreshing the characters have you put on an emotional journey through oneself. Easily now one of my all-time favorites! I give this masterpiece an A+! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ydnar4Nov 23, 2014
One of the best movies I've ever seen. I applaud Matt Damon and Ben Affleck for being able to create a true masterpiece at such a young age. This movie made both these boys look like veterans. I couldn't take my eyes off the screen throughoutOne of the best movies I've ever seen. I applaud Matt Damon and Ben Affleck for being able to create a true masterpiece at such a young age. This movie made both these boys look like veterans. I couldn't take my eyes off the screen throughout this movie. Robin Williams plays his best role in his career as Sean McGuire and Damon is no slouch either. I also enjoyed Affleck's role despite settling for a smaller part. Good Will Hunting is a must watch for anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WergezOct 28, 2014
This movie was released befor I was born. I watched it as a child - didn't understand several things.
Watch it with sixteen when university will be an important part of my life and see the movie much different.
The best moment for me was
This movie was released befor I was born. I watched it as a child - didn't understand several things.
Watch it with sixteen when university will be an important part of my life and see the movie much different.
The best moment for me was the baseball match when I was younger. Now it's the great monologue of Robin Wiliams.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
itsLukeNunnAug 28, 2016
Nothing less than a masterpiece and written by Matt Damon and Ben Affleck at such young ages. The writing is brilliantly heartfelt and funny, the acting is brilliant and the whole feeling of the film is beautiful. Honestly my favourite film ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ArceptafferJul 29, 2015
This film taught me to never give up when in hard times and that if I go threw abuse, is not my fault. One of my favorite YouTubers, MrRepzion, loved this film because it taught him the exact same moral. I wish Robin Williams could see thisThis film taught me to never give up when in hard times and that if I go threw abuse, is not my fault. One of my favorite YouTubers, MrRepzion, loved this film because it taught him the exact same moral. I wish Robin Williams could see this review so he could know what a great job he did Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Bartholomew123Jul 2, 2015
Probably one of the greatest movies ever made. Brilliant acting, heartfelt story, emotional ending, and a truly perfect script make this movie a masterful journey!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
zidziakJul 29, 2015
The only negative reviews I hear of this movies are by people who either cant stand violence or strong language (and one about it being to simple from the guy who watched inception and still has his mind blown). This movie is very real to me,The only negative reviews I hear of this movies are by people who either cant stand violence or strong language (and one about it being to simple from the guy who watched inception and still has his mind blown). This movie is very real to me, though the genius of the main is hyperbolized (in my opinion) It just goes to display the internal struggle of what to do with your natural gifts, and just how much negative influences during your childhood effect your growth. Plus the Jokes in this movie are HILARIOUS! Even if you didnt like this movie you cannot tell me you didnt like the apples joke, or the old couple. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
konstantin_weJan 16, 2016
A compelling, funny, and ultimately moving examination of life's priorities, with mesmerising performances from Damon, Affleck and the late Robin Williams.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Antgiog1202Jul 4, 2016
The magical feeling you get by watching "Good Will Hunting" will make you question the meaning to filmmaking and life as a whole. When Sean Maquire (Robin Williams) states "you'll have bad times, but it'll always wake you up to the good stuffThe magical feeling you get by watching "Good Will Hunting" will make you question the meaning to filmmaking and life as a whole. When Sean Maquire (Robin Williams) states "you'll have bad times, but it'll always wake you up to the good stuff you weren't paying attention to" leads me to think of the negative moments in my life that inspired me to be a big-time movie fan. Good Will Hunting will express the deepest emotions your mind can possibly experiences by bringing you tears, laughter and even anger.

Rating: 10/10

A+ = 10
A = 9
A- = 8
B+ = 7
B = 6
B- = 5
C+ = 4
C = 3
C- = 2.5
D+ = 2
D = 1.5
D- = 1
F = 0
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MasterRileyJul 27, 2016
Good Will Hunting is an incredible film about growing up and believing in yourself. Its got a lot of great lessons and would be a great watch for adolescents. Great writing, great casting, great performances, and a large emotional impact allGood Will Hunting is an incredible film about growing up and believing in yourself. Its got a lot of great lessons and would be a great watch for adolescents. Great writing, great casting, great performances, and a large emotional impact all help the movie to be truly special. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TysonB.Dec 3, 2005
Amazing movie, great acting, perfect screenplay. And I think I speak for a lot of people when I say, I think it's time Damon and Affleck hooked up again on a screenplay.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
j30Dec 1, 2011
Good Will Hunting is a dumbfounded wonder of a movie. With exceptional performances from Robin Williams, Matt Damon, and wait... Ben Affleck (oh and he co-wrote the movie with Matt Damon).
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFApr 22, 2013
A film that can easily be looked up to, Good Will Hunting is an underdog story in a sense, but its the battle within that is the most significant part of this fantastic film.
Matt Damon delivers a spellbinding performance as Will Hunting, a
A film that can easily be looked up to, Good Will Hunting is an underdog story in a sense, but its the battle within that is the most significant part of this fantastic film.
Matt Damon delivers a spellbinding performance as Will Hunting, a working class kid from Boston, and also a janitor, who, in his spare time of course, is a mathematical genius. The problem with this is that Will seems very reluctant to be noticed for his remarkable talents, but famed lecturer Gerald Lambeau (Stellan Skarsgård) takes it upon himself to mentor the young but flawed genius, who has a knack for getting into countless fights and all other forms of bad behaviour with his best pals Chuckie (Ben Affleck), Morgan (Casey Affleck) and Billy (Cole Hauser).
As Lambeau attempts to put Will through therapy, Will makes a mockery of the process, so Lambeau decides to send him to a longtime friend, Dr. Sean Maguire (Robin Williams), a roommate Lambeau's younger years. Sean immediately notices the similarities that he and Will share in regards to family life and past problems.
Written by Damon and Affleck, Good Will Hunting tells a trial and error story of how our pasts most definitely matter and make a difference to how our futures may take shape. Will is frightened to let anybody into his life, even giving up his remarkable abilities just so he can remain with people he trusts, and not get hurt again the way is troubled and horrific past show.
But the film is also cleverly funny, with the chemistry between Damon and Williams electrifying, bouncing off each other in fast-paced successions of dialogue and humour.
Robin Williams gives a magical and emotional performance as Will's eventual therapist, he holds troubles quite dear to himself that he could never speak about until this kid came along, something that certainly taught both characters a lesson.
The film does play out in a very predictable and often feel-good manner, but this isn't a bad thing, Will's character needed to develop and evolve to the new people in his life, including a girl (Minnie Driver) a student who falls for Will. With an Oscar for Damon and Affleck for their screenplay and a well-deserved Oscar for best supporting actor in Robin Williams, Good Will Hunting has all the ingredients of a well crafted, gifted and defining piece of cinema that still goes down as one of the best films of all time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BradySmithJan 7, 2014
Everything a drama should be. Well written, charming characters, dialogue that ranges from impressively authentic to strikingly smart, and a very satisfying ending all add up to one of the best films I've seen in a long time. The screenplayEverything a drama should be. Well written, charming characters, dialogue that ranges from impressively authentic to strikingly smart, and a very satisfying ending all add up to one of the best films I've seen in a long time. The screenplay is smart, the direction is sensitive, and the performances are all very good. I really liked how natural all of the relationships between the characters seemed. They gave the film a very easygoing and comfortable atmosphere. I can't stress how important that is for this genre. Needless to say, I think every film lover needs to see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticAug 24, 2013
Marvelously original, and bolstered by a strong performance of Damon, and a equally strong, sarcastic, and cynical role by Robin Williams. Minnie Driver is interesting in her role, playing this half-sophisticated, and half-normal character,Marvelously original, and bolstered by a strong performance of Damon, and a equally strong, sarcastic, and cynical role by Robin Williams. Minnie Driver is interesting in her role, playing this half-sophisticated, and half-normal character, one who can go to Stanford and still make a joke about a blow-job. Ben Affleck and everyone else helps give the film it's stance. Love this movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysJan 9, 2014
Good Will Hunting is a very endearing movie; you can really feel Will's internal struggle, and every emotional scene in the film feels authentic rather than sappy. Bravo.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
DanielwWhiteNov 27, 2015
This is a really good movie. The plot and the characters are really interesting and make for a great watch. Matt Damon and Ben Affleck do a great job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31Feb 14, 2016
Simply PRICELESS! No matter how many times you watch it... the dialog will not stop to amaze you!

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-967-Good-Will-Hunting-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JackS.Dec 17, 2008
Great movie! Heart breaking, romantic, and had some good humor in it. Truely a great movie about a brillient kid who gets in a little to much trouble. It inspired me to reach for my goals. Overall a great movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ERG1008Sep 3, 2010
Great performances & dialogue with Robin Williams in fine form as psychologist Sean Maguire.
I still have a strong dislike for Ben Affleck though he did co-write this so fair play to him.
Also nice soundtrack with lots of the late Elliott
Great performances & dialogue with Robin Williams in fine form as psychologist Sean Maguire.
I still have a strong dislike for Ben Affleck though he did co-write this so fair play to him.
