User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 549 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 30, 2011
    8
    I thought the movie was very good. The pacing as great as it seemed like there was never a dull moment. There was excellent balance between action scenes and story development, humor and seriousness, as well as internal and external conflicts. I think it's a shame the movie seems to be getting the low scores it's getting. I thought this was not only a good super hero movie, but aI thought the movie was very good. The pacing as great as it seemed like there was never a dull moment. There was excellent balance between action scenes and story development, humor and seriousness, as well as internal and external conflicts. I think it's a shame the movie seems to be getting the low scores it's getting. I thought this was not only a good super hero movie, but a pretty good science fiction movie as well. It is definitely worth seeing for yourself. Expand
  2. Jun 20, 2011
    8
    Not the greatest hero flick I've ever seen, but it's enjoyable. I thought Ryan Reynolds did a good job as Hal, and Peter Sarsgard's perfomance as Hector Hammond was great. I also couldn't get over the scenes on the beautiful planet Oa. Hopefully the sequel (yes, there will be a sequel; if you sit through the credits for a little while, you'll learn this) will be a little better.
  3. Jun 20, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was a really good movie. I didn't read any reviews before I saw it so my expectations were unaffected. I was hoping for a good eye popping visual feast with a cast that didn't disappoint. Well it was a good as I hoped. The acting avoided the cheesiness that sometimes plagues films like this. I was pleasantly surprised that during the relatively lighthearted moments (read: not dark like Batman) it still maintained seriousness and the characters never crossed the line on believability with overacting. By comparison this movie was better than THOR in my opinion. The only thing I can critique is that it was a little short. They could have added about 20 minutes to flesh out the character development a bit more, but overall it still worked pretty well. I thought Ryan Reynolds did a good job. His character seemed like an unassuming approachable guy that got chucked into this role of responsibility, but had the raw potential to be a hero under the right circumstances. It was believable in a similar way as Peter Parker in Spiderman, but more so because Hal wasn't a dork to start ou with. Heck in costume Reynolds even looks like Lantern in the comics. I think he was a good choice ultimately. I can't wait for the sequel. If you were lucky enough and stayed for the closing credits you had a chance to see Sinestro put that yellow ring of fear on and bask in it's evil. Smells like sequel materiL to me. Can't wait.. Expand
  4. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    While I can see why many critics disliked it, Green Lantern is NOT deserving of the bashing it's been getting.

    The superpower of being able to create anything you could imagine through willpower has, in my opinion, always been unbeatable in terms of HOW COOL IS THAT? I knew going into the theatre that although it probably wouldn't be executed as well as I would have liked, a story like
    While I can see why many critics disliked it, Green Lantern is NOT deserving of the bashing it's been getting.

    The superpower of being able to create anything you could imagine through willpower has, in my opinion, always been unbeatable in terms of HOW COOL IS THAT? I knew going into the theatre that although it probably wouldn't be executed as well as I would have liked, a story like Green Lantern couldn't possibly fall into the "been there, done that" list of superhero movies. I've took notice when I first began reading comics that DC characters tend to be more fantastic and space-bound than Marvel, which tends to focus on internal issues. So far, DC hasn't had as many shots as Marvel in films outside of their Batman/Superman franchises, so I was really hoping Green Lantern would be new and exciting.

    It was disappointing, yes, but it's definitely not a borefest to the average moviegoer with no invested interest in the comics or characters. It's action-packed, funny, very cool powers with very cool effects, romantic, and certainly fresh in the sense that I can't recall any other superhero movie that's been released that had a place like Oa be a major part of the storyline. I also want to mention that as a female comic book fan, I tend to take notice of how the female leads are treated throughout the movies. In the past few decades, I've never really been all that impressed by the love interests outside of Lois Lane. Before the movie was even announced, I had already known that the only iconic characters that would be able to hold a candle to Lois would be from DC. I had high hopes for Carol Ferris, and while she wasn't executed all that well, she's still impressive to me. There wasn't much focus on it, but I think more people should consider that she's a pilot and is business savvy. Having seen films like Spider-Man accurately portray Mary-Jane Watson and keep her as a plot tool lead the way to comic book movie formulas, for me, the fact that Carol saved Hal from death counts for something.

    I'll hold off on saying I loved the Carol in the movie, but the writing made her recognizable as Carol Ferris, and simply because there haven't been many women in comic book movies that have impressed me, I'm going to give Carol Ferris the credit I would never give to characters like Mary-Jane Watson, Pepper Potts, Betty Ross, or Jane Foster etc. The DC women I feel I can respect and look up to, and I'm very glad to add Carol Ferris onto that list with Lois Lane. I expect the same for Catwoman in the next Batman installment. Overall, the movie is very what much what you expect from the trailers. Yes, it probably could have been the next Star Wars and is one of the only comic book franchises with that type of potential, but it wasn't. However, just because of that, it doesn't mean that this film should be bashed because Thor or X-Men: First Class handled themselves better, in my opinion. Green Lantern at it's best would blow everything else out of the water. At it's mediocre, it's on par with the rest of them.

    This is, of course, speaking in the context of what I was looking for when I went to see it.
    Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2011
    7
    To telll the truth, after reading some truly savage reviews by some of the critics I have learned to trust, I intended to skip this film. But as a kid I loved Green Lantern more than Superman, Batman and Supergirl combined. After Wonder Woman GL was my fave.

    Now I'll tell you right off, this IS the film to leave the deepest part of your brain home. Don't expect deep thought or,
    To telll the truth, after reading some truly savage reviews by some of the critics I have learned to trust, I intended to skip this film. But as a kid I loved Green Lantern more than Superman, Batman and Supergirl combined. After Wonder Woman GL was my fave.

    Now I'll tell you right off, this IS the film to leave the deepest part of your brain home. Don't expect deep thought or, y'know, ideas. This is a comic book. Come to life. That's all.

    That said, its a whiz-bang, crazy wild ride. Whether you're riding in the **** of a fighter jet with an experimental robot plane hot on your exhaust or you've encountered a dying, handsome purple alien who has just given you the mother of all crackerjack prizes--and a free charger to boot--if you're Blake Lively's title character Hal Jordan you've got just the right aw, gee-ness to carry it off.

    Lively's Hal isn't a great brain, but he's a brave guy and a s**t hot seat-of-the-pants pilot. And the flying scenes in and out of vehicles make me want a power ring of my own. All the necessary plot points are here, the plucky girlfriend, the staunch buddy and the evilest evil since Sauron. And then there's the Green Lantern Corps. Not since Luke Skywalker strolled into the cantina have such an amazing array of alien life forms been gathered together. And here Hal makes some friends. I won't tell you about them lest I spoil the fun.

    If you want intellectualism, check out anything by Lars von Trier. If you want a rollicking good time to go with your popcorn--see Green Lantern.
    Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2011
    8
    Thoroughly enjoyable movie and shouldn't that be what movies are! Great action scenes, not enough main bad guy for my liking.... and not enough Sinistro either! Roll on Green Lantern 2...
  7. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    Its good to see dc going in the same direction as marvel, this movie is what its supposed to be fun..a good popcorn flick worth seeing and worth buying when it comes out..
  8. Jun 17, 2011
    7
    This movie is trying to make it a better DC comic book film that brings the awesome The Dark Knight and Superman, but I'll admit that this movie is more less than the other superhero films that doesn't get hype that too much. Green Lantern is okay and decent, but this movie is a lot of fun to see in summer and we can see it in 2D instead of wearing in 3D. The background is pretty awesomeThis movie is trying to make it a better DC comic book film that brings the awesome The Dark Knight and Superman, but I'll admit that this movie is more less than the other superhero films that doesn't get hype that too much. Green Lantern is okay and decent, but this movie is a lot of fun to see in summer and we can see it in 2D instead of wearing in 3D. The background is pretty awesome to look at, the action is so cool, the effects are pretty damn good (I love it when the Green Lantern is using his powers to fight with cool techniques that transform into anything), the cast is okay, and the story was a bit strange, but it works for a comic book movie. Expand
  9. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    I may not be a huge Green Lantern comic book fan, but Ryan Reynolds delivered in his role as Hal Jordan. I'm not quite sure why the critics have been bashing this movie, because it's a pretty solid popcorn movie. If you're expecting Citizen Kane from Green Lantern, then you've only got yourself to blame. A solid superhero movie and pure escapism!
  10. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    Although the cheese factor takes away from the story at times (not surprising given the lead actor) it was refreshing to see a superhero movie that is proud to be just that. Green Lantern isn't afraid of its spandex, or colorful alien backdrops. When Hollywood attempts to make larger than life icons more realistic for the average audience (such as turning the X-Men into a biker gang,Although the cheese factor takes away from the story at times (not surprising given the lead actor) it was refreshing to see a superhero movie that is proud to be just that. Green Lantern isn't afraid of its spandex, or colorful alien backdrops. When Hollywood attempts to make larger than life icons more realistic for the average audience (such as turning the X-Men into a biker gang, Galactus into a large ominous cloud or beefing up the Batman by sporting him in armor) they only seem to succeed in producing a less believable action flick instead of what we wanted to see: a silver screen adaptation of the well-rounded comic book crime fighters we love Expand
  11. Jun 18, 2011
    8
    First thing I need to say is this is not a thinking movie. It's a superhero flick. So if your intention is to watch a movie that'll make you feel warm and fuzzy, or make you cry, or make you ponder the nature of life, don't see this. What this movie is, is an exceptional representation of an iconic superhero, which is a rarity today. I had initial concerns about Ryan Reynolds playing HalFirst thing I need to say is this is not a thinking movie. It's a superhero flick. So if your intention is to watch a movie that'll make you feel warm and fuzzy, or make you cry, or make you ponder the nature of life, don't see this. What this movie is, is an exceptional representation of an iconic superhero, which is a rarity today. I had initial concerns about Ryan Reynolds playing Hal Jordan as he's a very quirky actor, but he pulled it off well. Carol Ferris wasn't as well played, but she was still passable. What really struck me about this movie was how it really stayed true to the origin of the green lantern and yet at the same time dumbed it down for casual audiences. As a for instance, those of you who have read the comics know that Parallax's backstory is long and complicated and one can't really understand it without understanding the war of light, but the movie makes a few minor changes and makes him an acceptable villain to someone who hasn't followed the comics. This is getting a little long-winded, but what it boils down to is Green Lantern is DC's Iron Man: A healthy amount of action, true to the origin, accessible by both long-term fans and casual viewers, and not too much cheesy crap. Expand
  12. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    As someone who has been reading comic books since I was 12, I have to say that GL was great. After watching Superman Returns and the last three X-men movies I had almost given up hope that any superhero screenplay would be anywhere close to the source material (Superman having a son? Jean Grey killing Cyclops? blasphemy!) GL, and the Dark Knight before it, renewed hope that Hollywood canAs someone who has been reading comic books since I was 12, I have to say that GL was great. After watching Superman Returns and the last three X-men movies I had almost given up hope that any superhero screenplay would be anywhere close to the source material (Superman having a son? Jean Grey killing Cyclops? blasphemy!) GL, and the Dark Knight before it, renewed hope that Hollywood can make a comic movie without completely rewriting 50 years of character development. Other than the presence of Paralax, 90% of the Hal Jordan origin story reflects what you find in GL: Secret Origin (by Geoff Johns), which keeps this from becoming just another cringe worthy attempt to cash in on the wave of superhero films since the late 90's. That being said it isn't Shakespeare, so if you're looking for a heady drama you're not going to find it here. Overall it was a great summer adventure that keeps you entertained for an hour and a half, which is just what it is supposed to do. The Pros - True to the source material
    - Ryan Reynolds plays Hal like he is supposed to be: flawed, but working to overcome his shortcomings
    - Amazing character design for the other GLs (Sinestro, Killowog, Tomar)
    - Enough (but not too much) humor to prevent it from being dark and dreary. GL isn't Batman, and isn't supposed to be.
    - Didn't feel like it was overloaded with visual fx, but they still looked awesome
    - Good dialog overall. no "are you an angel" (to quote phantom menace) lines in this to make you wonder what the writer's IQ is

    The Cons - needed a bit more action, if they make a sequel they should find a villain who's main ability isn't that he's a "thinker not a doer"
    - not enough character development for the supporting cast. other than Carol the average audience wont really be able to tell you anything about Tom, Killowog, Tomar, etc. and if you haven't read the comics you really won't know why Hals older brother is an ass

    bottom line: not a bad job for GL's first time on the silver screen. I'd give it an 8.5 if they'd let me
    Expand
  13. Jun 18, 2011
    8
    I saw Green Lantern with a number of friends, one new to the character. We all agreed it was a fun movie and good story. Basically the reviewers got it wrong, not even sure the reviewers watched the same movie as we did. Overall a good time.
  14. Jun 18, 2011
    7
    I enjoyed Green Lantern. So the pacing was all over the place, they overloaded on exposition and they stuffed too much into one movie. I still really liked it. It was a shame it wasn't closer to the original mythology, because I think that the story suffered where they strayed from the comics, and there was really no reason to. Hopefully the relatively negative response from critics won'tI enjoyed Green Lantern. So the pacing was all over the place, they overloaded on exposition and they stuffed too much into one movie. I still really liked it. It was a shame it wasn't closer to the original mythology, because I think that the story suffered where they strayed from the comics, and there was really no reason to. Hopefully the relatively negative response from critics won't discouraging DC from putting some more second and third tier characters on the big screen. In the end, I found the movie pretty enjoyable. Expand
  15. Jun 20, 2011
    7
    im not a massive dc fan. being a big fan of marvel. so i probably enjoyed this more than a dc fan. sure it wont win an oscar. but its an enjoyable film to watch an everyone i went with enjoyed it, so ignore all the critics an just go watch it. an decide for your self
  16. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    I thought it was much better than what the critics thought, I would recommend it. I thought the special effects were good and tha Ryan Reynolds was excellent in his role. Remember they had to spend time with the background of the story,
  17. KCB
    Jun 27, 2011
    10
    My husband & I really enjoyed Green Lantern alot!!! We thought Ryan Reynolds was great and the special effects were very good. We think the critics were way wrong - Green Lantern was so very much better than Thor the bore, Hope they do a sequel wirh more romance between Reynolds & Lively
  18. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    The movie was really entertaining. Critics got this wrong. Yes, the movie was a little short and a bit rushed. It should have been 15 minutes longer. However, aside from that, the special effects were pretty good and the origin story was pretty close to the comic. I hope they still make a sequel with Sinestro as the villian.
  19. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    What can I say, I'm a sucker for comic book movies. If you're going into this expecting "one of the most brilliant films of our time", you might want to just go get your money back, but if you're looking for an eye-popping, action-packed, good time, then you picked the right movie. You may not enjoy this film as much as I did, unless you're like me and grew up on the Green Lantern comicsWhat can I say, I'm a sucker for comic book movies. If you're going into this expecting "one of the most brilliant films of our time", you might want to just go get your money back, but if you're looking for an eye-popping, action-packed, good time, then you picked the right movie. You may not enjoy this film as much as I did, unless you're like me and grew up on the Green Lantern comics and cartoons, but I do think you will enjoy Martin Campbell's marvelous take on the world of the Lanterns, and the Lanterns themselves. Expand
  20. Jun 19, 2011
    8
    I really don't get all the negativity. This was a fun movie that introduced me to the Green Lantern universe. Did I have complaints? Yes. First of all, the actress playing Carol was horrible. Second, while not completely terrible, the pacing definitely needed some work. But these complaints are only minor compared to the fun I had watching this movie.
  21. Jun 27, 2011
    8
    I liked this movie for what it was, a superhero movie. It won't win academy awards but it was fun to watch. Just make sure it's what your looking for before you see it.
  22. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    I liked it. Adventure with a side of humour. Ryan Reynolds was great. Clancy Brown is a great voice for Parallax. Peter Sarsgaard is a great villain (Hector Hammond) . I'll probably see it again!
  23. Jun 18, 2011
    8
    Yeah! DC rules! Or so I said at the end of the movie, which I thoroughly enjoyed. What a welcome respite from the loathsomely puerile likes of "Thor" and "X-Men: First Class". Was it high art? Hell no. Was it great fun. Hell yes. I might even see it again, and I don't often do that.
  24. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    Everyone sounds so stupid on this page. "OMG Why would anyone like this movie? They should've seen *insert less successful movie here* instead!" Its summer, its a comic book superhero movie, it had a bazillion dollar budget just for advertising... you're right that pretty much adds up to "lame movie" however, they aren't even attempting to make genre changing, Oscar winning gold, theyEveryone sounds so stupid on this page. "OMG Why would anyone like this movie? They should've seen *insert less successful movie here* instead!" Its summer, its a comic book superhero movie, it had a bazillion dollar budget just for advertising... you're right that pretty much adds up to "lame movie" however, they aren't even attempting to make genre changing, Oscar winning gold, they are trying to sell some tickets to a movie that costs a **** to produce. Its fun, its entertaining, and the changes made from the comic book were necessary for time constraints. If you have read the Green Lantern run that has been written by Geoff Johns the past few years this movie would satisfy your craving to see these epic space battles in live-action rather than on the page or in a usually bland reinterpretation on animated DVD. This movie is easily one of the most entertaining superhero movies made and it sticks to the spirit of the book more than most superheroes even try to pretend they do. Loved it. Expand
  25. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    Don't believe the haters. If you like superhero movies, you will like Green Lantern. If you don't like superhero movies, then you won't like Green Latern. It's a good movie....maybe not GREAT....but a good movie.
  26. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    Don't believe the critics. This film is a lot of fun! Its got great action fun locations and a list of great characters as long as my arm. Going to a comic book film should be a fun experience at all times, it should be light and fun. This is that movie! Its only rival would be X-Men: First Class which is another great comic movie. Green Lantern starts off with some great adventure andDon't believe the critics. This film is a lot of fun! Its got great action fun locations and a list of great characters as long as my arm. Going to a comic book film should be a fun experience at all times, it should be light and fun. This is that movie! Its only rival would be X-Men: First Class which is another great comic movie. Green Lantern starts off with some great adventure and will keep you entertained until the end. The special effects are a lot of fun to look at, and the 3D conversion looks fantastic. Its a must see for comic fans and fans of fun summer movies, because when it comes to summer movies this is head and shoulders above the rest! Expand
  27. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    A very good movie for a first run at this particular hero! R.R was the right choice. A good balance of action both in the suit and out. I look forward to number two!
  28. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    Seeing the boyish image of Ryan as Hal Jordan was the major influence not to see the light of the lantern. However, even though Ryan brings to life Kyle Rayner, in my opinion, Green means a must go in my book! I'm more into the way a movie conveys a message. Especially in a comic book movie, we want to know how to be the hero of the day. Have some courage and check this movie out!
  29. Aug 12, 2012
    7
    Disappointing. While the cast does a generally good job with what they are given, and the visual effects are pretty good, the dialogue is poorly written, the pacing sometimes suffers, and the movie tries to do too much in too short of time.
  30. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    Excellent movie... and 3D made it all the better. It was the best 3D effects I've ever seen. I really hope there will be a sequel. The end of the movie (after the credits) left room for one.
  31. Jun 17, 2011
    7
    Bursting onto the screen with a winning combination of action and dazzling effects DC Comicsâ
  32. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    I honestly have no idea what the reviews are talking about, Green Lantern was amazing!

    I loved every thing about it. The fights were awesome, Oa looked fantastic, Hector was creepy as hell, Ryan was wonderful, the CGI was great, the pacing was near-perfect and the jokes were spot on! Sure it wasn't 100% faithful to the comics, but what movie is? GL was very fun and exciting. And all of
    I honestly have no idea what the reviews are talking about, Green Lantern was amazing!

    I loved every thing about it. The fights were awesome, Oa looked fantastic, Hector was creepy as hell, Ryan was wonderful, the CGI was great, the pacing was near-perfect and the jokes were spot on! Sure it wasn't 100% faithful to the comics, but what movie is? GL was very fun and exciting. And all of this is coming from a big GL fan.

    I went in expected to be disappointed, but I came out with a huge smile on my face. I can't wait to go see it again!
    Expand
  33. Jun 17, 2011
    7
    I actually really enjoyed Green Lantern and I might have to put that down to that I love comic book movies or the surprise of liking it even after reading bad reviews. I had no knowledge of Green Lantern history going in so maybe it helped coming in fresh. I was really impressed by the 3D and SFX. The fact that the lanterns can create anything just by thinking about it is so kick arseI actually really enjoyed Green Lantern and I might have to put that down to that I love comic book movies or the surprise of liking it even after reading bad reviews. I had no knowledge of Green Lantern history going in so maybe it helped coming in fresh. I was really impressed by the 3D and SFX. The fact that the lanterns can create anything just by thinking about it is so kick arse cool. Hal Jordan (a surprisingly good Ryan Reynolds) is likeable and I stuck with him.

    Now thats not to say that there are not bad points. Its all so predictable and the two enimies are really cheesy. To even think that this came from the same studio that gave us the truely epic Batman movies that are so in a different league. Think taking a Ferrari (Dark Knight) out for a spin on a racetrack and then a Lada (Green Lantern). The Ferrari you will always remember but hairing around in a Lada would be fun when it lasted. If you just want a good popcorn Friday night and some light hearted fun this is worth seeing.
    Expand
  34. Dec 13, 2011
    7
    This movie won't make you think however it has a solid story and solid acting. If you are a fan of the comic book this is a must see, for the general public overall its not a bad movie.
  35. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    This movie does not deserve the critic reviews that it has received so far. It almost seems that the reviews are paid by Marvel studios! Special effects were excellent! The 3D was arguably the best executed since Avatar. Even Thor looked fuzzy and out of focus compared to this movie. The story could have been better and the pacing was off and that means this movie will not win an oscarThis movie does not deserve the critic reviews that it has received so far. It almost seems that the reviews are paid by Marvel studios! Special effects were excellent! The 3D was arguably the best executed since Avatar. Even Thor looked fuzzy and out of focus compared to this movie. The story could have been better and the pacing was off and that means this movie will not win an oscar but i never tried to. This movie is meant to be family fun while managing to give GL fans many of the things we wanted to see. This movie does not bastardize the concept or the story that was developed over so many years in print. I give this movie a 10 to make a point. It does not deserve a 10 not does it deserve the current critic score of 39. IMDB has it right. These ratings just go to reduce my trust in metacritic and rottentomatoes reviews. Go and Enjoy the film. Expand
  36. Jun 25, 2011
    8
    The movie was fun. Acting was well executed. Especially mark strong as sinestro, it's not his fault the writers dropped the ball with his character. But the problems with his character could be fixed with a sequel. The rest was fine compared to the comics.
  37. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    Yeah critics shame on you. I really liked this movie. Critic's are fools and trolls and shouldn't be trusted. Make up your own mind and support a good movie. I mean i thought Thor was awesome, but i still think Green Lantern deserves way more credit. I saw no problems with the plot at all other than changes that they made from the comics which is always expected from Hollywood. RyanYeah critics shame on you. I really liked this movie. Critic's are fools and trolls and shouldn't be trusted. Make up your own mind and support a good movie. I mean i thought Thor was awesome, but i still think Green Lantern deserves way more credit. I saw no problems with the plot at all other than changes that they made from the comics which is always expected from Hollywood. Ryan Reynolds acting was good had a good story and he wasn't annoying like as Deadpool in Xmen. Expand
  38. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Books often don't translate well to film. A good writer can make it work. The acting in the film is fair, but no actor can transform a bad script into a good film. Those who chose the script should be hit with the bill for failed sales at the box office. Their opinion of the public verges on contempt and therefore the public shows its contempt by ignoring this trite effort at cinema.
  39. Jun 17, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was surprised how good this film was. First, you have the "professional critics" saying that it's a bust and then, the users? I walked into the theater expecting Fantastic Four! It was legitimately well done and brilliantly written! The weak points were the score (I couldn't hum a single line from the film if you asked me to right now. It's very forgettable.), one line delivered by Hal's friend ("But doesn't the hero always get the girl?" The audience just sat there, confused. It was completely out of context and made NO sense.), and the apathy the audience is supposed to feel for the Dr. He may have wanted the girl, but I'm not sure I believed that. Also, his dead was a little underwhelming. The movie gets very "real" in a couple of parts...and they are both believable. Reynolds has always been a phenomenal actor, but he really shines here. These people tearing the film apart were in a bad mood. They had to be. Of course...these are the same people who told me Thor was a good film. Ha. You will enjoy it. I can almost guarantee it. Expand
  40. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    I was looking forward to this moving for a long time, then I started seeing the critic reviews rolling in and my balloon began to burst and I was not sure if I was even going to spend my money to see it. Obviously I did, and mainly because critics, the majority of them, suck. They are too full of themselves to enjoy a good movie. This movie was fun. It was a great superhero flick, and I amI was looking forward to this moving for a long time, then I started seeing the critic reviews rolling in and my balloon began to burst and I was not sure if I was even going to spend my money to see it. Obviously I did, and mainly because critics, the majority of them, suck. They are too full of themselves to enjoy a good movie. This movie was fun. It was a great superhero flick, and I am glad I went to see it. There was no bad acting, nothing to speak of takes you out of the fiction of the movie. Go see it in 3D if you can. Expand
  41. Jun 20, 2011
    8
    There is a fine line between a good movie and a great one â
  42. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    Green lantern was a wonderful comic book movie come to life after all these years. it was brilliant & bold to use the cgi effects to give an Epic action sequence, including the costumes. Hectors mutated head was very realistic, and Parallax even more deadlier than the comics. This is an all entertaining movie for everyone.
  43. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    I may be one of a select few people, but I don't listen to reviewers to decide what I watch. In fact I HAD to create an account just so I could further prove why I'm glad I don't. Everywhere the critics have it voted worse then I have ever seen a movie rated. Yes it had some minor flaws, but I still don't believe it deserved HALF of the brash words it received.

    Let me start off by saying
    I may be one of a select few people, but I don't listen to reviewers to decide what I watch. In fact I HAD to create an account just so I could further prove why I'm glad I don't. Everywhere the critics have it voted worse then I have ever seen a movie rated. Yes it had some minor flaws, but I still don't believe it deserved HALF of the brash words it received.

    Let me start off by saying that I am an AVID green lantern fan, in fact I was going into this movie EXPECTING to be disappointed. Just because I felt that it could never convey what I believed the Lantern Universe deserved on the big screen.
    I was still looking forward to it, even with my negative expectations.

    I truly believe from the bottom of my 'comic book guy' level of 'fan-dom' that it could not have portrayed Hal Jordan and the lantern Universe any better.

    Yes, There were some issues with the plot, and I truly thought that the Hector Hammond story arc, could have been saved for a later movie. I also felt that there were things that did NOT stick to the comics but overall it was close enough to stay ballpark accurate for the fans and coherent enough for the newcomers.

    Now, while I did think there were minor flaws, the one flaw that bothers me most is everyone keeps comparing it to something IT IS NOT.

    It is not The Dark Knight, it is not Iron Man, nor is it by any means trying to be either one of them.
    While I love them both the problem with those movies is the dark and sombre tone to them, and the lack of connection to the characters themselves. Think about it, Batman can only do what he does because he is a billionaire, same with Stark. While that is a nice setting, Green Lantern does away with that altogether and basically says: "No." No you can not join us, no matter how smart you are, no matter how rich you are, you have to be CHOSEN.
    There is absolutly nothing else like it, maybe that is why the critics hate it, they don't really know how to review it.

    In today's dark, gritty, and all around perverted style of comic book movies, Green Lantern actually does us a favor and tries to be different.
    Instead of gritty caves, murderers and terrorists it gives us a place we can escape from the human concerns and tragedies that surround us.

    Every scene that had both Hal as a lantern, as well as the other members of the corps left me wanting more. Every scene where he was just plain ol' Hal gave me more insight to what was going on in his head, and yes the script was corney at times, but it was SUPPOSED TO BE! That is actually Hal's character. The part of Sinestro was amasing as well, often times I forgot he was an actor.

    People now-a-days complaining about 'Obvious CG' need to remember one bloody thing.
    "The original Star Wars/Star Trek movies/series USED MODELS ON STRINGS!"
    WHO CARES?! Frankly I didn't notice anything obsurd about the CG, nor did it ever feel out of place. In fact I felt that it was the most stunning CG I have EVER seen. When we were on OA it felt how OA should feel, magestic yet completly alien. When we saw the other lanterns it was the same.

    I am finished with this review but I leave you with one final and important thought.
    I went to see this movie with my fiancée and my best friend.
    Neither of them had an understanding of the comics yet, when all three of us walked out of that theater after the credits had finished rolling and the screen turned off.
    We all asked the same question:
    "When is the next showing?"
    Expand
  44. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    I saw this movie (in 3D) with two friends of mine... et we loved it ! I say there are a few flaws in the script, but it's not that important. And... It's what "I" wanted to see in the fist place. Great action, great fun !!! I can't wait to see what they will with Sinestro in the second movie... LOVED the whole thing ! G-R-E-A-T !
    P.-S. This movie make me want to join... the Grenn Lantern
    I saw this movie (in 3D) with two friends of mine... et we loved it ! I say there are a few flaws in the script, but it's not that important. And... It's what "I" wanted to see in the fist place. Great action, great fun !!! I can't wait to see what they will with Sinestro in the second movie... LOVED the whole thing ! G-R-E-A-T !
    P.-S. This movie make me want to join... the Grenn Lantern Corp. LOL. :-)
    Expand
  45. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    How there can be such huge fans of Harry Putter and say this movie wasn't great is beyond me. Funny, action pact, awesome special effects, great message that wasn't environmental. Great movie for the whole family. Thank goodness for finally a great comic book movie since Iron Man 1!!
  46. Jul 9, 2011
    7
    If you loved the comic book series, then you will totally get this film. All others, just go find something else to watch. The 3D version of this film was actually a worthwhile endeavor as opposed to being a distraction like so many other movies with the word 3D tacked onto them. Not destined to take in as much as most Marvel efforts, this DC Comics movie still does the Green LanternIf you loved the comic book series, then you will totally get this film. All others, just go find something else to watch. The 3D version of this film was actually a worthwhile endeavor as opposed to being a distraction like so many other movies with the word 3D tacked onto them. Not destined to take in as much as most Marvel efforts, this DC Comics movie still does the Green Lantern mythos proud. I'd rate this as a strong contender for your matinee dollars and a reserved recommendation for your evening greenbacks. Enjoy and let darkness fear your might. Expand
  47. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    This movie is a lot better than what many critics are trying to make it out to be. I am a fan of the Green Lantern super-hero idea (and not just because my favorite color IS Green) but because of the fact that the powers of a Green Lantern is that while a chosen one wears the green ring, he and/or she and/or it can create virtually anything they can think up of in their mind. The characterThis movie is a lot better than what many critics are trying to make it out to be. I am a fan of the Green Lantern super-hero idea (and not just because my favorite color IS Green) but because of the fact that the powers of a Green Lantern is that while a chosen one wears the green ring, he and/or she and/or it can create virtually anything they can think up of in their mind. The character designs, C.G.I. and special effects were all amazing, and the actors/actresses' who made up this movie all played their parts to perfection! Comic book fanatics will be especially pleased, as this movie explores in great detail, the origin of one of the greatest Green Lanterns (some would even argue the BEST Green Lantern ever) known as Hal Jordan. If you want to see action, romance, and humor in a comic book superhero movie, than this is a great movie to see! :D And a sequel is definitely not out of the question, I recommend checking it out to see what I mean. I thoroughly enjoyed it and I highly recommend it! :idea: Enough said! ;) Expand
  48. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    Green Lantern is so much better than so many other films that have been released recently I expected schlock from all of the negative reviews but I found it to be fun, visually engaging, and the characters interesting,and likeable. This is NOT A BAD MOVIE. It is not perfect but it doesn't insult your intelligence and isn't ultra violent like most. I seriously don't understand the badGreen Lantern is so much better than so many other films that have been released recently I expected schlock from all of the negative reviews but I found it to be fun, visually engaging, and the characters interesting,and likeable. This is NOT A BAD MOVIE. It is not perfect but it doesn't insult your intelligence and isn't ultra violent like most. I seriously don't understand the bad reviews it didn't deserve it. This was way better than Transformers- all of them. Also better than the Jar Jar Binks Star Wars atrocities. Expand
  49. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    i think some of the criticism was very harsh indeed. Ok it is no masterpiece but it's very entertaining and has decent humour. I think the problem was with the plot and the lack of real enemy. Also the whole idea that ou can create any weapon you like it's too easy and maybe not too interesting on the big screen. Regardless I would like to see a sequel.
  50. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    I am pleasantly surprised, after reading numerous critical reviews that trashed this film, to walk out of it feeling as if it was a pretty good way to spend about 2 hours of my life. This film isn't going to win any groundbreaking Oscars, such as Best Movie, but it sure did entertain me and left me with a pretty good feeling. Sure, there were some moments that felt off but all-in-all, aI am pleasantly surprised, after reading numerous critical reviews that trashed this film, to walk out of it feeling as if it was a pretty good way to spend about 2 hours of my life. This film isn't going to win any groundbreaking Oscars, such as Best Movie, but it sure did entertain me and left me with a pretty good feeling. Sure, there were some moments that felt off but all-in-all, a solid collection of performances and some intriguing special effects kept this film from falling into the "Worst Super Hero Movie" category. It had a whimsical charm to it and there was a decent amount of tension as well. Ryan Reynolds did a fantastic job with the role he was given and Blake Lively did not disappoint as his love interest, mainly because she was not the damsel-in-distress type... well, sort of. The other world was cool but most of the fun stuff happens on Earth. Actually, this film kind of reminded me of Thor in how the different worlds are presented (theirs more colorful compared to our earthy pallet). Its villain (Peter Sarsgaard) was a little underused which is a shame because his performance was quite creepy. Angela Basset was good but criminally underused while tim Robins was snarky and suave. The script could have used some tweaking as that was perhaps the weakest link in the film but it wasn't horrid enough for me to think "this is total crap". It kept me entertained. In this regard, Green Lantern did its job. Expand
  51. Jun 18, 2011
    7
    As I've said many times before, it's all about expectations. I didn't expect a ton from the movie, especially after many of the critics panned it, so I was pleasantly surprised by it. No, it's not high art - it's a comic book movie. But I felt more emotionally engaged in than I did with Thor and many other films of this genre. Reynolds is solid, and the relationship between him and hisAs I've said many times before, it's all about expectations. I didn't expect a ton from the movie, especially after many of the critics panned it, so I was pleasantly surprised by it. No, it's not high art - it's a comic book movie. But I felt more emotionally engaged in than I did with Thor and many other films of this genre. Reynolds is solid, and the relationship between him and his scientist "nemesis" is much more tangible and human than many comic book conflicts. There are sympathetic feelings going both ways before things get perverted. What's more, while it's a little cheesy, the will vs. fear conflict is very Romantic. The physical manifestation of the human feelings is something that Nathaniel Hawthorne likely would have found interesting. I enjoyed it. Blake Lively wasn't as bad as many in my theater would argue, but there wasn't enough chemistry between her and Reynolds. Yes, they are exes and mere colleagues now; However, there is more heat between cop partners on TV procedurals than there is here. So for me, it's better than Thor, Spider-man, the new Superman, and the Hulks, but not as good as either new Batman film - though that's a high bar. Expand
  52. Jun 23, 2011
    7
    I was expecting an absolutely terrible, painfully cheesy comic book movie, and I ended up genuinely enjoying it. What makes this movie is the visuals - if you have any interest in incredible 3D and special effects work, then you will definitely get your money's worth. However, be warned that every single romantic scene, as well as a handful of others, are PAINFULLY CHEESY. Let theI was expecting an absolutely terrible, painfully cheesy comic book movie, and I ended up genuinely enjoying it. What makes this movie is the visuals - if you have any interest in incredible 3D and special effects work, then you will definitely get your money's worth. However, be warned that every single romantic scene, as well as a handful of others, are PAINFULLY CHEESY. Let the cheese do its thing, let the visuals blow your mind, and I bet you'll enjoy it too. Expand
  53. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    If u r a complete bore with no friends or sense of humor DON'T go see this movie as no one wants to read your post crying like a baby about how "Your" version of the movie wasn't met! This flick was an awesome roller coaster ride that was never a dull moment and had some of the most gorgeous visuals of late. I love all the comic book movies that have come out and this one has made me a fanIf u r a complete bore with no friends or sense of humor DON'T go see this movie as no one wants to read your post crying like a baby about how "Your" version of the movie wasn't met! This flick was an awesome roller coaster ride that was never a dull moment and had some of the most gorgeous visuals of late. I love all the comic book movies that have come out and this one has made me a fan of the Green Lantern. Go support the studios! Collapse
  54. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    After all the critic reviews I thought the movie would really suck but I found myself thoroughly entertained. The plot is not the strongest ever, but the visuals are amazing and the movie was fun. Go in with a light attitude and you will probably enjoy it.
  55. Jun 22, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Definitely worth watching if you're a fan of Green Lantern, but they tried way to hard to cram as much Green Lantern fan service as possible. The whole sequence with Kilowog and Sinestro training Hal prove this. Kilowog shows up, calls him a Poozer, punches him in the face, then leaves. Sinestro calls him weak, humiliates him, then leaves. They should've either went all the way with the training, or had it in the next movie. The actual plot was pretty straight forward. Nothing fancy, but it worked. Expand
  56. Jun 22, 2011
    8
    Fact: Green Lantern has a history spanning over four decades and DC tried to cram a lot of it into a 2 hour flick. Is it any wonder then that the content seems a bit rushed or compressed? I think not, yet consider it a foundation movie. Okay, many DC Hal Jordan fans will probably not appreciate some of Hal's ring constructs. Hal never used complicated machinery like mini-guns or AntiFact: Green Lantern has a history spanning over four decades and DC tried to cram a lot of it into a 2 hour flick. Is it any wonder then that the content seems a bit rushed or compressed? I think not, yet consider it a foundation movie. Okay, many DC Hal Jordan fans will probably not appreciate some of Hal's ring constructs. Hal never used complicated machinery like mini-guns or Anti Aircraft guns, but at least they kept to the more contemporary treatment of overcoming fear rather than the original fearless concept, definitely more believable! The more missing bits for me were more the camaraderie of the Corps, they have always been something like the Musketeers, all for one and one for all. Still they did come save Hal from burning up in the sun, too little too late for me personally. If you are not a rigid fan of the comics you can appreciate the struggles of the Hal Jordan that suddenly and very unexpectedly is handed over such power. You can even root for him as an underdog against the somewhat condescending alien species who look down on the young emotional humans. But they got one thing right, though often doubting, Hal never gives up and fights for his friends, the world, and yes also the universe. Sinestro, Kilowog, Tomar Re, and Abin Sur were well portrayed and most comic book fans would appreciate that but have wanted to see more. The final scene was classic Sinestro and well positions the sequel in what could become a great franchise if they don't try to cover so much in the next movie. 53 million the opening weekend may make the sequel a reality and if so they need to have a stronger plot, more Corps camaraderie and more character interaction between Corp members that somehow manage to unite in purpose despite such diversity. Expand
  57. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    Going into this movie with an extensive knowledge of Green Lantern comics history and characters, and having followed previews and reviews of the film, I had been quite concerned. Initial trailers and previews had looked uniformly uninspiring at best. Also, the choices of Ryan Reynolds and Blake Lively for the film were areas of some concern to many fans of the original comic sourceGoing into this movie with an extensive knowledge of Green Lantern comics history and characters, and having followed previews and reviews of the film, I had been quite concerned. Initial trailers and previews had looked uniformly uninspiring at best. Also, the choices of Ryan Reynolds and Blake Lively for the film were areas of some concern to many fans of the original comic source material, who doubted whether either performer would be capable of projecting the level of depth and gravity that appeals to modern comic fans familiar with the revised and modernized source material largely created by the film's Co-Producer, Geoff Johns. Finally seeing the film in 3D at my local theater, I was pleased to see that many of my concerns were either unfounded or overwrought. Reynolds and Lively both delivered adequate performances, though at times both suffered from a bad case of "I'm reading my script now, and it says to say this line with emotion!"-itis. The film's computer generated graphics were largely competent, with a few stop-motion style artifacts in some scenes that were likely exaggerated by the 3D process. As fans had actually suspected from early in the process, Mark Strong's performance as Corps member Sinestro was a particularly bright spot in a film that needed them. On the other end of the spectrum, Peter Saarsgard does his best to channel John Malkovich, turning in a performance just so over-the-top as to fit in right at home in a movie based on comic books. Unfortunately, it's difficult to tell whether the problem with Saarsgard's Hector Hammond is with his portrayal, or the writing his character endures. Angela Bassett turns in an excellent performance as Amanda Waller, who seems to be given a far smaller role than the history and depth of her character's comic incarnation but almost seems to be there in order to offer a way to tie in further characters and background with other possible sequels or connected films.

    Fans of the comics will have a whole host of characters and story elements to find in the backdrop and scenery, particularly on the Guardian planet Oa. Newcomers to the Green Lantern mythos might feel somewhat overwhelmed at those moments, but fortunately the filmmakers seem to sense that as a possible problem and move the story, and action, forward without much delay. Fundamentally, Green Lantern provides through pacing and a solid if largely genre traditional script, what could have been derailed by a few small but easily spotted flaws of the variety critics seem to love to hate. For a comic movie to have a script with so few plotholes is quite praiseworthy, but it does fall victim to a problem more often seen in sequels where one villain would likely suffice but two are offered instead.

    In all, Green Lantern presents itself as a fun, well-paced story with a few flaws in the production that either result from a relatively short production schedule or moments where it appears scenes may have been cut to reduce the running time. The pacing and action sequences make it a good popcorn flick, and one that will probably spawn an entertaining Blu-Ray release with added scenes and special features.
    Expand
  58. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Wat a pile of crud. And now the studio wants to give us a sequel! the trailer was good, but that was the only thing that was. Honestly wanted y money back.
  59. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    What were the critics thinking? I loved this movie. I liked the story, acting, special effects, I really loved this movie. I went to see Super 8 last week and didn't think it was near as good as this movie. It was just like the comics that I grew up reading. All I can say is if you read the Green Lantern back in the 70ies like I did, then you are going to love this movie. The guy playingWhat were the critics thinking? I loved this movie. I liked the story, acting, special effects, I really loved this movie. I went to see Super 8 last week and didn't think it was near as good as this movie. It was just like the comics that I grew up reading. All I can say is if you read the Green Lantern back in the 70ies like I did, then you are going to love this movie. The guy playing Senestro looked just like him! Don't listen to those stupid critics, go see this movie. Expand
  60. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    I'm a huge fan of green lantern and this movie certainly didn't disappoint me at all. It had great 3-D, ryan reynolds was perfect for the part. The guardian's of the universe looked great and there was some amazing action. It was kinda weird that yellow wasn't a weakness but whatever.
  61. Dec 13, 2011
    9
    There have been some awesome super hero movies that have come out, and Green Lantern has earned the right to call itself one of them, Ryan Reynolds does a fantastic job, as does the rest of the cast, I would have liked to see more interaction between Hal and the rest of the Lanterns, but that's a small complaint, and it does have some other minor flaws but in the end that doesn't detractThere have been some awesome super hero movies that have come out, and Green Lantern has earned the right to call itself one of them, Ryan Reynolds does a fantastic job, as does the rest of the cast, I would have liked to see more interaction between Hal and the rest of the Lanterns, but that's a small complaint, and it does have some other minor flaws but in the end that doesn't detract from what is one of the best super hero movies of this year. Expand
  62. Oct 3, 2011
    7
    Fun superhero movie, very true to the original comic book and great (corny but cool) comic book stories of its heyday. I read this series as a kid and found this movie to be a worthy rendition --and a blast to watch. There's nothing deep in this movie, just like the books that originated it, and thank goodness. Performances are good! Dialog could have used a little spruce but it served.
  63. Jul 26, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Don't listen to the critics. They were probably expecting another "Batman Begins", were disappointed because they instead got something more kid-friendly, and overreacted about. Well, except for Armond White, who thinks Green Lantern, X-Men: First Class, and Thor are racist. Green Lantern and Thor are NOT racist, and I haven't seen First Class, but I'm 100% sure it's not racist either. Okay, back on topic. This film is entertaining, fun, and refreshing. It did feel rushed at times, although not as much as Spider-Man 3, and out of the two, Green Lantern is the better one. I was disappointed in Parallax, who looked fake. Green Lantern's CGI mask still looked very fake. As itsjustsomerandomguy's Magneto said...... are they gonna be done with that thing before the blu-ray comes out. Well, everyone should be glad it wasn't as fake as the shark in "Jaws: The Revenge".
    Like Thor and Captain America, Green Lantern stayed true to the comics. If any of you wonder why Sinestro was Hal's mentor rather than his nemesis, it's because that was the case in the comics. So frankly, X-Men: First Class, from the looks of the trailer, looks like it's the only superhero movie of the summer that didn't stay very true to the comics. But anyway, Mark Strong did his role better than anyone else. Ryan Reynolds did his role well, too, but not as good as Mark Strong. Same with the rest of the cast. Like I said, don't skip this movie because the critics hated it. In my opinion, this movie is a lot of fun, and go see it and then have your own opinion about the movie.
    Expand
  64. Jun 20, 2011
    9
    I can't agree more with DaleHeisch. Those who hate it, don't understand the genre. The makers of GL made this one for the fans. As a comic book fan myself, I enjoyed the subtle visual homages to the comic art style employed throughout the movie by the photography direction. I don't want to spoil anything, for those who have the keener eye but there is one shot in particular that I foundI can't agree more with DaleHeisch. Those who hate it, don't understand the genre. The makers of GL made this one for the fans. As a comic book fan myself, I enjoyed the subtle visual homages to the comic art style employed throughout the movie by the photography direction. I don't want to spoil anything, for those who have the keener eye but there is one shot in particular that I found fantastic. The Green Lantern story is all about Hal and so it is in the movie. I found the movie to be a lot of fun and terrific to watch in 3D. Expand
  65. Jul 3, 2011
    8
    People liked the Star Trek film because it wasn't a Star Trek film, it was an action film based on Star Trek. People hated the Green Lantern film because it was a Green Lantern film, not an action film based on Green Lantern. If you like plot, mythos, and cool concepts, you'll like this movie. If you came just too see things hit with a big green hammer, you'll be sorely disappointed.
  66. May 13, 2012
    7
    Pretty good movie but it seemed short. I loved the dialog and action, but it just seemed to go by really quick and was surprised how fast the final battle happened.
  67. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    I think this movie deserved more than what it got. I highly enjoyed the story and I would recommend it to my friends to see it. The main reason it didn't get a 10 was that the special effects were not the greatest I have ever seen.
  68. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    I'll tell you! I really dislike critics. Almost every time they dislike a movie, I love it. I'm not sure why we even have them. The movie was an enjoyable superhero romp, which is exactly what most people will go and see it for. OK! it might have tried to bite off a bit more than it could chew re past plots and stories, but hey it had action, romance, humour, great special effects,I'll tell you! I really dislike critics. Almost every time they dislike a movie, I love it. I'm not sure why we even have them. The movie was an enjoyable superhero romp, which is exactly what most people will go and see it for. OK! it might have tried to bite off a bit more than it could chew re past plots and stories, but hey it had action, romance, humour, great special effects, and it was a lot fun. They can concentrate on making the next one better. But for me, I go to the movies to immerse my self in two hours of suspended reality, and this movie does this brilliantly. I give it 10 and can't wait for the next one. Expand
  69. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    The Green Lantern is the best movie of all time. great summer flick. All DC superhero fans should know about Hal Jordan and The Green Lantern corps. overall this movie is awesome and will inpress everybody
  70. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    cool movie, great sound, and awesome on th big screen. any super hero fan wil sure like this movie.,
  71. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    I should say i am an Marvel fan rather than DC Comics but nonetheless this movie was good and definitely worth to be watched. I was not so familiar with Green Lantern before this one and didn't read any comic books of him.Ryan Reynolds did fine and was fit for the role, Just like the time he played Deadpool in X-Men movies. Blake Lively was hot & stunning as we all expected. The bossI should say i am an Marvel fan rather than DC Comics but nonetheless this movie was good and definitely worth to be watched. I was not so familiar with Green Lantern before this one and didn't read any comic books of him.Ryan Reynolds did fine and was fit for the role, Just like the time he played Deadpool in X-Men movies. Blake Lively was hot & stunning as we all expected. The boss fight with Parallax in city was actually looking like Kraken scene in Clash of the Titans but all the space fighting and brawl near the sun was exciting. Wish i could be watching this in 3-D. Expand
  72. Oct 19, 2011
    7
    If Blake Lively is the person that has to be saved all the time then there isn't much saving involved in the film. But with all the superhero films I have watched in my life it is definitely up there.
  73. Aug 31, 2011
    8
    It's a good movie. It's got action, sci-fi, a beautiful woman, a charming male actor, a super hero... The movie's problems lie on its dialogues; and on its obviousness. But it's definitely not a Elektra. It's more like a Hulk 2.
  74. Oct 25, 2011
    7
    This movie was OK! It wasn't great, but it was just ok.
    The first scene, where you see his father die, was terrible. I mean, come on! This is an action movie, not a drama/sad movie. The movie was way too focused on Hal Jordan's earth and his life, and not the outer space (which is the meaning of the movie). We wanna see how he defeats the giant monster step by step, and not only one hit!
    This movie was OK! It wasn't great, but it was just ok.
    The first scene, where you see his father die, was terrible. I mean, come on! This is an action movie, not a drama/sad movie. The movie was way too focused on Hal Jordan's earth and his life, and not the outer space (which is the meaning of the movie). We wanna see how he defeats the giant monster step by step, and not only one hit!
    It takes way to fast for Hal to defeat the monster, haven't you realized that? And the monster is so ugly and slow and just.... boring. I'm sure tons of you guys are thinking "Ah, I can make such a better movie, If i was the director i would have made a masterpiece."

    - Jason
    Expand
  75. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    A great performance by Ryan Reynolds and it was really fun he played a test pilot who becomes a superhero with will as his main power i think this was a great movie, the greatest superhero movie i have ever seen.
  76. Nov 28, 2011
    7
    Not as bad as everyone is saying. Some of the CGI is very very questionable but besides that the story of the Hal Jordan is told fairly well. I like d the action sequences and how the power of the ring was explained and used.
  77. Aug 24, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am not familiar with Green Lantern from before. Sure, I've seen pictures and seen his face here and there, but other than that, this movie was my first real encounter with the series.

    Hal Jordan is different from many other superhero I've seen before; he doesn't bother denying his secret identity from his friends, nor does he go to extreme lengths to protect it. He seems to rather enjoy his new abilities and responsibilities, embracing them at once, and doesn't seem too stressed about the whole thing after figuring out a way to get past his biggest obstacle - fear.

    The movie was paced so that something was going on constantly, and when the ending titles began to roll, it was a bit of a surprise. There was no big ending, no explosive finish. It all happened so fast it was more like a dud, leaving me at least a bit disappointed.

    While the movie looked impressive, sounded good, and offered great entertainment, there were some parts of the story that seemed rather useless. Although the other Green Lanterns were given pretty much screen time and their entire system explored enough to satisfy a newbie viewer, I think their existence in the movie was, in the end, quite insignificant. They didn't really take part in anything important, and even Hal's trip to Oa to request that he should be allowed to battle Parallax seemed pointless; had he been denied, or had he not gone in the first place, how would that have changed anything?

    An entertaining movie, no doubt about that, and although Hal's choice of using his power was at times almost too ridiculous (clearly based on his human imagination), this movie is well worth a watch for anyone who likes superhero stories.
    Expand
  78. Mar 7, 2012
    7
    I honestly expected it to be terrible but I am suprised that I actually enjoyed it. Ryan Reynolds is a solid lead, The rest of the cast is solid as well. Enjoyable action scenes as well. However, It doesnt do a good enough job at explaining the Green Lantern story. It can be confusing, Especially to a person new to the series (like myself). Still, Its an enjoyable film none the less.
  79. May 3, 2012
    7
    It's not NEARLY as bad as most critics claim it to be. The action was quite good, but from a comic fan's perspective, there really wasn't that much of a focus on the world of the Green Lantern Corp. It's a very Hal Jordan focused origin story. I also did not like the female lead actor's acting. Not the perfect movie, but it was worth an afternoon and 10 bucks.
  80. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    Ok, there are better superhero movies, but "Green Lantern" is still enjoyable (I would give it a 6, but it's been bad reviewed enough). Ryan Reynolds is a good actor, he really looks like the comic-character Hal Jordan and also the rest of the cast has made a good job. Not a masterpiece, but still worth watching it!
  81. Nov 24, 2012
    7
    Green Lantern is a decent movie that could have been better but is still a decent movie. Plot: Hal Jordan (Ryan Reynolds) has a great relationship with his father Martin Jordan who is a pilot. When he watches his father fail a takeoff he also witnessess his father die from the jet's explosion. When he grows up he is judged by many for being extremely **** and rebellious which is a form ofGreen Lantern is a decent movie that could have been better but is still a decent movie. Plot: Hal Jordan (Ryan Reynolds) has a great relationship with his father Martin Jordan who is a pilot. When he watches his father fail a takeoff he also witnessess his father die from the jet's explosion. When he grows up he is judged by many for being extremely **** and rebellious which is a form of courage. Meanwhile a Green Lantern, Abin Sur part of the Green Lantern Corps; an army of different specied aliens who have sworn to protect the world with courage converted into energy by rings which possess the green essence of willpower, has failed to re imprison the guardian of the yellow esscence of hate, Parallax. As a last hope he escapes to Earth where Jordan stumbles upon him and inherits his ring. After a series of events Jordan is a trainee in the Green Lantern Corps and swears to use the green essence of willpower as a means of preserving peace. My opinion: If your interested in Green Lantern I would watch this movie, if not this movie is still good at delivering the origin story but compared to other super hero movies does not compete. Expand
  82. Jun 25, 2013
    7
    There have been better superhero movies, MUCH better. But this is still a good superhero film that'll make the comic faithful excited and happy. I liked this movie, there's just something missing, but I really do think this movie was good.
  83. Jun 13, 2013
    7
    Reviews were mixed for Green Lantern although all the trailers I viewed indicated that it would be a movie that I would thoroughly enjoy. And I was right. From beginning to end Green Lantern is a special effects extravaganza and an entertaining origin story. I generally do not care for origin stories because being familiar with a superhero character means I already know the story and wouldReviews were mixed for Green Lantern although all the trailers I viewed indicated that it would be a movie that I would thoroughly enjoy. And I was right. From beginning to end Green Lantern is a special effects extravaganza and an entertaining origin story. I generally do not care for origin stories because being familiar with a superhero character means I already know the story and would rather see something new. With Green Lantern we really have the best of both worlds. The movie does not delay in placing the ring of power on the finger of Hal Jordan. From there we watch as Hal struggles to meet the burden placed upon him while the Earth is threatened by Parallax one of the Guardians of Oa that has turned evil.

    There is good character development with Hal who is depicted as being a womanizing and brash pilot to a responsible superhero. The CGI is top notch and the depiction of Oa, the guardians and many of the other aliens that are a part of the intergalactic Green Lantern Corps rivals the special effects seen in the more recent Star Wars prequels. The relationship between Hal and Dr. Hector Hammond, who is infected with the yellow power of Parallax, could have been better fleshed out and brought to more depth. The same could be said with Hal's relationship with Carol Farris. There seems to be little justification for the affection between the two given the characterization of their earlier antagonism toward one another.

    Parallax has a habit of easily defeating the other Green Lanterns in the Corps and after the Guardians of Oa refuse to help him, with the encouragement of Sinestro a future supervillian, Hal faces the Corps most notorious villain alone. I won't give away the ending and although origin stories can be predictable, as this one certainly is, the story is told in a manner which is exciting and entertaining. I am unabashedly a CGI junkie and this movie delivers on that account. Therefore combined with a story that is pretty riveting despite its predictability along with great eye candy The Green Lantern is a good introduction for this underdog and little known superhero.
    Expand
  84. Dec 9, 2014
    7
    This movie's special effects are super good and this movie also features quite a lot of action. I did not really like Hal Jordan's suit in this movie as it looked like it exposed too much of his flesh. Nonetheless, the character is great in this movie. Overall, this is a good movie.
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 39
  2. Negative: 15 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Jun 23, 2011
    20
    It's a helluva comic book, to be sure, but it's a godawful mess of a movie.
  2. 60
    Apart from having no particular reason to exist onscreen, especially at these prices, it's not half bad.
  3. Reviewed by: Glen Weldon
    Jun 17, 2011
    40
    The film splinters into three near-discrete storylines that don't play all that well together.