Compass International Pictures | Release Date: October 25, 1978
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 349 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
319
Mixed:
21
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MovieLonely94Nov 6, 2010
an excellent horror movie
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
SFNJan 8, 2011
this movie is amazing, the storyline is amazing, the actors are good, and the whole creation of micheal myers is awesome, John Carpenter is a genuis!!!
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
Spielberg00Nov 14, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: Why appreciate Friday the 13th and A Nightmare on Elm Street when you can appreciate this? Halloween started it ALL.

The thing that truly makes this one a classic is that it is certainly a slasher, but it also manages to maintain the actual â
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
John Carpenter has a masterpiece on his hands. It transcends all other (often annoying) Halloween-related slasher movies. Perhaps, the use of Jamie Lee Curtis as our leading lady makes all the difference. She's wonderful.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
LuciusMcGibbonDec 9, 2012
A brief retort to two common criticisms of this great, great movie.... 1) "Not a lot of big scares, lots of down time." These people have a very loose grasp, if any, on the concept of building tension... To them, the scenes where the killerA brief retort to two common criticisms of this great, great movie.... 1) "Not a lot of big scares, lots of down time." These people have a very loose grasp, if any, on the concept of building tension... To them, the scenes where the killer is peering in from the background are meaningless if they don't immediately culminate in a satisfying kill scene. This may seem funny to say, but this movie was made at a time when nobody knew who Michael Myers was or what he was capable of. Watching this movie through the eyes of a newcomer might help these people appreciate suspense. 2) "They don't give us a reason for all the killing" That's the point! It's scarier that way, if you don't even know what motivates the killer, then he becomes even less human. There's no emotion, no reasoning, just a body walking around, taking death wherever it goes. People who have a problem with this are simply too used to having each and every background detail spoon-fed to them to enjoy a movie that purposely leaves the darkest parts to the imagination. 3) I read one review calling this movie "cliched"... which hilariously overlooks the fact that Halloween *started all those cliches!* So essentially, this person blames this movie for being too much like the movies that copied it... have fun with that one.... Yes, this movie does have its shortcomings (acting, editing, modest production values) but it still stands as an understated masterpiece, and the granddaddy of a sub-genre all its own. The buildup and release of tension are timed as skilfully as any scare flick ever made, and the near-total lack of blood only serves to underline the fact that the world's first slasher flick got its teeth from real directing and storytelling as opposed to cheap visuals and gratuitous violence. JUST REMEMBER: this movie must be seen in full widescreen, otherwise the framing will ruin some key scenes. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
spadenxDec 3, 2011
While it does suffer from terrible over acting - Halloween gives us an actual scary horror film classic that is not only entertaining but its interesting. I enjoyed it.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
barnet42Oct 5, 2012
Halloween One of the best horror movie's 0f the 70's The Exorcist (1973). The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (1974) . The Omen (1976). Carrie (1976). Halloween (1978)
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
BlakePNov 1, 2012
This is a fun, scary movie. "Halloween" is the horror flick that provided the formula for all slasher flicks to come. Though by today's standards it looks really low budget, it thrives in thrills, and the use of atmosphere rather than goreThis is a fun, scary movie. "Halloween" is the horror flick that provided the formula for all slasher flicks to come. Though by today's standards it looks really low budget, it thrives in thrills, and the use of atmosphere rather than gore only intensifies our adrenaline. Jamie Lee Curtis gives a great performance (and the one that ruined her career for years), but the real star is director John Carpenter, who directs each scene who loads of tension. "Halloween" is constantly suspenseful, and a work of art among the horror genre-- just avoid all of the needless sequels. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
ghostface97Nov 10, 2012
Film di suspence e non di splatter, nonostante con il tempo si è creato un mito il quale vedeva coinvolto halloween come uno dei primi horror splatter, ciò nonostante di sangue nel film se ne veda davvero poco. Carpenter haFilm di suspence e non di splatter, nonostante con il tempo si è creato un mito il quale vedeva coinvolto halloween come uno dei primi horror splatter, ciò nonostante di sangue nel film se ne veda davvero poco. Carpenter ha inventato un mito, intrattiene, stupisce e induce lo spettatore a immedesimarsi con la protagonista Lorie Strode, interpretata da una appena 21 Jamie Lee Curtis. La colonna sonora divenuta un cult, venne poi riadattata nei successivi capitoli, tutti inferiori al primo. ma il vero protagonista è il killer: "Michael Myers" forse uno dei migliori killer, grazie al fatto che si discosti dalla realtà dato che nn si veda mai la sua faccia, tranne nella scena iniziale. Un cult superiore a tutti i film horror degli anni 70-80. Capolavoro. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonOct 14, 2013
