Sony Pictures Entertainment (SPE) | Release Date: September 15, 2006
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 57 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
43
Mixed:
12
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
BrianGSep 23, 2006
This movie touched me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KariK.Oct 1, 2006
This was an uplifting movie with an awesome moral. Even if the story seems unbelievable it is nice to escape to a place where bad guys can become good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChaseP.Oct 1, 2006
I think this movie is alright. The Rock isn't the best actor, but the storyline to the movie is good! I just don't like how they copied Longest Yard!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EugeneM.Sep 17, 2006
I am giving this movie a ten out of ten because, it tells a great story. It's good to see something that is positive and has a good ending. We need to know that there is still good in all of us, especially in the midst of all the I am giving this movie a ten out of ten because, it tells a great story. It's good to see something that is positive and has a good ending. We need to know that there is still good in all of us, especially in the midst of all the world's crisis. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NJ.Feb 1, 2007
Yes, it is full of cliches. But this is what so many movies today don't have: a story that reflects what life could and should be like(rather than the "realism" of most films today); an uplifting life-is-good theme; and characters that Yes, it is full of cliches. But this is what so many movies today don't have: a story that reflects what life could and should be like(rather than the "realism" of most films today); an uplifting life-is-good theme; and characters that you really care about and root for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkB.Nov 30, 2006
Fade this football drama to black and white, substitute Pat O'Brien for Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson, omit the street language and drive-by shootings, and include more than just one White guy on the team, and you've got a 1938 "B" Fade this football drama to black and white, substitute Pat O'Brien for Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson, omit the street language and drive-by shootings, and include more than just one White guy on the team, and you've got a 1938 "B" movie that would play fairly well as Turner Classic Movies 2 AM fodder. In short, this shouldn't work nearly as well as it does, so why does it work so well? Unlike its closest current rival, the true-life-with-disclaimers rah-rah saga Invincible, whose pretentiousness only serves to accent how hokey and threadbare it is, Gridiron Gang's utter simplicity, conviction and sincerity really help it to score. Director Phil Joanou (Three O Clock High, U2 Rattle & Hum) and writer Jeff Maguire (In The Line Of Fire) are seasoned movie pros, but a measure of just how nicely their collaboration works is that one of its Big Moments--in which opposing gang members and other juvenile detention facility inmates in unison refuses a command, which of course tips him off that they're finally working together as a team--is lifted straight from The Dirty Dozen's playbook, but is handled so deftly that it took me days to realize it. Trevor Rabin's full-bodied musical score is, like the music for Patch Adams and last year's Shopgirl, one of those highly manipulative efforts that tries to tell me how to feel, but I forgave and even enjoyed it because Joanou rather daringly used it in place of the standard gangsta-rap CD jukebox wallpaper that you'd normally expect to hear in a movie dealing with gang warfare; the movie avoids the hypocrisy of speaking out against violence in the dialogue while inadvertently endorsing it on the soundtrack. Excellent pacing, characters worth rooting for, some wonderfully effective off-the-field sequences (the one where an assistant coach talks the dean of a Christian college into allowing the prison team to play by quoting Bible verses verbatim is a favorite) make this an inspirational movie that really inspires: if it's not quite as effective as recent personal favorites Akeelah and the Bee and The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio, that's largely because there are already lots of football movies, very few spelling bee movies and, as far as I know, NO other housewife-who-wins-"complete-this-sentence-in-25-words-or less" movies in existence. The Rock, who has delivered witty, sly performances in The Scorpion King, The Rundown and Be Cool, is called upon to project total altruism and dedication; he does so with equal charisma and charm. He's apparently the reason why reviewers almost never use the phrase "as an actor, he's a great wrestler" when describing the film work of Hulk Hogan, John Cena or Kane...no matter how warranted! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LindaR.Sep 11, 2006
The rock proves to be impressive in this sweet and powerful story about prison and football. Surprisingly above my expectations, but nothing too unforgettable or stunning to be called "a masterpiece". Just another good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeG.Sep 15, 2006
This movie was well done. i found it extremely enjoyable, and the rock as always is great. the rock deserves so much more credit then he gets. he is excellent and brings a humanity to every role he plays. i hope this proves a lot of his haters wrong.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FooreBApr 25, 2009
A great sports movie, with a great message. This is one of Dwayne Johnson's best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaveM.Sep 11, 2006
Another, what I would call...excellent film by the standards of The Rock.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CharlesL.Sep 14, 2006
This movie was a lot better than i was expecting, definanently a great popcorn flick
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyO.Sep 15, 2006
Excellent screenplay.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZahidI.Sep 16, 2006
Very moving, not that much different from other football movies, but this one was impressive. [Rocky, Rocky, Rocky...]
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SjsFeb 13, 2007
A great movie! I'm not even a football fan. But these young men I was rooting for!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
driftaguyApr 15, 2012
This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. It has it's funny moments, dramatic and sad moments, and action scenes. It's an emotional journey based on a true story. This is not a film to be missed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Nickel22Sep 9, 2012
Gridiron Gang is a very inspirational true story about a group of juvenile delinquents coming together to form a football team. Although it is very easy to compare it to The Longest Yard, i think Gridiron Gang holds a more meaningfulGridiron Gang is a very inspirational true story about a group of juvenile delinquents coming together to form a football team. Although it is very easy to compare it to The Longest Yard, i think Gridiron Gang holds a more meaningful message. This movie is a root for the underdog, classic football story, that is truly inspiring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31May 11, 2016
Based on the fact that this was a true story doesn't take away the fact that it was acted out brilliantly.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-1829-Gridiron-Gang
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews