Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 17, 2011
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 751 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
321
Mixed:
252
Negative:
178
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
LAVikingJun 20, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was a really good movie. I didn't read any reviews before I saw it so my expectations were unaffected. I was hoping for a good eye popping visual feast with a cast that didn't disappoint. Well it was a good as I hoped. The acting avoided the cheesiness that sometimes plagues films like this. I was pleasantly surprised that during the relatively lighthearted moments (read: not dark like Batman) it still maintained seriousness and the characters never crossed the line on believability with overacting. By comparison this movie was better than THOR in my opinion. The only thing I can critique is that it was a little short. They could have added about 20 minutes to flesh out the character development a bit more, but overall it still worked pretty well. I thought Ryan Reynolds did a good job. His character seemed like an unassuming approachable guy that got chucked into this role of responsibility, but had the raw potential to be a hero under the right circumstances. It was believable in a similar way as Peter Parker in Spiderman, but more so because Hal wasn't a dork to start ou with. Heck in costume Reynolds even looks like Lantern in the comics. I think he was a good choice ultimately. I can't wait for the sequel. If you were lucky enough and stayed for the closing credits you had a chance to see Sinestro put that yellow ring of fear on and bask in it's evil. Smells like sequel materiL to me. Can't wait.. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
xanderveeJun 20, 2011
Not the greatest hero flick I've ever seen, but it's enjoyable. I thought Ryan Reynolds did a good job as Hal, and Peter Sarsgard's perfomance as Hector Hammond was great. I also couldn't get over the scenes on the beautiful planet Oa.Not the greatest hero flick I've ever seen, but it's enjoyable. I thought Ryan Reynolds did a good job as Hal, and Peter Sarsgard's perfomance as Hector Hammond was great. I also couldn't get over the scenes on the beautiful planet Oa. Hopefully the sequel (yes, there will be a sequel; if you sit through the credits for a little while, you'll learn this) will be a little better. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
hagelt18Jun 30, 2011
I thought the movie was very good. The pacing as great as it seemed like there was never a dull moment. There was excellent balance between action scenes and story development, humor and seriousness, as well as internal and externalI thought the movie was very good. The pacing as great as it seemed like there was never a dull moment. There was excellent balance between action scenes and story development, humor and seriousness, as well as internal and external conflicts. I think it's a shame the movie seems to be getting the low scores it's getting. I thought this was not only a good super hero movie, but a pretty good science fiction movie as well. It is definitely worth seeing for yourself. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
OmegamaxusJun 17, 2011
Although the cheese factor takes away from the story at times (not surprising given the lead actor) it was refreshing to see a superhero movie that is proud to be just that. Green Lantern isn't afraid of its spandex, or colorful alienAlthough the cheese factor takes away from the story at times (not surprising given the lead actor) it was refreshing to see a superhero movie that is proud to be just that. Green Lantern isn't afraid of its spandex, or colorful alien backdrops. When Hollywood attempts to make larger than life icons more realistic for the average audience (such as turning the X-Men into a biker gang, Galactus into a large ominous cloud or beefing up the Batman by sporting him in armor) they only seem to succeed in producing a less believable action flick instead of what we wanted to see: a silver screen adaptation of the well-rounded comic book crime fighters we love Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
NexahsJun 18, 2011
First thing I need to say is this is not a thinking movie. It's a superhero flick. So if your intention is to watch a movie that'll make you feel warm and fuzzy, or make you cry, or make you ponder the nature of life, don't see this. WhatFirst thing I need to say is this is not a thinking movie. It's a superhero flick. So if your intention is to watch a movie that'll make you feel warm and fuzzy, or make you cry, or make you ponder the nature of life, don't see this. What this movie is, is an exceptional representation of an iconic superhero, which is a rarity today. I had initial concerns about Ryan Reynolds playing Hal Jordan as he's a very quirky actor, but he pulled it off well. Carol Ferris wasn't as well played, but she was still passable. What really struck me about this movie was how it really stayed true to the origin of the green lantern and yet at the same time dumbed it down for casual audiences. As a for instance, those of you who have read the comics know that Parallax's backstory is long and complicated and one can't really understand it without understanding the war of light, but the movie makes a few minor changes and makes him an acceptable villain to someone who hasn't followed the comics. This is getting a little long-winded, but what it boils down to is Green Lantern is DC's Iron Man: A healthy amount of action, true to the origin, accessible by both long-term fans and casual viewers, and not too much cheesy crap. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
KangstahJun 17, 2011
While I can see why many critics disliked it, Green Lantern is NOT deserving of the bashing it's been getting.

The superpower of being able to create anything you could imagine through willpower has, in my opinion, always been unbeatable in
While I can see why many critics disliked it, Green Lantern is NOT deserving of the bashing it's been getting.

The superpower of being able to create anything you could imagine through willpower has, in my opinion, always been unbeatable in terms of HOW COOL IS THAT? I knew going into the theatre that although it probably wouldn't be executed as well as I would have liked, a story like Green Lantern couldn't possibly fall into the "been there, done that" list of superhero movies. I've took notice when I first began reading comics that DC characters tend to be more fantastic and space-bound than Marvel, which tends to focus on internal issues. So far, DC hasn't had as many shots as Marvel in films outside of their Batman/Superman franchises, so I was really hoping Green Lantern would be new and exciting.

It was disappointing, yes, but it's definitely not a borefest to the average moviegoer with no invested interest in the comics or characters. It's action-packed, funny, very cool powers with very cool effects, romantic, and certainly fresh in the sense that I can't recall any other superhero movie that's been released that had a place like Oa be a major part of the storyline. I also want to mention that as a female comic book fan, I tend to take notice of how the female leads are treated throughout the movies. In the past few decades, I've never really been all that impressed by the love interests outside of Lois Lane. Before the movie was even announced, I had already known that the only iconic characters that would be able to hold a candle to Lois would be from DC. I had high hopes for Carol Ferris, and while she wasn't executed all that well, she's still impressive to me. There wasn't much focus on it, but I think more people should consider that she's a pilot and is business savvy. Having seen films like Spider-Man accurately portray Mary-Jane Watson and keep her as a plot tool lead the way to comic book movie formulas, for me, the fact that Carol saved Hal from death counts for something.

I'll hold off on saying I loved the Carol in the movie, but the writing made her recognizable as Carol Ferris, and simply because there haven't been many women in comic book movies that have impressed me, I'm going to give Carol Ferris the credit I would never give to characters like Mary-Jane Watson, Pepper Potts, Betty Ross, or Jane Foster etc. The DC women I feel I can respect and look up to, and I'm very glad to add Carol Ferris onto that list with Lois Lane. I expect the same for Catwoman in the next Batman installment. Overall, the movie is very what much what you expect from the trailers. Yes, it probably could have been the next Star Wars and is one of the only comic book franchises with that type of potential, but it wasn't. However, just because of that, it doesn't mean that this film should be bashed because Thor or X-Men: First Class handled themselves better, in my opinion. Green Lantern at it's best would blow everything else out of the water. At it's mediocre, it's on par with the rest of them.

This is, of course, speaking in the context of what I was looking for when I went to see it.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
DannyJaneJun 24, 2011
To telll the truth, after reading some truly savage reviews by some of the critics I have learned to trust, I intended to skip this film. But as a kid I loved Green Lantern more than Superman, Batman and Supergirl combined. After WonderTo telll the truth, after reading some truly savage reviews by some of the critics I have learned to trust, I intended to skip this film. But as a kid I loved Green Lantern more than Superman, Batman and Supergirl combined. After Wonder Woman GL was my fave.

Now I'll tell you right off, this IS the film to leave the deepest part of your brain home. Don't expect deep thought or, y'know, ideas. This is a comic book. Come to life. That's all.

That said, its a whiz-bang, crazy wild ride. Whether you're riding in the **** of a fighter jet with an experimental robot plane hot on your exhaust or you've encountered a dying, handsome purple alien who has just given you the mother of all crackerjack prizes--and a free charger to boot--if you're Blake Lively's title character Hal Jordan you've got just the right aw, gee-ness to carry it off.

Lively's Hal isn't a great brain, but he's a brave guy and a s**t hot seat-of-the-pants pilot. And the flying scenes in and out of vehicles make me want a power ring of my own. All the necessary plot points are here, the plucky girlfriend, the staunch buddy and the evilest evil since Sauron. And then there's the Green Lantern Corps. Not since Luke Skywalker strolled into the cantina have such an amazing array of alien life forms been gathered together. And here Hal makes some friends. I won't tell you about them lest I spoil the fun.

If you want intellectualism, check out anything by Lars von Trier. If you want a rollicking good time to go with your popcorn--see Green Lantern.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
MrmoobsJun 18, 2011
Thoroughly enjoyable movie and shouldn't that be what movies are! Great action scenes, not enough main bad guy for my liking.... and not enough Sinistro either! Roll on Green Lantern 2...
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
7
DarkCriticJun 17, 2011
This movie is trying to make it a better DC comic book film that brings the awesome The Dark Knight and Superman, but I'll admit that this movie is more less than the other superhero films that doesn't get hype that too much. Green Lantern isThis movie is trying to make it a better DC comic book film that brings the awesome The Dark Knight and Superman, but I'll admit that this movie is more less than the other superhero films that doesn't get hype that too much. Green Lantern is okay and decent, but this movie is a lot of fun to see in summer and we can see it in 2D instead of wearing in 3D. The background is pretty awesome to look at, the action is so cool, the effects are pretty damn good (I love it when the Green Lantern is using his powers to fight with cool techniques that transform into anything), the cast is okay, and the story was a bit strange, but it works for a comic book movie. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
JldyckJun 18, 2011
As someone who has been reading comic books since I was 12, I have to say that GL was great. After watching Superman Returns and the last three X-men movies I had almost given up hope that any superhero screenplay would be anywhere close toAs someone who has been reading comic books since I was 12, I have to say that GL was great. After watching Superman Returns and the last three X-men movies I had almost given up hope that any superhero screenplay would be anywhere close to the source material (Superman having a son? Jean Grey killing Cyclops? blasphemy!) GL, and the Dark Knight before it, renewed hope that Hollywood can make a comic movie without completely rewriting 50 years of character development. Other than the presence of Paralax, 90% of the Hal Jordan origin story reflects what you find in GL: Secret Origin (by Geoff Johns), which keeps this from becoming just another cringe worthy attempt to cash in on the wave of superhero films since the late 90's. That being said it isn't Shakespeare, so if you're looking for a heady drama you're not going to find it here. Overall it was a great summer adventure that keeps you entertained for an hour and a half, which is just what it is supposed to do. The Pros - True to the source material
- Ryan Reynolds plays Hal like he is supposed to be: flawed, but working to overcome his shortcomings
- Amazing character design for the other GLs (Sinestro, Killowog, Tomar)
- Enough (but not too much) humor to prevent it from being dark and dreary. GL isn't Batman, and isn't supposed to be.
- Didn't feel like it was overloaded with visual fx, but they still looked awesome
- Good dialog overall. no "are you an angel" (to quote phantom menace) lines in this to make you wonder what the writer's IQ is

The Cons - needed a bit more action, if they make a sequel they should find a villain who's main ability isn't that he's a "thinker not a doer"
- not enough character development for the supporting cast. other than Carol the average audience wont really be able to tell you anything about Tom, Killowog, Tomar, etc. and if you haven't read the comics you really won't know why Hals older brother is an ass

bottom line: not a bad job for GL's first time on the silver screen. I'd give it an 8.5 if they'd let me
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
SruschillJun 18, 2011
I saw Green Lantern with a number of friends, one new to the character. We all agreed it was a fun movie and good story. Basically the reviewers got it wrong, not even sure the reviewers watched the same movie as we did. Overall a good time.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
AramZSJun 18, 2011
I enjoyed Green Lantern. So the pacing was all over the place, they overloaded on exposition and they stuffed too much into one movie. I still really liked it. It was a shame it wasn't closer to the original mythology, because I think thatI enjoyed Green Lantern. So the pacing was all over the place, they overloaded on exposition and they stuffed too much into one movie. I still really liked it. It was a shame it wasn't closer to the original mythology, because I think that the story suffered where they strayed from the comics, and there was really no reason to. Hopefully the relatively negative response from critics won't discouraging DC from putting some more second and third tier characters on the big screen. In the end, I found the movie pretty enjoyable. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
koil1990Jun 20, 2011
im not a massive dc fan. being a big fan of marvel. so i probably enjoyed this more than a dc fan. sure it wont win an oscar. but its an enjoyable film to watch an everyone i went with enjoyed it, so ignore all the critics an just go watchim not a massive dc fan. being a big fan of marvel. so i probably enjoyed this more than a dc fan. sure it wont win an oscar. but its an enjoyable film to watch an everyone i went with enjoyed it, so ignore all the critics an just go watch it. an decide for your self Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
pilotboyJun 25, 2011
The movie was fun. Acting was well executed. Especially mark strong as sinestro, it's not his fault the writers dropped the ball with his character. But the problems with his character could be fixed with a sequel. The rest was fine comparedThe movie was fun. Acting was well executed. Especially mark strong as sinestro, it's not his fault the writers dropped the ball with his character. But the problems with his character could be fixed with a sequel. The rest was fine compared to the comics. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
jlbpsyJun 27, 2011
I thought it was much better than what the critics thought, I would recommend it. I thought the special effects were good and tha Ryan Reynolds was excellent in his role. Remember they had to spend time with the background of the story,
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
KCBJun 27, 2011
My husband & I really enjoyed Green Lantern alot!!! We thought Ryan Reynolds was great and the special effects were very good. We think the critics were way wrong - Green Lantern was so very much better than Thor the bore, Hope they do aMy husband & I really enjoyed Green Lantern alot!!! We thought Ryan Reynolds was great and the special effects were very good. We think the critics were way wrong - Green Lantern was so very much better than Thor the bore, Hope they do a sequel wirh more romance between Reynolds & Lively Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
MillionPoundHamJul 3, 2011
I may not be a huge Green Lantern comic book fan, but Ryan Reynolds delivered in his role as Hal Jordan. I'm not quite sure why the critics have been bashing this movie, because it's a pretty solid popcorn movie. If you're expecting CitizenI may not be a huge Green Lantern comic book fan, but Ryan Reynolds delivered in his role as Hal Jordan. I'm not quite sure why the critics have been bashing this movie, because it's a pretty solid popcorn movie. If you're expecting Citizen Kane from Green Lantern, then you've only got yourself to blame. A solid superhero movie and pure escapism! Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
superman1609Jul 4, 2011
The movie was really entertaining. Critics got this wrong. Yes, the movie was a little short and a bit rushed. It should have been 15 minutes longer. However, aside from that, the special effects were pretty good and the origin story wasThe movie was really entertaining. Critics got this wrong. Yes, the movie was a little short and a bit rushed. It should have been 15 minutes longer. However, aside from that, the special effects were pretty good and the origin story was pretty close to the comic. I hope they still make a sequel with Sinestro as the villian. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
ZacharyMatsonJun 17, 2011
What can I say, I'm a sucker for comic book movies. If you're going into this expecting "one of the most brilliant films of our time", you might want to just go get your money back, but if you're looking for an eye-popping, action-packed,What can I say, I'm a sucker for comic book movies. If you're going into this expecting "one of the most brilliant films of our time", you might want to just go get your money back, but if you're looking for an eye-popping, action-packed, good time, then you picked the right movie. You may not enjoy this film as much as I did, unless you're like me and grew up on the Green Lantern comics and cartoons, but I do think you will enjoy Martin Campbell's marvelous take on the world of the Lanterns, and the Lanterns themselves. Expand
10 of 17 users found this helpful107
All this user's reviews
10
redkingJun 19, 2011
I liked it. Adventure with a side of humour. Ryan Reynolds was great. Clancy Brown is a great voice for Parallax. Peter Sarsgaard is a great villain (Hector Hammond) . I'll probably see it again!
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
8
gm101Jun 19, 2011
I really don't get all the negativity. This was a fun movie that introduced me to the Green Lantern universe. Did I have complaints? Yes. First of all, the actress playing Carol was horrible. Second, while not completely terrible, the pacingI really don't get all the negativity. This was a fun movie that introduced me to the Green Lantern universe. Did I have complaints? Yes. First of all, the actress playing Carol was horrible. Second, while not completely terrible, the pacing definitely needed some work. But these complaints are only minor compared to the fun I had watching this movie. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
8
DhorloJun 27, 2011
I liked this movie for what it was, a superhero movie. It won't win academy awards but it was fun to watch. Just make sure it's what your looking for before you see it.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
8
ccstoneJun 18, 2011
Yeah! DC rules! Or so I said at the end of the movie, which I thoroughly enjoyed. What a welcome respite from the loathsomely puerile likes of "Thor" and "X-Men: First Class". Was it high art? Hell no. Was it great fun. Hell yes. IYeah! DC rules! Or so I said at the end of the movie, which I thoroughly enjoyed. What a welcome respite from the loathsomely puerile likes of "Thor" and "X-Men: First Class". Was it high art? Hell no. Was it great fun. Hell yes. I might even see it again, and I don't often do that. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
9
DonDirkAJun 18, 2011
Everyone sounds so stupid on this page. "OMG Why would anyone like this movie? They should've seen *insert less successful movie here* instead!" Its summer, its a comic book superhero movie, it had a bazillion dollar budget just forEveryone sounds so stupid on this page. "OMG Why would anyone like this movie? They should've seen *insert less successful movie here* instead!" Its summer, its a comic book superhero movie, it had a bazillion dollar budget just for advertising... you're right that pretty much adds up to "lame movie" however, they aren't even attempting to make genre changing, Oscar winning gold, they are trying to sell some tickets to a movie that costs a **** to produce. Its fun, its entertaining, and the changes made from the comic book were necessary for time constraints. If you have read the Green Lantern run that has been written by Geoff Johns the past few years this movie would satisfy your craving to see these epic space battles in live-action rather than on the page or in a usually bland reinterpretation on animated DVD. This movie is easily one of the most entertaining superhero movies made and it sticks to the spirit of the book more than most superheroes even try to pretend they do. Loved it. Expand
8 of 15 users found this helpful87
All this user's reviews
8
DaleHeischJun 17, 2011
Don't believe the haters. If you like superhero movies, you will like Green Lantern. If you don't like superhero movies, then you won't like Green Latern. It's a good movie....maybe not GREAT....but a good movie.
9 of 17 users found this helpful98
All this user's reviews
10
MOVIETONEJun 17, 2011
A very good movie for a first run at this particular hero! R.R was the right choice. A good balance of action both in the suit and out. I look forward to number two!
10 of 19 users found this helpful109
All this user's reviews
9
batlantern_87Jun 19, 2011
Don't believe the critics. This film is a lot of fun! Its got great action fun locations and a list of great characters as long as my arm. Going to a comic book film should be a fun experience at all times, it should be light and fun. This isDon't believe the critics. This film is a lot of fun! Its got great action fun locations and a list of great characters as long as my arm. Going to a comic book film should be a fun experience at all times, it should be light and fun. This is that movie! Its only rival would be X-Men: First Class which is another great comic movie. Green Lantern starts off with some great adventure and will keep you entertained until the end. The special effects are a lot of fun to look at, and the 3D conversion looks fantastic. Its a must see for comic fans and fans of fun summer movies, because when it comes to summer movies this is head and shoulders above the rest! Expand
8 of 16 users found this helpful88
All this user's reviews
9
singingbatmanJun 18, 2011
Its good to see dc going in the same direction as marvel, this movie is what its supposed to be fun..a good popcorn flick worth seeing and worth buying when it comes out..
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
8
spiljJun 17, 2011
Seeing the boyish image of Ryan as Hal Jordan was the major influence not to see the light of the lantern. However, even though Ryan brings to life Kyle Rayner, in my opinion, Green means a must go in my book! I'm more into the way a movieSeeing the boyish image of Ryan as Hal Jordan was the major influence not to see the light of the lantern. However, even though Ryan brings to life Kyle Rayner, in my opinion, Green means a must go in my book! I'm more into the way a movie conveys a message. Especially in a comic book movie, we want to know how to be the hero of the day. Have some courage and check this movie out! Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
7
garethvkJun 17, 2011
Bursting onto the screen with a winning combination of action and dazzling effects DC Comicsâ
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews