User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 440 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 440

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RickA.
    Apr 10, 2007
    3
    I find it hard to give a rating to Grindhouse because of the two very different movies that make up the double bill. First the fake trailers, they were all funny. The standout to me was Thanksgiving, a laugh out loud riot. Next comes Planet Terror. A gore filled campy zombie flick that is as fun and light hearted as can be. Enjoy the ride because this one is fun. Finally Tarantino comes I find it hard to give a rating to Grindhouse because of the two very different movies that make up the double bill. First the fake trailers, they were all funny. The standout to me was Thanksgiving, a laugh out loud riot. Next comes Planet Terror. A gore filled campy zombie flick that is as fun and light hearted as can be. Enjoy the ride because this one is fun. Finally Tarantino comes along and kills the whole expierence. I can't really explain how bad I thought Deathproof was. I absolutely hated the movie. The long drawn out dialogue about nothing. The complete bad ass Kurt Russell turned into a comical whiny loser. The camp of the whole thing ruined by the seriousness of Deathproof. Complete and utterly bad movie. Tarantino's way overrated by critics. Expand
  2. TerryR.
    Apr 6, 2007
    3
    Really tedious. The first one: Ok, we get it..old movies had scratches in the film and drop-outs. Not sure what he was trying to accomplish..folks dressed like people in 70's movies, driving old cars, sending messages on their PDA's (?). Some shots borrowed directly from old films, other stuff shot very contemporary...should have picked a style and stuck with it.Tarantino needs Really tedious. The first one: Ok, we get it..old movies had scratches in the film and drop-outs. Not sure what he was trying to accomplish..folks dressed like people in 70's movies, driving old cars, sending messages on their PDA's (?). Some shots borrowed directly from old films, other stuff shot very contemporary...should have picked a style and stuck with it.Tarantino needs to quit sticking that mutant mug of his in front of the camera..the guy is not an actor. First one went on WAY too long. Second movie...did anyone really buy Kurt Russell as a menacing old stuntman? A few moments, but about 1.5 hours in I started checking my watch and saw quite a few folks give up and walk out. Meatheads will give it a good review because they think that this shows they have an appreciation of what the two hack directors were trying to do. Don't believe the hype...spend your time watching actual old grindhouse movies. Expand
  3. Tyleru
    May 1, 2007
    3
    planet terror was alright. death proof sucked though
  4. PatrickC.
    May 7, 2007
    3
    The best thing about Grindhouse is the fake trailers, which are farely cool. Planet Terror is the better of the two but still a poor version of Dawn of the Dead. Death Proof is just bad. The whole movie feels rushed and over done. Quentin Tarantino has finally missed the mark. A mark which he has hit several times with Pulp Fiction, Jackie Brown and my personal favorite, Reservoir Dogs. The best thing about Grindhouse is the fake trailers, which are farely cool. Planet Terror is the better of the two but still a poor version of Dawn of the Dead. Death Proof is just bad. The whole movie feels rushed and over done. Quentin Tarantino has finally missed the mark. A mark which he has hit several times with Pulp Fiction, Jackie Brown and my personal favorite, Reservoir Dogs. Please don't waste your time and money and go see this movie in theaters. All this movie deserves is space thirteen on your Netflix Quota. Expand
  5. NathanielD.
    Sep 24, 2007
    3
    I also rented Deathproof and high hopes - but the first disappoint was that post-theater consumers were going to have to rent both movies individually. I knew going into it that the pacing was going to be very slow, but I thought it would all be worth it in the end. It wasn't. If you're someone who's convinced you're going to like this no matter what and just know I also rented Deathproof and high hopes - but the first disappoint was that post-theater consumers were going to have to rent both movies individually. I knew going into it that the pacing was going to be very slow, but I thought it would all be worth it in the end. It wasn't. If you're someone who's convinced you're going to like this no matter what and just know it's going to be a 'masterpiece' in cinema, you'll probably like it. But for those who are on the fence or unsure, prepare for a bore. I didn't think the action scenes in Death Proof were disturbing at all, and the whole film is mostly a girl-power thrill ride, complete with what must be over an hour of high-school slumber party dialogue. I also feel that Tarantino completely missed the mark in getting the film to have that classic cheesy feel and pay proper tribute. It looked more like they tried to make what was supposed to be a bad movie good, and the results didn't satisfy. Hopefully Planet Terror will be more fun. Expand
  6. EricS.
    Nov 20, 2007
    3
    I'm not gonna lie, I was super-pumped to see this movie. I thought it was going to be amazingly fun as the PR had me believe. Christ, was I wrong. PLANET TERROR was the first half, the better half, and essentially consisted of B-movie zombie gore and occasional biting (no pun intended) humor. Ok, not bad, nice job Rodriguez. The pseudo-trailers were entertaining, and wonderfully I'm not gonna lie, I was super-pumped to see this movie. I thought it was going to be amazingly fun as the PR had me believe. Christ, was I wrong. PLANET TERROR was the first half, the better half, and essentially consisted of B-movie zombie gore and occasional biting (no pun intended) humor. Ok, not bad, nice job Rodriguez. The pseudo-trailers were entertaining, and wonderfully over-the-top. At this point I should have left--had I, I would have walked out nodding my head thinking that Grindhouse was actually decent. Unfortunately that wasn't that case. DEATH PROOF was garbage. Complete and utter garbage. What happened Tarantino? PULP FICTION (among others) was phenomenal! And now nonsense about girls driving around angrily spewing pointless and inane dialogue chasing after Kurt Russell? Honesly My level of respect for Quentin just dropped a good dozen notches. My advice to anyone intent on watching Grindhouse: enjoy the first (enjoyable/disgusting) half, stay for the previews, skip the second half. PLANET TERROR: 6. DEATH PROOF: 0. Don't blow your time on this--toss it in the junk heap and go watch Reservoir Dogs. Expand
  7. JoeM.
    Apr 10, 2007
    3
    One point for the fantastic "Thanksgiving" trailer, and two points for Rodriguez's "Planet Terror." Tarentino's "Deathproof" was his worst project to date. The dialogue was his usual, drawn out discussion of trivial things, but instead of enlightening us about the characters, it was simply boring and uneventful. The ending was incredibly anticlimactic and feeble.
  8. JimmusMaximus
    Apr 10, 2007
    3
    So Tarantino and Rodriguez set out to pay homage to bad movies, and made two bad movies. Success! Tarantino, like Kevin Smith, is very over-rated, and could literally crap on film and people would watch it. Not a complete waste of time, since it makes you appreciate good movies more.
  9. BradR
    Oct 21, 2007
    3
    Death Proof was Awful. The only saving grace was the action scenes of which there were two, Kurt Russell lines were genius. The second half of the movie is what killed it. The movie goes on forever with a group of girls talking about nothing interesting the whole time I was waiting for kurt russel to kill all of them. Tracie Thomas' character was extremely annoying. It was a blatant Death Proof was Awful. The only saving grace was the action scenes of which there were two, Kurt Russell lines were genius. The second half of the movie is what killed it. The movie goes on forever with a group of girls talking about nothing interesting the whole time I was waiting for kurt russel to kill all of them. Tracie Thomas' character was extremely annoying. It was a blatant attempt to recreate a female version samuel jackson from pulp fiction, and it failed horribly. Expand
  10. MrPug
    Apr 27, 2007
    3
    Tarantino will have to come up with something new for his next film as his pretty much dried out the whole retro old film fad. Some of the dialogue for this film was awful.. it was as if tarantino and his buddies were sitting around the table getting high and thinking..wouldn't this be cool .. lets do this.. take these wacky ideas and make it into a movie.
  11. ATRISKTEEN
    May 31, 2007
    3
    Purely indulgent junk, sounding the death knell on two once-promising filmmakers now becoming smug, self-parodic shells of their former selves. Tarantino has become embalmed in his alleged cool cache & his dialogue gets more interminably precious with each new film. Worthless.
  12. Eldon
    Oct 2, 2007
    2
    I give it a 2 for the first 10 minutes alone. And, as as been finely noted, what the hell happened to the rest of the movie?! Sheesh! And I have to say that in the end, it IS NOT worth it. I don't want to feel that way, but I did and do. And how can you, when choosing to cast Zoe Bell, give her all that dialogue?? My god she sucked the life right out of all the dialogue. I guess that I give it a 2 for the first 10 minutes alone. And, as as been finely noted, what the hell happened to the rest of the movie?! Sheesh! And I have to say that in the end, it IS NOT worth it. I don't want to feel that way, but I did and do. And how can you, when choosing to cast Zoe Bell, give her all that dialogue?? My god she sucked the life right out of all the dialogue. I guess that may have been the "intention" of Tarantino, to have it be bad acting. But next to say, Dawson, she truly stinks up the place and I could just see the veil dropping over and over again until I was out of it all together. That is not doing your job as a director... it doesn't work man, it just doesn't. Lame. Expand
  13. SpiroDolemite
    Apr 7, 2007
    2
    Absolutely terrible and a waste of time! My girlfriend and I walked out about 30 minutes in. Some of the most disgusting things I have ever seen in my life. I certainly don't understand why people were laughing and clapping at what looked to me like graphic images of boils and genital lesions. We asked for refunds and both saw Firehouse Dog which a much better movie and was much more Absolutely terrible and a waste of time! My girlfriend and I walked out about 30 minutes in. Some of the most disgusting things I have ever seen in my life. I certainly don't understand why people were laughing and clapping at what looked to me like graphic images of boils and genital lesions. We asked for refunds and both saw Firehouse Dog which a much better movie and was much more entertaining Expand
  14. DaveA.
    Apr 7, 2007
    2
    Just because something is supposed to be a parody, and is aware of its intentional kitchiness, that doesn't make it any better than what it's attempting to lampoon. Rodriquez proves himself a hack once again. His piece of this was totally boring and stupid but, then again, so was From Dusk 'till Dawn. Tarantino is a much better film maker but "Death Proof" suffered from a Just because something is supposed to be a parody, and is aware of its intentional kitchiness, that doesn't make it any better than what it's attempting to lampoon. Rodriquez proves himself a hack once again. His piece of this was totally boring and stupid but, then again, so was From Dusk 'till Dawn. Tarantino is a much better film maker but "Death Proof" suffered from a totally implausible, ridiculous and stupid ending (again, I'm aware that it's parody but still . . . ) and too much self conscious dialogue which is becoming a bad trait of Tatantino's films. It could have been much, much, better than what it was with a little more effort and skill. Expand
  15. GeorgeH.
    Apr 12, 2007
    2
    Ugh!!! If you're gonna make B-Movies that were supposed to be made in 1972, stick with it! Keep the references in the era. It was confusing at first during "Planet Terror" when pagers and video games were mentioned even though the look of the film was pretty consistently early 70's. Then along comes "Death Proof"! It started out hysterically with deliberately bad continuity but Ugh!!! If you're gonna make B-Movies that were supposed to be made in 1972, stick with it! Keep the references in the era. It was confusing at first during "Planet Terror" when pagers and video games were mentioned even though the look of the film was pretty consistently early 70's. Then along comes "Death Proof"! It started out hysterically with deliberately bad continuity but it slowly - SLOWLY - starts to unravel from there. Tarantino just couldn't mantain the concept. Worst of all is the meanderingly "hip chick" dialogue. It just wouldn't stop. Tarantino needs an editor to say, "OK. Tighten it up. Take what you've written and cut it in half." On the plus side, strong performances especially by Rose McGowan and of course the faux trailers were the highlight. Expand
  16. LR.
    Sep 24, 2007
    1
    I was going to tell you how i feel about this movie but joey summed it up the only thing i can add is you can skip chapters till you see cars driving. if you do this you will enjoy this movie all 15 minutes of it.
  17. DouglasB.
    Nov 5, 2007
    1
    Death Proof is simply terrible, to top it of, you folks in America got it as part of a double feature called "Grindhouse" here in Australia we got it as a separate film entirely, which is probably why it seems even worse. I can't believe it, so much useless dialog, no back story, no story in general, just 2 action sequences that are separated by 14 months and a long prelude of dialog Death Proof is simply terrible, to top it of, you folks in America got it as part of a double feature called "Grindhouse" here in Australia we got it as a separate film entirely, which is probably why it seems even worse. I can't believe it, so much useless dialog, no back story, no story in general, just 2 action sequences that are separated by 14 months and a long prelude of dialog before each one, between 2 separate groups of women. When the ending suddenly came, i felt robbed of my time and money. I'm even more pissed with the trailer for the movie, the way it was edited, it made the film look like a full throttle action movie. I can't believe this is the work of the same guy who made Pulp Fiction and Kill Bill Vol. 1 & Vol. 2. movie structure: Part 1: Group of girls - lots of useless talking Random action moment Part 2 14 months later New group of girls - lots of talking (even more than the first time round) Random action sequence no back story, no story in general. terrible, you've been warned, screw what the critics are saying. Expand
  18. RippedOff
    Oct 1, 2007
    1
    I am growing tired of Tarantino's self indulgent attempts to recapture the magic of Pulp Fiction...with clever dialogue between edgy buddies! I have time to watch one movie a week...and just wasted it on this crap!!!!
  19. RossC.
    Sep 20, 2007
    1
    Most overrated piece of crap movie I have ever seen. The dialog is terrible, the characters are annoying, and this is not a Grindhouse horror flick.
  20. JoeyD.
    Sep 20, 2007
    1
    Rented Deathproof. Starts off with some cool 70's stylishness, but then slowly...slowly...ever so slowly turns into a complete bore. This is by far the most dull movies I've ever seen. If you rent this, save yourself some time by just fast forwarding through the tedious dialog. You won't miss a thing. Just get to the action scenes. All in all, there's only about 15 Rented Deathproof. Starts off with some cool 70's stylishness, but then slowly...slowly...ever so slowly turns into a complete bore. This is by far the most dull movies I've ever seen. If you rent this, save yourself some time by just fast forwarding through the tedious dialog. You won't miss a thing. Just get to the action scenes. All in all, there's only about 15 minutes of action and entertainment in the entire film. Expand
  21. SamK.
    Sep 27, 2007
    1
    I agree with what Joey said. The movie was a complete waste of money, and I only rented it. For all the hype about Tarantino's 70's-esque direction and arty-stylish production, the dialogue is painfully boring, the plot non-sensical and the end result the destruction of two perfectly good Mopar muscle cars. And all for what? Is it trendy to watch a Tarantino movie?? Absolutely. I agree with what Joey said. The movie was a complete waste of money, and I only rented it. For all the hype about Tarantino's 70's-esque direction and arty-stylish production, the dialogue is painfully boring, the plot non-sensical and the end result the destruction of two perfectly good Mopar muscle cars. And all for what? Is it trendy to watch a Tarantino movie?? Absolutely. Will this movie have a cult following because it's a Tarantino movie? For sure. Was it any good? No, it sucked huge balls. Kill Bill and Jackie Brown were way better if you're looking for a girl-power movie, which this tried to be. I think Tarantino's been smoking too many banana leaves... Expand
  22. John
    Jul 28, 2008
    1
    Trailers were great. I was really excited to see this. But it was just not good. I loved Pulp Fiction. But people talking in cars for 90 minutes. Why wasn't I warned? The king has no clothes metacritics. You are usually reliable. Put this with Titanic and Independence Day as movies that were just bad, but no one wants to look uncool so they say they are edgy. I love edgy, this was Trailers were great. I was really excited to see this. But it was just not good. I loved Pulp Fiction. But people talking in cars for 90 minutes. Why wasn't I warned? The king has no clothes metacritics. You are usually reliable. Put this with Titanic and Independence Day as movies that were just bad, but no one wants to look uncool so they say they are edgy. I love edgy, this was just a snooze. Made for TV at best. Expand
  23. Moo
    Apr 29, 2007
    1
    I really liked those Tarantino's and Rodriguez' in the 90ies. They were charming, funny, intelligent and very gory. There was a lot of reference to those trashy 70ies movies. But with all that reference in mind they still had fresh ideas like "From Dusk Till Dawn". Nowadays they pay respect to those crappy zombie/killer movies no one wanted to watch in the 70ies and 80ies. And I really liked those Tarantino's and Rodriguez' in the 90ies. They were charming, funny, intelligent and very gory. There was a lot of reference to those trashy 70ies movies. But with all that reference in mind they still had fresh ideas like "From Dusk Till Dawn". Nowadays they pay respect to those crappy zombie/killer movies no one wanted to watch in the 70ies and 80ies. And believe me, there are a lot of good ones no one has seen yet. But what's the use of paying respect to movies no one wanted to watch then? ...it seems they wanna watch it now and think it's fun... Go ahead and have fun! But i didn't laugh at any scene in any of those two features... The trailers were fun! They should have made movies like those instead!!!!! I hope the future holds a little more to come for both directors... Something with more... sense. Expand
  24. Boanc
    May 1, 2007
    1
    Jeez! Having to suffer thru that lame zombie movie was the worst. Very unoriginal gorefest, and mediocre in every way. Boring, boring, boring. Deathproof much better, but still not great. I knew I had made a mistake when I found myself to be one of TWO people in the theater. But I doggedly persevered, thus piling on wasting my time to wasting my money.
  25. Aug 22, 2011
    1
    No one asked for this. Why would we want to go back in time and make crap movies. And meta please remove Edgar Wrights name as director. He did a same fake trailer not these useless movies. You disgrace his name and the fine work he does by attaching him to this trash.
  26. ZackS.
    Oct 20, 2007
    0
    Awful. Tarantino, already the most self indulgent, ego stroking filmmaker, takes it up a notch. It consists of girls talking for the entire movie with two action scenes. If only he were clever, or talented, or produce anything worth watching. Easily the most overrated talent of his generation proves again that critics don't know what they are talking about.
  27. KyleM.
    Apr 12, 2007
    0
    It's easy to see why this movie flopped. Aside from Critics who were desperate to seem "hip" and "with it", there was hardly anyone in American that wanted to be submerged in this cesspool of a movie for 3+ hours.
  28. NotbrainwashedB.
    Oct 28, 2007
    0
    To anyone not brainwashed by the pr around these two egomaniacal directors who surround themselves only with sycophants who won't tell them their this is garbage: we all know that these two "films" are worthless. Saying, "that's the point!" is no excuse. From the standpoint of fundamental storytelling, these films are garbage. The dialogue and directing/cinematography take a To anyone not brainwashed by the pr around these two egomaniacal directors who surround themselves only with sycophants who won't tell them their this is garbage: we all know that these two "films" are worthless. Saying, "that's the point!" is no excuse. From the standpoint of fundamental storytelling, these films are garbage. The dialogue and directing/cinematography take a creators' SELF-INDULGENCE to sinful, shameful levels. Shame on Tarantino and Rodriguez and all who sweat them while blinded to their masturbatory film-making. It's like these two tools who never got a girl until their careers took off are behind their cameras saying, "YEAH, LOOK HOW COOL THIS SHOT IS!!!" Who wants to watch reams of footage of some homely chicks (no, being on camera does not automatically make you attractive) babbling about inane topics? Tarantino's dialogue scenes are not "slices of real life," they are self-indulgent tangents that bore and drag and do not advance a story at all. They do not make us know or like the characters at all. Having a full conversation while hanging out a speeding car windshield? And PLANET TERROR? What kind of lowbrow gore toilet-bowl flick was that? Just think about it: a machine gun for a leg. Any 12 yr old boy can hatch an idea like that. Not every 12 yr old boy has agents and an enabling system of jockers. The fact these flicks made relatively no money shows at least the masses weren't too fooled. Quentin's produced Nathan since Pulp (which he cowrote) and Rodriguez should stick to kid flicks as he's never made a tight joint in his life. Sin City? Please. Incoherent drivel. Try King of New York or Warriors or French Connection or Pan's Labyrinth if you want to see a movie, just off the cuff. Toss these, Kill Bill, Jackie Brown, and Sin City in the boring and incoherent bin. Expand
  29. [Anonymous]
    Apr 15, 2007
    0
    Politically correct garbage.
  30. RaynaS.
    Jan 19, 2008
    0
    I don't like this movie,in fact i hate it!!!!! i dont see why the other users gave it 8,9 or 10?what is so fantastic about this movie?Zombie's eating flesh?!!!wow.that's really awesome!!! i personally gave it a 0 mark because for me its a trash!!! ok,its a horror,but can't we have a decent horror movie?(yuck!!!)the acting,the dialogue etc!what is it the others I don't like this movie,in fact i hate it!!!!! i dont see why the other users gave it 8,9 or 10?what is so fantastic about this movie?Zombie's eating flesh?!!!wow.that's really awesome!!! i personally gave it a 0 mark because for me its a trash!!! ok,its a horror,but can't we have a decent horror movie?(yuck!!!)the acting,the dialogue etc!what is it the others comment?funny and great?it surely was!!! Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. If you were keeping score, it would be Quentin Tarantino 1, Robert Rodriguez 0.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    Planet Terror delivers only momentary kicks...while Tarantino's Death Proof is a juicy, delicious treat, its pleasures stem much less from the play with genre conventions than from great dialogue and electric performances.
  3. Reviewed by: Nathan Lee
    100
    This monumentally pointless movie is best summarized by a line from Planet Terror: "At some point in your life, you find a use for every useless talent you have." Rodriguez, Tarantino, and Co. aim for nothing more noble than to freak the funk, and it's about godd--- time. Go wasted, go stoned, go without your parents' permission. In paying homage to an obsolete form of movie culture, Grindhouse delivers a dropkick to ours.