Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 32
  2. Negative: 14 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Dec 25, 2010
    38
    Murderously unfunny.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Dec 25, 2010
    38
    The villains are weak and the narrative has little drive to it.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Dec 25, 2010
    38
    The really annoying thing about Jack Black's Gulliver's Travels is not so much that it's a bad movie -- it is bad, but only run-of-the-mill bad, not epic-misfire bad -- but that the movie sullies a piece of literature that has endured for nearly 300 years for the sake of a cheap kiddie flick that'll be forgotten in a month.
  4. Reviewed by: Calvin Wilson
    Dec 24, 2010
    38
    Loosely - very loosely - based on the classic Jonathan Swift story, "Gulliver's Travels" begins promisingly but quickly loses its way.
  5. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Dec 23, 2010
    38
    The only arena in which Gulliver's Travels plays an adequate game is in visual effects.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Dec 22, 2010
    30
    The story grows more desperate as it goes on.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jan 7, 2011
    25
    At one point, Black puts out a fire by pissing on it. It's my job as a critic to piss on this dumb excuse for a movie. Consider it done.
  8. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Dec 25, 2010
    25
    Unnecessary and unfunny re-imagining of the classic satire by Jonathan Swift.
  9. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Dec 24, 2010
    25
    A migraine inducement that you'd think Jack Black had gotten out of his system years ago. Yet he still finds an excuse to wear a blazer and shorts and fling his bodily orb like Angus Young on Guitar Hero night at the neighborhood bar.
  10. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Dec 22, 2010
    20
    Those of us who dig the comedian's hyperactive persona may feel that the meter is now officially running on his amiable rocker-doofus act; everyone else will simply marvel that a Christmas season could produce such an unfunny, unentertaining lump of coal.
  11. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Dec 25, 2010
    16
    With deadening predictability, the filmmakers have reduced a definitive satire about the flaws and foibles of human nature into family-friendly sub-Disney pabulum about an affable slacker who finally musters up the courage to ask a pretty girl at work for a date.
  12. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Dec 30, 2010
    0
    Listless, dull, and totally lacking in spectacle.
  13. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 23, 2010
    0
    The 3-D is cheesy (2.2-D at best) the gags are gross (Gulliver urinates on an 18th-century palace to extinguish a fire) and the production abandons all hope of coherence when the hero fights a climactic battle with a giant robot out of "Transformers."
  14. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 21, 2010
    0
    A movie of such stupendous uninspiration that, watching it, I didn't know whether to be affronted or hornswoggled. Movies this monumentally dreadful, after all, don't come along every day.
User Score
4.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 28
  2. Negative: 12 out of 28
  1. Dec 28, 2010
    0
    I took my eleven year-old daughter to see Gulliver's Travels. She found it so unfunny that she wanted to leave at the halfway stage. I told her to say, as I hoped that it would get better....but it did not. If anything, it got even worse, and I had to apologise for making her sit through the whole thing.

    The whole thing is a disaster. Jack Black is excruciatingly unfunny and boorish, throughout the entire film. Major British talents, Billy Connolly and Catherine Tate, are awarded zero funny lines by the script writers. They at least managed to look professional, which is quite an achievement in this car crash of a movie. The female romantic lead, of whom we see very little, also manages a half-decent performance. But those really are the only positives that I can find. A complete waste of a morning and £14.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 31, 2010
    8
    My 9 year old kid loved this. I thought it was goofy and enjoyable. You want to have a good time with your kid, go see this movie. It's not Merchant Of Venice, but its a lot of fun. Full Review »
  3. Dec 29, 2010
    2
    Very little redeems this movie from the punishing 2-hour running time. Juvenile, disgusting, and completely unfunny. The CG looks good, but there's nothing special. Full Review »