Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 32
  2. Negative: 14 out of 32
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Dec 25, 2010
    50
    It's not bad. It's cute.
  2. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Dec 25, 2010
    50
    For myself, I was but seldom inspired to peals of true laughter, though I did relish that part when Mr. Black, confronting a fire raging in the Palace of Lilliput, douses the blaze through heroic use of such means as Nature has provided him.
  3. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Dec 25, 2010
    50
    The cast gamely tries to keep up, with the scene-stealing O'Dowd making the strongest impression. Still, it all feels so lazy and familiar that adults may find themselves hoping Black will start to challenge himself again - and the more swiftly the better.
  4. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Dec 24, 2010
    50
    Oone of those movies that falls between complete disaster and loads of fun. Mild amusement is probably about right.
  5. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Dec 24, 2010
    50
    Black, looking like an unwashed clothes pile and capering in familiar "Uncle Jack" style, is a good babysitter, his cross-dressing turn in a doll's house a highlight.
  6. Reviewed by: Andrea Gronvall
    Dec 24, 2010
    50
    Jack Black is the title character in this thin adaptation of the Jonathan Swift classic.
  7. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 22, 2010
    50
    Yet another foray into unnecessary 3-D, is a rehashed mishmash of Jonathan Swift's 18th-century classic. Mostly, it's a vehicle for Jack Black's zany humor.
  8. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Dec 24, 2010
    42
    Strips the source material down to its recognizable parts and then builds something completely new out of them. Unfortunately, the result is entirely Lilliputian in ambition, even for a children's movie.
  9. Reviewed by: Scott Craven
    Dec 24, 2010
    40
    It might have worked, too, if Black had anything remotely funny to work with.
  10. Reviewed by: Kirk Honeycutt
    Dec 22, 2010
    40
    While not the worst in recent 3D films, Gulliver's Travels is more gimmicky than a crackling good yarn.
  11. Reviewed by: Pam Grady
    Dec 22, 2010
    40
    A movie that ought to entice people to want to travel with Gulliver instead inveigles them to run from him.
  12. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Dec 22, 2010
    40
    A low-grade comedy that'll have Jonathan Swift turning in his grave.
User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 29
  2. Negative: 12 out of 29
  1. Dec 28, 2010
    0
    I took my eleven year-old daughter to see Gulliver's Travels. She found it so unfunny that she wanted to leave at the halfway stage. I toldI took my eleven year-old daughter to see Gulliver's Travels. She found it so unfunny that she wanted to leave at the halfway stage. I told her to say, as I hoped that it would get better....but it did not. If anything, it got even worse, and I had to apologise for making her sit through the whole thing.

    The whole thing is a disaster. Jack Black is excruciatingly unfunny and boorish, throughout the entire film. Major British talents, Billy Connolly and Catherine Tate, are awarded zero funny lines by the script writers. They at least managed to look professional, which is quite an achievement in this car crash of a movie. The female romantic lead, of whom we see very little, also manages a half-decent performance. But those really are the only positives that I can find. A complete waste of a morning and £14.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 31, 2010
    8
    My 9 year old kid loved this. I thought it was goofy and enjoyable. You want to have a good time with your kid, go see this movie. It's notMy 9 year old kid loved this. I thought it was goofy and enjoyable. You want to have a good time with your kid, go see this movie. It's not Merchant Of Venice, but its a lot of fun. Full Review »
  3. Dec 29, 2010
    2
    Very little redeems this movie from the punishing 2-hour running time. Juvenile, disgusting, and completely unfunny. The CG looks good, butVery little redeems this movie from the punishing 2-hour running time. Juvenile, disgusting, and completely unfunny. The CG looks good, but there's nothing special. Full Review »