Also nice soundtrack with lots of the late Elliott Smith featuring.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JacobOct 27, 2014
Good Will Hunting is pretty good. The story is predictable but what makes it enjoyable are the characters, the acting, and the relationships (particularly Will’s relationship with Williams’ character as well as his relationship with BenGood Will Hunting is pretty good. The story is predictable but what makes it enjoyable are the characters, the acting, and the relationships (particularly Will’s relationship with Williams’ character as well as his relationship with Ben Affleck’s character). It’s a nice feel good movie. My only issues come from the last third/fourth of the movie where we have to sit through a lot of arguing as well as moping and doping even though its obvious that the film will end on a happy note and what that note will be specifically. Since this is a Robin Williams movie where he plays a teacher that inspires a pupil, I feel its fair to compare it to Dead Poet’s Society, which is a better film. I found the arc of the students’ in that film to be far more interesting and I like how the happy ending comes at the cost of some tragedy. Additionally, that film was not as predictable. With all that said though I still enjoy Good Will Hunting it’s a heart-warming film with a good message that pulls at your heart strings. It makes you laugh and cry as well as remember a time when cell phones did not exist and the Dunkin Donuts logo looked different. It is cliché and predictable but I’m willing to overlook it because the characters are likeable and the relationships are fantastic especially in the first half (second half/third is where the clichés fall in). This is definitely a movie that everyone should see at least once in their life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ReviewCriticMar 18, 2012
Good Will Hunting is one of the greatest American Movies of all time. It is both Robin Williams and Matt Damon's best performances, and Robin Williams won the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor. Good Will Hunting is both wise and deep.Good Will Hunting is one of the greatest American Movies of all time. It is both Robin Williams and Matt Damon's best performances, and Robin Williams won the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor. Good Will Hunting is both wise and deep. It really makes you stop and look at yourself and life. Expand
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
8
Boozerx7Mar 22, 2012
i dont like robin williams but his performances here is worth commending. he played his character perfectly about man in pain very naturally. the movie is about will (matt damon), facing his trials and tribulations in his life despite being ai dont like robin williams but his performances here is worth commending. he played his character perfectly about man in pain very naturally. the movie is about will (matt damon), facing his trials and tribulations in his life despite being a genius. good acting from the cast too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
StaticSpineSep 19, 2013
Very emotional movie. Great performance by Matt Damon and Robin Williams, pretty complex characters with their own stories. One of the movies which makes you look at life from a different angle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ExKingMar 28, 2013
one of the best writing i have ever watched in a movie sure Ben affleck acting skills wasn't in the place but some how that worked he look like a shy guy who take care of his friends i loved Casey affleck performance they gave him anone of the best writing i have ever watched in a movie sure Ben affleck acting skills wasn't in the place but some how that worked he look like a shy guy who take care of his friends i loved Casey affleck performance they gave him an awesome character and since then I'm into his movies overall great movie and astonishing performance by robin Williams Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heeldavidJun 5, 2014
The underrated and smart Gus Van Sant's Good Will Hunting has one of the best improvisational sequences that i have seen. Robin Williams gives one of the smartest performances of his career and Matt Damon is so good at living with theThe underrated and smart Gus Van Sant's Good Will Hunting has one of the best improvisational sequences that i have seen. Robin Williams gives one of the smartest performances of his career and Matt Damon is so good at living with the character of Will, great perfomances from Affleck, Driver and the supporting cast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tomle1202Jul 26, 2015
Heart-warming, lovely, smart but not boring, Good Will Hunting is an excellent example for the talents of Matt Damon, Ben Affleck, and Robin Williams.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMay 28, 2016
It's over-long for a film of its nature, but despite the length, the film does not lag. In fact, it is beautifully filmed, exceptionally acted, brilliantly written, and---in the end---extremely heartwarming. It is a triumph.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aadityamudharApr 19, 2016
Good Will Hunting is one of the greatest American Movies of all time. It is both Robin Williams and Matt Damon's best performances, and Robin Williams won the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor. Good Will Hunting is both wise and deep.Good Will Hunting is one of the greatest American Movies of all time. It is both Robin Williams and Matt Damon's best performances, and Robin Williams won the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor. Good Will Hunting is both wise and deep. It really makes you stop and look at yourself and life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
heyitsmegrif4Jan 8, 2012
Although the film does have a very depressing back story and the film suffers from awkward mood changes, Good Will Hunting is entertaining, emotionally rich and benefits from powerful performances from Williams, Damon, and Driver. I give thisAlthough the film does have a very depressing back story and the film suffers from awkward mood changes, Good Will Hunting is entertaining, emotionally rich and benefits from powerful performances from Williams, Damon, and Driver. I give this movie 71%. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cheeseberger11Aug 11, 2013
I thoroughly enjoy this movie along with its characters. Robin Williams steps into a more serious role where he delivers a very strong performance. I mloved watching the interactions between many of the characters, especially Damon's and William's.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
demolisher7778Sep 30, 2014
Was good but also really boring at times. Fell asleep twice in the movie. Matt Damon and Robin William's performances were excellent though. 7/10 (good)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
alwayswatchingDec 6, 2015
Let's be honest. Everybody at one point in hist life wants to be that smart boy in the bar who teaches a lesson to that **** prick who is picking on his friend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews