Grindhouse

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 494 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 494

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. KevinR.
    Apr 8, 2007
    6
    An interesting take on the terrible B movies of the past, but it unfortunately comes of as less satire and more as a concerted effort that just failed. None of the stories seen all that interesting, other than the trailers (especially Eli Roth's Thanksgiving and Rob Zombies Werewolf Women of the S.S.)
  2. ShawnC.
    Apr 6, 2007
    6
    Death Proof is almost good enough to make it worth sitting through the overlong, quite tedious Planet Terror. Kurt Russell is really quite good in Death Proof, and the story, if simple, is still captivating. Nothing in Planet Terror comes close.
  3. MarcD.
    Apr 8, 2007
    6
    Planet Terror is excellent - Freddy Rodriquez and Rose McGowan are perfect in their roles, and it's just a hell of a lot of fun. Death Proof is flat out boring. It brought nothing at all to the table except a really fun car chase, but in a vacuum - which Death Proof is, a car chase doesn't cut it. So go see Planet Terror, check out the previews that follow, then hit the exits.
  4. BillW.
    May 6, 2007
    6
    Planet Terror was 20 minutes too long. Death Proof was about an hour too long. Granted, I watched it during a matinee, so there were only 5 others when the movie started, but I was the only one left when it was over. Planet Terror is a sometimes funny zombie gore-fest, but you can only be entertained by that for so long before it starts to get dull. Death Proof just drags and drags. Planet Terror was 20 minutes too long. Death Proof was about an hour too long. Granted, I watched it during a matinee, so there were only 5 others when the movie started, but I was the only one left when it was over. Planet Terror is a sometimes funny zombie gore-fest, but you can only be entertained by that for so long before it starts to get dull. Death Proof just drags and drags. Tarantino trys to get by with his great dialogue again, but it's just not there this time and the first hour of the movie is just puttering along trying to set up but the big car chase scene at the end. No car chase is worth sitting through an hour of absolutely nothing happening. Expand
  5. JH
    Apr 24, 2007
    6
    Fans of outlandish and gory horror flicks will probably love this movie, especially Planet Terror. My wife and I enjoyed Death Proof more because it wasn't as "over the top" as Planet Terror, and girls kicking ass are cool. I wish we had waited for DVD on this one.
  6. Mike
    Apr 8, 2007
    6
    Not my types of movies.... But they were "ok" The trailers were the best part of both movies! Great stuff. Planet terror was a a little too silly, if they made it more serious I think it would of been better. Death proof: i have to say that the dialogue between the women, was intresting. I liked that part. Overall, a very different movie.
  7. ZekeC.
    Sep 17, 2007
    6
    This movie was alright but I was very disappointed. With the status of great cult movies like Pulp Fiction, Reservoir Dogs and Kill Bill I expected this to be a new classic from a master film maker-instead what I saw was an hour and a half of meaningless girl talk with two half exiting parts. I would say this is a rent and nothing more.
  8. May 25, 2013
    6
    As of yet I haven't seen Planet Terror so can't comment as to its quality. As for Death Proof, it features the usual entertaining dialogue, stunts and bursts of violence you'd expect from a Tarantino movie but just lacks the flair that made films like Pulp Fiction and Kill Bill into cult classics.
  9. Mar 16, 2013
    6
    Drugs, sex and a hell of a lot of violence, what else do you need in a film? A story would have gone amiss though. Grindhouse is a modern day...Grindhouse film, it brings together the amazing writing skills of Trantino and the not very talented at anything Rodriguez to make two films and put them in the same box.
    Planet Terror, directed by Rodriguez, is the more violent of the two films.
    Drugs, sex and a hell of a lot of violence, what else do you need in a film? A story would have gone amiss though. Grindhouse is a modern day...Grindhouse film, it brings together the amazing writing skills of Trantino and the not very talented at anything Rodriguez to make two films and put them in the same box.