I LOVE HALLOWEEN. It's one of the best horror movies ever made and my favourite horror movie! Any fan of horror movies is intimately familiar with Halloween even if they've not seen the actual film itself. The movie has been mimicked andI LOVE HALLOWEEN. It's one of the best horror movies ever made and my favourite horror movie! Any fan of horror movies is intimately familiar with Halloween even if they've not seen the actual film itself. The movie has been mimicked and parodied extensively and the cliches present have become embedded in pop culture. The movie begins with the view from the eyes of a killer, who watches a girl have sex with her boyfriend. As soon as he leaves, he stabs her with a knife. The killer turns out to be her six-year old brother and is committed to a mental institution. Fifteen years later, Michael Myers (Tony Moran), returns to his old home to kill once again. His targets this time include three high school students: Annie (Nancy Kyes), Lynda (P. J. Soles), and Laurie (Jamie Lee Curtis). Who dies next and who ends up living is the guessing game the audience gets to play (along with the characters). Whether intentionally or not, the movie ends up having a moralistic message. All the people who are killed are involved in sexual acts. Michael Myers is portrayed as the embodiment of evil, as opposed to being a "normal" serial killer, and some of the things he does has a hint of the supernatural. It's interesting that the movies Halloween inspired, in the slash-and-gore horror genre, borrow less from the Psycho-like feel present in the film and instead seek to showcase the scenes we don't see. There's little gore in the film and a lot of the fear is psychological. The movie is made more frightening simply because we don't see body parts splattered about. Yet later movies chose to abandon suspense as a means of achieving terror and sought instead to shock people by showing more blood and gore. Halloween's status as a cult film is assured. The movie has several flaws, but the primary reason it has gained such a status has to do with director John Carpenter's minimalist distillation of the most pure, adrenaline generating, horror and suspense moments seen before in previous films. Definitely worth a rental on Halloween night. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Skullgirlsfan13May 13, 2013
Talk about a classic. When people talk about the first slasher film, they actually say Psycho, but this is a close contender. Not that it's not as good as that film, in fact I think that Psycho is a bit better made compared to this, but I'mTalk about a classic. When people talk about the first slasher film, they actually say Psycho, but this is a close contender. Not that it's not as good as that film, in fact I think that Psycho is a bit better made compared to this, but I'm here to talk about Halloween. This is by far my favorite horror movie, and I'm a Jason fan above all. The killer is not what makes this film; entirely, some good casting and photography makes everything better. Sure by todays standards this not considered scary or horrifying, but then again what is? Anyways, ever so rarely do you get a timeless story for a horror movie, because by now they all run dry in trying to be in on the joke. But wasn't great when you could watch a horror movie and not have to watch them make fun of themselves and the clichés they follow? I'm always up for watching a movie, of almost any genre; drama is not my forte, but horror would be my first suggestion. I watched this with friends on Halloween, it was the start of my horror movie phase; in watching all the classic slasher films, and this one came out on top. If you must know the order of the other 3 main series would be: nightmare on Elm street, Texas chainsaw massacre, and ironically Friday the 13th. Like I said previously, the camera work works well with the suspense, adding to it and making it more "terrifying". Terrifying might be a bit extreme. The story is good, it was made at a time where the formula wasn't dried up yet. Along with timeless storytelling, it manages to create some interesting themes in it. Talking about suburbia and its effects on certain people, pro feminism in how it's a damsel saving the day. So this is not just a bunch of nostalgia for me, this is a well put together film by a talented writer(s), and I think this is the definitive horror movie that should be viewed by anyone who's interested in horror or just plain filmmaking. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JacobparkerMay 21, 2013
Wow, was that a pretty good and scary movie.
My favorite old horror movie after Carrie.
That epic music and that nervous breakdown!
Say hello to the nightmares.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
AvidMovieManFeb 17, 2014
In my opinion, one of the scariest films ever made! Low budget, but the acting is solid and the scares come at a fast clip. You feel this movie as much as you see it, thanks to Carpenter's now legendary score. Jamie Lee Curtis shines asIn my opinion, one of the scariest films ever made! Low budget, but the acting is solid and the scares come at a fast clip. You feel this movie as much as you see it, thanks to Carpenter's now legendary score. Jamie Lee Curtis shines as Laurie, as do the rest of the cast. Carpenter's direction is brilliant, especially that long opening shot. Also, the film does not rely on gore. The lighting is perfect for frightening the audience and the pale-masked killer, Michael Myers, looks and feel more menacing than Jason or Freddy.
First horror movie I ever saw, and still love to this day. Michael Bay's/ Rob Zombie's remake were vulgar and atrocious.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
marcmyworksAug 4, 2014
A truly suspenseful and terrifying film. John Carpenter is able to bring the scary without gore or torture, just good old fashion tension. Jamie Lee Curtis is brilliant and the films climax will leave you with chills
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
GinaP.Sep 2, 2007
One of my favorites! This film scared the crap outta me first time I saw it, I was probably 10 or 11 at the time. These days I still appreciate it for what it was. A cult classic, first of it's kind, genuine terror and tension filled One of my favorites! This film scared the crap outta me first time I saw it, I was probably 10 or 11 at the time. These days I still appreciate it for what it was. A cult classic, first of it's kind, genuine terror and tension filled fun. This movie was atmospheric and errie. The score is really what gets to you, making the hair stand up on the back of your neck. I cannont think of a better tense moment in any horror film than the scene from Halloween when Laurie is struggling to open the front door, calling for help, while Michael walks closer and closer, almost reaching her. If that didn't make you hang on to the edge of your seat the first time you watched it, then nothing will. A definite 10 in my book..always was, always will be! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ScottNJun 7, 2009
