Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2236 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: After debris destroys their space shuttle, two astronauts desperately try to return to Earth.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 49
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 49
  3. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    Nov 3, 2013
    100
    A stunning space saga that takes off for new technical frontiers without leaving its humanity behind.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 3, 2013
    100
    Gravity isn't just a movie; it's almost transformative, and the visceral element is enhanced by the 3-D.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Aug 28, 2013
    100
    At once the most realistic and beautifully choreographed film ever set in space, Gravity is a thrillingly realized survival story spiked with interludes of breath-catching tension and startling surprise.
  4. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Oct 3, 2013
    100
    Gravity is out of this world. Words can do little to convey the visual astonishment this space opera creates. It is a film whose impact must be experienced in 3-D on a theatrical screen to be fully understood.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Oct 4, 2013
    90
    While the tension never lets up for a second, how you respond to the boundary-fudging and wildly improbable ending of Gravity – meaning both how it makes you feel and how you interpret it – will determine whether you think the movie is a genuine pop masterpiece or a canny artifice. Maybe there’s no difference.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Oct 3, 2013
    88
    The movie’s an astonishingly detailed, visually painstaking state-of-the-art production that advances what the cinema can show us—even as the human story at its center feels a little thin after a while.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Oct 1, 2013
    75
    Accept Gravity as pure, popcorn-munching show business fun and nothing else, and you won’t go away disappointed.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Action moments, Amazing quality and Writing. Must watch more than 2 times. Charecters and and a little comedy everything is in right place its 3-D is also worth the price Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    The most incredible cinematic experience of my 39 years alive, by leaps and bounds. As far as I'm concerned this film was flawless. I would like to respond to another reviewer who criticized Sandra Bullock's portrayal of a "hysterical, incapable astronaut". The character she played was not a career astronaut, she was a scientist who trained for basic astronaut aptitude in order to go into space for a particular mission and this was her first time in space, engaging in a space walk no less. Regardless, she certainly proved her mettle by the end, didn't she? Sir Edmund Hillary, the first person to ascend Mt. Everest said, "It is not the mountain that we conquer, but ourselves." Sandra's character conquered herself and there is no greater achievement for any human being, in spite of the personality and emotional type they are born with and develop through life. Expand
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    Intense and gripping! This movie was shot as a simple survival story in space... but I connected to it even more at a much deeper level. The way that the cinematography was shot, I felt I was in space floating with Sandra Bullock's character, Dr. Ryan Stone... that was a technical achievement in itself... But I was also able to feel what it was like to be in the mind of her character. I feared with her, struggled to survive with her, felt the hopelessness of life and accepted death with her, and then, found air, found new life, and was born again with her. Sandra Bullock has put on an Oscar worthy performance, and it sure did help with Alfonso Cuaron being at the helm to guide this film. What a genius. It's been awhile since I've been deeply absorbed into the thoughts and feelings of a character on screen. This movie was truly a journey and an experience into the mind and soul of Dr. Ryan Stone's character. Wow, such an amazing film. An unforgettable experience! Must see in theaters with the biggest screen you can find. Expand
  4. Jul 15, 2014
    8
    Of course it's well made, but one of the great triumphs of Gravity is that it is a non-violent, scientific and enlightening action drama. I challenge you to find an equally exciting, bombastic movie with as much love for humanity's abilities. Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    7
    I saw this movie after seeing the critics off the chart ratings. It would have been better if I had lower expectations. All in all it is worth a look for the visual effects so make sure to see it in 3D and realize the plot is generic but entertaining. Expand
  6. Jan 6, 2014
    5
    Yes the 3D is impressive because we, the viewer, are unaware of the detailed view of the international space station but after that we are watching a very mediocre film. What's the George Clooney character all about? Expand
  7. Feb 1, 2014
    0
    Flawed Science and so dull. I was forced to bet with myself how many times the characters would miss the vital piece of space equipment before finally saving themselves again. Ghastly waste of time Expand

See all 633 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Oscars: Full Winners List + Reviews of the Show

    2014 Oscars: Full Winners List + Reviews of the Show Image
    Published: March 3, 2014
    Read reviews of last night's Academy Awards broadcast, find out which experts and users had the most accurate predictions, and find a full list of winners in all 24 categories.
  2. 2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 16, 2014
    The Oscar nominations are in. What were this year's biggest surprises and snubs? Find a complete list and analysis of nominees for the 86th Annual Academy Awards.
  3. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013 Image
    Published: January 7, 2014
    The results are in! Find out which movies, TV shows, video games, albums, and songs were the favorites among Metacritic users in 2013.
  4. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.
  5. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  6. 2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard

    2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 3, 2013
    Find a complete list of 2013's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.
  7. 2013 Fall Film Festival Recap: The Verdict on Films Screening at TIFF, Telluride, and Venice

    2013 Fall Film Festival Recap: The Verdict on Films Screening at TIFF, Telluride, and Venice Image
    Published: September 17, 2013
    Find capsule reviews for the 30 most notable films that debuted during the three major fall film festivals, including upcoming films from Alfonso Cuaron, Jonathan Glazer, Hayao Miyazaki, Jason Reitman, Steve McQueen, Stephen Frears, Bill Condon, Richard Ayoade, Kelly Reichardt, and more.
  8. Fall Movie Preview: A Look at 25 Notable Films

    Fall Movie Preview: A Look at 25 Notable Films Image
    Published: August 30, 2013
    Find details and trailers for the key films due out this fall, including new movies from Alfonso Cuarón, the Coen brothers, Martin Scorsese, Ridley Scott, and Paul Greengrass.
  9. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.