    Planet Terror, directed by Rodriguez, is the more violent of the two films. It is a family friendly horror film that you can sit down, watch, then forget about in 10 minutes because there was no plot, bad actors and some pretty special effects...but then again it wouldn't be Grindhouse if it didn't have these attributes. Very fun if you are drunk, a bit of a bore if you aren't.
    Deathproof is Tarantino's baby. Now you will only like Deathproof if you like Tarantino, take that as a warning. The film is already about 50 minutes in before anything exciting happens and then there is only one other action sequence after that, but it does provide some very good quotes for you and your buddies to bust out, just like Pulp Fiction did (lets face it, who doesn't quote Pulp Fiction).
    Personally I prefer Deathproof, but that's because I like Tarantino and I dont like Rodriguez. But both films are worth it for a reasonable price, nothing over £10 for the Blu-Ray though.
    P.S: Deathproof is also better because of Mary Elizabeth Winstead wearing a cheerleader costume...dat body
    Expand
  10. May 15, 2013
    6
    Tribute to zombie movies a nifty produced by Robert Rodriguez, but gets to be a bit weird and super disgusting, yet guarantees fun with ridiculously bizarre scenes funnier. good movie
  11. Dec 31, 2013
    6
    Grindhouse is a trip down memory lane for the 70's and 80's moviegoers. The great thing is that both movies could stand alone. Planet Terror is okay, but Tarantino's Death Proof takes the cake. Planet Terror is more pulpy while Death Proof is more gory. Definitely not Tarantino's best movie (and in that right, it's probably his least best), but still fun to watch.
  12. JohnN.
    Apr 8, 2007
    5
    I give it a 5 for the fun I had in Planet Terror, but Death Proof was like watching paint dry. The dialogue was painfully boring, and I LOVE QT films. I see many reviews here saying how "groundbreaking" this film was. Come on, guys. Seriously? Really, really pointless. And I love how some people say: "You low IQ people just don't get the sheer brilliance of Death Proof." Brilliance? I give it a 5 for the fun I had in Planet Terror, but Death Proof was like watching paint dry. The dialogue was painfully boring, and I LOVE QT films. I see many reviews here saying how "groundbreaking" this film was. Come on, guys. Seriously? Really, really pointless. And I love how some people say: "You low IQ people just don't get the sheer brilliance of Death Proof." Brilliance? Wow. I guess I saw a different movie. Because Death Proof was better than a sleeping pill. The girls dialogue seens were like 20 minutes at a time of NOTHING. If Planet Terror was not attached to my rating, Death Proof would get a 2. Expand
  13. NilsK.
    Sep 23, 2007
    5
    Well in order to enjoy this movie you'll have to belong to a very limited group of people. I read the reviews about this movie, witch described it as a superb movie. Well let's just say I was VERY disappointed after watching this movie. The movie has no story line whatsoever, basicly you see a group of people talking about random things and experiencing random ( uninteresting ) Well in order to enjoy this movie you'll have to belong to a very limited group of people. I read the reviews about this movie, witch described it as a superb movie. Well let's just say I was VERY disappointed after watching this movie. The movie has no story line whatsoever, basicly you see a group of people talking about random things and experiencing random ( uninteresting ) things, and then they get killed. Then you see another group of people again talking about random things and again experiencing random things, the psycho tries to kill them too but fails, and then gets chased by these girls in an over the top ridiculously stupid catchphrase. Thats it. The whole story in 3 seconds. There's nothing more to it, the whole movie is made out of 1:15 hours of random chitchat and 15 minutes of ridiculously over the top action. I advise you to not even give this a rent. The masterly director that Quentin is ( or at least was ) shows nowhere and I mean nowhere in this movie. I expect the only reason why this movie gets such good reviews is because it was directed by Tarantino and we wouldn't dare to diss him would we now, nah this movie sucks donkey dick. Expand
  14. DenizY.
    Apr 7, 2007
    5
    The first one was pretty good, but the second one had about an hours worth of Tarantino that was SOOOO BORING. I love Pulp Fiction, but the second movie, Death Proof, had horrible dialogue to the point where I was just spacing out in the drive-in and me and my friends were just talking on and on. It reminded me of Sex in the City, and then later on in the second movie they had a pretty The first one was pretty good, but the second one had about an hours worth of Tarantino that was SOOOO BORING. I love Pulp Fiction, but the second movie, Death Proof, had horrible dialogue to the point where I was just spacing out in the drive-in and me and my friends were just talking on and on. It reminded me of Sex in the City, and then later on in the second movie they had a pretty sweet car scene that was cool for about 2 minutes but then they just kept recycling the same idea over and over again Do yourself a favor and wait till it's out on DVD or sneak into a drive-in and only pay for 1/3 of the people in your car Tarantino, this is my biggest disappointment with your work since Kill Bill 2. Expand
  15. MichaelE.
    Apr 8, 2007
    5
    Exploitation movies are often stupid and bad, and I can forgive that in a recreation of this sort - but exploitation movies are usually boring too, and that I can't forgive. Planet Terror begins with Rose McGowan go-go dancing. It's sexy. I turned to my buddy and said: "Bet it's all downhill from here." It was. Planet Terror is spectacularly dull, filled with fake frenetic Exploitation movies are often stupid and bad, and I can forgive that in a recreation of this sort - but exploitation movies are usually boring too, and that I can't forgive. Planet Terror begins with Rose McGowan go-go dancing. It's sexy. I turned to my buddy and said: "Bet it's all downhill from here." It was. Planet Terror is spectacularly dull, filled with fake frenetic action worthy of one of the Star Wars prequels. There's nothing much to latch onto. It's about as exciting as watching really violent paint dry. Death Proof is a little bit better, but not great. While the already infamous boggy dialogue scenes definitely hurt the movie (one such scene would have been nice, but not nothing but)), the real problem is the pointlessness of those scenes: nothing revealed about the characters ends up mattering, (except "She's a stuntwoman," I guess). There's no real plot either, just talk talk talk, then action - like a Godzilla movie. That said, the car chase is awesome. But it belongs in a better movie. It would have been nice to have a real ending, too, but since there was no plot how could there be an ending? The trailers are the best part. I would much rather have seen "Machete" than Planet Terror. It's kind of sad to think that Rob Zombie and Eli Roth, both of whom make Rodriguez look like Brian De Palma and Tarantino like Hitchcock, provide some of the best material here. They, I think, understood that this was supposed to be a joke. I saw The Queen in the very same theatre. It was far more exciting. Expand
  16. f308gt
    Aug 26, 2008
    5
    The best bits = Rose McGowan and especially the soundtrack of Planet Terror. The worst bits = Tracie Thoms and the fact she lived (unforgivable) Planet Terror. Rose McGowan and especially the soundtrack were the best bits of a sexy, witty and enjoyable film. The timing of the dodgy movie craft missing reels etc. was spot on
  17. JosephD.
    Nov 10, 2007
    5
    the characters arent as strong ,compared to his pryor movies, with the exception exception of the dark skinned girl in the second part,she was great. kurt russell was decent.
  18. RoccoD.
    Apr 13, 2007
    5
    If you see Grindhouse , watch Planet Terror , skip Deathproof. I'm a fan of Tarantino's work but his movie is too slow, not funny and pointless, there is nothing good about it sadly. Planet Terror on the other is more action packed and far more entertaining. But it wasn't good enough to make up for DP.
  19. FrancoisL.
    Nov 12, 2007
    5
    Both movie lacks pretty much everything except it has its moments...Planet Terror had about 2 funny moments and the rest of the movie was a pointless massacre, no story and quite boring. As far as Deathproof goes, the famous car chase was pretty awesome, other than that it had its moments but the dialogues are really long. Even though the actors are really good in both movies, Planet Both movie lacks pretty much everything except it has its moments...Planet Terror had about 2 funny moments and the rest of the movie was a pointless massacre, no story and quite boring. As far as Deathproof goes, the famous car chase was pretty awesome, other than that it had its moments but the dialogues are really long. Even though the actors are really good in both movies, Planet Terror is still horrible while Deathproof is somewhat very good except for some long dialogues. Anyway, I do not recommend Planet Terror to anyone. Expand
  20. Sep 29, 2011
    5
    So far I have seen only "Planet Terror" for this movie, but its just bloody and gruesome. What is the point of remaking a 80's exploitation film? I definitely gave up watching "Death Proof" after the end of the film. I just can't.
  21. Feb 10, 2013
    5
    Planet Terror was ok, I give it a 5. Ending was poor and I hated how it skipped a huge sequence near the end of the film (they arrive at the bar and then it skips to it being being set on fire after a huge fight). Still entertaining, Although in a stupid sort of way. I liked Death Proof but it was too long imo, It could have been a lot shorter. Also, The ending absolutely ruined the filmPlanet Terror was ok, I give it a 5. Ending was poor and I hated how it skipped a huge sequence near the end of the film (they arrive at the bar and then it skips to it being being set on fire after a huge fight). Still entertaining, Although in a stupid sort of way. I liked Death Proof but it was too long imo, It could have been a lot shorter. Also, The ending absolutely ruined the film imo, It was terrible and was a huge slap to the face after sitting through the near 2 hour run time. Overall, I went into it with no expectations so I wasn't greatly disapointed but I was disapointed none the less. Expand
  22. GaborA.
    Apr 8, 2007
    4
    Both the movies are tediously long. If you just shave 30 minutes off each you get a nice 2 hour and 20 or so minute sitting which is fine. The difference between the two features specifically is that if you cut 30 minutes of pretentious dialogue and set up out of Death Proof you get an enjoyable hour film. If you cut 30 minutes out of Planet Terror you merely carry it over to bearable Both the movies are tediously long. If you just shave 30 minutes off each you get a nice 2 hour and 20 or so minute sitting which is fine. The difference between the two features specifically is that if you cut 30 minutes of pretentious dialogue and set up out of Death Proof you get an enjoyable hour film. If you cut 30 minutes out of Planet Terror you merely carry it over to bearable from unbearable territory. Expand
  23. KenG.
    May 17, 2007
    4
    There seems to be a lot of disagreement among the critics and others as to who made the better movie, Rodriguez or Tarantino, but the fact is, neither one did a good job. Rodriguez got so carried away with the idea of making a "bad" movie, that he actually wound up with a bad movie, rather than a clever, funny imitation of that type of "bad" movie. His movie is a mess, and the fact that There seems to be a lot of disagreement among the critics and others as to who made the better movie, Rodriguez or Tarantino, but the fact is, neither one did a good job. Rodriguez got so carried away with the idea of making a "bad" movie, that he actually wound up with a bad movie, rather than a clever, funny imitation of that type of "bad" movie. His movie is a mess, and the fact that it was an intentional mess, is not enough to make it work. On the other hand Tarantino really didn't seem that interested in this project. He seemed much more interested in doing his version of a chick flick, with all the non-stop gab (much of it uninteresting, no matter how much the critics drool over it) that seems to go on forever. The action just seems to be tacked on to fullfill his obligation to the project. Between the 2, I'd say Rodriguez did the better job, simply because he was more into the spirit of the project. But the only thing in the movie that was done well, well the previews. I also wasn't impressed with the intentionally shabby feel of the films, for 2 reasons. One is that I gotta think it's not hard to capture that feel. The other reason is that much of the charm of the old shabbily done films they are copying is that those films weren't done shabbily on purpose. By being shabby on purpose they are cutting the charm out of it. They are trying to capture an effect that you really can't, at least not intentionally. Expand
  24. JamesO
    Sep 16, 2008
    4
    I saw both of these movies through Netflix on separate occasions. I thought Planet Terror was awesome, but Death Proof was completely awful. Seriously, what's so great about a movie where 75 minutes of the film is dialogue between a bunch of women who talk about absolutely nothing (e.g. their daily lives, their occupations, their boyfriends, etc.)?! I don't get it. Planet I saw both of these movies through Netflix on separate occasions. I thought Planet Terror was awesome, but Death Proof was completely awful. Seriously, what's so great about a movie where 75 minutes of the film is dialogue between a bunch of women who talk about absolutely nothing (e.g. their daily lives, their occupations, their boyfriends, etc.)?! I don't get it. Planet Terror, on the other hand, was radical in every respect and didn't try and pretend to be something it wasn't: that is, a balls to the wall zombie/action movie. Tarantino is a highly regarded director by both critics and the public, but with this one he just fails miserably. I'd give Planet Terror an 8 and Death Proof a 0. So, using the power of averages, the overall score for Grindhouse comes out to a 4. Expand
  25. fsafasfafdgdfgfger3
    Mar 23, 2008
    4
    This double feature was overall pretty poor. The best parts, with out doubt, were the trailers. I loved 'Machete' and everything about that two minute clip was gold. "Planet Terror" took a little while to heat up and for the first half I was seriously contemplating leaving as I was that bored. However after a sex scene stops abruptly due to 'lost footage', the movie This double feature was overall pretty poor. The best parts, with out doubt, were the trailers. I loved 'Machete' and everything about that two minute clip was gold. "Planet Terror" took a little while to heat up and for the first half I was seriously contemplating leaving as I was that bored. However after a sex scene stops abruptly due to 'lost footage', the movie becomes an entertaining and over the top gory horror comedy. Even the terribly cliche characters and intentionally bad dialogue works well in both mimicking the zombie - genre films and in achieving laughs from the audience. The film carries Robert Rodriguez's trade mark of over the top gore, wacky and comedic violence and pretty outrageous and funny characters. Quentin Tarantino's 'Death Proof' starts mundane and ends pretty much the same way. A poor attempt of trying to mimick the the slasher / thriller genre. Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction were clearly Tarantino's pinnacle in script writing, as they were packed with cleverly well written dialogue. Jackie Brown was a bit long winded and Kill Bill Vol.1 and 2 were pretty much a waste of time, with some fun action but poor and unlikeable characters and useless and drawn-out banter. Death Proof marks Tarantino's fall as a great script writer. More or less the movie focuses on two seperate groups of 4 girls girls. The first four girls hang around a bar and just talk endlessly about scoring weed, their boyfriends, lapdances and their opinion of the movie's antagonist , Mike the Stuntsman, who is hanging around the bar. The dialogue is completely unintelligent and pointless and the characters poorly developed. The second half focuses on a completely unrelated group of girls and their attempts of trying to convince a man in allowing them to test - ride his car. Overall there's maybe around 10 minutes worth of action in Death Proof and it's atrociously bad, mainly involving the antagonist purposely crashing his car into victims or knock them off the road. It takes absolutely no inspiration from similiar and much better movies, such as Spielberg's 'Dual'. This is without doubt the most boring thriller / slasher movie ever made and overall 'Death Proof' truly deserves its total score of 0 (the score of 4 was given to Planet Terror only, while Death Proof doesn't deserve anything). Both movies were also plagued by Tarantino's presence, as he played semi - leads. In Terror Planet he played a zombie with a lot of dialogue, but his voice is far too soft and feminine to play this badass, touchy and aggresive character. In Death Proof he played a bar owner and clearly demonstrated his poor acting ability. Overall Rodriguez's Planet Terror get's 4 / 5, as it was a bit slow to begin with but overall was more satisfying and fun than most zombie movies preceding it. Death Proof gets 0 as it was one of the worst movies I've seen in years, a thriller that doesn't even fulfill the basic criteria of it's genre - lots of action and not too much discussion. Even then the level of dialogue would have been fine if it was interesting, but it wasn't, instead maintaining a continuous monotonous boring drawl. Expand
  26. KevinN.
    Apr 12, 2007
    4
    I can't quite understand the buzz surrounding this double feature. If you want to see a bad b-movie, why do you need the biggest directors and clearly largest budgets to painstakingly recreate things which already exist? Planet Terror was a typical gross-out gorefest. It features more explosions than I've seen in recent memory. And Rose McGowan is great to look at. But I can't quite understand the buzz surrounding this double feature. If you want to see a bad b-movie, why do you need the biggest directors and clearly largest budgets to painstakingly recreate things which already exist? Planet Terror was a typical gross-out gorefest. It features more explosions than I've seen in recent memory. And Rose McGowan is great to look at. But we've seen this zombie movie 100 times already. As for DeathProof, it drags at first and features a good car chase. Ultimately, however, DeathProof is ONLY a car chase. That the vengeance is enacted by a carload of sexy swomen seems somewhat new, but they are ultimately as barbaric as men could be--It just wasn't satisfying. I also object to the presence of Quentin Tarantino in both films for roles more than just cameos. He looks like a bloated baby and has the screen magnetism of balsa wood. Both of the films use "wink-wink" gimmicks which make the copies seem old: like scratches, burning, mismatched edits and sound at times. But these two very good directors clearly spent much time and effort trying to get effects which I'm glad are largely gone. I did like the trailers;they were short and funny. In my mind Rob Zombie's two previous films are of the same genre as this film but rthey espect their heritage without trying to completely imitate them. If Grindhouse had been truly scary or exciting or provocative or insightful, I would feel differently. Maybe it will stand up to other art pieces in the style of Rene Magritte's famous pipe canvas, "Ceci n'est pas une pipe." Grindhouse is not really a bad, old film; but it sure looks an awful lot like one. Expand
  27. StedmonW
    Apr 26, 2007
    4
    Tarantino delivers some of the worst dialogue this side of The Marine starring John Cena. It took Rodriguez two movies to get away from his faded mexican in the desert trademark and now he's better than ever. When will Tarantino finally grow up and do something else besides write such long-winded and uninspired crap? Leave after Planet Terror is over and you'll get your moneys worth
  28. DavidB.
    Apr 8, 2007
    4
    Two mediocre movies for the price of one. Rodriguez already made a zombie/action homage movie: Dusk to Dawn. And Tarantino's contribution is a 15 minute car chase plus over an hour of chit-chatting women. T always does great chit-chat, but usually tells a good story too. Not this time. Neither movie would be credible by itself, and doubling them up doesn't make it better, just Two mediocre movies for the price of one. Rodriguez already made a zombie/action homage movie: Dusk to Dawn. And Tarantino's contribution is a 15 minute car chase plus over an hour of chit-chatting women. T always does great chit-chat, but usually tells a good story too. Not this time. Neither movie would be credible by itself, and doubling them up doesn't make it better, just longer. For a better homage stay home and re-watch Sin City and Jackie Brown. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. If you were keeping score, it would be Quentin Tarantino 1, Robert Rodriguez 0.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    Planet Terror delivers only momentary kicks...while Tarantino's Death Proof is a juicy, delicious treat, its pleasures stem much less from the play with genre conventions than from great dialogue and electric performances.
  3. 100
    This monumentally pointless movie is best summarized by a line from Planet Terror: "At some point in your life, you find a use for every useless talent you have." Rodriguez, Tarantino, and Co. aim for nothing more noble than to freak the funk, and it's about godd--- time. Go wasted, go stoned, go without your parents' permission. In paying homage to an obsolete form of movie culture, Grindhouse delivers a dropkick to ours.