What more can I say - One of the greatest horror movies of all time and a true example of how to build suspense and terror without lots of gore. A true masterpiece. I only wish I could wipe my memory and go back and watch it again for the What more can I say - One of the greatest horror movies of all time and a true example of how to build suspense and terror without lots of gore. A true masterpiece. I only wish I could wipe my memory and go back and watch it again for the first time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JamesSep 1, 2007
It may not be as gory as Friday the 13th or Nightmare On Elm Street but in my opinion, I think Halloween is more suspenseful and tells a better story.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Jack1Oct 30, 2010
Brilliant film. Great suspenseful movie, John Carpenter is a genius. Not much gore but certainly one of the best horror movies ever. The music is well-written and makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand on end. Michael Myers is theBrilliant film. Great suspenseful movie, John Carpenter is a genius. Not much gore but certainly one of the best horror movies ever. The music is well-written and makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand on end. Michael Myers is the ultimate horror movie character, well thought-out, a simple character yet creates an atmosphere which is incredibly scary. First saw this film when I was 10 and scared the life out of me, overall, a great film and possibly the best horror movie ever. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
j30Nov 9, 2011
This is a great movie that has dated a bit, but the premise and atmosphere is creepier than Hell. No guts, no glory doesn't apply here, there is little or no blood and still manages to scare. The thought of being watched has always made theThis is a great movie that has dated a bit, but the premise and atmosphere is creepier than Hell. No guts, no glory doesn't apply here, there is little or no blood and still manages to scare. The thought of being watched has always made the hair on the back of my neck stand. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
EssenceOfSugarNov 11, 2013
This is an honestly suspenseful thriller it truly builds up right from the beginning. The fantastic simplicity of using the same soundtrack throughout lacks monotone and adds creepy familiarity, the neighborhood as the setting proves to be aThis is an honestly suspenseful thriller it truly builds up right from the beginning. The fantastic simplicity of using the same soundtrack throughout lacks monotone and adds creepy familiarity, the neighborhood as the setting proves to be a falsely secure yet sunny environment. You're almost begging Michael Myers not to take off the mask which illustrates someone who looks human, but feels inhuman with those dark, merciless look in where his eyes should be. The colour is a muted, almost grainy tone, giving a more authentic 80's feel, with the shadow in the background disappearing with a second look which we unquestionably accept until the real thrills happen, as the haunting presence that contrasted with the setting is able to come out. Even when he does, Myers is still both intimidating and ruthless as he picks them off.
The self-reference of a director undoubtedly feels out of place, but the psychiatric character of Dr. Loomis played brilliantly with undeniably precise questioning by Donald Pleasance. We can forgive his more likely ridiculous stance as he searches for his patient, because it is counter-acted by such an emotionless, inhuman embodiment of nature vs. nurture with no solid reason to kill.
The running time was in tune with the story-line without frequent jump scares to provide nutrition, the kills worthwhile when they happen with a amazingly juicy one in the downstairs kitchen. It works with realism a quiet, normal neighborhood disrupted by, rather than a raging presence, a silent stalker that symbolically represents the real safety of our neighborhood which can be likewise seen in other twisted slashers such as A Nightmare On Elm Street. The killer that comes out from beneath its shell and strikes without warning. A 6 year old with no soul, a butcher knife and murder on his mind? That is an argument that writes itself.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
imthenoobOct 31, 2012
The horror movie of horror movies. Whenever someone is asked to listen a popular horror movie, A great majority of them will say Halloween for a reason. It's a must see classic for all horror fans.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ReubenIsAGodNov 1, 2013
On of the greatest American slashers ever created, its the simple fact that the main antagonist is just their, staring at you through his cold heartless eyes, stalking the viewer, its so goddamn creepy
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Kyle39Sep 9, 2012
Extremely scary and well made low budget horror film that delivers quality scares without gore. Carpenter's direction is brilliant, as is his legendary soundtrack. Very atmospheric and chilling.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
GlitterAug 30, 2013
Revolutionary in fathering the slasher genre and catering to the masses without the blood and gore viewers are so sensitized by today. Moving briskly at a pace in which the brooding fear of The Shape's attacks build you're left shivering inRevolutionary in fathering the slasher genre and catering to the masses without the blood and gore viewers are so sensitized by today. Moving briskly at a pace in which the brooding fear of The Shape's attacks build you're left shivering in your seat as the excellent score carries the mood. Carpenter crafted an immaculate piece of Horror, without perverting art in the name of profit. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Jack_SunshineDec 3, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The build up to Halloween (the holiday, not the film) has inspired me to explore the old slasher ‘classics’ of the ‘70s and ‘80s, which until now has been something of a neglected pursuit. It transpires that they are often relentlessly formulaic and derivative, although this does serve to highlight the strengths of superior films in the genre.

Traditionally, we are introduced to a group of carefree and naive teenagers who are then systematically and sadistically dispatched with varying creativity by an unseen killer. The film usually concludes with a battle between the now revealed killer and the final (usually female) survivor, culminating in an often mind bogglingly ambiguous climax.

Artistic integrity aside, many of these killers have developed into iconic horror characters, and (sometimes in spite the original directors’ wishes) have spawned persistent franchises. It is thus with a sense of genuine curiosity that I look towards the horizon at the undoubtedly heady delights of Friday the 13th, Part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan (1989) and an answer as to why Freddy's Dead: The Final Nightmare (1991) is followed by yet another three Nightmare on Elm Street films.

Where better to start than with Halloween (the film, not the holiday)? Even if it didn’t spawn the genre, its global success certainly solidified it in the public consciousness. It brought horror away from the supernatural and into the idyllic streets of suburban America.

Naturally, the film opens on Halloween night (purportedly chosen when director John Carpenter realised that nobody had yet made a film by that name) when a teenage girl is murdered by her own brother, the young Michael Myers. He bears a simple name that would come to represent evil incarnate, at least until it became irrevocably associated with a certain Canadian comic actor.

The tagline “The night he came home!” is enough to reveal that the rest of the film takes place on a Halloween some fifteen years later, when an adult Michael escapes from a psychiatric hospital with the single minded objective of returning to his hometown and indulging his psychopathic tendencies.

For reasons at yet unknown, his ultimate objective seems to be Laurie Strode, played by Jamie Lee Curtis in a role which would earn her the title of ‘scream queen’ and land her roles in the wave of slashers that appeared in Halloween’s wake, including Prom Night (1980) and Terror Train (1980).

For all its commercial success, Halloween is at heart an independent film, one of Carpenter’s earliest, brimming with evidence of budgetary constraints and notably fraught with continuity and production errors. The famous mask was in fact a painted William Shatner mask from Star Trek, and the film was shot during spring in Southern California (not autumn in Illinois) on a tight schedule: Donald Pleasence, who played Michael’s psychiatrist Dr. Loomis, filmed all his scenes in under a week.

Against this backdrop, Carpenter makes use of shadow and subtlety, rather than special effects. Those familiar with more modern films may be surprised by the low body count and lack of graphic violence. The slow pacing draws out the tension, and allows the character development that other such films lack. Much of the first half follows Laurie and her friends through their day, whilst Michael stalks them one step behind. He is the unsettling figure in the distance, always drifting in and out of sight. Only Laurie sees, and her distress falls on the deaf ears of her incredulous friends.

Not everything about Halloween is completely original. At one point, Michael evokes a traditional campfire tale by hiding in the back seat of a victim’s car, a variant of which has appeared in everything from The Godfather (1972) to The Dark Knight (2008) and even in later slasher films.

Pleasence steals the show as Dr. Loomis, bringing gravitas to a film of otherwise fluctuating acting quality. It’s faintly hammy, but the sinister British elocution provides a voice of reason and grim truth against the sea of American hysteria as he reveals the true depravity of his patient’s soul in one of the best quotes in the film:

“I met this six-year-old child, with this blank, pale, emotionless face, and the blackest eyes… the devil’s eyes. I spent eight years trying to reach him, and then another seven trying to keep him locked up because I realised that what was living behind that boy’s eyes was purely and simply… evil.”

We cannot deny that Loomis was right to be wary, but at its most cynical reading this paints a picture of a psychiatric system that has utterly failed Michael as a patient. Nevertheless, for a film which appears grounded in a real world interpretation of horror, there are undeniable echoes of the supernatural: Michael’s nigh immortality to the grievous wounds inflicted upon him lend credence to the diagnosis that there may be something truly diabolic at work.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysOct 10, 2013
The fun scare-fest that it is, Halloween fulfills all your expectations. It's creepy, messes with your mind, and suspense and horror are there. It avoids some horror movie clichés, but still uses some. But, maybe we can forgive that, sinceThe fun scare-fest that it is, Halloween fulfills all your expectations. It's creepy, messes with your mind, and suspense and horror are there. It avoids some horror movie clichés, but still uses some. But, maybe we can forgive that, since this movie was in 1978 when the clichés we see in horror movies nowadays were just starting out then. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheCriticKidSep 20, 2013
This movie is a diamond in the horror field. There is yet to be a movie made to even come close to matching it's perfection. Jamie Lee Curtis couldn't have stumbled upon a better debut. The music score is terrifying and eerie and the whiteThis movie is a diamond in the horror field. There is yet to be a movie made to even come close to matching it's perfection. Jamie Lee Curtis couldn't have stumbled upon a better debut. The music score is terrifying and eerie and the white mask of the shape scares you even after the movie's over. The acting was perfect and the filming was perfect. Especially for a bunch of teenagers making a horror film in 1978. Beautifully directed movie. Brilliant. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
KennyTWDFeb 8, 2014
This is the best movie ever. I was horrified of Michael's stealth and his strength, also he is seen on screen for about 9 minutes and that's what makes the movie scary and how it's creepy in a stalker like manner instead of those crappyThis is the best movie ever. I was horrified of Michael's stealth and his strength, also he is seen on screen for about 9 minutes and that's what makes the movie scary and how it's creepy in a stalker like manner instead of those crappy horror flicks with nothing but brutal and mass murder. They should have never made sequels after this masterpiece. Wait who is that? OH GOD ITS MICHAEL MYERS! He's got a knife and is walking toward me!
I'M KENNY FROM THE WALKING DEAD AND I REVIEW IT, OUCH! ... to save lives.
(Heavy breathing) ................................................................................................
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
StrangerinaJul 1, 2014
The first half of this classic is rather uneventful, we see Michael escape the hospital, and college girls banter on about their personal life. I'm not much of a fan of this kind of character development. I found it rather trite.

The
The first half of this classic is rather uneventful, we see Michael escape the hospital, and college girls banter on about their personal life. I'm not much of a fan of this kind of character development. I found it rather trite.

The suspense does eventually get running as Michael starts killing off these characters, and the soundtrack does justice to this psychotic mass murderer. The movie relies less on gore and more on the creeping murderer around every corner.

Less is more, in this case.

The presence of Donald Pleasence really makes the character of Michael Myers come to life, and without him, I doubt that I would have given much of a hoot about this film. He adds a more psychological side to Michael's otherwise uninteresting (but still rather creepy) presence.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ThingummyblobAug 9, 2014
Ok, let's get this straight, this movie is not scary. Suspenseful, not scary. This is an old film so it wasn't going to be as scary as the new horror films. That doesn't matter though because I really enjoyed this film. It had a few violentOk, let's get this straight, this movie is not scary. Suspenseful, not scary. This is an old film so it wasn't going to be as scary as the new horror films. That doesn't matter though because I really enjoyed this film. It had a few violent parts, nothing like Saw or anything. You know, just stabbing and that kind of stuff. This movie was amazing, I recommend all horror fans, and also everyone, to watch this. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheDude-Jan 28, 2016
Halloween is my favorite slasher film of all time purely for it's masterful execution in being extremely scary and intense to the point where i find myself gripping the couch that i am sitting on, the reason for this is because the filmmakersHalloween is my favorite slasher film of all time purely for it's masterful execution in being extremely scary and intense to the point where i find myself gripping the couch that i am sitting on, the reason for this is because the filmmakers knew that slowly building suspense before Michael murders his victims will always keep the audience on edge, the intensity and suspense was also elevated by the films fantastically creepy musical score and cinematography.
10/10 a masterpiece in horror.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
KimmyTeeMar 12, 2011
Greatest horror film that has ever been made. This movie is amazing and will always be my favorite. It is so creepy and scary without even showing blood and gore. I can't imagine not loving this movie. This movie is horror! You can't topGreatest horror film that has ever been made. This movie is amazing and will always be my favorite. It is so creepy and scary without even showing blood and gore. I can't imagine not loving this movie. This movie is horror! You can't top Michael Myers. John Carpenter is amazing!! Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 25, 2011
Legendary director John Carpenter made his mark in the horror genre with "Halloween". Yes, its that good (and scary).
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
8
demmaster95May 8, 2011
Even though this movie is technically a slasher flick the action doesn't come un till much later into the movie so if your looking for a plain blood bath this is probably not your type of thing however the story line is well developed and theEven though this movie is technically a slasher flick the action doesn't come un till much later into the movie so if your looking for a plain blood bath this is probably not your type of thing however the story line is well developed and the suspense does build, as we know that at the end the killer (Michael Myers) will inevitably attack the main character (Laurie Strode) . The basis of the plot is that Michael Myers escapes from a mental institute and goes back to his home town where he starts Stalking a girl, After finding out about the escape his physiologist realises where he is heading and goes to the home town to find, and i will leave the rest of this brilliant movie for you to watch, since if you are a horror fan this is defiantly a must watch. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
One of the greatest horror films ever made; Halloween has an impeccable system of suspense, and echoes the great classic, Psycho.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
DavidN.Sep 2, 2007
The best horror film ever, a masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristianS.Aug 8, 2009
An Amazing film, Halloween is one of the best horror movies i have ever seen. Classic story, great performances, top notch scares, if you haven't seen it, you are missing out big time. the best in the series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JosephApr 20, 2006
If I could I'd rate it 10 1/2 but I cant so... Anyways Halloween is the best horror movie ever. Almost everyone of its sequels is good and it started the 80's slasher genre. It is something you have to see if you havent already seen it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisB.Aug 4, 2006
GREAT!! the best movie ever made. John Carpenter is a GOD. Honestly there are a bunch of cheesy horror movies out there. Halloween is in its own genre. Nothing will ever compare to it!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WillYAug 15, 2007
One of the best horror movies ever, I noticed someone called it cliche... how? It's a man with a disturbed past, enough so that hate overpowers deaths itself. It's an original movie with good movies and a close-to-home feel. May One of the best horror movies ever, I noticed someone called it cliche... how? It's a man with a disturbed past, enough so that hate overpowers deaths itself. It's an original movie with good movies and a close-to-home feel. May not keep you up at night, but still it makes it scary to walk around a dark house. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoseDAug 28, 2007
Whoever calls it cliched obviously doesn't have a clue about this Classic. In 1978 it was the first of it's kind. Let me put it this way, if it wasn't for Halloween, there would never be a Jason, Freddy, Chucky.. etc. Do your Whoever calls it cliched obviously doesn't have a clue about this Classic. In 1978 it was the first of it's kind. Let me put it this way, if it wasn't for Halloween, there would never be a Jason, Freddy, Chucky.. etc. Do your homework before you write a review. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GavinCJul 26, 2009
Funnily enough, the fact that it wasn't very action-packed seems to be its strength.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadEMNov 14, 2007
As good as it gets in the horror genre. "Halloween" is the perfect horror movie: atmospheric, well acted, masterfully directed by John Carpenter, and scary as hell. It is, essentially, a bloodless film, yet it is remembered as a brutal, gory As good as it gets in the horror genre. "Halloween" is the perfect horror movie: atmospheric, well acted, masterfully directed by John Carpenter, and scary as hell. It is, essentially, a bloodless film, yet it is remembered as a brutal, gory slasher movie. Watch it on a late October night with all the lights out and the sound way up, and you'll see why it's the best/scariest horror movie ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ERG1008Sep 8, 2010
Boy kills his sister, goes to asylum, escapes 15 years later, goes back to hometown to terrorise teenagers.
John Carpenter's benchmark slasher film which served as a template for many others to follow & created the horror that is Michael
Boy kills his sister, goes to asylum, escapes 15 years later, goes back to hometown to terrorise teenagers.
John Carpenter's benchmark slasher film which served as a template for many others to follow & created the horror that is Michael Myers.
Most of it still stands up quite well using Myers sparingly, sometimes only seeing Myers' mask standing out in the darkness in the corner of your eye.
It does get a bit silly in the last ten minutes but overall a solid horror film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
nascentSep 7, 2015
Great suspense, haunting score, long atmospheric tracking shots. This film paved the way for many 80s horrors and influenced many films onwards. The definitive silent serial killer slasher film. With atmospheric horror but very mildGreat suspense, haunting score, long atmospheric tracking shots. This film paved the way for many 80s horrors and influenced many films onwards. The definitive silent serial killer slasher film. With atmospheric horror but very mild violence and no gore. Subtle, dark and unnerving horror, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleSep 22, 2016
A chilling horror film from director John Carpenter, Halloween is not without its age spots (what else did you expect after 38 years?), but remains an effective thriller to this day that has influenced a genre ever since it was released.A chilling horror film from director John Carpenter, Halloween is not without its age spots (what else did you expect after 38 years?), but remains an effective thriller to this day that has influenced a genre ever since it was released. Though Carpenter heavily riffs off of Alfred Hitchcock's horror masterpiece Psycho, Halloween is scary in its own right, though it often uses the same skills Hitchcock demonstrated in Psycho to make Halloween enter the next level of scariness.

Okay, the acting is bad. I tried to lessen the hurt there, but it honestly was really bad. In saying that, however, I do not expect much in this regard. The point of the film is to scare you, not wow you with the prowess of that actors. That said, it was bad enough to mention.

On the positive column is practically everything else. Brilliantly utilizing sound in a fashion shown off by Hitchcock's Psycho, the film utilizes deeply unsettling sounds that honestly scare you on their own. Forget the visuals. The sound is scary enough on its own thanks to the film's use of sounds that not just alert you that something scary is about to happen, but have no chemistry whatsoever with your ears. When watching a film such as this, the score really sets the mood and boy does it ever accomplish this in Halloween.

As far as the characterization of Michael Myers goes, John Carpenter does a great job establishing the lore of Myers and telling rather than showing. Instead of showing us his time in the mental institution, it merely tells us what happened there, which ups the scariness and impact of the stories. In most films, this is a mortal sin. For horror films, it can be a brilliant tactic and Carpenter uses it perfectly. Thanks to the doctor's descriptions, we get a clear picture in our minds of what Myers is, what he looks like, and how he acts. This mental image is far scarier than anything Carpenter could have shown us.

Additionally, the film never rushes proceedings. It is more than happy to sit back and wait to build anticipation. Rather than having Michael run around killing everybody in sight, he bides his time and significantly ups the tension by building it and building it up. This anticipation completely boils over when things finally hit the fan and the tension is dialed up to 11. While cliched by today's time, the climax of this film was really the first of its kind (if I am not mistaken, Halloween was the first film to kill the antagonist only to bring him to life again). Plus, though it can be a bit silly at times thanks to it being done to death by 2016, Carpenter handles the reveals very well. With over the shoulder shots from Laurie (Jamie Lee Curtis) to Michael's "dead" body, the shot of him standing up becomes all the more terrifying. As a result, this is truly a film that defines the horror genre and the way in which we watch the movie, become terrified, and yell at the screen, "BEHIND YOU". Halloween is ripe with these moments and really benefits from it.

Halloween is a tough film to watch nowadays. Though there is an ever present sense of dread, a killer score, and endless tension, the film has truly been copied on a daily basis since its release 38 years ago. As a whole, Halloween is a thoroughly scary and entertaining affair from John Carpenter with unmistakable influence from Psycho and on later films. Interestingly, there is little-to-no gore in Halloween, yet films that will rip it off for years to come bathe everybody in blood. Odd. Also, did anybody notice the cheeky foreshadowing of Carpenter's future remake of The Thing?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
demolisher7778Oct 27, 2014
A horror classic. Nothing is creepier than seeing Mike Myers stalk you with his creepy mask. The scares are genuine and the chills are real. However, Halloween does have unforgettable and expendable characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BrushedRedOct 30, 2015
The father of all slasher films.. sure Psycho may've been it's inspiration, but it took where Psycho ended and built onto it. Halloween, the 1978 film, is an indie-horror film that was well more destined to flop than to soar. It had a budgetThe father of all slasher films.. sure Psycho may've been it's inspiration, but it took where Psycho ended and built onto it. Halloween, the 1978 film, is an indie-horror film that was well more destined to flop than to soar. It had a budget of $300,000.. They couldn't even afford a mask for this movie so they altered a William Shatner mask.

In terms of story, we aren't told much. We know that a kid kills his sister on Halloween night and we are told that he goes to a mental hospital and we scene the scene where he escapes. Afterwards, we see him all around town and we see that he stalks a select few girls.

Part of what makes Halloween so good (and why others might think it might not be so good) is how there isn't much of a story. We don't even know that Laurie is Michael's step sister until later sequels. In this movie, nothing is explained, but to some, like me, this makes it better. We see that Michael is a psycho and stalking random girls for really no reason at all. The movie probably didn't think it would have sequels, so the psychopathic premise was genius and the later backstory was tacked on.The Halloween sequels were pretty subpar, but this original movie is amazing. The ambiance, the buildup, and the character development are awesome, and Dr. Loomis makes a wonderful appearance and adds a whole new depth to the story.

The funny thing about Halloween is that it's a low-budget horror film that ultimately doesn't feel like a low-budget movie. Sure there aren't really any special effects, there doesn't need to be. Nor does there have to be blood and gore either. It's just a fun, chilling ride that has wonderful season spirit. Sure it was the father of all slashers and started many cliches, but you have to think, before this movie was made, those cliches didn't exist, and therefore, it made a whole new type of movie. Halloween is a true classic that all must see. It's not only one of my favorite horror movies, but it is one of my favorite movies of all-time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NerdConsultantDec 30, 2014
this is a masterwork of horror delivering one of the best slasher villains ever. this film launched both Jamie Lee Curtis and and John carpenter careers and looking back on it I wouldn't have it any other way. john's directing style allowsthis is a masterwork of horror delivering one of the best slasher villains ever. this film launched both Jamie Lee Curtis and and John carpenter careers and looking back on it I wouldn't have it any other way. john's directing style allows the film to be legitimately scary in a way that a lot of modern horror movies are failing to achieve seriously give it a look if you haven't Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GodzillaMutoFanDec 19, 2015
This is one hell of a old 70s horror movie. Characters are relatable and the scares actually terrifies you. Michael is the highlight and he did not disappoint.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
moviecritic108Nov 4, 2014
Awesome movie! This is very suspenseful and I really like how scary it is! I definitely recommend this movie. Much better than Friday the 13th. Watch it now!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
youlouzNov 20, 2015
Brilliant! Especially from the mind of John Carpenter. This movie kept my attention for most of the time even if some of the acting was not spectacular.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ineedausernamenJul 6, 2017
Halloween is a genuine masterpiece in the art of filmmaking. Don't be fooled by its lack of bloody, disgusting deaths. It relies on the real good stuff- building tension and an uneasy atmosphere to really scare you. It is arguably the bestHalloween is a genuine masterpiece in the art of filmmaking. Don't be fooled by its lack of bloody, disgusting deaths. It relies on the real good stuff- building tension and an uneasy atmosphere to really scare you. It is arguably the best horror film ever made, and arguably John Carpenter's best work, setting the standard for the horror films of the 80s and 90s, and remaining influential and a classic to this day. Halloween is great, and there are few horror films comparable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
teddylukeApr 9, 2015
Halloween is a classic it is a great movie. but the movie at the beginning was so slow and boring but then it got really good so this movie great.....
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
solomsApr 17, 2015
For everybody who always looking for a good horror movie, here's one. Don't look for the year of the movie, because the best horror movies ever are from the 70's. That Michael Meyers are brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ElGalanJul 12, 2015
Halloween is an absolute classic. Michael Myers is an original slasher and this movie has a genuine flow to it. Nothing flashy, just straight up good ole fashion horror.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisAug 9, 2016
This is one of the greatest horror movies of all time and DEFIENTLY a trend setter in the slasher/horror genre. I'll never forget the first time that I saw "John Carpenter's Halloween" at the Elwood Theatre. The girl, who went with me wasThis is one of the greatest horror movies of all time and DEFIENTLY a trend setter in the slasher/horror genre. I'll never forget the first time that I saw "John Carpenter's Halloween" at the Elwood Theatre. The girl, who went with me was quiet, yet I screamed through the hole thing. I am anxious to see Rob Zombie's take on "Halloween." Look for Paris Hilton's aunt Kyle Richards as Lindsay in the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
XdgntenseOct 12, 2015
My 1# favourite of all movies of all genres. Watched it a 1000 times. No lie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeMay 13, 2016
It seems I never got a chance to review this movie in October 2015 because my account was created 2 months after. Why am I reviewing this in May? None of your concern that's for sure. Horror classic, and because it's horror it got the scoreIt seems I never got a chance to review this movie in October 2015 because my account was created 2 months after. Why am I reviewing this in May? None of your concern that's for sure. Horror classic, and because it's horror it got the score of 7, for everyone to enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ShafeApr 8, 2016
A fantastic,atmospheric flick that,i dare say is just a tad bit better than Psycho and Exorcist,just my opinion,one of the greatest films of all time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GamecubeLoverAug 20, 2016
Halloween is an instant classic but not my favorite horror movie probably my 4th. This movie is very interesting but the series will soon be milked for a very long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MasterRileyNov 2, 2016
Halloween is very suspenseful and scary without giving the audience much information on Michael Myers or what he looks like. The cinematography and music helps add to the mystery. It is definitely a classic that everyone should see. My onlyHalloween is very suspenseful and scary without giving the audience much information on Michael Myers or what he looks like. The cinematography and music helps add to the mystery. It is definitely a classic that everyone should see. My only con is I wish there was a bit more explanation as to why Mike Myers acts the way he does, and why he can withstand bullets and being stabbed. Perhaps he has a bullet proof vest, or maybe its something thats explored in the sequels. So its not necessarily a problem with the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gNov 12, 2016
An outstanding film of murderers that tells us about his backstory to his present day while returning. John Carpenter's Halloween (1978) has an iconic beauty to a horror film but it's more of a thriller but still gives us great chills.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gta3lcpdOct 25, 2016
One of the very best horror movies I've ever seen. The rest of the series kind of sucks ass, with the exception of Halloween II (1981), but in spite of that, Halloween is just freaking awesome! It's got an overall dark and creepy atmosphere,One of the very best horror movies I've ever seen. The rest of the series kind of sucks ass, with the exception of Halloween II (1981), but in spite of that, Halloween is just freaking awesome! It's got an overall dark and creepy atmosphere, and leaves you feeling unsettled, with intense and suspenseful moments. It's also one of the few movies that effectively scares you, and it does a damn fine job of it. The story and characters are great, but what just might be my very favorite thing is the music. The music is what really ups the nostalgic value for me. Like, I have a scale of how strong the nostalgia is: LOW, MODERATE, HIGH, and AGGRESSIVE, and it's definitely aggressive, mainly due to the music, otherwise, it would only verge on high for me. Anyway, the point is, Halloween is arguably one of the best scary movies ever made, and maybe even one of the best ever in general. So, this Halloween, watch Halloween for a good scary movie, turn down the lights, and prepare to yell, **** you!" to anything that moves, because Halloween will likely make you jumpy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
daviddelnorte23Jul 6, 2017
Estaba deseando hincar el diente al cine de Carpenter, pero no sabía por donde empezar, afortunadamente, he empezado por su plato, quizá más fuerte, y es que 'Halloween' no solo me parece una obra maestra del cine de terror (del cual no soyEstaba deseando hincar el diente al cine de Carpenter, pero no sabía por donde empezar, afortunadamente, he empezado por su plato, quizá más fuerte, y es que 'Halloween' no solo me parece una obra maestra del cine de terror (del cual no soy para nada fan) si no que se ha convertido en mi película favorita del género. Nunca antes he disfrutado tanto y, a la vez, sufrido tanto viendo una película del ya mencionado género. En algunos puntos de la película es absolutamente terrorífica, gracias a Carpenter, como lo filma; como muestra y como cuenta la historia. La película podría ser una comedia que gracias a la bso, los planos, los movimientos de cámara lo convierte en terror, porque, seamos realistas, es un hombre con un mono azul y una máscara asustando niñas de instituto...

La bso, a la que ya menciono en parte superior, es legendaria y lo que significa cuando suena, lo importante que es en la trama. El plano secuencia del inicio de la película. Es todo sensacional.

En definitiva, esta película es una obra maestra del cine de terror que, a mí personalmente, me gusta incluso más que 'El resplandor'. Un sobresaliente alto, 9.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ByYuxiSsMar 22, 2017
Halloween is one of the best horror movies ever created.
It is a movie that will have suspense and intrigue to find out what happened in the movie, has a very good story, a very charismatic character like Michael and a grudge to his whole
Halloween is one of the best horror movies ever created.
It is a movie that will have suspense and intrigue to find out what happened in the movie, has a very good story, a very charismatic character like Michael and a grudge to his whole family makes a movie great.

Very good 9/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MrTacoBobJul 13, 2017
I cant even say how much I LOVE this movie! It is scary every time I watch it I still get scared for some reason. It is a classic movie that aged perfectly. If you haven't seen it...who are you?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews